Hana cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Hana Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Ala Aina Ocean Vista is a private, unique solar powered B&B suite, located on a former banana plantation, nestled in an exotic lush tropical setting. It boasts the peace and quiet and offers guests sweeping ocean vistas. Enjoy lying in bed watching the ocean in your king-sized bed surrounded by windows overlooking tropical trees, flowers and rolling green lawns.

Our B&B suite offers a fully-equipped efficiency kitchen on the large private deck. You can cook 'under the stars'! There is an inside private bathroom with marble floors and tiled shower (roomy enough for two), as well as an outside bath and shower with lotus pond in your own little garden. Classic board games, ipod docking speakers, DVD and Direct TV for those that want television.

We are just 2 miles from, 7 Sacred Pools, aka The Pools at Ohe'o or also called 'Ohe'o Gulch'. Additionally we are 10 miles to the town of Hana, where the famous Hasegawa's General Store and the Hotel Hana Maui are located.

We are only 30-40 minutes to Maui's black and red sand beaches. Waioka pond, known as 'Venus pools', are a short 20 minutes away and Alele Waterfall is just 2 minutes away.

The best part is we offer each and every guest a romantic and quiet accommodation experience.

More Details
Hide Details

I have been a Maui resident for 27 years coming from Michigan. I run our B&B with my daughter Mercury. Together we keep our 4-acre parcel beautiful and manicured.

Samadhi Butterfly purchased this cottage in 2001

We were blessed to have found this luscious remote spot on the Island of Maui. Ny daughter and I have lived here for 20 years now, originally from Michigan. When my husband passed, we needed a way to make a living. I took advantage of having a space to renovate to a Bed and Breakfast, as this allowed Mercury, my daughter, and myself to stay at home, run a business and have a connection with wonderful folks from all over the world. This has worked out better than we could even imagined.

We have the luxury of privacy, peace and quiet in our setting. Mercury and I enjoy staying on our blessed piece of paradise and working in nature to make things beautiful. We enjoy donating to the homeless with our abundant fruit from our trees. We get most of our social connections with the wonderful folks that visit our B&B. We are totally 'off-the-grid' and enjoy being totally 'green'. This property is eco-friendly tourism.

24 Reviews of Property 269265 in Hana, Hawaii

Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
average rating of 5.0 based on 24 reviews
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Pacific Northwest
5

More than met expectation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Our stay at Ala Aina was spectacular! This was our first time to Maui and we stayed 4 nights here at the beginning of our trip... Sam and Mercury were FABULOUS hostesses - the fresh fruit, the flowers, the beautiful gardens, outdoor shower/tub, the vistas, a tropical playground and so very relaxing! We happened to be there in the "rainy" season and experienced terrific thunder/lightening/rain storms - but so enjoyed the outdoor kitchen and deck area - just enough cover to make it all work! And the warm breezes all night - the entire stay was a dream. We were so grateful for Sam and Mercury's unobtrusive attention to all the details and their warm hospitality that made our stay so special.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Seattle
5

Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
If you are looking for peace and quiet and beauty on the Hana coast, look no further. Beautiful site, lovely accommodation, and gracious hostesses. You are off the grid and that's a good thing. Loved waking up to the chirping birds, light wind rustling through the trees and fantastic ocean views out two huge windows, all without leaving the bed. Recommend without reservation (room reservations are required, though) and would return in a heartbeat.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Bloomsburg, PA
5

Tropical paradise that allows you to "get away from it all"

Tropical paradise that allows you to "get away from it all"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
The bed and breakfast was comfortable with an outdoor kitchen on a deck from which both sunrise and sunset could be observed. The only noise that one could hear was the ocean and the only light that could be seen at night were the moon and stars. It was a great place to relax after a day of hiking, snorkeling or just lying on the nearby beaches.

The outdoor kitchen was very easy to use with a small refrigerator and a propane stove. We cooked our breakfast and dinner everyday while enjoying the sunrise and sunset. The 4 acre + property was well maintained with fruit trees and coconuts; we were able to pick fresh passion fruit every day. It had both and indoor and outdoor shower that worked extremely well.

