Spencer house rental - View of House from yard, stairs off deck to lower level yard to water
View of House from yard, stairs off deck to lower level yard to water
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Spencer House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 3 full baths/2 with double sinks, sleeps 8

The home is designed for families and friends to gather, relax, hike and enjoy the views. The house is situated at the end of a private road on 3.5 acres. The house overlooks the water from the living room and kitchen with great views of the 2 Islands to watch all the birds and activities on the lake. There is 350 feet of water frontage with 2 private sandy beaches & docks. Paddle boats and kayaks are available as well as a private boat ramp for those who have a boat. With spacious open living areas, this unique 3,400 sq ft home offers spectacular views of the lake from almost every room.

The home is comfortably furnished with a mix of antiques and Pottery Barn furniture. A massive fireplace is tucked between the kitchen and dining room for those quiet evenings. The large screened-in porch allows views of the water in all types of weather and seasons. Features a custom kitchen, breakfast bar, modern kitchen appliances including, a dishwasher, and microwave, stocked with spices and large assortment of cookbooks. There's a large selection of DVDs, music & many games for quiet evenings together or sit by the outside fire pit, or enjoy your own baseball field.

Books for all ages are everywhere. Everything you need is included, washer, dryer, cable TV, high-speed wireless internet, linens and beach towels.

The fishing is excellent including small mouth, large mouth, calico bass and yellow perch. Fishing equipment is included, Fish or swim off the floating dock. Life vests available for your use in various sizes. For the sports lover in the group we have basketball, or volleyball/badminton on the property. Best of all you have your own private basesball field with lights for those late night games with the family. Equipment is included.

There’s something for everyone to enjoy.

Our house can be booked any time of the year. Please note during the PEAK Season May thru September, and Holidays we can only accept Weekly rentals. Off season there is a 3 night minimum, rates are based on day of week.

A few Summer and Fall activities:

New England Summer Nationals Antique Car Show and Fireworks - Worcester

Brimfield Antique Show Weeks duing April, July or September

Davis Corn Maze - Opens end of July

Silver Kingdom Renaissance Festival, Charlton Ma in June

Fall Orchards for Apple Picking or Local Winery

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 297636 in Spencer, Massachusetts

Charming secluded waterfront home located on private 400 acres Stiles Lake
average rating of 4.95 based on 20 reviews
business
Charming secluded waterfront home located on private 400 acres Stiles Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297636
+1 508 248-4849
Spencer Central Massachusetts
5

Late summer at the lakehouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We just returned from 4 wonderful days in this beautiful house. Mark and Maria have thought of everything... you'll find this house very well appointed with anything you might need to make your stay enjoyable. Our family went fishing, kayaking, hiking and swimming...ate lobsters and steamers out on the deck...toasted marshmallows by the fire pit and snuggled up in front of the gorgeous stone fireplace on one stormy night. We're reserving our next vacation here before we've even unpacked...this is a gem of a spot!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Charming secluded waterfront home located on private 400 acres Stiles Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297636
+1 508 248-4849
Spencer Central Massachusetts
NYC, NY.
5

An Oasis in MA !!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
My family & our three little yorkies have been renting lakehouses for over 5 years from the Adirondacks to Maine. Each has its own charm & character BUT this one SHINES !!

Our first rental was the week of July 4th 2010. Upon arrival at the house, we knew we would be very please with our choice.
As we were approaching the property on the dirt path, we started to have 'goose bums' realizing the property was the last house at the end of the path. Since we are from NYC, we truly appreciate total seclusion and privacy which we don't normally get!

Even Maria greeted us at the door, because of the spectacular view of the lake from the dining room window, we couldn't take our eyes off the view but did our very best to set our first good impression ! Ha !

The landscape of the property was very well tended and our pets had a 'ball' running, rubbing, rolling, swimming and 'flying' around the property, absolutely 'NO ENTERTAINING' needed from us.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 'sun-bathing' & 'sunset badminton matches' every day.

We enjoy cooking international cuisines and therefore having our meals on the deck in front of the lake was truly a luxury!

