Lone Mountain townhome rental - A detail shot of the fireplace area
A detail shot of the fireplace area
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lone Mountain Townhome Rental Photos and Description
2 bedrooms (1 King, 1 Queen) , 1 bath, sleeps 6 (incl. 2 on living room sofabed)

This beautiful two bedroom flat is the perfect place to use as homebase for your San Francisco getaway. Mid-century and Danish modern furniture complements this 1940 flat. The living room features a fireplace, sectional sofa (which doubles as a sofa bed), 46 inch HDTV flatscreen TV, Roku media player & BluRay player, sitting area, and enormous view window looking out on the Sutro tower atop Twin Peaks. The dining room is the perfect place to sit down and recount the day's adventures over a meal prepared in the newly remodeled gourmet kitchen, cooked on the backyard grill, or delivered from any of the fine restaurants nearby. The ample bedrooms are each furnished with 32 inch flat screen HDTV televisions, Roku media players, as well as iPod docking clock radios. The house also features a rotating selection of local art & San Francisco themed displays.

The Home: Your home away from home in one of the most beautiful cities in the world includes a formal living room and formal dining room with seating for 6, newly-remodeled kitchen, two big light-filled bedrooms (1 King, 1 Queen), and 1 bathroom with a tub and separate shower stall. The approx. 1375 sq. ft. architectural gem is in a two unit 1940’s style building, and features hardwood flooring, original art deco design details, and vintage furnishings. The bedrooms are located in the rear of the flat, overlooking the garden with a view of one of San Francisco’s oddball treasures, the Columbarium. The living room sofa also converts to a queen-size sleeper, if you are in need of extra space. There are public tennis courts and a swimming pool at the park across the street.

Golden Gate Park: The flat has a spectacular location: a 3 block walk leads to Golden Gate Park, including such sights as: the Conservatory of Flowers, Academy of Sciences, M.H. de Young Museum, Japanese Tea Garden, and the Arboretum (Botanical Garden); as well as such activities as: a children-only playground, archery, biking and skating, golf, horseback riding, lawn bowling, tennis, fly-fishing, and plenty of spots for a wonderful picnic. The park is larger than New York's Central Park, and is covered with more than one million trees and contains its own herd of bison.

Transportation: No car is needed with this centrally located flat (it has a WalkScore of 94!). If you tire of walking, taxicabs are plentiful, and San Francisco’s public transportation system is easy and intuitive. Having a bus stop one block away from the flat makes travel to Ocean Beach, shopping downtown at boutiques or the mall, the Embarcadero, Fisherman's Wharf, etc. a snap. If you're coming for business or a convention, Express Bus service to Downtown operates morning & evening from one block away!

Finally, if you do bring a car there is abundant street parking, including some sections where you may leave a car parked for a full week without a permit. If you will be staying for an extended period, a temporary permit can be obtained – just ask!

More Details
Hide Details

24 Reviews of Property 270760 in Lone Mountain, California

Deluxe Mid Century View Flat - Roomy & Bright, Centrally Located, New Kitchen
average rating of 4.9583335 based on 24 reviews
business
Deluxe Mid Century View Flat - Roomy & Bright, Centrally Located, New Kitchen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270760
+1 4153596120
Lone Mountain San Francisco
5

Stunning San Francisco

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We had a wonderful stay in San Francisco at this lovely property. We arrived early and exhausted after a long flight and 2 hour trip from the airport because of traffic for Columbus Day. We were graciously welcomed and able to go straight in while the clean-up from the previous tenant was being done. Very generous snacks and drinks were provided along with top of the range equipment in the kitchen and very comfortable beds. The property was a beautiful example of "art deco" and the lovely lounge looked out over a park. There was a pervasive sense of calm and quiet and it was very relaxing. We chose this over a hotel because it was a cheaper option than 2 hotel rooms. We expected to be further out from the city and so it was a pleasant surprise to find it so convenient. All in all a lovely stay and very generous host - highly recommended. Thank you
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Deluxe Mid Century View Flat - Roomy & Bright, Centrally Located, New Kitchen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270760
+1 4153596120
Lone Mountain San Francisco
Reno
5

Charming Flat in a Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Our family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed our stay in SF and this place made our trip. Though we didn't get to meet Chris (this time!) his friendly assistant Paul was there to great us, show us the apartment and point us in the direction of restaurants, the local grocery store, Golden Gate Park and where to catch the bus - all within walking distance. The place was well stocked with everything we needed, including a snack basket and cold drinks in the fridge. The place is very clean and nicely furnished. We loved the neighborhood and the small park across the street was great for our kids. We've rented several places with VRBO over the last couple years and this was by far the best. This place is a gem and we hope to be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Deluxe Mid Century View Flat - Roomy & Bright, Centrally Located, New Kitchen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270760
+1 4153596120
Lone Mountain San Francisco
5

Great Central Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We found this apartment a great place to stay especially with the young children. The kitchen was extremely well stocked and the flat as a whole was well maintained and spacious.

