Mendocino house rental - Dining with a View
Dining with a View
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mendocino House Rental Photos and Description
House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2 Maximum)

UPDATE APRIL 1, 2014: We are now taking reservations up until June, 2014. (See reservation schedule below)

FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE, PLEASE READ OUR RESERVATION SCHEDULE AND COTTAGE DETAILS:

WE ONLY TAKE RESERVATIONS A FEW MONTHS IN ADVANCE. Here is our reservation schedule.

April 1, 2014: Taking reservations until June 30, 2014.

May 15, 2014: Taking reservations for July and August.

July 15, 2014: Taking reservations for September

August 15, 2014 Taking reservations for October, November and and December.

To SEE OUR VIDEO TOUR, click on the video tab above the photo. Please CLICK ON 'CALENDAR' above the photos for availability and please CLICK ON 'RATES' for all rate details.

The cottage is a NO PETS, smoke-free environment. 2 adults Maximum. NO ADDITIONAL SLEEPING SPACE.

NOT SUITABLE for divers or any wet sporting gear, RV's or motorcycles, no portable BBQ's, or outdoor fires.

The cottage has an amazing location on a bluff above a magnificent cove, sandy beach and island. A short private path on the property leads you down to the peaceful cove. The cottage is just 3 miles from Mendocino Village and close to restaurants, markets, activities, golf and hiking. It's a perfect romantic place for 2 (or an inspiring single's retreat). It's a great place to celebrate an anniversary, birthday or just get away from it all.

This charming oceanfront cottage is a separate and private building on the owner's 3-acre property. It's light and airy, nicely decorated, and very clean! Vaulted ceilings give an open feel to this romantic little house. It is well-equipped with electronics, including 2 Cable TV’s, WIFI, DVD player, stereo IPOD docking station, and CD player.

Enjoy the scent of the ocean, see and hear the waves, and have a front-row seat for the sunset. And on clear nights, enjoy the moon shining on the water and an amazing array of stars.

THANK YOU for taking the time to read it all. If this suits you, we will be happy to welcome you for a special oceanfront getaway. Ginny & Norm

More Details
Hide Details

We fell in love with Mendocino in the late 80’s while staying at an oceanfront vacation rental. In 1989, we got the wild idea to buy an oceanfront property and left our home in Sausalito to become “Mendonesians”. Since we both had jobs in the wine business which allowed us to work out of our home, we have managed quite well over the years thanks to the FAX-era of the 80’s, the dial-up era of the 90’s, and finally the high-speed era of today.

The cottage was almost totally rebuilt in the 90’s and was used as our offices for several years. We also lived there while we built our new house and have very fond memories of our years in the cottage. On sunny days, we liked to sit on the porch steps for our evening glass of wine.

We have only been renting the cottage since February, 2010 and so far it's been a 100% positive experience for us, as well as our guests. We give our guests the key and we usually don't see them again until they leave, totally relaxed and happy. Most people report that the cottage is like a decompression chamber and a great escape from work, home, and city life. This is always music to our ears!

The Owner purchased this house in 1989

64 Reviews of Property 279299 in Mendocino, California

SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
average rating of 4.984375 based on 64 reviews
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
San Carlos CA. San Mateo County
5

OCEAN FRONT COTTAGE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We loved the oceanfront cottage in River's Inn. We rushed home from dinner so we could watch the sun set. The weather is not always clear but when it is you are in a perfect location to see a wonderful sunset. There was a beautiful bay at the bottom of the cliffs. If you get up early you could watch the cranes glide across the water. The cottage is small but very intimate which is what we look for. The cottage is designed very nicely. The owners are very nice leaving wonderful bread and jelly for breakfast. We will return next time we are up that way.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
-
5

Serene setting, quaint, sweet cottage.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I just returned from a trip to Northern CA and had the pleasure of staying at this sweet cottage for two nights. In an otherwise stressful trip, this was an oasis of relaxation in which we felt comfortable and calm instantly. The view from the front room was exquisite and I spent my first few hours at the cottage relaxing with a good book right by the windows, and have to admit that I didn't get much reading done because the view was so beautiful.
The cottage is very well equipped, clean and very comfortable. Ginny and Norm showed us the details and made themselves easily available should we need them. Great bread and coffee were available for our first morning; as well as delicious jam and we enjoyed our treats while watching the mist lift from the cove and watched seagulls and other birds beginning their daily activities as the sun rose. At sunset, the filtered light through the trees in front of the cottage made for some great photos. We took Ginny's advice and visited the Botanical Gardens; fabulous! And had dinner at Ledford house for our anniversary; watched the sunset over the ocean as we shared some champagne. The restaurant and service was great.
We'd be back in a heartbeat if we are fortunate enough to find our way back to Mendocino in the near future. I don't think the location of this little cottage could be beat; the setting, the cottage itself, and the owners all added to the value of the cottage location.
Trish & Fred
Idaho
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
La Quinta
4

