Palm Springs house rental - The pool deck at sunrise
The pool deck at sunrise
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Palm Springs House Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Large Living room plus den room, sleeps 6

Great, spacious late mid century home.

Owned by the author of many books, including 'modern retro', 'living modern', living retro', 'sarasota modern' and 'highrise living'.

Built in 1979 it has the elements of the earlier homes yet, the modernity of a later one.

The landscape is mature, with large swimming and reflecting pools. There are over 20 tall rustling palms.

The interior is an eclectic mix of all mid century.

Found from various sources, auction, thrift stores, estate and garage sales, everything in the house is there because we love it!

We have a well stocked dvd library, outdoor speakers for the cd sound system.

The hottub is located just off the deck that leads from the master bedroom.

Besides the main swimming pool there is a small shallow pool with water features.

Wireless broadband services the entire house.

There is a large very clean 2 car garage for parking also available.

I am the author of many books on mid century design and architecture, titles including modern retro, Sarasota modern, living modern and living retro. I also own and run design store/gallery in London that specializes in Mid century Modern furniture and design. I own homes in Florida, Palm Springs , London and Essex

Andrew Weaving purchased this house in 2007

While researching for my last book 'living retro' I spent a lot time in Palm Springs and really liked it. Son as soon as I could I tried to find a house to buy. Owning 1950s homes in Florida I didn't really want an Alexander, so was lucky to find this house built in the 70s, but still with great architectural features and bones.

37 Reviews of Property 251551 in Palm Springs, California

Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
average rating of 4.7297297 based on 37 reviews
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Vancouver, BC
5

Beautiful home, not missing a thing for a Palm Springs, poolside, private space!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Thank you for the opportunity to stay in such a beautiful place. Clearly staying in the home of an interior design expert with a penchant for mid-century modern is one way to experience the allure of what Palm Springs once was. The house was crystal clean, kitchen stocked with all appliances and needs, the
Private pool and spacious deck area with bar-b-q left us with nothing to want. Quiet neighborhood. Essentially, you have all the comforts of home in a thoughtfully styled and professionally cleaned space.

We travelled down to PS for a wedding at the Vicerory and decided to stay one week to get some sun and quiet book reading and blogging in. Perfect idea.

*must have a car. As with all Palm Springs places it is spread out and this home quick (under 10-15 minutes) walking distance from 'town' even for fit Vancouver-ites! And if you are also going for the Sheilds Date Farm, Shadow Mountain, Living Desert etc side of things you will need transportation to get over to the Desert and places like Indio.

We used to go down to the area annually, it was nice to return and see the development, enjoy the extreme heat and beautiful desert night sky.

Thanks for the hospitalitity.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Los Angeles
5

Very Relaxing Environment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We have rented from Andrew 4 times and have enjoyed his house immensly. Once you walk through the door you feel transported into a private world. The house is very well designed and the yard is like an oasis in Palm Springs. Our dog loves to visit Andrew's house!. Andrew and Ric have always been very accomodating. The house is not to far from grocery stores or the center of Palm Springs. You will leave feeling very relaxed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Porter Ranch
5

Great Palm Springs Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We stayed at this great mid century house over the Labor Day weekend. It has such a cool vibe. It is close to town which is great. We absolutely LOVED the backyard. The price is very resonable and the property is pet friendly. I would recommend this home to anyone who wants to stay in a fun well cared for property.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Awesome house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My wife and I rented the house for two nights to use primarily as a base of operations to explore Joshua Tree. The property was fantastic both in terms of design and comfort both inside and out. After a day of hiking I can't imagine a more relaxing experience than laying next to the pool with a glass of wine as the sun sets over the desert. I think we'll definitely be looking to rent the house again in future, hopefully for a longer period of time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review, so glad you enjoyed the house.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Potomac, MD
1

