Colonial Beach cottage rental - The Beach!
The Beach!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Colonial Beach Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 6-8

This spacious cottage has fantastic views across a wide part of the river to Cobb Island in Maryland; the sunrise is breathtaking. The sandy beach is perfect for spending summer days sunbathing, lounging, swimming and jetskiing. The floor plan is open with windows and doors to the water. The master bedroom is directly off the living room separated by large double pocket doors and looks directly out to the amazing view. The woodburning fireplace is a perfect place to spend down-time away from the cities of Richmond and Washington, D.C. when you get the slightest whim or need to get-away. The kitchen is new and contains everything you need for cooking while at the same time watching fishermen, swans, osprey and watercraft. There are restaurants closeby with local fish and crabs on the menu and the house is equipped with a cable tv and wireless internet.

About The Bleu Bayou: This property was updated to serve as a vacation home that meets the desirability for a perfectly relaxing getaway from Washington, D.C. and Richmond, within 65 miles from each with the beach at the back door.

The screened porch is large, 15 x 20, with a ceiling fan, and is just off the kitchen so preparing food to eat outside is ultra convenient. The french doors from the kitchen are always open when the weather is good.

The Bleu Bayou is a wonderfully quiet property during the work-week and with lots of activity on the weekends. There is a private beachfront to enjoy and a private community pier and boatramp which may be available to guests. The Bleu Bayou is just outside the Town of Colonial Beach for its restaurants, casino, coffee shop and golf cart meandering - and just the right distance away from the house to be convenient.

About Westmoreland County: Colonial Beach is on the northern part of Westmoreland County, Virginia and a favorite vacation and weekend spot for Washingtonians.

Lower Westmoreland County is rural, abundant with wineries, a berry farm and historical elements from colonial times. Stratford Hall (the Lee family home) is nearby and there are many wildlife fish and game refuge areas. It is close enough to Washington, D.C. for day trips or overnight stays to visit museums and monuments or take in the nightlife and entertainment. It is also close to Old Town Alexandria, Virginia to take in artistic communities and shopping, churches and restaurants. George Washington's home, Mount Vernon, is in Alexandria and open to visitors.

Additional activities Include Kings Dominion Theme park just 1/2 hr away, and our area also boasts two major-league baseball teams, the Washington Nationals and the Baltimore Orioles for your enjoyment. You might also visit the Baltimore Inner Harbor with great restaurants, shopping and the fantastic National Aquarium.

More Details
Hide Details

23 Reviews of Property 256366 in Colonial Beach, Virginia

Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
average rating of 4.869565 based on 23 reviews
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Bleu Bayou Cottage-Waterfront Beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Bleu Bayou is a great place for a family vacation. The cottage is clean, neat, well furnished,linens,towels, all kitchen supplies,utensils, spices! We especially enjoyed having our 2 dogs, Bonnie (the owner) let us bring them!
Bonnie was prompt and quick on getting back with us on any questions we had!
I would highly recommend the Bleu Bayou Cottage to anyone looking for a vacation getaway, it's relaxing,clean and on the water with great views!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Great Cottage with great views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Beautiful views, beautiful weather, wonderful getaway! We, my dog and me, arrived Thursday afternoon under some stormy weather conditions...tornadoes, thunder and tidal anomalies. Exciting conditions! Seriously only a strong breeze up the river made for some fairly strong surf on the beach and I went to bed listening to waves beating on the shore. Yes the beach is that close to the cottage! My son, daughter-in-law and granddaughters arrived of Friday afternoon. We had a great weekend! The cottage is great. The photos don't do it justice, especially the screen porch and living room. It's much nicer than the pictures. My granddaughters loved the swing and beach; and the water. October temps were not keeping those girls on dry land! We found the cottage very complete and big enough for five humans and one canine. Pretty much anything you needed was there, it was clean, well stocked and accurately described.

Saturday we took a ride into town and had a nice lunch at the Dockside Restaurant, which you can actually see across the water from the cottage but is a seven mile drive. Colonial Beach is very nice, despite being a lifelong Virginian I had never been there before. The town is quaint and picturesque, with its many literary-named streets like Thackeray, Irving and Hawthorne, and the town beach is said to be three miles long. Water and boats are everywhere. The Espresso Station on Washington Ave. became a favorite coffee stop. But most of our weekend was spent right at the cottage. We cooked in on Friday night and grilled out Saturday night. There was little need to go anywhere else. With a full moon having just passed a couple of days earlier the moonrise over the river was awesome! Thanks Bonnie for having the place and allowing others to enjoy it. Just a short one hour+ drive from Richmond and yet it feels a world away. I know I'll return.

Pete J from Richmond
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Loved the cottage! It was extremely comfortable and well-appointed. The owner was efficient and friendly; my family who visited for a day wondered where I happened upon such a beautiful property! Since it was "pet-friendly" and I understood the owner may decline pets in the future, I took extra care to ensure my dog would be welcomed back. I went out of my way to ensure the place was almost spotless (sweeping, dusting, laundry, etc.) prior to departing. Perhaps that may have led for the "expectation" for, and dismay by, the next guest. Sorry!
Will be back!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Fredericksburg, Virginia
5

Bleu Bayou

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
What a fabulous cottage. Well maintained with beautiful views. It sits at the mouth of the marina and it was great to watch all the different boats coming and going. The geese were abundant and entertaining. The area is peacefull and stress free. We enjoyed the updated immenities while also reading books on the screened in porch. The owner is very kind and has great communication skills. We would gladly rent the cottage again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Best Vacation Ever!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Wow, is all I can say! This was an "all girl" vacation that we desperately needed! This cottage was beyond our expectation. The beach was beautiful and it was all ours! The house was well stocked and very clean and comfortable. Our favorite spot was the screened-in porch looking out to the ocean. We have never had such a calm and peaceful vacation. It was wonderful - thank you Bonnie! We will be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
3

Careful

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This is a beautiful cottage on a private beach. This cottage has comfortable furniture that has been lived in and a wonderful screened porch. We enjoyed our stay very much. However, you must be okay with spiders to fully enjoy.

While we were charged a cleaning fee and a pet fee as stated in the contact, the owner expects that you do chores around the house such as water the plants, strip bedding, laundry upon departure, and sweep all floors etc....(not stated in the contract but left in a note upon arrival).

During the registration process the owner was pleasant and returned calls promptly. However, we were met with bad weather and had to leave one day early due to Irene. The owner has not honored her Storm Policy. We have not received a one day refund as the owner says that he property is not located in Colonial Beach although she advertises it and the contract has a Colonial Beach address. There was a mandatory evaluation posted on the local cable channels and the owner even called us the day before to inquire about our plans to leave. She indicated that she was on her way to the property on that Saturday morning. We checked out early due to the pending storm Irene.

The owner took more than 30 days to return our security deposit. When I called to inquire about the deposit she was irritated and stated that her cleaning person had to clean dog hair from the brooms and mops (mind you we paid a pet fee, used own own sheets to cover the furniture, and cleaned the floor daily). I have two small short haired dogs must we clean the mops and brooms too! What is the cleaning fee for?

The owner has refused to honor her Storm Policy. She has been slow to return email stating that she works to jobs.

Proceed with caution. Nice property but difficult owner once she has your money! We will return to VA and the Colonial Beach area. We won't rent from this owner again.

I have rented several properties using the home away.com site with wonderful experiences. .
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Great Family Get-Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Bonnie's cottage is perfect for a quiet family vacation. We have 3 small children and the beach was great! Shallow water, low salt, no huge waves and we didn't have to worry about them when they ran back to the house for a potty break! Other than the swan family that visited us every morning and night, we had the beach completely to ourselves- like a deserted island. The house is very well stocked, neat and tidy. There are some great wineries nearby too... :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
5

Perfect Family Getaway.. Loved It

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband and I have been to Virginia a few times before and have stayed on Chesapeake Bay and Virginia Beach but this has been the best by far. It is quiet and clean. The beach is perfect!! It is a saltwater/freshwater mix so you can still fish for both but you can swim without the jelly fish, waves and rip tides. It is fairly shallow for a long way out so there is plenty of room and so much safer then the other locations we stayed in prior years. We went to Westmoreland berry farm, Washington's birthplace, Ingleside Winery and a few other trails and such. We love the crab cakes at Wilkerson's and drove down to Reedville and had dinner at The Crazy Crab.. They have the BEST bread pudding. My family loved this vacation and we are looking forward to next time..Only complaint is that the week went by too fast... Thank You Bonnie..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
Surry, VA
5

Cozy & comfy!

Cozy & comfy!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The home is cozy & comfortable. The beach is great. We had it all to ourseves in May. Beautiful sunrises and a great screened porch. The kitchen is well-stocked. We will return for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Bleu Bayou Cottage - Waterfront Beach-Magnificent Views! Close to DC & Richmond
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p256366
+1 7038554641
Colonial Beach Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck
marshalltown, iowa
5

More than I could ever have hoped for!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2010
My family and I vacationed here last year and it was so wonderfull It is hard to put into words, I gained fairytale memories to fill a lifetime. The beach was amazing the neighbors seemed so friendly and the house felt so home like it warmed all our hearts instantly. My children found peace with the tree swing and board games they discovered. The house was fully equipped so we were able to just relax together and forget reality. Thank you once again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5