Santa Rosa estate rental - Front of home
Front of home
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Santa Rosa Estate Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 8-12)

Approaching on a winding private drive lined with ancient live oaks, its own vineyard of mature zinfandel grapes to the right, guests arrive at this soulful estate magically sited on 8 acres overlooking Bennett Valley, just minutes from the famed Valley of the Moon and the amenities of Santa Rosa. There are about 3 level acres and 5 acres of wooded trails, creeks, and exploration. If you and your group appreciate privacy, and “artisan luxury”, we think you will love our house and grounds.

Tall glass walls offer light and views of the natural gardens, vineyard, and fruit orchard, while relaxing in contemporary luxury. The lower level of the home features slate and maple flooring, ancient fir beams, an open living room with hearth and woodstove, spacious dining, Mexican tile kitchen, and a great room with stone fireplace, entertainment kitchen and French doors leading to outdoor deck, expansive, level lawn. Make your way across the lawn and there, tucked into a private benched terrace surrounded by a woodland grove, lies an artful pool with stone spa and large patio area.

Cascade stairs lead to the second floor balcony overlooking cathedral ceiling living room. A master bedroom with skylights, King bed and room to spare, a large private bedroom with Queen bed and views of the valley, a loft bed for 2 or more and a high loft for 2 or more, especially fun for kids. The second floor bath has a fabulous Victorian claw foot tub and shower, mosiac tiles and lots of room for candles and music!

This is not a party house. We do not allow events of parties of any kind. Sorry!

More Details
Hide Details

16 Reviews of Property 283029 in Santa Rosa, California

Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
average rating of 4.0625 based on 16 reviews
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Long Island, New York
5

One of a Kind Sonoma Family Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
This very private tucked away masterpiece of American architecture has features to remember in almost every room. Our nephews never stopped playing on the back lawn, swimming and hopping in and out of the hot tub or exploring the fun lofts and sleeping quarters perfect for kids. The large open family room that opens to the huge back deck feels like a mountain lodge with fieldstone fireplace and cozy kitchen.
The grand living room with elegant modern leather and wonderful views of the vineyards is perfect from curling up with a good book or settling in with a fine Sonoma Chardonnay. We loved the fine mattressess and superb linens. The large bathroooms had beautiful tile work and lots of natural light.
The gardens and many acres for hiking left us wanting more time to explore this wonderful home. The owner, Pat is a very friendly and helpful fellow and we do plan to return again and again:)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Brooklyn, New York
5

Great Birthday Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My guests and I had an amazing weekend in this beautiful house. I celebrated my 40th birthday in Sonoma and its going to be hard to top it for my next party. I might just rent it again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Bend, OR
2

Problematic experience

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The property was beautiful but there were some issues the house.  Really comfortable for only 8 people.  Non-functioning/drained-battery smoke detectors in two bedrooms. One bathroom had a trickle for a shower with an even slower drain and no working light over sink.  The other bath had a very unsavory shower floor. Both toilets plugged up.  Kitchen was spread between two rooms.  The dishwasher was unacceptable, so we hand washed dishes.  Small appliances lacked parts and looked grimy, oven was dirty, and several dishes needed cleaning before use.  Lovely tv and games.  Owner was easy to work with and pleasant.  We felt it was much overpriced.
 
Owner's Response: I am happy to report that we recently (in February and March, 2012), did a range of renovations and updates to the house that pretty much address every one of the complaints in this review. We completely renovated the downstairs bathroom and water system; we painted the interior of the house; we replaced all the appliances: dishwasher, refrigerator, washer/dryer; stove, etc. We also changed our cleaning service. We also replanted much of the grounds surrounding the house, much of it now beautiful native plants. Most renters were still loving the house prior to these renovations, but we did realize that some updates should be done, and we did them!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Fremont, CA
1

Don't be fooled by the photos

Don't be fooled by the photos
  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Secluded area. Wide open space for kids with a swing under a huge tree. The swimming pool has an adjacent hot tub. But portions of the hot tub is broken (safety issue). First I thought it was a waterfall from hot tub into the pool. Issue here is hot tub water level is low. The kids love it but for 4 adults, it did not work well. The house is _reasonably_ clean with new sheets and nice mattress. Lots of sleeping place for the 7 kids. Not too dusty inside. It has comfortable couches up front in the living room. Family room is cozy with big screen (55") TV and xbox, cable, and games.

