Moneta house rental - Your Private Cove Awaits
Your Private Cove Awaits
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Moneta House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Bathrooms

Perched on a gentle slope overlooking the water, this vacation rental offers the ultimate Smith Mountain Lake experience. Looking to cool off in the summer heat? Simply hop off the private dock and into the crisp, refreshing water. You can also grab one of the two complimentary kayaks and cruise along the shore. Either way, you’ll find that the house is in a low-traffic cove that makes it ideal for swimming and other low-key water sports. When you’re ready to kick back and relax, you can take your pick of the shoreline cabana or the spacious outdoor patio. Both provide unparalleled views of the lake.

Inside, you’ll find that the house feels more like a home than a vacation rental. We lived here for several years before work relocated us to Arizona, and we’ve left all the amenities you would expect in a well-cared-for family home. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need to prepare gourmet meals for a crowd, and stylish furnishings are plush but comfortable. We also have a terrace level with an extra living room for your kids; it includes a Wii game station, DVD player, and a large High Definition TV.

Off the terrace level is a huge deck with table, chairs, lounge and Weber Genesis BBQ for your grilling pleasures. Enjoy your morning coffee with great views of the lake, an afternoon card game or the beautiful sunsets. There is a fenced yard for your four-legged family member to play and we do not charge anything extra to bring your dog. The home offers 4 bedroom and 2.5 baths and over 2200 square feet of living space. The property is .34 acres with 120 feet of prime water frontage.

In terms of location, the Smith Mountain Lake vacation rental couldn’t be better situated. On one hand, the house feels very private and secluded. On the other, it only takes two minutes to drive into town, where you’ll find everything from boat rentals at Captain's Quarters to miniature golf at Bridgewater Plaza. The area also has plenty of restaurants and grocery stores.

There is high speed internet with Wi-Fi access throughout the entire home. There is parking for 4 cars and additional room for a boat and jet-ski trailer. The public 'put in' ramp is close by to the home.

Please note Bedford County says the max occupancy of this home is 8 people based to the size of the septic system. Be VERY careful renting a home without the proper rental permits and septic capacity, as your stay can be cut short by the county. This home is 100% in compliance with the county regulations. They are now strictly enforcing this policy at the lake.

More Details
Hide Details

The owners are Tom & Tracy and their kids Tate & Taylor. Tom owns a real estate company and Tracy is a healthcare executive. They lived in Charlottesville, Virginia for 10 years prior to being relocated out west. The owners now share their time between Smith Mountain Lake and their home in Scottsdale, Arizona.

The Seeley's purchased this house in 2009

We LOVE Smith Mountain Lake. The location of the home is close to all the action, but still very private. We were looking for a place to spend quality family time and we found it. We are there much of the time when it's not rented, so it is well maintained and professionally managed. We feel very lucky we found this very special home and are happy to share it with our guests.

Easy walk to your own private dock and boat house in a VERY private cove. This is one of the best locations on the entire lake. Bridgewater Plaza is minutes by car or boat. The kids love the location and the house. There is not a minute of boredom when we are at the lake.

40 Reviews of Property 277502 In Moneta, Virginia

Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
average rating of 4.925 based on 40 reviews
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Valrico, Florida USA
5

Best location on the lake-for sure!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
I have stayed at several different locations at SML over the past two years. No place that my wife and I have stayed at has had so many great things going for it as this home. The location is amazingly close to everything yet still isolated on a quiet cove. When you come to the lake for vacation(which we did), you want to see the lake, not just be near it. The upstairs family room that faces the lake is wonderful and the views are great everywhere you look. The dock is a great place to sit and unwind after a long day. Tom, who we rented the lake house from, is by far the most responsive ownwer I have had the pleasure to do business with. We had a minor problem during our stay and he was on top of it immediately. We will be back for sure and repeat business is the best form of flattery. Thanks for a great time!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Bob, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to keep on top of everything as we know your time away is very precious. We hope to have you back again as our guest.
Helpful votes: 5/6
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Canton, OH
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
There are many rental houses at the lake, but there are very few guest homes. This really is a home with so many nice touches and finishes. The dining room table is solid copper and gorgeous. Little things like having laundry and dishwashing detergent on hand for guests is very considerate. The kitchen is better stocked then my own. Everything you could want like a crook pot and big lobster pot are handy. The place settings are very nice, not what you typically see in a rental. We love the location of the home and we spoke with the owner Tom many times prior to our arrival. He was very gracious, funny and always available to answer all of our questions. So what else can I say, we loved it and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a nice getaway on the lake.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Mary, Thanks you for the great review. We are so glad you had a good time. We hope to have you back soon.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Fairfax, VA
5

