Carlisle house rental - .
.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps9
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Carlisle House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 1full bathroom, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 9

Beautifully restored turn of the century Victorian, “Glass Gable”, is located six blocks from historical Carlisle’s town square. The interior of this well-preserved 100 year old home is light, friendly, and comfortable. Enjoy the ambiance provided by11 feet high ceilings accented with beautiful custom woodwork including inlaid hardwood floors, ceiling (crown) and floor moldings, pocket doors, and ornate staircase railings. The renovated kitchen provides newer appliances fully equipped with refrigerator with ice-maker, disposal, microwave, dishwasher, gas stove and electric oven. “Glass Gable” provides dishes, glassware and eating utensils in the kitchen... towels, linens and paper products for the bed and bathrooms and other items to make you feel at home. The large paver patio and garden area with a gas grill offer a relaxing retreat. Free wireless high speed internet is accessible throughout most of the property. Please feel free to call or email with any questions.

33 Reviews of Property 238922 in Carlisle, Pennsylvania

'Glass Gable South' Beautiful Victorian Home
average rating of 4.939394 based on 33 reviews
business
'Glass Gable South' Beautiful Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238922
+1 7174434647
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Utterson, ON Canada
5

What a place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
This home was a perfect home base for our daughters wedding. Being from out of town and parents of the bride I was worried that we would not have that 'family' feeling on this special day. I was so happy the way things worked out. We had family and out of town bridesmaids stay at the house, out of town guests had a gathering place, the rehersal dinner worked out perfect in the backyard (around 30-40 people), and the bride and bridesmaids had a beautiful morning getting ready in the large bedroom upstairs. Everyone that was there loved the old charm of the house. I would recommend this home for any large family gathering.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
'Glass Gable South' Beautiful Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238922
+1 7174434647
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Michigan
5

Glass GAble, Carlisle, PA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Our family enjoyed our stay at Glass Gable. The home is beautiful, every bedroom was restful. The backyard added to its charm. Our only regret was that we spent most of our time away from the home with family, so we didn't get to enjoy the patio area. The house was stocked with all the needed linens and supplies. There is only one full bath but we easily worked out a shower schedule.Thanks , Diana, for allowing us the pleasure of staying in your home, we would definately use it again if needed.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
'Glass Gable South' Beautiful Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238922
+1 7174434647
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Wisconsin
5

NATIONAL FIELD ARCHERY CHAMPIONSHIPS - MECHANICSBURG

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Would highly recommend this great home. We had a full house and found the house to be very accomodating - loved the patio. We stayed (7) days and did quite a bit of cooking - house was very well equipped to handle all of our needs.

I don't think the photos can give you a picture on how great a property this is. Owners were wonderful and very helpful.

Location was great - we visited Gettysburg, Hershey, Lancaster area, Amish country, did gocarting, and visited quite a few restaurants (many ice cream shops in the area and after a long day of shooting, this was a treat!). Very convenient to WalMart and Grocery stores.

If we ever are out this way again, we will definately be looking at this rental again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Glass Gable South' Beautiful Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238922
+1 7174434647
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Sierra Vista AZ
5

HersheyPark

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
A get together with family and trip to Hersheypark. The house was great, big enough for all and clean as could be. Everyone liked sitting on the patio after dinner. Hersheypark was close as were the Carlisle Sports Emporium and Army Heritage Museum. Everyone enjoyed it
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
'Glass Gable South' Beautiful Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238922
+1 7174434647
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Portland, Oregon
5

Best Place to Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My family stayed here for a week during the summer. There were 6 of us, 2 young teens, two mid adults, and two retired adults. We live on the West Coast and were not sure what to expect. The house was very luxurious and comfortable and far exceeded are expectations. The beds were great to sleep on; we woke up feeling refreshed each morning, which was especially important since we toured the surrounding areas each day. In the evenings we came home to cook dinner in the full kitchen, which had all the gadgets, pots, and pans we could need and then some. The house had such a wonderful feel to it, it was truly relaxing in the evenings. The home's decor was elegant and beautiful.