The proprietors give you all the space you want, but if you have questions they were very friendly and helpful. You would hardly notice that they were there.

If you want a place to get away from it all, this is the place. We recommend you get groceries before you leave for Hana because the two small general stores in Hana are very expensive. You can get fresh fruits and vegetables from local stands along the road very easily.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Monterey Bay Area - California
5

Hawaiian Style Tropical Paridise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
My wife and I loved our stay at "Ala"aina Ocean Vista - the room was beautiful, very airy with hardwood floors, lots of wood with some Koa trim. Real Hawaiian style. We were greeted by the owner and a beautiful rainbow. We especially liked the large bed next to the windows with great view of the gardens and ocean. Lot's of trees, flowers and fruit on the property. The place is well kept, clean and very quiet. The kitchen is on the open deck, It was fun cooking and eating on the deck with an ocean view on two sides. The room had a huge shower - we also enjoyed the outdoor tub. This is by far the best place we have stayed in Hana, we will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Ottawa, Canada
5

Excellent start to our honeymoon

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We stayed here for 2 nights to kick-off our honeymoon. The room was very nice with huge windows and great ocean breezes. The best part is the outdoor cooking and eating area on the deck, with stunning ocean views -- the deck is partially covered by a roof, just in case a tropical shower blows though during dinner. There was a two-burner stove, perfect for making meals for two -- just make sure to pick up groceries in Kahului before you hit the highway -- don't worry too much about fruit though, they provided us with an amazing fruit basket when we arrived.

Sam and Mercury took great care of us and provided super-helpful info when we checked-in about activities in the area, including the Wailuku Falls, Seven Sacred Pools, and Alelele Falls. And though they were always nearby, we always felt like we had our privacy.

The location is ideal for exploring the Kipahulu area, right off the main road, about 30 minutes past Hana, and about 10 minutes past the Seven Sacred Pools. The road itself is breathtaking, the scenery does not stop at Hana.

In terms of value, the price is a bit steep, but overall still a pretty good deal, especially when you factor in making our own meals and drinking your own wine and beer on the deck.

Finally, in terms of sleep quality, the bed isn't really the greatest. But if you leave the windows open at night (they have screens), the nightly rainstorms made for great sleeping... as long as you aren't afraid of a gecko or two ;)

Overall, we loved our stay, we'd stay again, and we'd highly recommend Ala'AIna, especially for couples that just want to enjoy being together in a very beautiful and peaceful setting.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
San Clemente, CA
5

Heaven & Paradise in 1 place

Heaven & Paradise in 1 place
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We were only able to stay 2 nights as we were meeting friends in Kaanapali. There is so much to see & do here. Relaxation & peace hits you immediately when you arrive. Sitting on the lanai sipping a cold drink while taking in the beauty around you is wonderful. The grounds are beautiful along with all the birds chirping the ocean vistas in sight. Sam & Mercury are wonderful hosts. We have already recommended the B&B to our friends, showing them all the pictures of the property & surroundings areas. We will be back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
The Mother-Daughter team do a great job at hospitality in their
"Piece of Paradise". We enjoyed two of our dinners on the lanai
watching the sunset. One dinner we ate off of the bamboo tray on our
bed because of the rainfall. As the evenings progressed, we would sit
at the table and read, eat tropical fruit from the property then
crawl into the king size bed and watch the geckos crawl up the
outside of the windows. The croaking frogs and light rainfall lulled
us to sleep several nights.
We enjoyed coconut milk, mangoes and bananas from the beautifully
manicured grounds (a former banana plantation).
Once we were greeted and shown around, we were given complete
privacy, unless we sought them out with a question. I bought a nice
costume jewelry necklace from Mercury's collection of handmade
jewelry. We appreciated all of the plumerias and other exotic flowers
used to decorate our room.
We would recommend Ala Aina Ocean Vista, especially for honeymooners;
lots of privacy and beautiful scenery. The only sounds we heard were
the mooing of nearby cows occasionally, birds trilling, the wind in
the mango trees and the frogs at night. Ahhhhh, lovely!
This is the exact opposite of Kaanapali's hustle and bustle. it's
remote, quiet & relaxing. If you want to rejuvenate and enjoy nature,
this is the place to stay!
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2008
  • Stayed: Sep 2008
I was encouraged by friends from New York, who now live in Maui, and
are "in the know", that if I went to Hana, the only place to stay was
at The Ala'aina, if I wanted an authentic experience of "Old Hawaii".
If I really wanted to get away from "it all", this was the address.