Living Large at the Lake

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
What a great house! We had such a good time. The trip from start to finish was perfect. Owner was always available for questions prior to our arrival and was very attentive. The home has a nice open floor plan and is great for a large family to spread out. The home has all of the little extras you never seem to find in other rentals. The backyard is fully fenced down to the lake and our dog had a good time at this very pet friendly home. Location is as good as it gets. Located in a private cove yet really close to everything. Thank you so much for making this trip so memorable. I have no doubt we will be back again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Danny, thanks for the great review. We too think the location is "as good as it gets". We look forward to having you as a guest again soon.
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Greensboro, North Carolina
5

Family Get Together Made Easy!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
We really enjoyed our week at your Lakehouse in August. It was everything you said it would be, with plenty of room to spread out. With a family of 8 and 2 dogs, we all felt relaxed and happy. But the best part of all was the cove for safe swimming and fishing. Everyone loved it! Talk about a convenient location to everything, it could not have been better. Thanks again Tom and Family.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Hi Joe and Pam, thank you for the great review. We are glad you guys had a great time. We hope you come back soon.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Warrenton, Va
5

Perfect for the whole family!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your home! It was beautifully decorated and well had a stocked kitchen, felt like a home not a rental property. We have a crawling 11 month old, but the house was well suited to kids and adults of all ages. The walk down to the lake was short, only a few steps, which made for an easy transport of a toddler!! The use of power at the boat house and being able to store things there was fantastic!!! The cove was perfect for the kids, with no worries of speeding boats!! And so much dock, room for two boats and still room to swim. The floating dock is now a must for us!! All of the small features made for a relaxing trip. It was beyond compare of the other rentals we have experienced at Smith Mountain Lake. I almost forgot... very confortable beds!!!
Thank you again
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Erin, Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so glad you all had a good time. We are always happy when other people enjoy the home as much as we do. Hope to have you and your family back again soon.
Helpful votes: 12/12
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
DC Metro Area
5

Row Row Row Your Boat….This house is a Dream

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
So what can I say.... All the reviews are so good for this home and we agree! This home, for the price, is so above and beyond what you normally get at the lake. Really perfect from every aspect you can think of. If your dog could type he would give it a 5 woof review. Thank you so much for a great time, you are very lucky to have such a great vacation home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. Glad you enjoyed the home so much. and you are right, we are very lucky to have this home.
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Charlottesville, VA
5

Love This Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
What a great house. Very well laid out and super clean. The owners are very thoughtful by all the little thing that are in the home like board games, boat rental information, DVD’s and the like. We had a great time. Thank You!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Mary, Thank you again for choosing our lake house for your vacation. We are glad you had a wonderful time. We realize that there are a lot of options when it comes to vacationing and we appreciate you selecting our home.
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Fishersville, VA
5

Best Time Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This is the first time we have rented from an owner directly and it could not have been any better. The owner is so gracious and accommodating and really made this trip special. The home could not have been any better. Very clean and updated, we felt like we were at home from the second we walked in.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Hi Bruce, Thank you again for choosing our lake house for your vacation. We are glad you had a wonderful time. We realize that there are a lot of options when it comes to vacationing and we appreciate you selecting our home.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Belvidere, NJ
5

What a fantastic get away....

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We had a great stay on SML. The home was clean and beautifully decorated. The big kitchen had everything one would need plus things you would not think of but could come in handy. There are two nearby boat launches, but use the one the owners suggest as the closer one is rediculously steep. Be sure to check out the shops just over the bridge, the fugde is amazing. There are a few steps / ramps to the dock, but nothing my 70 year old parents could not handle. Plenty of deep water dock space available to tie up your boat, and the inlet is so calm you don't have to worry about it. My daughter really enjoyed catching the unlimited sunfish that live under the dock as well. This house is one of the best we have ever stayed in.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Dan for the kind words. We are so glad you and your family had a good time. We too love Smith Mountain Lake and our home. We hope to have you back again as a guest soon.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Best Location on the Lake - Your Waterfront Retreat Awaits
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p277502
(480) 888-6953
Moneta Smith Mountain Lake
Westfield, NC
5

lake vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Very nice home and excellent fishing.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you guys had a great time. We hope you come back soon. I wish I was as lucky fishing as you :)
Helpful votes: 9/9