Loved our time in Little River

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Beautiful location, loved the wild life(animals, that is, as in quails, birds etc).
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Walnut Creek, CA, USA
5

Great Place for a Get Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband and I had a marvelous time here. Botanical Gardens, Skunk Train and Mendocino Village are all close by, but the location and view are so peaceful that one day, we hardly moved! We walked on the beach, got B-B-Q from Q, and watched the full moon over the water. Ginny and Norm couldn't be more gracious hosts! We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Redlands, CA
5

If this were a fish, it would be a Salmon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Beautiful retreat, incredible ocean and beach cove views, private, secluded with just a short path to a isolated beach cove. The cottage was very clean and neat. We cooked three gourmet dinners at the cottage using fresh salmon, prawns and Dungeness crab purchased at the Ft Bragg harbor. The owners are in the front house and the cottage is a separate building with parking in the back. The owners allowed us complete privacy and were very courteous at check-in and departure. There was Highway 1 truck noise during commute times, but the triple paned windows worked well and the views and setting were worth the limited distractions from road noise. For side trips, we recommend the Ft Bragg botanical gardens, Glass Beach, the Mendocino Arts Institute, hiking the Mendocino Headlands and breakfast in to enjoy the quite of the ocean over a cup of coffee. The best lunch was at the Ft. Bragg Harbor (Silvers) as we ate while watching the fishing boats return. Most memorable time was the last evening sitting outside sharing a bottle of Rose and cracking fresh crab dipped in hot garlic butter while watching the sun set and waiting for the green flash. We did not see it this trip, but we will be back for another try.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for sharing your experience and we're so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay. Cal Trans is reinforcing 2 bridges a few miles away which is causing the unusual truck presence but the project will be finished soon. Thank you for pointing out that the cottage is sound-proofed.
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Beautiful, Peaceful Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
If you're looking for a quiet get-away with fantastic views, this is one of the best little cottages west of the Mississippi. It's perfect for a couple with all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay.

Ginny and Norm were very accommodating. When we arrived, they showed us around the cottage and how to access the very private Buckhorn Cove beach. They also left a nice bottle of wine that was very appreciative after a long travel day. The complimentary local coffee, jam and fresh bread was an especially thoughtful touch, as we didn't have to rush to town the next morning for groceries.

They gave us the privacy we wanted, but were very accessible when we had questions about the cottage or the surrounding area. We stayed over the 4th of July Holiday and Ginny had prepared a list of events, including the daily tide tables. Plus, their suggested list of restaurants were spot on. We especially liked the Little River Inn Restaurant just up the road from the cottage.

If you're into photography, there are opportunities around every bend. From attending the small town 4th of July Parade in Mendocino, to hiking on a trail along the pacific coast that the locals use, made our vacation that much more special. I'm so glad we found this little slice of paradise.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Twain Harte
5

Rested and Relaxed

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The view from the front porch is more beautiful than the website pictures can ever portray. It is the perfect setting for a vacation. The cottage is charming and comfortable. We enjoyed the short walk to the beach and the sunsets. Could not be any happier with our stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
5

Okies visit to Mendocino

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I can't say enough good things about our time at the cottage. The best, of course, was the fantastic view of the ocean and small cove with the island in the center. The cottage was so clean and comfortable and we ate our breakfast every morning at the small table by the window overlooking the cove. We enjoyed the hike down to the cove and the little beach where we could set up the folding chairs (furnished by Ginny and Norm). Mendocino Village is also a very picturesque little town and also the location where the scenes of Cabot Cove, Maine were filmed for the series "Murder She Wrote" of which I am a fan.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Grass Valley
5

Great for the Nature Lover

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was our first VRBO experience and it will be difficult to top. The cottage and view are exactly as shown and described. Tidepooling and whale-watching from your own private cove, what could be better. Well, maybe listening to the waves crash as you fall asleep.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
SEE OUR VIDEO! Oceanfront Cottage with Beach. SEE RESERVATION SCHEDULE BELOW
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p279299vb
+1 7079374103
Mendocino North Coast California
Venice
5

Magical Oasis

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This amazing cabin made my trip to Mendocino absolutely perfect. It was so nice, gorgeous, cozy, warm and private--and that doesn't even begin to talk about the views! My favorite part was cooking in the very nice kitchen and watching the waves. I cannot wait to go back. This little cabin is an oasis. I wanted to stay forever!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3