Beverly Shores house rental
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Beverly Shores House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 4 Full Baths, (Sleeps 14)

Close to the beach, casino, dunes and an easy drive to Notre Dame! Ask about last-minute deals!

Jan-Feb: $1,200 Wknd/$1,825 Wk

Mar-April: $1,650 Wknd/$2,400 Wk

May: $1,950 Wknd/$3,200 Wk

June-August: $2,300 Wknd/$3,500 Wk

Sep-Oct: $1,950 Wknd/$3,200 Wk

Nov-Dec: $1,400* Wknd/$2,150* Wk (*Holidays Extra, please inquire)

Deposits typically 1/4 to 1/3 of rental rate. Credit cards accepted.

All the benefits of the Dunes and then some. The owner uses this house as his home, but also as a place for calm get togethers and family gatherings. (We do not accept groups that will make noise day or night). With five bedrooms (two of the bedrooms have two sets of bunkbeds each, so there are 8 bunks, two queen beds and a king bed) and four full bathrooms, as many as 14 can have a great time over the week or weekend, and all sleep onsite. Sorry, we are no longer allowing weddings, bachelor parties, high school or college groups, and any groups over 14.

Features: Signature deck with outdoor gas grill, 9-person hot tub, outdoor shower and a finished lower level with a living area, tv, two bedrooms, three bathrooms, a bar and laundry. Upstairs features a new full bathroom and three bedrooms, kitchen, four-season room with gas fireplace and living room.

Spring and fall are my favorite times, but even winter is cozy in this getaway! Less than an hour to Notre Dame and less than a mile to the beach.

What makes this different from most homes in Beverly Shores is the location and lot size. We are close enough to the lake to make it an easy walk, bike or drive, but unlike homes close to the lake, this lot is two acres, which gives you a feeling of privacy while still being able to spread out.

The driveway is large and circular, so can accommodate several cars.

If you like to eat and don't want to grill all the time on site, the best restaurant in the Dunes, Bartlett's, is open just two doors down. It is a focal point of post-beach activity or a great place for Bloody Mary's anytime of day! Next door is Dunes Antiques. These are our neighbors and they are great! Go shop and meet them! (They also sleep with their windows open, so again, music or loud noise is not tolerated by us or by them. Police will be called and you will lose your deposit, so this is a matter we take very seriously).

The goal is for you and your friends, family or significant other to have a fantastic time in a safe, calm environment. The new stream, waterfall and shade garden help with the tranquil mood. If you want more information, just email me!

Close to: Blue Chip Casino & Hotel, Four Winds Casino & Resort, Lighthouse Place Outlet Mall, Mount Baldy, Indiana National Dunes Beaches, Trails and Bike Trails

Keywords: country, near beach, forest, camping, bonfire, bunk beds, pond, waterfall, party, campfire, Zen, grill, beach, restaurant

More Details
Hide Details

I am a business owner from Indiana. I completed nearly all the landscaping, pond and waterfalls in 2004. Creating a sense of retreat has been the goal here as my normal life is hectic with travel and deadlines. Sharing my home with others brings it continuous life.

The Owner purchased this house in 2004

This is a great area: beaches, dunes, forest, hiking, not to mention great shopping and playing in Michigan City at the outlet mall and the Blue Chip casino. The best part for me was the ability of my dog to run around two acres and chase deer, squirrels, etc. The casual atmosphere here is great!

Everyone here is just here to relax or have fun -- or both! You can grab ice cream or coffee at the gas station (walkable), a full meal or drink at Bartlett's (walkable), mail a letter(!) at the town post office at the entrance to the property, and you can really utilize the property however you want to have a good time -- indoors or out. It's even beautiful in the winter b/c there is almost always a nice snow cover!

16 Reviews of Property 295696 in Beverly Shores, Indiana

Reunion, Group and Family Home (Sleep 14) Bonfire & Large Yard
average rating of 4.8125 based on 16 reviews
business
Reunion, Group and Family Home (Sleep 14) Bonfire & Large Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295696vb
Beverly Shores Indiana
Ann Arbor, MI
5

Great Christmas Holiday rental!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Our entire extended family stayed here for the Christmas holiday--it was great! The house had ample sleeping room for all of us. The downstairs bunk room was great for the kids. The adults loved the outdoors hot tub and sound system. Being a family of cooks, we would have appreciated a bigger kitchen, but we had no problems! The house was exceptionally clean and stocked with everything. The location was perfect for everything--grabbing the train to Chicago, quick trips to the grocery store and offered great access to the parks. The outside living space was amazing--too bad it was winter! We would definitely recommend this rental!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Reunion, Group and Family Home (Sleep 14) Bonfire & Large Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295696vb
Beverly Shores Indiana
Carmel, IN
5

