Februaru at Sand Dollar Cove
We had a fantastic time at Playa San Miguel and even extended our stay by a few days. The house has an amazing location with no other dwellings nearby, making it totally private. The beach was beautiful and we walked for miles every morning and even saw baby turtles 2 mornings, making their way into the sea. Patty, the caretaker and her husband Bill were super helpful, pointing us to other surf spots, where to top off our provisions (you'll want to do a big shop on the way in as options are minimal once you leave the beaten track).
We would give this house 5 stars but for 2 things. First, the design is such that, when you rent only one bedroom and the others are locked, the circulation in the main space is nearly non-existent, making it super hot and still (the fans don't do much as most are woven rather than hard blades). The bedrooms have AC, so you can get comfortable for sleeping, but using the main part of the house after dark when the bugs come out is less than pleasant. The other reason we withheld that last star is that the house was not really clean. Fan blades were black on the top and edges, the edges of the floor were dirty, windows had a haze to them (they are always open though, so maybe this is unimportant), bath tub wasn't scrubbed and then backed up on the second day. It's little stuff, but most houses we've rented have been spotless and this was not.
All in all, we would definitely recommend this property. It's primary benefit was the total privacy for us. This may change, so ask the owner before renting if that is important to you. The beach and access to it are astounding, the porch has comfy chairs and the breeze comes to you all day along with the sounds of surf, birds and monkeys. It's a heavenly spot.
Families with Teenagers,
Owner's Response: I am very sorry that this couple experienced these inconveniences. Unfortunately our property manager was sick the week prior to and the week of their stay and was not able to inspect the house after cleaning.
Out of the 20+ times I have been there, I don't remember a time the living room was too uncomfortable to enjoy at night with the doors and windows open and the fans on. However, it is extremely hot in Costa Rica.
I wish they would have let the property manager know their concerns because she would have insisted the house be cleaned properly and provided extra fans for their comfort as well.
I am glad they had a fantastic time and are definitely recommending the house in spite of the inconveniences. It really is a heavenly spot !
Did you find this review helpful?