The home was in a great central location to see different historical areas of Pennsylvania. We easily traveled to Gettysburg, Hershey, and the dutch countryside. The owners were very kind and helpful to my family and we enjoyed getting to know them. They were very approachable and answered all of our questions.

One of our most favorites activities was to sit in the back yard in the evening to relax and watch the fireflies, which we don't have on the west coast.

This home was an amazing place to stay at and I would recommend it to anyone, especially those coming from quite a distance away.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
'Glass Gable South' Beautiful Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238922
+1 7174434647
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Waynesville, MO
5

Happy Graduation Stay!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
Splendid stay! This beautiful home was very clean, had all amenities one could imagine, and perfect for "back yard dwellers" :-). Photos posted on site pale in comparison-- This proud house welcomes you with comfort, and style..... a great way to start your stay! Nice walk to the downtown area. We had a crew of 6 adults and one child, and beds to spare. Although we didn't use, there was a crib/playpen worth mentioning....very family friendly property, and highly recomended!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
'Glass Gable South' Beautiful Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238922
+1 7174434647
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
New Jersey
5

Perfect Location/Setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We rented this property for a long weekend for our daughter's graduation from Dickinson as we wanted to host a BBQ after graduation and we also had overseas guests so this was far more personable than a hotel. Walt and Diana couldn't have been more helpful both with information in advance of our visit and being on hand for anything we needed over the weekend. The garden is beautiful and was the perfect setting for a very successful weekend. Thank you.
business
'Glass Gable South' Beautiful Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238922
+1 7174434647
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
4

Gracious Accomodations

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 13, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
This lovingly restored home is a great place for a gathering of friends and family. The owners have shared their love for history and period collections and you can appreciate the history and all they have done to make sure guests are comfortable. The outdoor living space in the back yard is a wonderful place to enjoy and provides additional space to relax and unwind. The home is very clean, comfortable and in a great location. It is easy to find and very accessible to downtown and historic Carlisle, PA. The home details were just as presented and we were very comfortable there for a few days with friends.
business
'Glass Gable South' Beautiful Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238922
+1 7174434647
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Amsterdam, Netherlands
5

Feels like home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
I have stayed at Glass Gables twice, if you're looking for somewhere in the Carlisle / Mechanicsburg / Camp Hill area, stop searching and stay here. It is a gorgeous home and has the perfect blend of original features and modern conveniences. The first time I stayed I was concerned about the sleeping space as it was hard to tell from the pictures - no worries, there is room for 9 comfortably (and privately).

The house is well taken care of, the location is extremely convenient (minute from Rt 81) and Diana is a very conscientious host - you would be crazy to stay anywhere else!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was my pleasure to have guests return. Thank you for your kind comments and I look forward to your visiting again.
business
'Glass Gable South' Beautiful Victorian Home
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p238922
+1 7174434647
Carlisle Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Enola, PA
5

Excellent Home for a family get together!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
The pictures on VRBO just don't do this home justice. More pictures would certainly drive customers to rent this home. Listed as 4 bedrooms, but actually 5. One bedroom on the third floor doesn't have a door, so it can't be listed as a bedroom. We just hung a sheet and my son loved sleeping there. Beautifully decorated for the holidays. Huge dining room with table big enough to sit at least 12. Large kitchen that has been updated, but still feels like it belongs in this restored Victorian home. Bedrooms are not small. The master actually has a seating area with couch and chairs. Lots of large windows throughout the house. We brought all the food we needed, and never ate out. Easy to cook in the kitchen. Beds were very comfortable. No complaints from anyone as far as sleeping was concerned.
There is only 1 full bath, but we were able to work around that and only ran out of hot water once while everyone was bathing. Overall, a great property and highly recommended. Another plus...the owners were very helpful and kind!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1