Great Exuma cottage rental - View of Moriah Harbor Cay from Main House
View of Moriah Harbor Cay from Main House
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Great Exuma Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Studio style cottage with full kitchen, bathroom, Queen size bedroom area

'Sweet Ting' is a lovely guest cottage, situated on a 2 1/2 acre waterfront villa located in Hartswell, Exuma. The studio style cottage has a private entrance and parking area along with wrap around decking. The loft cottage, which is tiled throughout, has 15' high peaked cypress ceilings The kitchen, dining and living spaces are separated by a movable privacy screen. You have a choice of using the air-conditioning or opening up to the lovely island breezes.

At the water's edge, you will find the pristine blue-green gin-clear waters which have made Exuma the yachting capitol of the Western hemisphere. KAYAKS are available for guests, allowing exploration of sand banks of the Bahamas National Trust park at Moriah Harbour Cay which is located directly across from the property Whether you are FISHING from the DOCK or BONE-FISHING on the flats, SNORKELING , or SWIMMING , it is all available by lovely meandering paths from the cottage and through the villa gardens.

The property location is directly across from the eastern end of Moriah Harbor Cay, accessible in minutes by kayaks or the 11' Boston Whaler. The bonefish flats are directly opposite the property and a few minutes more of paddling brings you to the most beautiful, pristine and quite often deserted beach for walking, running or swimming You can also grab the umbrella and some lunch and just spend the day, imagining you are on a deserted island with not a care in the world - your very own private oasis.

Swimming, snorkelling and fishing are just a few of the things that can be done right from the private dock

of 'Done Reach'. From the hilltop deck, you can view those who enjoy bonefishing, kiteboarding or

kayaking. The 11' Boston Whaler is conveniently located at the dock along with two kayaks. Arrangements

can be made for bonefish guides or kiteboard lessons. If you choose not to participate but to be a spectator,

pull up a deck chair and just enjoy the spectacular view.

The owner of the property welcomes any questions and is happy to be of assistance.

Will be happy to provide French or Italian speaking person with any detailed questions.

More Details
Hide Details

19 Reviews of Property 248309 in Great Exuma, Bahamas

'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The description that "Sweet Ting Guest Cottage offers charm, romance, and adventure" is totally accurate. This was the best vacation we have ever had. The cottage was great (clean, cute, and comfortable), the scenary was breathtakingly beautiful, the grounds were beautifully landscaped, we loved the hilltop deck (perfect for morning coffee/tea, breakfast, lunch, reading, happy hour, star gazing, and just sitting there doing nothing), we loved the absolute peace and quiet and privacy, and we especially fell in love with Johanna's "pot cake" dogs. Lots of things were adventurous for us -- navigating from the airport to the cottage at night on the left side of the road and with the steering wheel on the right side of the car, buying groceries, exploring different island beaches, but most of all, kayaking across to the sand bar islands and exploring those beaches. We went in December, so the water was coolish, but not too much so, and the weather was perfect. We also met so many nice people. Unfortunately, we did not get to meet Johanna, but we loved meeting her house sitter and her family. We definitely plan to go back again. Some recommendations: Fly direct to Exuma vs going through Nassau or some other Bahamian location), try to arrive during daylight hours, do not worry about bringing a bunch of clothes and shoes (all you need are a few casual clothes, bathing suits, water shoes, and flops), bring sun screen and hats with you, pay attention to the tides if you kayak (best to do so at high or low tides), and bring your own coffee and tea, sweetener, and spices if you are planning to cook. The bread is locally baked and is delicious! Be sure to eat at Santana's, but go at lunch or early afternoon. They close around sundown. Thank you, Johanna, for a great vacation spot! Hope to meet you next time!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
5

Exuma & Sweet Ting - 2 Great Choices

Exuma & Sweet Ting - 2 Great Choices
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
My husband & I spent a week at the cottage the first week in July & it was a wonderful week. Exuma & the cottage were exactly what we were looking for. The cottage was clean, quiet & comfortable in what we thought was the best location on the island. The beaches across the way at Moriah Harbor were amazing & unlike any in all of the caribbean. Having the kayaks to explore Moriah made for a perfect beach vacation right out the door. Johanna is a great person & host - along with Lucky, Sophie & Molly. We hope to see them again soon!

