Castro District apartment rental
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Castro District Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms,1 Full Bath w/ 6 foot Jaccuzzi, Sleeps 4, Sitting Room

A pampered vacation in the Castro. It's a 2 bedroom 1 bathroom suite in a 1890's San Francisco Victorian with its own private entrance. It has a 6 foot jacuzzi tub, a shower, a sitting room, a full size refrigerator, a microwave, dining room table, 4 dining room chairs, 4 stuffed arm chairs, airport pick-up & drop-off, 24/7 full concierge service, free laundry, board games, free parking, free newspaper, free premium DirecTv w/ 100's of free movies, excellent nail parlor nearby, public transportation right outside your door, free sightseeing, bathroom full of skin care products from my store, day spa with indoor pool & massages available at another location,shopping district including historic Castro Theater 2 blocks away, San Francisco historic Trolley car line 4 blocks away, corner store less than 1 block. I've been living in San Francisco for 30 years and my partner is born and raised San Franciscan and we hope to make this your most memorable trip to San Francisco.

Recommended Web Sites: Free San Francisco walking tours - http://sfcityguides.org

1906 film camera mounted on the front of a cable c: An astonishing blend of horses, wagons and cars - no street lights but plenty of jay walkers. Amazing how dressed up most of the pedestrians are. This is fascinating.

This film was 'lost' for many years. It was the first 35mm film ever. It was taken by camera mounted on the front of a cable car. The amount of automobiles is staggering for 1906. Absolutely amazing! The clock tower at the end of Market Street at the Embarcadero wharf is still there. (I'm also wondering ... how many 'street cleaning' people were employed to pick up after the horses? Talk about going green!)

Great historical film worth watching.

http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=NINOxRxze9k

More Details
Hide Details

53 Reviews of Property 235968 in Castro District, California

Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 53 reviews
business
Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235968
+1 415 519-7161
Castro District San Francisco
4

Stay in Castro

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We enjoyed our stay very much! Andy helped us with everyting, it was really kind! The appartment is perfectly clean and great equipped! And the district is perfect for a stay in SF, lots of shops, organic foodmarkets, resteraunts (try oska shusi for shusi happy hour 3-6pm), very nice houses and a good connection to any other sight of the city. I'd definitely stay again here, when I hopefully make it sometimes back to SF.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235968
+1 415 519-7161
Castro District San Francisco
5

Conveniently located & helpful host!

Conveniently located & helpful host!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Andy's home was exactly what we were looking for: a conveniently located, inexpensive place to stay for our weekend in SF. Andy was very helpful with anything we needed - directions to places, suggestions, and lending us things we needed (e.g., an iron!). His home was very clean. Greatly enjoyed our stay. Thanks, Andy!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235968
+1 415 519-7161
Castro District San Francisco
5

AMAZING RENTAL, AWESOME OWNER!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
What a find! We had a wonderful time staying at Andy's place. It is everything you could want and more. Genuinely nice host, clean, comfortable unit in an adorable Victorian. Great location as well! Went out of his way to help us. He was even willing to give up his parking space if we couldn't find one. We feel so lucky to have found this perfect place. We will definitely be back again!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235968
+1 415 519-7161
Castro District San Francisco
5

Mother and Daughter vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I have been negligent about writing a review, but finally quit procrastinating once I saw the review left by the woman who stayed immediately after us. I cannot even believe she was referring to the same house! Perhaps she expected a soundproof vacuum, rather than a quiet, quaint and beautiful apartment in a charming, safe and friendly neighborhood, which is what my mom and I experienced. The occasional neighborhood noises were muted and certainly did not detract from what proved to be a perfect place for us to enjoy a memorable mother and daughter vacation. Our home-away-from-home (for that is what is felt like) was clean, comfortable, quiet and secure. And yes, the microwave worked (and we were the renters immediately before the woman who complained.) Andy was everything all the other reviewers said--friendly, helpful, conscientious and funny. We loved our vacation, loved the Castro district and we loved staying in Andy's home.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235968
+1 415 519-7161
Castro District San Francisco
5

This should be your number one choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
What can I say that hasn't already been said? Andy certainly knows how to do it right, from the very first time I contacted him to the time we said goodbye to him he went above and beyond.
Andy picked us up from the airport upon arrival in San Francisco which was such a nice perk, especially when travelling with kids. He took us on a tour of Twin Peaks which has amazing views of the City. We then went on a tour of the Castro neighbourhood and he pointed out restaurants, grocery stores, coffee shops and retail stores that he thought we would enjoy (which by the way all his recommendations turned out to be bang on!).
The unit was perfect, we had a family of four, we slept two in a room which was so nice to have separate rooms, the bathroom was great, full of Andy's homemade soaps and bath gels which were perfect to use at the end of a long day in the jacuzzi tub (my boys loved the tub). Andy has thought of everything that you might need and it is all accessible right at your fingertips. The unit was spotless and absolutely perfect for us.
I can't say enough about the location, when you walk out and turn either left or right you have many shops, restaurants and everything you could need right there. The neighbourhood is safe, inviting and fun, nicest people you could ever encounter.
The second day we were there Andy drove us down to the wharf for our trip to Alcatraz and along the way he took us for a drive down Lombard Street, what a nice treat.
The whole time we were in San Francisco our boys kept referring to the unit as "home" which is such a nice feeling and that's exactly what it felt like. We continued our trip down the coast of California and stayed 6 hotels and I can tell you that nothing beats a Home Away rental.
If you have any doubt in your mind about whether this is the place for you, trust me when I tell you this is the place for you!
Thank you again Andy for a wonderful home to stay in for our trip to San Francisco. We hope to visit again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235968
+1 415 519-7161
Castro District San Francisco
5

