Beaufort house rental - Sunset from the backyard
Sunset from the backyard
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Beaufort House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Welcome to the Low Country and slightly off the beaten path antebellum Beaufort, South Carolina. You've seen it in movies like Prince of Tides, Forrest Gump, or the Big Chill. This area is steeped in history with Charleston 70 minutes to the North and Savannah, Georgia 45 minutes to the South. A gradual and continuing 'discovery', which started here in the 1970's, has given Beaufort some fine restaurants and night life, but the pace is more relaxed than on famous Hilton Head Island, 35 minutes away.

Parris Island, with its Marine recruit depot, is 10 minutes away. Our house is very popular with families in town for Parris Island graduations. We offer a refund if, for any reason, the recruit cannot graduate as planned.

Our house sits on a high bluff which allows a furnished basement with a 9 foot slate pool table. Its view through the sliding glass door is of the fully fenced backyard sloping down to the live oak guarded marsh. The upstairs single story house is light and cheerful due to an open floor plan, lots of glass, skylights and celestial windows. The Master bedroom (with huge Master Bath) and the Great Room (with a Buck wood burning stove) face the marsh and river with an expansive westerly sunset view.

The kitchen and eating area have the same view through the dining room with its walls of glass that make you feel you can reach out and touch the river. An 8 foot wide porch (with 3 ceiling fans) that runs the length of the house faces a landscaped front yard.

The dock (with water, lights and electricity) comes off one corner of the backyard and offers easy access to the river and pristine marsh. The backyard has hosted numerous oyster roasts and crab boils. Shrimp, fish, and crabs can be caught off the dock (permit free).

The large floating dock has 6 feet of water at dead low tide (and 12 or more at high tide). A boat towed to the area can be launched at a close-by landing and following a 10 minute trip, tied up at the dock. Open ocean is about 30 minutes away with numerous fishing reefs easily accessible, or travel by boat to Hilton Head or Savannah relatively quickly.

This house is in a quiet residential neighborhood. Ride bikes that are provided, or jog or walk around the tree shaded mile-long oval that runs the perimeter of this older subdivision. Sitting on the front porch or the dock is always a treat.

Great value golf is available to the public at several courses in the area. Bluffton and Hilton Head offer world class golf at higher prices. Downtown Beaufort is about 10 minutes away and the public ocean beach at Hunting Island State Park with lighthouse, fishing pier, camping and nature walks is 30 minutes beyond. We provide a State Park Pass for free of charge access.

Beds: 2 queen pillowtops, 2 double beds

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

86 Reviews of Property 69054 in Beaufort, South Carolina

Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
average rating of 5.0 based on 86 reviews
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook at house

  • Submitted: Nov 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
"Thank you so very much for making our 10th anniversary so very special and romantic. I could not think of anywhere else I'd like to be. Count on us next year, finances permitting. Our son had an absolutely amazing time. He wants to buy this house, would if I could! Many thanks."
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
5

Beautiful Vacation/Graduation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Great location, short drive to Parris Island for Marine Graduation. Wish I would have planned one more day to spend at the house. We arrived on a Tuesday and left Friday morning. Very busy days but it was like coming home each night. Very relaxing and comfortable. Everything in and about the house is just as stated on the web site. The book of directions, menu's, etc was very nice and came in useful. My wife loved the huge master bath with large soaking tub. The large front porch was very comfortable and better yet was the relaxing peaceful back deck overlooking the inland river. The picture of the dock is just what it looks like and you can sit on the dock for hours, very beautiful. The jacuzzi is nice, it is outdoors but better yet it is in a screen porch overlooking the river, a great way to relax after a long day taking in Parris Island. Getting to Parris Island was extremely simple and took no time at all, a perfect location. We could not have chosen a better place to stay!
Ginnie provided great "customer service." She is very friendly and a great communicator. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your lovely home!!
Ginnie, thank you. You have a wonderful home in a beautiful location. Wish we had more time to spend at your house. It made me pick up some housing literature to investigate purchasing a similar home in the area. If we ever have the opportunity to visit the area again I will be in contact.
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Winston Salem, NC
5

Perfect Vacation Location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We absolutely LOVED this house; it was such a wonderful getaway from reality! Our first night there, watching the beautiful sunset from the dock we made two dolphin friends that were passing through - what a great start to our vacation.

The state park we visited was like nothing we've ever seen before. The weather was perfect, it wasn't crowded and there isn't a Waves or (insert tacky beach store name here) on every corner.

This is a versatile location; whether you are looking for a family vacation, a romantic getaway or just a chance to escape reality with your friends this is a perfect spot.