Stocking Island - great visit, must explore - go beyond Chat & Chill.

We ate out quite often -February Point is a great choice. It was always enjoyable to eat, drink & talk with the locals at LaShante, the fish fry, Eddie's & Santana's.

Exuma is an exceptional choice if you are looking for breathtaking beaches, water, wonderful people & staying at the Sweet Ting will give you an unforgetable vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. My little four legged friends and I loved having you here at "Sweet Ting" Cottage. Whenever I run into some of the island people you met, they mention what wonderful guests I have staying with me. You know the welcome mat is out whenever you need some time away from your everyday life. "Sweet Ting" is always ready and Lucky, Sophie and Molly will be happy to see you again. The saying here is: "You have to leave, so you can return." We will all look forward to that day.
Johanna
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
5

Hated to Leave

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We stayed in this perfect cottage for a full week and felt like is was over way too soon. Johanna is terrific and can help you with anything you need. She knows the ins and outs of the island and helped us to enjoy it to the fullest. We still can't decide what was the best part but we still miss being there. The snorkeling right off the dock is fantastic as well as across the water to the secluded, quiet, white sand beach that is just a short ride in the kayaks.We found so many shells and saw so many different fish including rays and star fish. We took Johanna's advice and checked out a few different areas close by and were not disappointed. The Tropic of Cancer Beach was AWESOME!
We loved spending the day exploring and coming back to the cottage where we could relax and have a quiet dinner. We had fun stocking the fridge from the local market and laughing at the prices! $$
If you like to get away from it all and do your own thing then this is truly "The Sweetest Ting"! The views can't be beat and the hospitality of everyone we came across was unbelievable. Thanks so much to Johanna (and the dogs, Sophie and Lucky), we miss you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Michelle and Shawn:
Thank you so much for the delightful review. I take such pleasure in sharing my place with young
people such as yourselves. You truly enjoyed Exuma and my place, taking advantage of the waterfront, the kayaks, the views and meeting all the wonderful people of Exuma. I always hear from various people around the island how they loved meeting my guests. So it is mutual - Exuma loves you as well. We hope you will return one day soon and de-stress, re-connect and just enjoy our little oasis of peace.
Sincerely,
Johanna, Sophie, Lucky and Molly
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
5

Wonderful cottage and host!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My Wife and I stayed at Johanna's cottage for a week and it was an awesome experience. First she showed great hospitality. Her vast knowledge of the island helped us plan our time better and extract the maximum of our time there. Her garden and views are incredible. No resort can provide the same "insider" experiense. I reccomend this place to everyone who is looking for some quiet and beutiful time at Exuma.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Krum and Randy! I totally enjoyed having you as guests in the cottage. It was fun introducing you to a few of the "hot spots" on the island and sharing some special time over dinner with island friends. Exuma is growing and changing, but the oasis of peace and tranquility remains. We will have some new experiences for you on your next visit - hope to see you soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
Woodbridge, VA
5

More than magical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My husband and I stayed at Sweet Ting for almost a week in April. The cottage and hostess, Johanna, couldn't have been more accommodating and lovely. The setting is very private and the views are breathtaking from the property. The gardens and wildlife are maginificantly maintained. Everyone on the island seemed to be friends with Johanna, which makes you feel even more welcomed. The amenities included with this rental make it really even more special. Having kayaks available for no extra fees was great. Johanna even shopped for us prior to our arrival, so we would have provisions when we arrived on a late flight.
We are currently planning our next vacation to stay at Sweet Ting again. The island(s) of Exuma will immediately capture your heart and this cottage/villa is really perfectly situated between Great and Little Exuma. Not too far from the hub town of Georgetown, although a rental car will be necessary for navigating the island/beaches.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
Romania
5

Lovely house in a fabulous location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
The Sweet Ting Cottage is the perfect place for a quiet and relaxing vacation. I stayed there in March and had a wonderful time.

The house is very cosy and confortable with a lovely island vibe, so romantic decorated. It is very clean and charming. There we found everything you needed: full kitchen, very confortable furniture, TV, good connection to the internet. It has a large terrace with sunbeds- just perfect to take our morning coffee or to watch the incredible sky at night.
The house has an enormous garden where you can freely walk, a romantic deck with 2 armchairs from where you can look at the incredible turquoise waters.