Inside the house, it is spacious as well. It has 2 kitchens next to each other which seems odd. Basically I believe the owner extended the room out back and rather than creating or move the entire kitchen to the new extension, they end up with 2 smaller kitchens with two older smaller stove tops. All appliances are outdated except for a new Panasonic microwave (from Costco). We ended using the BBQ grill outside to cook. Internet is available with 10mbps down and 4mbps up via the provided wireless network.

Cons and there are just too many to list: The house old and not very inviting, from the outside, almost look like it's abandon except for the lawn which seems to get moe about every 2 - 3 weeks. The kids (6 - 11yr) are scared to use the bottom bathroom with the door closed, it's like it was in the 40s. The hot water smells of rotten eggs (sulphur?) but cold water was fine. This should have been mentioned. Imagine asking the kids to take a bath in it. The yard is not maintained as far as we can see with weeds all over both around the house and the pool area looks to be ignored over a year. The floor box in front of the house (only places) are all dried up and dead. There are some wild black berries plants that looks to be years old and not part of the intended landscape. Not only that the wines are NOT kept up and weeds everywhere. If you are thinking of walking through the grapes and enjoying the air, you can forget it.

To tell the truth, I am really disappointed. We would NOT go back and do not recommend this to friends or family.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Wow. I am posting the same response here as to the other negative review above: I am happy to report that we recently (in February and March, 2012), did a range of renovations and updates to the house that pretty much address every one of the complaints in this review. We completely renovated the downstairs bathroom and water system; we painted the interior of the house; we replaced all the appliances: dishwasher, refrigerator, washer/dryer; stove, etc. We also changed our cleaning service. We also replanted much of the grounds surrounding the house, much of it now beautiful native plants. Most renters were still loving the house prior to these renovations, but we did realize that some updates should be done, and we did them!

I will say - those blackberry plants ARE years old, and we eat blackberries from them every summer, as do all our renters who do not find "years old" balckberry plants to be offensive, but rather, inviting, with delicious blackberries!
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
SF
4

Great Getaway with Kids

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
I rented this house for my siblings and their kids to end the summer with great fun. We had a wonderful stay. The house was very comfortable and clean. The family room has a lot of Wii and XBOX games for the kids to spend time in between swimming, soaking in the hot tub, and getting on & off of the seesaw and swing. The house is secluded and there is a beautiful view from the deck. The kitchen is functional and there are plenty of siliverwares and dishes to serve a big crowd.

The owner, Pat, was very friendly and fair. He took the time to show us the amenities in the house.

At the end of the stay, the kids either didn't want to leave or asked to return soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Private Wine Country Estate with Vineyards, Pool and Spa
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p283029
+1 415 203-0995
Santa Rosa Sonoma County
Burke, VA USA
5

A lovely vineyard vacation spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Our extended family loved our stay here. The house was quite large and accommodating and had nice artistic touches. We saw deer on the property every morning. You were made to feel as though you were miles away from civilization with the privacy this property affords, yet you are in close proximity to everything.
We thoroughly enjoyed visiting the very nearby Matanzas Creek winery and gardens - the lavender fields are so lovely. We ate lunch at Zin in Healdsburg one day and that was great. And the meats from Bud's (you'll see roadside signs on the way to the house) were terrific.
We felt very much at home in this property. Though kitchen and bathrooms could use some updating and overall cleanliness was acceptable though not excellent, this is a comfortable, roomy, well-equipped home on a lovely piece of property on the outskirts of Santa Rosa, someplace where we'd love to return someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5