This is a very-poorly maintained home...stay away

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
I was terribly put off by the sorry state of the home upon arrival. Imagine finding the kitchen and dining room floors unswept. Dirt on the living room rug. Smudges on the leather sofa. Crumbled potato chip and Dorito bits scattered here and there...including underneath the trash bin. Cake frosting sticking to the edge of the kitchen table. Stained kitchen counters and cabinets. Hair and stains on the floors. The venetian blinds above the kitchen sink layered with dust and grime. Poorly cleaned flatware and plates. Yuck, gross, disgusting. It was also very curious that so many locals kept driving up and parking in front of the house for several minutes at a time, with some blocking the driveway completely. I guessed that the Wi-fi password had been compromised. When yet another car pulled up, I unplugged the router...guess what...the car drove away immediately. Here's the tragedy. The property itself is quite nice. The backyard landscaping is excellent, with places for both those who love the sun and those of us who prefer the shade. The mid-century style of the interior furnishings is also quite nice. Too bad. There is no way I will ever return to this dump. Ever.
Owner's Response: While I never want to question a person's integrity or opinion, I take great exception to this unsupported review. The house has been managed and cleaned by the same staff for the past 3 years. Cleanliness and property maintenance has never been an issue. It has always been a top priority for me as owner, my property manager and housekeeping staff. Our linens are even sent out to be laundered and pressed to make sure that the beds are clean and give the highest level of presentation when the guests arrive.
The housekeeping staff cleaned the house 2 days before guest arrival. The Property Manager did a complete inspection of the interior and exterior of the house, the morning prior to guest arrival. An inventory was done of supplies and the house was re-stocked with all necessary amenities for the bathroom, kitchen and laundry room.
The tired and stressed from travelling guest was greeted at the house late afternoon by the property manager. They walked the entire house, inside and outside and the guest was explained the operation of the central heating and air, pool, spa and BBQ. The property manager spent an extended amount of time with the guest during the Check-In process, in the kitchen, dining area and living room answering questions about the house. The guest even asked the location of electrical breakers in case of emergency, which our property manager thought was an odd question since no one has ever asked.
Our property manager reminded the guest, that should he have any questions or concerns regarding the house, he should call him immediately since he is on call while guests are in residence.
Neither I, or my property manager received any type of notice from the guest indicating unacceptable housekeeping until later that day by email indicating "he was put off by the sorry state of the kitchen upon his arrival." But he was able to straighten this out on his own. If indeed the house had been in such a "sorry state" as the guest claims, why didn't he say anything to the manager when he showed him the house. Why didn't he call him immediately so that corrective measures could have been taken if it was in such a "sorry state"
I, the property manager and housekeeping are shocked to hear of such a complaint from this guest in light of the fact that both manager and housekeeping spent so much time at the house before and during the greeting of the guest to make sure the guest had an enjoyable stay.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Studio City
5

Family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
I spent six nights in this house with my family and we loved it. The kids loved the pool and hot tub and we loved the gas grill. The house was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Quiet neighborhood as well.We will be back again and hopefully stay longer.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Ojai, California USA
5

Quiet, Elegant, Secluded

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We loved the house. We are a couple that relaxed in style and total seclusion. Had friends come who were also very impressed. I am a chef so enjoyed cooking and dining in this beautiful home. The kitchen is outdated but has almost everything you could need. Everthing worked in the house and the house manager was very prompt in meeting us and giving directions. Photos are accurate and it was very clean. It was great to be able to bring our dog as well. You will not be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Los Angeles, CA
5

A gorgeous, glamorous yet family-friendly home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We feel very lucky to have found this wonderful home away from home in Palm Springs. Andrew was very helpful when we booked the property and his property manager was great when we were staying there. The house was just as nice as described and it was a great space for the seven of us - two adults, two grandparents and three young children. We had a wonderful time in the house and in the pool. It was beautifully decorated with a genuine Midcentury Modern feel (without being too precious) and the perfect base for exploring all that Palm Springs has to offer. Hope we'll be back soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
San Francisco, California
5

AWESOME PS Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
My partner and I satyed her in mid February to celebrate Valentines Day and our 31st anniversary. This was absolutely the perfect place. It is furnished with comfortable mid century furnishings. The yard and pool are beautiful private and quiet. Shopping is only about 6 blocks away. We have stayed in a number ofvacation rentals in ps and this was our favorite. We would definitely come back here. Thanks Andrew and Ric!!!!!
business
Mid Century Design Authors Desert Modern Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p251551
+011 44 2074875100
Palm Springs California Desert
Vancouver, British Columbia
5

As good as the first time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Second visit - for two weeks this time! and with hubbie and family friends rather than girlfriends.

It was like coming home. The house is so friendly and easy to be in and the garden and pools are just great. May be back for even more weeks next year.

Oh - do go see the Follies if you have a sense of fun!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review.
If I was looking for a great place to stay, it would certainly make me put this house it at the top of the list.