The location is wonderful with astonishing views - just across Moriah Herbour - we had 2 kayaks included in the price of our stay, it takes 10 minutes to get to the Harbour, so much fun!

Johanna, the owner, was so nice and helpful, she took so much care on every detail just to make us feel better than home. She gave us a lot of useful advice on what to do on the island.

It takes only 20 min to get there from the airport by car and the center of Georgetown is at 10 min by car. In the proximity of the house you find the most beautiful beaches in Exuma: the Cut Beach, Moriach Harbour, Tropic of Cancer Beach.

I would definitely come back to Exuma and stay at the Sweet Ting Cottage!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
Brooklyn, NY
5

Get into the Zone at Sweet Ting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
Sweet Ting is a perfect getaway for a couple or two girlfriends who love to 'get away from it all.' The setting is gorgeous, with a private deck to watch sunsets, and a deck and hammock on the water with the most beautiful view of the channel and nature preserve keys. We loved the kayaks and saw an amazing amount of marine life, including dolphins 9they swam with my husband!), an octopus (he was soooo cute!) and amazing fish. We would just step into the water, stand there, drop our heads with goggles and see fish and fish and fish. It made us feel so peaceful and happy to be there. Johanna, keeps her distance to allow for privacy, but is welcoming and attentive to all that we needed. It is such a treat to not see or hear anyine else in all directions--and a quick kayak to the keys across the channel brought us to private beaches one only dreams of...and to break up the exquisite privace one can go into Georgetown and dance the night away to live bands and learn the Bahamian steps. Johanna will tell all the ins and outs of the island but just chilling out at Sweet Ting is the best time ever!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
Thomasville, Georgia, USA
5

Private retreat from winter's chill

Private retreat from winter's chill
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We so enjoyed our 11 night stay at Johanna's 2.5 acre privtate retreat. She doesn't advertise it as a retreat, but it was for us, as we so needed that mid-winter escape that was not in a 200 unit plus resort where fighting the crowds in the shops and streets is part of a vacation. The setting is high up and with a short walk to a deck we could observe the beautiful turquoise waters for miles. We did try the watercraft that are available and went to Moirah Harbour Cay (a national trust park) with its unspoiled sand. However we decided the three beaches on Little Exuma about 4-5 miles away were more to our liking and spent many hours enjoying all three. We never saw more that one other couple the whole time. The main settlement of Georgetown was just big enough with two good boutique type shops,a library, a market (prepare for very high prices), and a gas station (that occasionally ran out just when we needed it for our auto rental). We had a chance to visit Stocking Island with its protected wild areas and a small restaurant (Chat and Chill). We spent an afternoon on the beach there and enjoyed it. The cottage had everything we needed and if it didn't Johanna would get it for us. It was comfortable and quiet. The resident dog (Sophie) and cat (Mollly) visited us often to our delight. We never felt intruded upon by Johanna or her pets. Of course the weather was as we wished with only two days of cloudy and windy--77-81 was the average.
We are sure we will rebook in December or January of next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Sweet Ting' Guest Cottage offers charm, romance and adventure.
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p248309
+1242 345-5092
Great Exuma Exuma
Boston, MA., USA
5

Very special, great honeymoon or couples getaway.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
The sunset view from the private deck on the hill was unbelievable!! The cottage was very clean and comfortable. We loved having the amenities of the house at our disposal one of which was kayaks which we took across the channel to a totally private island where my husband bone-fished to his hearts content while I enjoyed swimming and snorkling in the beautiful, warm, aqua waters not to mention the incredible beach! We took a day and toured Elizabeth Harbor by boat, stopped at The Chat & Chill Restaurant that you can only get to by boat, enjoyed their beautiful beach and Conch Salad. Another fun day was our road trip to Santanas, which is a true Bahamian experience, it's a roadside stand that has great home-made Bahamian food. There is a unique little shop in the center of town that we went to several times called The Sandpiper. There are enough choices of restaurants if you want to dine out such as August Bay we chose most evenings to enjoy the cottage with romantic dinners as the kitchen is fully equipped. We would recommend this rental to a friend as I know the owner will do everything in her power to make your visit memorable.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10