Holualoa house rental - Hale Kawika
Hale Kawika
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Holualoa House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Kona Vacation Rentals Oceanview Home

4 bedroom / 3 bath, pool & spa, flatscreen TV's, pool table, sleeps 10, $400-$600/night, $2800-$4000/week.

“I’d never stay anywhere else on the Kona Coast after staying here”.

“We never had to leave except to get food.”

'This was the vacation of a lifetime'.

It's a given that a Vacation Rental must be great - and this one is. But along with this beautiful home comes a feeling and lifestyle that just can't be duplicated.

Located on 2 acres at 1100 feet, just off the upper highway on a private road lined with coffee trees. This retreat is a cool alternative to the heat, humidity and traffic of town, yet it’s only 10 minutes from the Alii Drive beaches, the Keauhou resorts, golf, shopping and the restaurants in Kailua-Kona town. The airport is only 20 minutes away.

Upstairs is open beam with 20’ ceilings. It has a kitchen that’s gourmet all the way; ready to use – just add food. The great room has a dining and entertainment area with a large flat screen TV, DVD player and stereo; also a hideaway bed. It empties out onto a very large lanai with a 180 degree view of the Pacific. Also upstairs is a huge master suite, another flat screen TV, with access to the same lanai; and has views of the ocean from the king size bed. The master bath has a large soaking tub with separate shower and dual vanity.

Downstairs are 2 queen bedrooms that empty onto the lower lanai – same view as upstairs, and each has a TV. The 4th bedroom is setup for kids with 2 twin beds and a TV / DVD player. Also downstairs are 2 bathrooms and a large game room with a wet bar, pool table, flat screen TV and stereo. For added convenience, there’s a fully equipped laundry room.

The lower lanai has a gas barbeque, and down a few steps from the lanai is the pool and spa – more stunning views while you soak, swim or have a few drinks – the wet bar is only seconds away.

Finally, the yard has a large sweeping lawn. Avocado, lemon and mango trees abound; you’ll have had your fill of guacamole by the time you leave.

Wireless internet access and local phone service are available. Bring work with you and do it from the lanai – many have extended their stay just because of that.

Like your own beautiful home - you'll never want to leave.

Keywords: Kona, vacation, rental, house

More Details
Hide Details

Owners are David & Susan Wampler. David loves surfing, fishing, and golf. Susan loves dogs and David - in that order.

David Wampler purchased this house in 2008

Quiet, perfect views, perfect temperatures. Convenient to beaches, resorts, golf, town shopping & restaurants, and the airport. Away from the hustle and bustle of the tourists crowds.

All the benefits of the Kona Coast without the heat and traffic; and only 20 minutes from the airport. Located at 1100 feet, this property stays 5-10 degrees cooler than the beach area. Wake up to cool mornings and go to sleep with warm sunsets. Hit a wedge from the driveway and your golf ball will still be on the property. Pick avocados and make fresh guacamole each day. View the cruise ships in Kailua Bay while sitting in the spa.

52 Reviews of Property 285151 in Holualoa, Hawaii

Beautiful Home on 2 Acres with Stunning 180 Degree Ocean Views
average rating of 4.9615383 based on 52 reviews
business
Beautiful Home on 2 Acres with Stunning 180 Degree Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285151vbi
Holualoa Kona Coast
CA
5

Martin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
It was better than the pictures. I would recommend this property to everyone! It was the vacation of a lifetime!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home on 2 Acres with Stunning 180 Degree Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285151vbi
Holualoa Kona Coast
Santa Barbara, CA
5

Family vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We arrived with two young children and met another family with a couple young ones as well. The house was perfect for us. Good location with proximity to stores, restaurants, beaches etc but enough out of the way from real busy touristy hustle and bustle.

Weather was good up at the house with warm and sunny days until late afternoon when slight cloud cover cooled things enough to still make the pool and outdoor areas nice and usable without being too hot.

House amenities, cleanliness, responsiveness and attentiveness of caretakers was great without being intrusive on privacy. The process of property access, renting and leaving was simple and went smoothly.

