Don't be fooled by the photos
Don't be fooled by the photos
Secluded area. Wide open space for kids with a swing under a huge tree. The swimming pool has an adjacent hot tub. But portions of the hot tub is broken (safety issue). First I thought it was a waterfall from hot tub into the pool. Issue here is hot tub water level is low. The kids love it but for 4 adults, it did not work well. The house is _reasonably_ clean with new sheets and nice mattress. Lots of sleeping place for the 7 kids. Not too dusty inside. It has comfortable couches up front in the living room. Family room is cozy with big screen (55") TV and xbox, cable, and games.
Inside the house, it is spacious as well. It has 2 kitchens next to each other which seems odd. Basically I believe the owner extended the room out back and rather than creating or move the entire kitchen to the new extension, they end up with 2 smaller kitchens with two older smaller stove tops. All appliances are outdated except for a new Panasonic microwave (from Costco). We ended using the BBQ grill outside to cook. Internet is available with 10mbps down and 4mbps up via the provided wireless network.
Cons and there are just too many to list: The house old and not very inviting, from the outside, almost look like it's abandon except for the lawn which seems to get moe about every 2 - 3 weeks. The kids (6 - 11yr) are scared to use the bottom bathroom with the door closed, it's like it was in the 40s. The hot water smells of rotten eggs (sulphur?) but cold water was fine. This should have been mentioned. Imagine asking the kids to take a bath in it. The yard is not maintained as far as we can see with weeds all over both around the house and the pool area looks to be ignored over a year. The floor box in front of the house (only places) are all dried up and dead. There are some wild black berries plants that looks to be years old and not part of the intended landscape. Not only that the wines are NOT kept up and weeds everywhere. If you are thinking of walking through the grapes and enjoying the air, you can forget it.
To tell the truth, I am really disappointed. We would NOT go back and do not recommend this to friends or family.
Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Wow. I am posting the same response here as to the other negative review above: I am happy to report that we recently (in February and March, 2012), did a range of renovations and updates to the house that pretty much address every one of the complaints in this review. We completely renovated the downstairs bathroom and water system; we painted the interior of the house; we replaced all the appliances: dishwasher, refrigerator, washer/dryer; stove, etc. We also changed our cleaning service. We also replanted much of the grounds surrounding the house, much of it now beautiful native plants. Most renters were still loving the house prior to these renovations, but we did realize that some updates should be done, and we did them!
I will say - those blackberry plants ARE years old, and we eat blackberries from them every summer, as do all our renters who do not find "years old" balckberry plants to be offensive, but rather, inviting, with delicious blackberries!
Helpful votes: 4/6
Did you find this review helpful?