We kept thinking about the house so ooo much that we returned for Christmas and New Year PLUS my sister's birthday on New Year's Day!
The decoration of the house was very festive with 2 Christmas trees lit and fully decorated, nothing was missed out ! (Good job guys!)
Not forgetting the fireplace which played a big part during the holidays with the 'BIG' snow storm which we THOROUGHLY ENJOYED!
My sister and her boyfriend spotted a fox walking on the frozen lake and took pictures of it.(Please ask Mark for the pics!)
The strong winds blowing on the dry snow on the frozen lake creates a spectacular scene !! (etc., etc., etc.,)
This is never ending, seeing is believing, come experience what we are talking about !!!

However, we have already made our next 2 reservations for year 2011. Hopefully, some of the readers out there will understand what we are talking about.

Once again Maria & Mark, please keep up the good work and all our very best !
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, what a review! Thank you, Stephanie, Kevin and "the Gang", for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about out lake house. This review means so much to us and it has been a pleasure, getting to know all of you over the years. We loved the photo of the fox walking across the frozen lake that you shared with us. That day with the ice and wind blowing it really did look like the property was way up North.

Stephanie, Kevin and our other guests that have been with us for years, all know that we love our beach home, and want everyone to feel at home. This can only happen if we make every effort, to make sure everything is perfect for your family vacation.
Thank you again for such a spectular review, and sharing some of your precious memories with us. We are so happy your family was able to share a beautiful week at the beach together during the Summer and Winter Holidays and our doors are always open to having you return.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Charming secluded waterfront home located on private 400 acres Stiles Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297636
+1 508 248-4849
Spencer Central Massachusetts
Berkshires, Massachusetts
5

Weekend warmth!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
I rented this house for a family holiday. We all loved the house. It was warm, cozy and relaxing. Maria, and Mark were wonderful people, and most helpful in helping us feel welcome.
We could only imagine how awesome this house would be for a weekend in the summer.I can tell you that the fire place,and the view from the master bedroom makes the trip in the winter just as enjoyable.
We made memories there that will last our family a lifetime, and hope we can return again to enjoy this little slice of heaven!
If your looking for a place to call home for a week or weekend I would advise you to consider this most beautiful home!
Robin W.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Charming secluded waterfront home located on private 400 acres Stiles Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297636
+1 508 248-4849
Spencer Central Massachusetts
Avon, Ct
5

Jan 7,8,9

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Would just like to thank you for allowing the Wilcox family to celebrate Xmas in your beautiful home! Its was so cozy and warm, we had such an amazing time! Everything was really nice, the decoration were georgous!
Thank you again ! Hope we can visit again some time in the summer!
Kelly
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Kelly, thank you for your wonderful review. We're always glad when people appreciate the house as much as we do. We love when families use our house as a holiday family gathering or reunion. We'd love to have you and your family come back anytime. I think you'd love the lake even more in warm weather.

Mark & Maria
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming secluded waterfront home located on private 400 acres Stiles Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297636
+1 508 248-4849
Spencer Central Massachusetts
Dupont WA
5

Great vacation rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
We are from Washington state and were visiting family for the holidays. We rented this house because were looking for a place that would fit all of our family members. It was perfect! Nice and cozy with all of the space we needed and more. The view of the lake is amazing and the property is very secluded. Maria told us that the house would be decorated for the holiday and we were so amazed to see gorgeous decorations throughout the entire house.
We can certainly understand why the previous visitors wanted to keep this house a secret. We hope to rent the house again during the summer to enjoy the lake and all of the wonderful activities available.
Thanks Mark and Maria
The Dempsey family
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming secluded waterfront home located on private 400 acres Stiles Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297636
+1 508 248-4849
Spencer Central Massachusetts
Simsbury, CT
5

Perfect Weekend Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My family just got back from our weekend get away at the lakehouse and it was perfect. The fall foliage and views of the lake from the house were beautiful. It was amazing getting up in the morning being right on the lake - the views were truly gorgeous. Everything was right there - we never left the property once. We had planned to go hiking at Spencer State Forest not realizing that there were hiking trails right in the back yard. We hiked for 2 hours and it was so private - we never saw another person once. The foliage was so beautiful on our hike. My brothers and our children went out on the boats and explored the 2 islands that are directly across from the house - the kids had a blast on the paddle boats and kyacks! The kids also had a great time learning how to fish for the first time with the fishing poles that are on site. Night time was so much fun. Even though it was so windy outside and could not use the firepit we made a fire inside and toasted marshmellows. There were a lot of games there and we played games together both nights. Thank you Mark and Maria for the perfect place for our family to get together. We hope to come back every year.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Charming secluded waterfront home located on private 400 acres Stiles Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297636
+1 508 248-4849
Spencer Central Massachusetts
Atlanta, GA
5