Refreshing Option for Diverse Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
First off, we visited the property prior to renting it. The house is vintage 1940s-50s:, functional, built for a modest sized family. We had a great time at this house in a wonderful setting. Our party was 13 people including 4 children ranging in age from 2-10. Although the driveway is long and narrow, there is ample space in the driveway, which afforded plenty of parking for our 7 cars. The bedrooms and bunk beds were sufficient for our needs. The older of the adults stayed in the three upstairs bedrooms and the younger crowd took to the basement barracks with all the bunk beds. There was a small “airline” sized half bath and a larger bathroom with a big shower, although we hear the new basement is now ‘finished’ and includes two full baths and two bedrooms. Anyway, the kids had a great time scampering from bed to bed. Although the kitchen is small by today’s standards, it was certainly adequate for our needs (and we used the outdoor grill for most of the cooking anyway). The huge grill allowed us to cook up lots of hamburgers, hot dogs and ribs. Although we did not use them, this stainless steel unit also has a small built in electric refrigerator, which was cold, and a charcoal grill for those who like the smoky flavor it would provide. The living room had plenty of seating to allow some of the males to watch football games on TV while the rest played outside. The three seasons room is used as a dining room and we all fit comfortably at the large table. Most of us spent the better part of our time on the deck. The deck is huge and beautiful. The BIG hot tub was hot at about 100 degrees. It was used several times during our stay. The bonfire on Saturday evening was beautiful with the children toasting marshmallows. The big oak tree at the front of the house sits at the top of the little waterfall. It’s a great place to drag a chair, a drink and a book and enjoy the sounds of the waterfall. Many of our group played soccer in the front yard area and several used the volleyball net, which the owner had set up down near the post office: great fun! Our group also played beanbag toss in the side yard. The Beverly Shores beaches are picturesque and great and are a modest walk or short drive from the house. Several of our party splashed in the surf there. Some of that party later drove to Mt. Baldy, the highest point of the surrounding dunes, and spent several hours there. All in all this was a great place to have a reunion for our family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Reunion, Group and Family Home (Sleep 14) Bonfire & Large Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295696vb
Beverly Shores Indiana
Chicago
5

Marriage Without Tradition

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 24, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My fiancé and I had searched many properties looking for a place to have our outdoor wedding. We wanted to rent a place that was beautiful and that could offer our guests a place to stay after the wedding. We came across this property and drove in from Chicago a few months prior to our potential rental date to take a look at the property and meet with the owner Rob. We were greeted by Rob and his family all of whom were more than hospitable. Upon arrival they gave us a tour of the property, both inside and outside. The grounds were very well maintained with a lot of attention to detail. Everything from the pond, to the flowers and the trees were well manicured. The deck on the back of the house is truly breathtaking and the design detail is original. The hot tub is positioned amongst the trees and is a really neat addition to the house. As an added bonus there is a decent sized bonfire pit, large grill and an iPod dock with speakers wired for both inside and outside of the house. After spending a few hours with Rob and his family my fiancé and I decided that this was the place that we would take our vows. We had a lot riding on the hopes of good weather for that weekend. It would have been impossible to fit everybody in the house and not at all the ideal situation. It is a bit small but the beauty of what the outside of the house has to offer is worth the rental. The day of the wedding we had roughly 50 guests at the house, including photographers and the chaos of wedding preparations. Things were smooth and there was enough room for people to move in and out of the house. There was overflow parking available in the post office parking lot as well as the driveway. We had a 20 x 20 foot tent on the side of the house, where we were able to set up all of our tables and chairs. Our wedding took place outside in front of the willow tree on a beautiful day in August. The entire day was spent outside enjoying the amenities of the property. It was not your typical traditional wedding but we had the type of wedding that we wanted and we were able to take advantage of everything the property had to offer. All of our guests had a great time and had nothing but positive things to say about the concept of our wedding. The place was perfect and it will always hold a special place in our hearts. There is nothing like ending your wedding surrounded by friends and family with smores and a hot tub.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Reunion, Group and Family Home (Sleep 14) Bonfire & Large Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295696vb
Beverly Shores Indiana
Rochester, NY
5

Great place for a family reunion!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This Beverly Shores home is a delight! We rented it for a family reunion/60th birthday party for my mother and thoroughly enjoyed it. The grounds are beautiful, with a hot tub, pond and lovely gardens. It is not easy to find a place that sleeps so many family members of all ages and we were very happy to be able to stay together. The younger ones had fun with the bunk beds in the basement and the upstairs bedrooms are quite nice. There is a sizeable enclosed porch/family room for big meals if it's raining, but I can't say enough about how nice the yard is. Close to the Dunes, to the South Shore train line and plenty of restaurants. Perfect for summer fun!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Reunion, Group and Family Home (Sleep 14) Bonfire & Large Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295696vb
Beverly Shores Indiana
Chicago
5

Great place, great time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Thank you so much for such a beautiful place. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the house a lot! Our friends told us that's the coolest back yard and deck they had ever seen. We totally agreed. And thank you so much for that new bathroom downstairs. Everything seemed great, it was enough space (even for sleeping!), we spent a lot of time outdoors by the fire, in jaccuzzi, playing walleyball. We had about 30 people. And on the top of that we got the perfect weather. So, we really had a great weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Reunion, Group and Family Home (Sleep 14) Bonfire & Large Yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p295696vb
Beverly Shores Indiana
Chicago
2

Very small house: don't be fooled by the pictures!

