Deadwood cabin rental - Moonlit Mountain Crest
Moonlit Mountain Crest
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Deadwood Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 1-5)

'Mountain Crest', a beautifully hand-hewn, non-smoking, authentic log cabin, occupies five acres on a mountain top, about five miles northwest of Deadwood, off county-maintained, Maitland road, the 'backdoor’ road to Spearfish. It offers a large parking area suitable for multiple vehicles/guests to meet or visit, to conduct family reunions, etc.

Secluded, with dual access, well-maintained roads, this cabin is a great location to enjoy winter sports, delightful spring and summer activities, or to just 'escape' and 're-charge' one's self.

(Attention Snow Mobilers: Mountain Crest enjoys abundant snow fall. Given its relatively secluded location and being adjacent to national forest land and trails, it is ideally suited to have fun playing in the snow. Where else can one drive their snow mobile up to their front door?)

This unique log cabin can be a romantic getaway or a great location for enjoyable get togethers with friends or family. It is very clean and well maintained and offers guests complete privacy.

The cabin provides excellent support to its guests. They are greeted and provided an orientation, and while delightfully secluded, the cabin support staff/maintainers are available to answer area questions and assist.

Why the Owner Chose Deadwood... Since the Air Force assigned me to South Dakota in the late 80's, I have loved the Black Hills. The are always open and accessible (public land), safe (no bears), and the people here are so very friendly and welcoming. They appreciate visitors. The northern 'hills' are especially beautiful and have so much history and fun things to do. I very much enjoy my stays at Mountain Crest. I take great interest in making sure my visitors are able to enjoy and appreciate it as much as I do.

The special appeal of this cabin... I bought 'Mountain Crest' in 2005, a dream come true. The trees that grew on my mountain top are still there. They repose as a part of this handmade log cabin. Watching eagles soar, deer graze, chipmunks play, or turkeys strutting is something I always yearned to be able to do. You can too by simply sitting on the veranda or looking out of the kitchen window. I love having the freedom to adventure out and not come across barbed wire limitations.

A Chance to See It On a Video: A recent guest with his family shot a You Tube video of their stay. If interested, here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BQlvJr6HZ38

More Details
Hide Details

Since the Air Force assigned me to South Dakota in the late 80's, I have loved the Black Hills. The are always open and accessible (public land), safe (no bears), and the people here are so very friendly and welcoming. They appreciate visitors. The northern 'hills' are especially beautiful and have so much history and fun things to do. I very much enjoy my stays at Mountain Crest. I take great interest in making sure my visitors are able to enjoy and appreciate it as much as I do.

32 Reviews of Property 291867 in Deadwood, South Dakota

'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
average rating of 4.870968 based on 32 reviews
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
5

Amazing Space

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We are very familiar with the Black Hills and this area. We expected a nice cabin, what we got far exceeded our expectations.

From the minute we contacted the owner to the time we checked out and pulled away from the cabin was a great experience. Tom was great to work with and so accommodating, Bob and Lynn are fantastic, and couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful.

The cabin itself was a beautiful space. We loved the hand hewn logs and the wood stove that gave the cabin it's rustic feel with all the modern amenities you could want. It was the perfect escape and our college age children loved it as well.

And the road.. well that's just how they are in the Black Hills.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Appreciate your positive, detailed review. We always strive to insure that Mountain Crest gives our guests an enjoyable and memorable experience. We do not have ‘mystery shoppers’ who are able to stay at other area facilities. We highly value feedback from guests like yourself who have experienced other area cabins and are able to share their observations. We will keep working at it! Would love to extend to you our repeat guest discount.
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
Lakeville, MN
4

Our Stay at Mountain Crest

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Mountain Crest cabin was very, very nice, with picturesque views. The drive up the mountain to get there was a little nerve racking for us, but that was mostly due to the weather. Just had a couple inches of snow upon our arrival, which made the windy, narrow road a little dicey for us flat-landers :-).
Once there, the snow enhanced the beauty of the whole experience, but also hampered our plans a bit, as we did not want to go up or down the mountain in the dark, with those road conditions.
Overall, Mountain Crest is a lovely place and we are glad to have experience it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mountain Crest. Thank you for your positive words on your experience. One of the endearing aspects to this mountain top cabin is its location. Another is that it is somewhat delightfully secluded. Given this, it follows that the roads to reach it are going to be a little more rustic and non-traditional. However, Bob & Lynn, the cabin greeters/maintainers, are also part of the local road district. Often you will see them out on their heavy equipment clearing snow or otherwise maintaining the roads and the cabin’s driveway. Using a conventional vehicle generally does not present any unusual problems. Occasionally the weather is a consideration. We advise our winter guests of the possibility of snow and suggest they have light tire chains (cable chains) or consider using an AWD or 4WD vehicle. There is a fun aspect to this, a fresh dusting of snow adds to the feel of having a unique, ‘Thomas Kinkade’ (the painter) experience during your visit.
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
Sioux Falls SD
4