A Wonderful Surprise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We have been a little reluctant to write a review because we were hoping this beautiful lake home could remain a little secret.
My family and I have rented a number of vacation homes all over the U.S. and this was by far our favorite. Being the first to rent the home we didn't have much to go by for references. But it was obvious from the moment we pulled into the driveway we had made the right choice and it only got better. No matter where you are inside or outside the home you are overlooking the beautiful lake. We spent two weeks and my wife and kids only left the property three times. So much to do....Fish, kayak, swim, hike, volleyball, basketball and of course our evening wiffle ball games on the miniature field. Then relaxed with a campfire and s'mores while the sun set. Absolutely loved it.
The house is beautiful. Tons of room to spread out or find your own little nook for some quite time to read a book.
The owners Mark and Maria are the best. Very accommodating, gracious and helpful. Could not ask for more. It was worth the seventeen hour drive....We will be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming secluded waterfront home located on private 400 acres Stiles Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297636
+1 508 248-4849
Spencer Central Massachusetts
Ct.
5

Perfect in every way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This rental seemed just too good to be true. But it not only met but exceeded all of our expectations. The setting is beautiful and spacious - very well equipped and welcoming. My husband and I had a wonderful week as our children and grandchildren filtered in and out during the week. My husband's parents were able to join us for an evening and so at dinner that night there was 4 generations present! It was rated a 10 by all of us. We hope to be able to go there as an annual family event for years to come.
Maria and Mark have done a spectacular job! Thanks! Karen Walker
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the great recommendation, Karen! We love hearing all the warmth, joy and enthusiasm about your families and your stay and we're so glad that our lake house made such a special occasion that much more special and meaningful. Mark and I look forward to having you and your family back for years to come.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming secluded waterfront home located on private 400 acres Stiles Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297636
+1 508 248-4849
Spencer Central Massachusetts
North Salem, NY
5

A Treasure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
If I could, I would keep this property a secret. That way I could have it all to myself. The description is perfectly accurate, but the property is even more outstanding than is described. This beautiful home is in a unique setting of total privacy. You will cherish the gardens, the porches, the views of the lake and sunsets. No amenity has been forgotten. For families with children, it is like a mini summer camp with all that is offered in equipment for fun activities right on the property . For those who are looking for tranquility, it is here for you as well. The owners have thought of everything including wonderful beds, lovely furniture, kyacks, lounge chairs, fire pit set and ready to be lit, and a complete guide as to where everything is in the house and the surrounding area, including how to get there. The owners wish for this to be a wonderful experience and will go out of their way to make it happen. The photographs are beautiful, but the real experience of this lovely place cannot be shown in a picture. It is an experience of stepping back in time to a cottage by the sea and being in the present with all that one expects in modern life. This property is a treasure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Carol for writing such a warm and wonderful review. We do try hard to pay attention to every detail in an effort to provide our guests with a perfect stay. It's so nice that it's noticed. We're so glad your family enjoyed the Lake House even though your week was the only one this summer which had several days of rain. At least for this year it is a very well kept secret since we only recently started renting out our property. We're looking forward to having you and your family returning next year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming secluded waterfront home located on private 400 acres Stiles Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p297636
+1 508 248-4849
Spencer Central Massachusetts
Leominster, MA
5

Beautiful spot in central Mass

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We spent a wonderfully relaxing two weeks here. The location is very private with ample parking and yard space. The house is gorgeous and comfortable. We particularly enjoyed the screened in porch, a perfect spot for a morning coffee or evening cocktail. The owners provided a full complement of amenities including kayaks and paddle boats which were perfect for exploring the lake and small islands. Our only regret was having to leave at the end of our vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Lois and her family were fantastic renters. We're always pleased to hear our guests enjoyed our cozy lake house for their vacation. We're so happy to share our home and would love to have them back every year.
Helpful votes: 1/1