I would recommend it to any who want the convenience of a nice home, views and quiet surroundings. We will definitely return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful Home on 2 Acres with Stunning 180 Degree Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285151vbi
Holualoa Kona Coast
London, England
5

Home from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Our family from the UK and the US gathered to celebrate my husband's birthday and thoroughly enjoyed our time in Hale Kawika. The house was exactly as described and pictured perfectly. Lovely kitchen which was very well equipped and tremendous views from the patios. Clean and very well appointed. We loved the convenience to town and had breakfast at The Coffee Shack twice. Jackie Rays restaurant was great and we had a memorable sunset drive up to the top of Mauna Loa.
Mahalo David and Susan
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind review. We're very happy you enjoyed the place..........David & Susan
business
Beautiful Home on 2 Acres with Stunning 180 Degree Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285151vbi
Holualoa Kona Coast
tacoma wa
5

Holualoa

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a great stay at your beautiful home...We loved the fresh fruit on the property....The home was large enough to give everyone a private space when desired...our only issue was not having a heated pool as the water was very cold....not comfortable for the children or adults.... the sun was not sufficient to heat the pool water... Thank you for a great stay...
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car
business
Beautiful Home on 2 Acres with Stunning 180 Degree Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285151vbi
Holualoa Kona Coast
5

Family Vacation in paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had a wonderful stay. The house was perfect for our group.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Beautiful Home on 2 Acres with Stunning 180 Degree Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285151vbi
Holualoa Kona Coast
United States
5

Love this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We stayed at your home for 10 days and loved every minute of our stay. David was great to work with and he always returned our e-mails very quickly. Jennifer and Herb were lovely folks and very helpful as well. We were close enough to town yet out away from the city. The view was beautiful and we loved sitting out on the upper deck for every meal! The guys in our group loved the pool table and we all loved the pool and spa. Would recommend this rental to others and will return to this property if and when we return to the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Shelly,

Thanks so much for your kind review. Not only does it help me to attract guests, but it warms my heart to know how much you enjoyed yourselves.

I hope you can come again someday.

Thanks again,

David Wampler
business
Beautiful Home on 2 Acres with Stunning 180 Degree Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285151vbi
Holualoa Kona Coast
los angeles
5

Amazing stay! The best master bathroom ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I vacationed here with 8 other family & friends. We had a great time, much better than at a resort because you can use the pool/hot tub 24/7 as well as the pool table. We used the hot tub every day and it heats up pretty quickly to a nice hot temp, it's cool that it spills over into the cold pool. We had a 14 mth old toddler with us and the only challenge was there was no gate or pack n play to keep him in so we had to keep an eye on him with the staircase. But if you put him on the upstairs lanai, he can run around without fear of getting hurt since the rails are tall and close together. The master bedroom and bathroom are amazing! Very large and well appointed, loved the separate shower/tub and potty in it's own little room. The walk in closet was like a separate small bedroom where we let our toddler sleep undisturbed. We just think the house is made out of quality materials and it was a pleasure to stay there. It is a 10-15 min drive to get anywhere, except Blue Sky Kona coffee, which is 2 min away. We also picked a ton of avocado during our stay and made a lot of guac! Yum. The kitchen really is gourmet with double ovens and double dishwasher...droolworthy. We cooked a large Thanksgiving dinner without a problem! David was always very quick with replies whenever we had a question. Thanks, David, for a wonderful stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home on 2 Acres with Stunning 180 Degree Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285151vbi
Holualoa Kona Coast
San Francisco
5

Excellent taste of paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Beautiful home- the pictures don't do it justice. HUGE amount of space over all. 15 minutes (at most) from Ali'i drive. Close to all the basics on Kona side (target, costco, airport, Ali'i, etc). Kitchen is gorgeous and huge. Tons of places for quiet time even if staying in a large group. The hot tub was a life saver for sore muscles and backs each night! Highly recommend. David replies quickly which in it of itself can be a miracle with VRBO sometimes!

Note that there was no treadmill on the lanai as pictured so I assume just an out of date picture.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home on 2 Acres with Stunning 180 Degree Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285151vbi
Holualoa Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

You definitely get no stink from us!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Ok, I must say first that we are from Northern PA and after almost 24 hours on an airplane or in an airport, we were relieved to find your beautiful home without a single wrong turn! I don't think I can find anything wrong with this property except that it doesn't belong to me! Haha! If/when we return we will certainly be returning here -- it was our home away from home and are saddened to leave. Thank you for sharing your home with us!
business
Beautiful Home on 2 Acres with Stunning 180 Degree Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p285151vbi
Holualoa Kona Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

June 21-28, 2012

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband, daughter, son-in-law, & 2year old grandson spent a week here to celebrate my 60th Birthday, my retirement, and my daughter's Master's Degree. What a wonderful place to have our celebration! This home is absolutely gorgeous with such a breath taking view! We really enjoyed walking around the 2-acres, relaxing in the hot tub and splashing in the pool. Spent our days sight-seeing or at the beach (high recommend Hapuna Beach-great sand and pretty water). It was so nice being able to come back to this home to relax. Lola & Jennifer (managers) were so welcoming and ready to help with anything we needed or had questions about. Mahalo Dave for sharing your home with us and mahalo Lola & Jennifer for being so kind and and helpful!