We look forward to experiencing many more summer vacations here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
5

You will love your stay here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our first great impression of their lovely home was the beautiful impatiens flowers that adorned the entire front of the house! Then, when we walked in, it had a totally relaxed and welcoming feel. It truly felt like a home away from home :) You can tell it is a home that is loved! All the amenities listed on the website were there, and then some.
Also, it is located very close to Parris Island, so getting there was no problem at all! We were so glad to see our fine young Marine son after 13 grueling weeks for him!
The view from the deck is beautiful..quiet & peaceful. We could not have chosen a better place to stay!
One more thing: Ms. Ginnie provided great "customer service." She is very friendly and a great communicator. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your lovely home!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Tampa Bay, FL
5

Very Memorable Marine Graduation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is the perfect home for your new Marine. The location is convenient to
everything you need, including the base. It takes about 8 minutes to get onto the base. Shopping is 1 mile from the house. What can I say about the house? It is perfect for a family. There is plenty of room upstairs with 4 bedrooms, especially if you want to have a get together after you bring your new Marine home. The basement is perfect for those kids to get away and play some pool or turn up the music. The front yard is big that allowed the 3 yr old to hit baseballs and for the new Marine to show off his tactacle moves. I was glad my wife and I got there Monday so we had the week to relax, prepare for the events starting Wednesday and got to play some golf at Parris Island Golf Course. The flat screen TV's were the biggest surprise. My video slide slow prepared for the new Marine could be played on the HDTV rather than a projector on the wall.
We were in the house about an hour when I turned to my wife and said "this place feels like home". I could tell there have been many years of good stories here. Well, the Gardner family just added a few more. Did I mention watching the sunset while sitting on the dock. I sat on that dock one evening for 2 hours, just taking in the events of the day.
This was one of the best trips our family has taken, partly due to this comfortable home and coming to pick up that man or lady that has been transformed into a Marine during that 13 week period. For those reading this review coming for graduation; take in all of the events and spend some time on the base taking in the sights and sounds. It will make you very proud of the US Marine Corps. Thanks Ginny. We loved your home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook at house

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
"Thank you for having such a relaxing home for our family to stay in during our son's graduation from Parris Island. It was so conveniently located to get to Parris Island. It was so nice for all to be under one roof yet have space enough to spread out to read or take a nap. Thanks again!"
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
"Our days sent in your home were great. My son's first night after graduation was just what I hoped for: quiet family time with him all to ourselves. Thanks for opening your home to us."
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook at house

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
"Thank you for sharing your home with us. We really enjoyed it, very welcoming and accommodating. We saw dolphins twice and today before checkout we saw two! Weather was cold but spirits were high. Wonderful photo opps with our new Marine. If we are ever in the area again, we will check on your place. Loved all the notes and instructions, very helpful!"
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Taken from guestbook at house

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
"Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us. We all had a fabulous stay here. The house was so comfortable and relaxing. We had a chilly week weather-wise but it was nice coming back to your cozy home. We took some nice photos with our newly graduated Marine in your lovely backyard and on the dock. The stars at night were amazing! Our last night was spent at the Dockside Restaurant in Port Royal and it was fabulous! A good time was had by all. Thank you again and we will highly recommend our home to any future Marine grad families."
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Waterfront with Dock, Gorgeous View, Hot Tub, Close to P.I.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p69054vb
+1 928 814-4372
Beaufort Beaufort area
Atlanta
5

Not just for large groups, great couple's retreat

Not just for large groups, great couple's retreat
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We just returned from spending a week in this home to escape our 4 kids and numerous pets and celebrate our anniversary. The house is located in a quiet neighborhood, we only saw another person twice. While there is a large basement with plenty to keep you entertained like exercise equipment and a pool table, we found that the offerings on the main floor (secluded hot tub off the master bedroom, jetted tub, wood burning buck stove and dining area overlooking sunsets on the water) were plenty to keep us busy inside. We also spent time cuddled up on the deck watching the clouds and water coming in and going out with the tide. We brought our own kayaks (although there appears to be a tandem at the house for use) and spent hours exploring the intercoastal waterway putting in and taking out at the private dock. Away from the house we spent a day touring Beaufort (carriage ride and waterfront parkway a must - they have swinging benches overlooking the water) and ate at Plums which was good. We spent a day going to the Penn center and old fort Fremont on St. Helena (ate at Dockside, which was amazing). Spent two days at Hunting island beach walking, riding our bikes, laying in a hammock and playing with the dolphins. We also went to the drive in movie which was not far from the house and to see a few other historic areas. The kitchen at the house is well set up and we found most of what we needed available to us. The grill worked also. The house has a very cozy feel to it and helped us relax and enjoy. The owners were very responsive to emails. If we go back to this area we would rent this house again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1