Wind & "Wood"Flies

Wind & "Wood"Flies
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
A very neat, rustic cabin, well furnished & w/beautiful views. The roads were no problem & lended to the remote atmosphere of the cabin. Being on the mountain top enabled us to enjoy 48 straight hours of 35-70 mph winds. However, the flies were a major annoyance - particularily on sunny days & the following night. One suggestion to future renters is to call Bob & Lynn from Rapid City or somewhere w/i 30 minutes of your arrival time, in addition to the 6-8 hours advance notice,since we had no cell service @ the meeting place. The 6-8 hour call will generally allow an expected arrival time no more definite than w/i an hour while a call shortly before actual arrival should enable Bob & Lynn to meet you w/oyou having to wait a long time. We arrived about 15 minutes early of our 6:30-7:30 anticipated arrival & after waiting for about 1/2-hour, went to a nearby home to use the phone to call them. Other than the flies, we highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Jim, pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and found your time on a mountain top fun and special. This time of year the wood flies (not refuse types) get excited on the few very warm days left before Mother Nature covers the mountains in white. The northern hills are uniquely beautiful but can be a concern for cell phone connectivity in the valleys. We always advise arriving guests to call from Deadwood to better coordinate their personalized cabin greeting and orientation. Thank you for sharing your experience and suggestion to help other guests.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
5

Pictures do not do justice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Mountain Crest was truly the perfect place to spend our first time in the Black Hills. As wonderful as the pictures are, they simply do not do justice to the actual experience. All of the little personal touches were so appreciated - you really don't need to bring much more than clothes and food. The wood stove was fantastic for the unseasonably cold evenings we had during our stay. Bob and Lynn were great hosts, giving us a tour of the cabin and relaying some of the history of both the cabin as well as the area.
One word about the road, we both got used to it quite quickly. The first time in and out was a little harrowing, but soon it became very routine. We even had a couple of inches of snow one evening and it wasn't nearly as 'scary' the next morning as I had feared it would be. This cabin truly is a magical place and I am hoping that we can return next year.
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to share a little about your experience at Mountain Crest. One of the endearing aspects to a stay at my cabin is that it is actually located on a mountain top and somewhat delightfully secluded. Given this, it follows that the roads to reach it are going to be more rustic and non-traditional. However, they are well maintained or snow cleared and packed down. Travel to the cabin in a conventional vehicle should not present any unusual problems. Occasionally the weather can be a consideration. Sometimes, light tire chains (cable chains) or using a 4WD may be needed. There is a fun aspect to this. A dusting of snow adds to the fun,‘Thomas Kinkade’ feel of your experience.
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
Everett, WA
3

Beautiful Cabin, not a good place to stay on motorcycles

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
The cabin is a great place to go, beautiful secenry, quite, but only if you have a car. But it is definitely not a good place to rent if you are riding a motorcycle. Very steep roads, lots of gravel and sharp rocks on the roads. Extremely hard to go into town at night. Went there for the Sturgis rally event and was very disappointed that we could not venture into the towns after sunset. Roads were to dangerous, and very very dark going up to the cabin. If we were there to get away from it all with our car, yes very nice place to stay. Motorcyclists, no.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am very dismayed and apologize that your experience at Mountain Crest was not up to your expectations. Bob, Lynn, and I feel like we go the ‘extra mile’ to communicate to our guests what they can anticipate should they choose to come for a stay and to then well accommodate and assist them once they arrive .

Please note the wording below. This was in the initial email response to your inquiry along with 12 photos, two additional, specific photos for motorcycle riders, and the website where you could view the youtube.com video of Mountain Crest.

“I pride myself in being a person of integrity and want to treat people fairly. Driving conditions for motorcyclists staying at Mountain Crest might not be acceptable to you; however, other motorcycle riders have stayed at that cabin, enjoyed their visit, and have had no concerns.