I found this spot to be completely charming, comfortable, secluded,
and magical, all that they had enthusiastically promised me.

I felt genuinely welcomed by both of my hostesses, who offered
friendly advice to my inquiries, and showed true concern regarding my
comfort, and satisfaction.


I was particularly fond of my fully equipped outdoor kitchen, and
table, a cupboard filled with Maui Organic coffee, and a fridge
filled with croissant and sliced mangoes--yum!
Although the indoor bathroom was well appointed with an oversized
glass cubed shower, I most enjoyed showering out of doors, in the
solar heated shower, or bathing in the wonderful outdoor tub, amidst
a sweet garden, and watering the flowers with my used bath water, by
pulling the plug at bathtimes end. I believe that most energy was
garnered through solar power, so I can truly say that I lived "Off
the Grid", in luxury for a few special days.
The ocean views were magnificent, and the proximity of my sweet-sweet
cottage to other sites of interest in Hana, were extra bonuses.
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
I really needed to get away from it all. A pal of mine had just
returned from Maui and told me about Hana located on the far remote
side of the island. It is a 2 1/2 hour leisurely drive from the
airport side. I did some web browsing and located Ala-aina. The
photographs and tone of the website just appealed to me. I emailed
for open dates and followed up with a telephone reservation, as I
like to speak with a person before committing to a reservation. It
was an easy process.

The hotel, it is more of a bed and breakfast, is located with great
vistas. Sam, the owner and host is easy going and is there if you
need her, but other-wise allows you all the privacy you want. The
meals served are fresh and simple and filling.

What I loved about this location is that it allowed me get away from
it all. No phones, e-mails, car congestion or urban annoyances. This
is how the non tourist people live and enjoy the island. I whiled my
time by reading, walking and swimming. It was just what I wanted and
needed. It allowed me to get balanced again.

This is a place I shall definitely return to truly get away from it all.
business
Only 5 min. from Seven Sacred Pools - Privacy, Romance & Ocean Vistas
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p269265vbi
+1 8082487824
Hana Maui
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
This was one of our best ever, and most unique, vacation experience.
We didn't know what to expect as we drove from the airport along a
narrow winding road from the tourist resorts to the sparsely
populated Seven Pools area of Maui. This road is windy, but my wife,
who has been known to get car sick, was prepared with a bottle of
pure peppermint essential oil which she put on the sole of her feet,
and had a wonderful time, as we drove deeper and deeper into the
jungle past waterfalls and ocean vistas. We were glad we brought
supplies as this place is along way from anywhere. Which is part of
its charm, surrounded by banana, avocado, papaya, mango and other
exotic fruits and flowers. Within walking distance of the Seven
Pools. We were there early before the daytime tourists and hiked up
to the one of the largest waterfalls on the island without meeting
another person. Later we were told of a trail down to some hidden
pools where we spent the day swimming and sun bathing. A true Nature
Lover's Paradise. Though there are several places to stay in the town
of Hana, Ala'aina Ocean Vista is the only place to stay near the
Seven Pools which is 45 min. past Hana. Our host at this Bed and
Breakfast were two lovely ladies who treated us royally. We will
definitely go back. Next time I think we will fly to Honolulu and
then catch the smaller plane to Hana, have a rent a car waiting, and
then drive to what can only be described as the womb of the island