The location is great with some great little restaurants round the corner.

Parking wasn't a problem thanks to Chris' great advice. He was very helpful even pointing us in the right direction to the local medical centre.

We would highly recommend this apartment.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Deluxe Mid Century View Flat - Roomy & Bright, Centrally Located, New Kitchen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270760
+1 4153596120
Lone Mountain San Francisco
Rio de Janeiro, RJ/Brazil
5

Great Flat in San Francisco

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The flat is a excellent choice to stay in San Francisco and for who is travelling with family. The location is perfect, near attractions in a quiet street. Our stay was very nice at this home away from home. The description is accurate and the flat is what we expected, much better than a hotel, we feel like who lives in SF. It's pleasant, well equipped, clean, have a good kitchen and is easy to park near. Chris is very friendly and helpful, he provided a welcome kit with soft drinks, cookies and snacks. Mel's Drive-In has a good breakfast, near the house, at Geary Blvd. We recommend this house and hope to be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Deluxe Mid Century View Flat - Roomy & Bright, Centrally Located, New Kitchen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270760
+1 4153596120
Lone Mountain San Francisco
New Orleans
5

Graduation for the family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Staying at this apartment made our trip so much better. The apartment sleeps 6 comfortably. It is within walking distance of Clement Street, USF and Haight/Ashberry. It is a beautiful apartment with a great view from the front windows. We loved it. Our daughter's graduation was important to us and this apartment made the trip easier and more fun. An apartment is the way to go and this apartment was excellent. It was our home away from home.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Deluxe Mid Century View Flat - Roomy & Bright, Centrally Located, New Kitchen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270760
+1 4153596120
Lone Mountain San Francisco
Poway, CA
5

Absolutely Breathtaking views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
This truly was home away from home. The apartment was spotless, spacious and beautiful even by my OCD standards. An absolute bargain for the price. Its been almost three months since I stayed there and I look forward to returning.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Deluxe Mid Century View Flat - Roomy & Bright, Centrally Located, New Kitchen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270760
+1 4153596120
Lone Mountain San Francisco
New York, NY
5

Great place with great host!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My wife and 2 kids ages 12 and 8 thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautifully furnished and conveniently located apartment. Chris lives upstairs and is a gracious host providing drinks and snacks to guests and took the time to meet us and orient us to San Francisco and made some great suggestions for things to do. The apartment was immaculate and quiet, right accross the street from a park and just 3 blocks away from Golden Gate Park. It was also easy to park our car on the street near the house and an easy half hour bus ride downtown. This place is a real find!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Deluxe Mid Century View Flat - Roomy & Bright, Centrally Located, New Kitchen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270760
+1 4153596120
Lone Mountain San Francisco
Oak Island
5

This flat was better than expected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We stayed at this second floor flat in the Inner Richmond for ten days and it was very comfortable. The apartment is well and tastefully furnished, and the kitchen is upscale and well equiped. We intertained six for dinner and had everything we needed.

The location is very convenient to shopping and resturaunts only a block or two away on Geary and Clement. It is also easily accessable by auto, and parking was not a problem for San Francisco.

I highly recommend this place, and commend Chris for being a cordial host.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Deluxe Mid Century View Flat - Roomy & Bright, Centrally Located, New Kitchen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270760
+1 4153596120
Lone Mountain San Francisco
San Diego
5

Great Location, great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The picture really do not do this flat justice, the property is viery nicely furnished with large windows and the true San Francisco living experience. The location if very central, but quiet with great cafes, markets and restuarants withing walking distance. We had a great time while staying here, and will definately recommend it to any friends visiting San Francisco.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Deluxe Mid Century View Flat - Roomy & Bright, Centrally Located, New Kitchen
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p270760
+1 4153596120
Lone Mountain San Francisco
Sacramento, Ca
5

Lovely Respite

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Two couples enjoyed the flat immensely. Close to GG Park, Geary and bus lines. The owner left fresh flowers and a well stocked refrigerator plus goodie basket. Well maintained and beautifully decorated. We'll be back.

John and Chris
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway