Berkeley apartment rental - View from the large deck and living room
View from the large deck and living room
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Berkeley Apartment Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom + Den(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 1-6)

This newly and meticulously built 850 square foot apartment is situated in one of the most exclusive and charming neighborhoods of North Berkeley Hills away from crowds. This lovely flat is ideal for executives,scholars,or vacationers who want to stay in a beautiful large flat and enjoy spectacular bay views of San Francisco. One of the most celebrated neighborhoods and world renown, the Gourmet Ghetto is within walking distance. This area is known for the high concentration of fine eating establishments including Chez Panisse by Alice Waters, the Cheese Board Collective, as well as the first ever Peet's Coffee & Tea. Gourmet dining, sidewalk cafes, bakeries, coffee houses, wine shops, boutiques, artisan home decor, galleries, and flower stands all lend the area a European ambiance.

This spacious flat has all the amenities of a small home featuring a new kitchen with granite countertops, maple cabinets, equipped with new appliances, cookware, dinnerware and linens.

The Master bedroom has a queen bed, sitting area, large walk in closet, and a generous wide dresser for your belongings. The bathroom features a shower with non stop hot water and sink. The large living room boasts an electric fireplace with an adjustable flame and blower, pull out couch, leather recliner, television, and dvd player. Sit out on your large deck with a morning cup of coffee or a glass of wine and enjoy the gorgeous views this unit has to offer. Washer and dryer are also set-up for your use.

Across the street and just a couple minutes walk is John Hinkel Park. A historical landmark with magnificent oak groves, picnic areas, hiking and trails. During the summer months opera performances are offered free to the public in the park's amphitheatre.

All utilities are included along with cable TV, water, gas, electricity, telephone, fax and high speed internet. We also have a PC for your use. The flat has good sound insulation as the entire house went through a major remodel recently. There is ample free street parking and public transportation and freeways are close by.

San Francisco is a 20 minute drive. Napa Valley is only a 40 minute drive. The flat is centrally and conveniently located to many wonderful attractions offered in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Keywords: Apartment

More Details
Hide Details

Kirk is 65 years old and has many years of experience in property management. He lives on the upper flat with his lovely wife, Jaleh. You can be assured that any reasonable requests will be honored or if you need anything special we are close by and can help.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2008

We are in early stages of semi-retirement. We moved to this area because we think it is one of the most beautiful spots in the world and offers a fantastic climate. We enjoy the fabulous views, the proximity to wonderful restaurants, theaters, arts, cultural events, shopping and all the other wonderful attractions this area has to offer. We think you will love it also!

My wife and I live on the upper flat ; We are always available to respond to your reasonable requests or inquiries.

23 Reviews of Property 246393 in Berkeley, California

Charming North Berkeley Hills with Gorgeous Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Charming North Berkeley Hills with Gorgeous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246393vb
(415) 819-7777 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
-
5

Fantastic Apartment!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
This rental apartment has EVERYTHING you could possibly want or need in a rental. It is immaculately clean, quiet and comfortable. It's a first-class apartment in all ways. The hosts are available if you need them, but your privacy is complete. We highly recommend this lovely place for a year-round vacation in the beautiful hills of Berkeley, and just a short ride to San Francisco.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming North Berkeley Hills with Gorgeous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246393vb
(415) 819-7777 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Vienna, Austria
5

Wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Elegant apartment in a beautiful, quiet and very green neighborhood of North Berkeley, with a view of the San Francisco bay and Golden Gate bridge. With luck, you can watch deer cross the street, and hear a rooster crow (not until 10:30 a.m., fortunately). Solano Ave with its nice shops (La Farine bakery; Pegasus books!) and restaurants (Rivoli) is within 15 minutes' walking distance, the Berkeley "gourmet ghetto" on Shattuck Ave can be reached in a 10-minute drive, the freeway (I-80/580) is a (leisurely) 15-minute drive. (Moreover, there is Lalime's on Gilman St: fantastic French-Mediterranean cuisine at decent prices, just a 10-minute drive away!)
The apartment is squeaky clean and well-kept, fully equipped and has all amenities necessary for even a longer stay (in our case, a whole month). Certainly worth its money, especially compared to hotels in the Bay area.
The hosts are charming and generous (on entering the apartment, we found on the table cheese and wine and lots of pastries for breakfast next morning!), extremely helpful and cooperative (we arrived at 8 p.m. - no problem!), at the same time respecting their guests' privacy. We really felt relaxed and comfortable throughout our stay and will certainly come back at some time! (It's been my 20th visit to the Berkeley/Oakland area since 1979 and this is certainly one of the top two places on my personal list of private accommodations)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
business
Charming North Berkeley Hills with Gorgeous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246393vb
(415) 819-7777 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
orange county, ca
5

Wonderful Place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We thoroughly enjoyed staying here. The place is recently remodeled, and extremely clean. It is located in the hills of Berkeley, in the best neighborhood across the street from a park. We had 2 adults and 2 teenage girls, and this apartment worked fine for us. There is room for a queen size air mattress in the bonus room..or there is also a sofa bed available. There is also an extra half bath in the bonus room that was very convenient. The patio is very big, and private. We BBQ'd a couple nights during our stay.. enjoyed the patio very much. This place is definetly worth the price. UC Berkeley is a 5 min. drive.. San Francisco is a quick 15-20 min trip across the bridge, and Sonoma/Napa is about a 35-40 min drive. Would recommend to anyone looking to stay in the Berkeley area
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming North Berkeley Hills with Gorgeous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246393vb
(415) 819-7777 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Minneapolis, MN
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We stayed in this lovely apartment for 4 nights. The place is well represented in the photos and is very comfortable. Kirk and Jaleh are kind hosts. They treated us on the first morning with some nice pastries, french bread, and delicious cheese. We were also welcomed with a bottle of wine. The place is immaculately clean. We were faced with unexpected challenges while there. It rained more than it had in 100 years, and we both had terrible coughs. It was a very nice place to stay given all of this, and we hope to return another time when we feel good and take more advantage of the beautiful neighborhood. I would happily recommend the apartment to friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming North Berkeley Hills with Gorgeous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246393vb
(415) 819-7777 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Dallas, Texas
5

The Best of Berkeley

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My husband and I stayed at this property and it was more than we had expected. The listing description and photos were accurate but how can you describe the views and the exceptional host and hostess? The hosts gave us maps, books and so much information that made our stay so much fun. We could walk to parks, shopping and restaurants and the walks were beautiful through the best neighborhood in Berkeley. The property is so well maintained and clean, clean, clean. There was nothing that we lacked. Robes were provided and a delightful bottle of wine was waiting for us. I hestitated to write the review because I want to go back again and again and fear this great property will not be available. We have visited Berkeley many times and after this stay I refuse to stay anywhere else. This is a gem of a property!!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Cathie and Jim- My wife and I really enjoyed meeting you and hosting you. Your comments are very gracious and you were the friendliest couple we have had here. Also We could not stop laughing because you were worried that the apartment may not be available when you want to pay a second visit to us! We will do all we can to accommodate you. We feel we have two great friends now.
Kirk and Jaleh
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming North Berkeley Hills with Gorgeous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246393vb
(415) 819-7777 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Georgetown, Texas
5

Extraordinary apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My family and I stayed with Kirk and Jaleh in March 2011. This apartment is lovely! It appears to be brand new, and decorated with great attention to detail. They spared no expense in creating a wonderful space. There is a terrific view of San Francisco Bay from the apartment and balcony and its location in the hills is convenient to everything. In addition, they are wonderful, thoughtful hosts who frequently check to make sure you have everything you need. We look forward to staying with them every year when we visit our son at UC-Berkeley (which is approximatley 10 minutes away).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the gracious comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the apartment and my wife and I look forward to visiting with you and hosting you again.
business
Charming North Berkeley Hills with Gorgeous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246393vb
(415) 819-7777 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
nyc
5

lovely apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed staying in this beautifully appointed home: immaculately maintained, luxuriously furnished and outfitted with everything you could possibly need for a visit. The location in the Berkeley hills has a great view from the deck -- of the Bay and the city. It is close to a nice park and to innumerable hikes and sight seeing opportunities. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and helpful to us. We hope to return another time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming North Berkeley Hills with Gorgeous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246393vb
(415) 819-7777 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Palm Desert, CA
5

Our Best July

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Dear Kirk and Jaleh,
We have had a wonderful month here in the Bay Area, visiting our family and sight-seeing. We loved the cool weather and it was so nice to come back to this lovely apartment at the end of the day. You have designed a wonderful living space and we were so comfortable. We had everything we needed. What was especially nice was having the half bath!
Thanks for being such gracious hosts. We appreciate all the things you did to make us feel welcome.
We already miss being here - it's 115 degree heat here in the Palm Springs area with a blazing sun.
Fondly,
Dick and Marty
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming North Berkeley Hills with Gorgeous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246393vb
(415) 819-7777 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Burlington, VT
5

Sparkling Perfection

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
The large flat has everything one could possibly want or need. Every detail is perfect nothing has been overlooked. My husband and I traveled to see our daughter who is in grad school at Berkeley. We made day trips to the outlying areas, which were easily accessible. The property is better than the photographs. Kirk and Jaleh were extremely gracious, and have made a great home a way from home.
This is the BEST "VRBO" home I have ever rented. You will love the location and the accessibility to the attractions in this part of California.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words. You both were superb guests. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
business
Charming North Berkeley Hills with Gorgeous Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p246393vb
(415) 819-7777 (California, USA)
Berkeley The Bay Area
Redondo Beach, CA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
This vacation rental is beautifully decorated with every modern convenience. It has a full size refrigerator/freezer, gas oven/stove plus all of the utensils, pots/pans/baking pans that you need to prepare a gourmet meal, plus plates, serving dishes and wine glasses to serve it elegantly. This vacation rental even has the convenience of high-speed internet, which can be very important if you need to stay in touch with clients.

It is so wonderfully quiet in Berkeley Hills -- truly peaceful and yet close to the action in Berkeley. Kirk and Jaleh are warm and wonderful hosts -- we truly enjoyed their company and they made us feel so welcome.

One of our favorite activities in the evening was drinking a glass of California wine and watching the sun set from the balcony. We can't wait to return next year!
Helpful votes: 1/1