Dauphin Island chalet rental - Island Paradise!!
Island Paradise!!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Dauphin Island Chalet Rental Photos and Description
Chalet, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Comfortable, quaint, and cute are words often used to describe this tropical A-frame located on the Mississippi Sound. A wrap around deck shaded by palm trees leads down to the water and the 36' fishing pier. Fish or crab from the pier, soak up rays on the deck, or watch the tug and barge traffic pass by on the Inter-coastal Waterway. 10 minute walk to the beach. WiFi provided.

Queen bed in the downstairs master, 2 full beds in one bedroom and a daybed with a 'pop-up' trundle in the other upstairs bedroom sleep 8 people comfortably.

Keywords: Beach House, Sea Side Chalet, Beach Cottage

Local resident lived in this house for 10 years. Offshore supply boat Captain and local Real Estate Broker.

Loni purchased this chalet in 2001

'Captains Quarters' was purchased as my primary residence in 2001 and was not rented out until recently. I settled on Dauphin Island because it is the most 'laid back', relaxing place I have ever found. The fishing is fantastic, the beaches are beautiful, and the Sunsets are phenomenal!

Sunsets, sunsets, sunsets!!! Fishing and crabbing off the 36' pier. Swimming or shelling a 10 minute walk on the beaches of the Gulf of Mexico. Scooter or jet ski rentals minutes away. Bike trails, best birding in the Southeast, Audubon Park, historic Fort Gains, Dauphin Island Sea Lab and Estuarium. The best offshore Red Snapper and sports fishing in the Gulf and inshore speckled trout, white trout, flounder, crabbing and red fishing on the private pier. Mobile Bay Ferry available for day trips to Fort Morgan or Gulf Shores. The casinos of Biloxi are 1 hour away and New Orleans a short 2.5 hours away.

18 Reviews of Property 299832 in Dauphin Island, Alabama

Tropical 'A' Frame with 36' Private Fishing Pier
average rating of 4.888889 based on 18 reviews
business
Tropical 'A' Frame with 36' Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299832vb
+1 251-753-2012 (Alabama, USA
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Spiro OK
5

a great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
this house is great. it has a good location. enjoyed fishing off dock. nice, clean house. i would recommend staying here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Tropical 'A' Frame with 36' Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299832vb
+1 251-753-2012 (Alabama, USA
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Fort Worth, TX
5

Wouldn't change a thing...

Wouldn't change a thing...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Where should I begin? The house is exactly as it's pictured in the photos here. It's charming and clean and fully stocked with everything you need (minus your groceries). There is a TV with satellite and a DVD player. We were even able to bring our dog.

The house is just three short blocks from the beach, and the fishing off the dock is great. Drinking coffee from the back porch and watching the magnificent sunsets from there is wonderful.

The owners are fabulous and incredibly helpful if there are any issues that arise (though we had none to speak of).

A final note if you've never been to Dauphin Island. It is a small island with no major stores, though there is a small store that has the essentials that you might forget to pack, along with fishing supplies, etc. I recommend you buy your groceries off the island (there is a store up the highway from the bridge). Also, if you plan on an active night life, this is not the place for you. But if you want to get away from it all on a nice beach without crowds to reconnect with your family, this is the place for you.

Thanks for a great weekend, Keith and Loni!! Can't wait to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Tropical 'A' Frame with 36' Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299832vb
+1 251-753-2012 (Alabama, USA
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Semmes, AL
5

Even better 2nd Time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
We spent the weekend earlier this year and just returned from 9 glorious nights. Beautiful sunsets, spectacular fishing every day and a great place to entertain. Our family wanted to buy the place and stay forever. With the beach just across the road this home and location was everything we needed for a fantastic vacation. We caught a variety of fish and never got "skunked". We grilled steaks and fish on the deck and enjoyed our catch. The great blue heron stood guard over any fish we did not want and were happy to eat them up quickly. We left the Island happy and refreshed. The owners have taken such care of this lovely place we consider it a real privledge that they share it with us. There is ample room to sleep 8 comfortably and the large amount of deck space is perfect for gatherings in the evenings. There is plenty of light for entertaining and fishing outside at night. You will not find a better location or nicer home to enjoy for a vacation. We are looking at the calendar to plan our next stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Tropical 'A' Frame with 36' Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299832vb
+1 251-753-2012 (Alabama, USA
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Miami, Fla
5

Water Lover's Delight!

Water Lover's Delight!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The magnificent backyard pier of this home situated in the Mississippi Sound makes you feel like you're actually looking out into the sea. You have to look hard to see land when looking straight ahead while standing on the rear deck or pier of this home. Our son, who was on leave from the United States Air Force base in Biloxi, Mississippi, couldn't say enough about the fishing and sun bathing available immediately as you open the home's rear door. We caught several speckled trout and had them for lunch (cooked them in the BBQ at the rear of the home). The home was clean and comfortable. We will return as long as our son is stationed nearby. It was worth the travel to Biloxi to stay in this home. The sunsets during our stay were incredible and we have the video and photos to prove it! Thank you Owner and thank you Loni for your support for the military!!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Tropical 'A' Frame with 36' Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299832vb
+1 251-753-2012 (Alabama, USA
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Semmes AL
5

Loved this Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
The pictures do not do this adorable house justice! The house is beautiful and the location is perfect for a relaxing vacation on the water. The pier is perfect for fishing and crabbing or a picnic lunch in the sun with a picnic table already in place. The owners are great to work with and everything you need is provided from linens to dishes. Loved the furnishings and attention to detail. The price is very reasonable. The beach is just a short walk away. Cannot say enough good things about this place.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Tropical 'A' Frame with 36' Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299832vb
+1 251-753-2012 (Alabama, USA
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Meridian
5

The place to stay at Dauphin Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
What a charming cottage on the water, we stayed a week and did not want to return home. So clean and comfortable, the perfect get-away, wonderful view and great sunsets... If you're going to Dauphin Island the Capatin's Quarters is the place to stay. Highly recomment it to everyone and we will be returning for another stay
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Tropical 'A' Frame with 36' Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299832vb
+1 251-753-2012 (Alabama, USA
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Hattiesburg MS
5

Wonderful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Our daughter & son-in-law rented this property & my husband & I went also. We really enjoyed staying here. The house was very nice, well kept & clean & the fishing was great for my husband, son-in-law & grandson. We would definitely recommend this to anyone. It's very quiet & laid back here. Very relaxing. Would like to go back again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Tropical 'A' Frame with 36' Private Fishing Pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p299832vb
+1 251-753-2012 (Alabama, USA
Dauphin Island Alabama Gulf Coast
Alexander City, Alabama
5

Highly recommend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We stayed at Captain's Quarters this weekend and would highly recommend this adorable house. It is everything the description says it is. The house is extremely clean and, obviously, newly painted and decorated. We did not fish, but can see it would make a great location to fish off the pier. The outside deck is a wonderful place to sit and enjoy your first cup of coffee while watching the waves white cap. The master bed was extremely comfortable. The rental is very reasonably priced and we will be back and would highly recommend this to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4