You should be aware that to reach this cabin, you will be driving about 6.5 miles on well maintained, packed gravel (not loose, small pebbles) or dirt roads and will need to drive about 35 yds up a moderately steep dirt driveway.

P.S. I am attaching two pictures. These depict area roads and the cabin’s driveway and may be helpful to visualize the driving conditions there.

P.S. #2 My guests frequently appreciate being able to actually talk to someone actually at the cabin’s location. I have a working arrangement with Bob and Lynn Madsen, the ‘Mayor’ and ‘Mayoress’ of the Mountain. (smile) They are an excellent resource for any questions you may have about the cabin or the area, especially if you are driving a motorcycle. They have lived on the mountain since the 80’s and actually run the road district, literally driving heavy equipment and maintaining the roads there. They would be greeting you upon arrival and are available to assist. Their contact information is …”
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
Howard Lake MN
5

Stayed week of 7/23/12 - highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
This is a great place to get away and relax. I've never stayed at a place where the only noise at night is the creaking of the trees and the stars were so bright. It was really nice that birdseed and corn was in the shed. If you're patient, maybe you can get the chipmunks to eat out of your hand -- I did, but of course the camera wasn't ready. We saw many critters and even saw a mountain lion just a mile or so from Lead - running across the highway. The house is nicely stocked and very comfortable. It was a little warm a few days but it cooled down in time for bed. We were a little sad that we couldn't have a fire (burn ban) but that's ok. There was so much to do in the area and we were never bored. No joke on the drive to the house -- it's rough! Good thing we have a truck. Overall it was wonderful!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Always enjoy watching the chipmunks and the other critters. Recently, Bob and Lynn saw a mother turkey and her brood of babies. Amazing that your were able to get those chipmunks to eat out of your hand. Pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and all the fun things to do in the 'hills'. We'll keep working at it to make it special.
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

Owner Response

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Hey Debbie, Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Mountain Crest and that it was especially meaningful for you. In addition to its natural beauty and ambiance, I strive to provide guests a lasting, memorable experience. Maybe we 'hit the mark' during your stay. Unique to Mountain Crest, Bob & Lynn are more than cabin greeters or maintainers; they genuinely do set the tone for our visitors to enjoy a delightful experience in the hills.
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
bloomington mn
5

perfect vacation getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Just returned from our "Thelma & Louise" trip to the Black Hills. The 2 of us left our husbands behind & went to SD to simply relax and have fun. Little did we know that we had found the perfect place to do just that. Although we enjoyed our daily trips to various attractions - Mt. Rushmore - Spearfish Canyon-Custer State Park-etc-coming back to Mountain Crest Cabin was the highlight of our day. We even enjoyed washing dishes because the view from the kitchen window was so beautiful. Sitting on the porch with morning coffee or a cold beer in the evening were the best times of all. "
The cabin has everything you could possibly want or need and was so clean and comfortable. Bob & Lynn couldn't have been nicer & were so helpful when we had minor car problems. As a result, we were able to see their beautiful home and enjoy another incredible view of the Black Hills. My search for the perfect vacation spot is over. Mountain Crest has it all! Can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The Black Hills are amazing. One can't help but feel rejuvenated after spending some time there. Mountain Crest offers something many vacation properties/cabins do not... Bob & Lynn, my cabin greeters/maintainers and genuinely helpful, 'not too close' neighbors. We work together to insure our guests enjoy a quality, fun or relaxing experience and know that should something go awry, they have support. Pleased to know that you had a great vacation.
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
California
5

Chamring piece of seclusion

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Everything that the owners portray this charming cabin as, is true. It was truly a great place to spend a week and relax and enjoy the sites. I would highly recommend this as your destination stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Justin, appreciate the feedback. Happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Mountain Crest and that we met your expectations/needs. We always try to be candid and forthright with our guests. Would love to have you come back for a future visit and take advantage of our Repeat Guest discount.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Mountain Crest' -One of a Kind, Secluded, Hand-Hewn, Incredible Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p291867
520 360-2669
Deadwood Black Hills
gillette, wy
5

wyoming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
beautiful cabin everything you could want . very close to deadwood and spearfish canyon .highly recommend this cabin very secluded
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the positive comment. I Maintain the cabin as though I were living there. We always strive to put our guests wholly at ease and comfortable.
Helpful votes: 2/2