Very small house: don't be fooled by the pictures!
  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
+ First, let me be fair: we had a great time there, and it's a great party house.

- Now, the house is very small, it only has 3 bedrooms (queen beds but small rooms). The inside certainly does not contain 20 people comfortably. Many of our friends decided to book a hotel because they did not want to be in the basement with no privacy and only one small bathroom.

- The basement is the other sleeping area. It's a big basement/ laundry room and they crowded it with bunk beds all over the place. This makes this house perfect to pack 20 friends into a house for a weekend, but it is hard to justify the rent per day if you are only 10.
- Go rent a much bigger house with 6 real comfortable bedrooms and a big living room for cheaper! You can even find one directly on the lake and with way more privacy!

+ This house is very close to the train station (really cool if you don't drive. PS: You can park a maximum of 3 or 4 cars in the driveway).
- By the way, don't be fooled by the pictures online. Pictures 1, 3, 4, 5 are in front on the driveway where you would not possibly think of hanging out.
+ Pictures 2, 7, 8, 9 are the really cool things about the house.
- Picture 10 shows the forest, but the other sides of the house have direct neighbors so you don't feel really alone in the garden and they WILL call the Police if you make noise after 11pm
. Picture 11 is the living room, which is the biggest room of the house outside the "bunk bed crowded" basement.

- As I said, the inside is small.
1 living room,
1 small kitchen, with appropriate but minimal cookware.
1 dining room

+ The main reason why we had a good time there is the outside. The deck is really nice, and the hot tub is great, we had a great time in it
- but we had to wait 30 hours before using it before it was mildewed and smelled horribly - someone came to clean it. Also, it never got warmer than 75/80 degrees.

+ Another great thing: the sound system is really nice if you have an iPod. Just dock it in the kitchen and enjoy the sound on the deck, in the dining room and in the hot tub!

- Overall, it would be a perfect place if the rent much cheaper and if you wanted to party like crazy (early in the evening though!)

- Last point: they kept two thirds of our deposit because we supposedly tipped over 2 mosquito candles on the deck. TAKE PICTURES BEFORE AND AFTER to get your deposit back or just add the whole deposit to the rent because they will keep it (it is a pretty penny!)
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: This review was written by a group of young people who stayed last year before many of the renovations were made for 2011, so much of this has changed. Most important, the house used to be available to rent for as many as 30 people for parties and no claim was ever made that each person would have their own private room. In fact, we stated in the ad that the basement had 12 sets of bunkbeds (24 beds) and three bedrooms, so the implication was for parties, not private living. This year, the basement has been finished, so there are now two bedrooms and two bathrooms there, a small living area and fireplace. The bedrooms in the basement now have a total of eight bunks. We recommend a maximum of 14 people in the house now. The house has gone from "Animal House" to something much more civil in the past year. As we state in the contract, outside noise/music must be off by 11pm. This is simple respect for our one neighbor, whose house is about 200 feet away (not close, but not far). This group happened to be very loud and I received complaints from my neighbor. There are no other neighbors close enough to hear anything except fireworks, which are not allowed.

We state in the ad that the house is no mansion and is modest in size. The hot tub issue last year was a fluke and was resolved the next morning by the maid after i received a call the night before at 9pm. We are very responsive to guest needs if anything ever comes up. Renters call my cell phone directly and I have people who can fix things within 4-12 hours, depending on when the call comes in.

The kitchen is small, but there is also the huge grill on the deck to use. Groups have no problem (we've fed up to 80). The kitchen has all the cookware and utensils you would find in any kitchen. If you have a specific need, just ask.

Deposit. This group caused damage and no one is happy when that happens, but everything is documented when it does. Despite the rule of no candles, this group lit a couple of mosquito citronella pots and placed them on the deck. Both were kicked over and the wax sprayed across the new deck. The citronella wax soaked into the deck and that section had to be replaced, which was costly. This group also took my riding mower for a long joy ride and left it in the middle of the yard without gas when they left. This group's actions is one reason for the common sense rules and new restriction on group size. If you have any questions or need more pics (or want to visit first), just ask :)
Helpful votes: 3/3