Thank u for the best Vacation ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
I have to say that Andy is the greatest host ever; he was very thoughtful and looking after every single detail. Even though we arrived at midnight, he went to pick us up and waited patiently for us at the airport, I will not forget his smile and warm welcome (in spite of how late it was) and the talking when we were heading to his place. He took us around the neighborhood, a great tour to Twin Peaks and some other spots we were after. He was truly helpful and gave us information, maps and touristic tips. About his vacational rental place I have to say that is cozy, tasteful, super safe, convenient and pretty close to everywhere, metro station, local stores, drugstores, restaurants, pubs… you name it!! There is also a bus stop right in front of the house, what else could I ask for? The bathroom is nice, supplied with puffy towels, nice scents and body bath products. I loved, loved, loved my time in SF, and I think Andy was a fundamental piece in my trip. I definitely recommend his unit and for sure I am coming back, hopefully soon.

Monica
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235968
+1 415 519-7161
Castro District San Francisco
1

24 Hour Noise!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
You will hear traffic, and the loud vocal parrot that is directly above the bedroom, and a lot of dogs as there is a dog boarding business above the apartment.

(1.) The microwave does not work.
(2.) The hot water in the bathroom will turn cold after a 10 minute shower, the drain handle is broken so you can not take a bath.
(3.) The carpet is very dirty.
(4.) The statement "when you stay 7 nights the 7th night is free" is Very Deceptive- since when you make a reservation you are charged a "reservation fee" which is equal to a one night stay, and when you arrive this fee is not included toward your nights stay.
(5.) When I arrived at the airport my plane was on time, and I waited outside for the owner for 40 minutes.
(6.)The table outside in the picture is above the apartment, directly in front of another apartment that is Not a welcoming area.

My daughter has lived in San Francisco for 9 years in a ground level apartment and even she said this apartment is very noisy.

I wish someone who actually stayed at this apartment had wrote a Honest review because I would have chosen another place to stay.
Owner's Response: Dear Christine,
I am very, very, very sorry that you had such an unhappy time at my vacation rental. I love people and want nothing more than for them to have the best time on their trip to San Francisco and when they don't, as in your stay, it hurts me deeply. I bend over back words to make their trip the best it can be, as evidenced by my response to what you wrote to me before you arrived. You wrote “Yes I very much appreciate the pick up upon arrival. My daughter is in the intensive care so would it be possible to take me directly to the hospital and you take the luggage- there will be just 1 check in and 1 carry on to the apartment?” and my response to you “I have no problem picking you up at SFO and taking you directly to the hospital or picking you up at whatever time and bringing you back. Dealing with your bags is also no problem.”
I am sorry you had to come to San Francisco under such stressed circumstances and leave early under equally stressed circumstances. I was curious though why you didn't say anything to me when I asked you two days after your arrival if everything was ok, as I do with all my guests. Actually all you said was “Thank you for asking. Yes everything is just fine.”
Now let me clarify your bill for you. The statement is actually “when you pay for six nights the seventh night is free”. Here is a copy of your bill and an explanation of the charges following it:
 1 NIGHTS @ $150.00 / a night
=$150.00
 1 WEEKS @ $900.00 / a week
=$900.00
14% TAX
=$147.00
$ NECESSARY TO SECURE RESERVATION
=$150.00  PAID by C.C. 9/16/12
$ PAID UPON ARRIVAL
=$1047.00 PAID by C.C. 9/17/12
TOTAL AMOUNT OF YOUR STAY
=$1197.00
You booked a stay for eight nights. A week is seven nights, which at $150.00 a night should be $1050.00 + tax, but I only charged you for six nights instead of seven nights for a total of $900.00 + tax. I charged you $150.00 to reserve the space and when you arrived I subtracted that $150.00 from the total amount of your stay ($1197.00) and you paid me only $1047.00 when you arrived.
I find it hard to believe that 35 people took the time to write a dishonest review (I don't require a review like some people do) and one person wrote an honest review.
Lastly I am a little puzzled why you took the time to leave me flowers and a thank you note if you had such a bad experience and I would like to take this opportunity, because I haven't had time up to now, to thank you for the flowers.
Sincerely, Andy
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235968
+1 415 519-7161
Castro District San Francisco
5

Creating Memories to Last a Lifetime!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Awesome; fabulous; terrific -- these are just a few words that come to mind when I describe my vacation with my adult children in San Francisco. Our kind, friendly, and accomodating host, Andy, is a wonderful man. In addition to transporting us to and from the airport; giving us an overview tour of the city; taking us to hotspots like Lombard Street and Twin Peaks (GORGEOUS!); and providing us with city insights of great restaurants, Andy did our laundry! On top of all that, the accomodations were great -- comfortable beds; fluffy towels; complimentary Skinzone wash, lotion and hair products; and everything that we needed to feel right at home. Amazing!!

This trip created memories that will last a lifetime for me and my family.We would definitely recommend this property and refer others to stay with Andy. It is with deepest appreciation to Andy that we say that this was one of our best vacations!!

Sincerely,

Pam, Nikki and TJ :)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235968
+1 415 519-7161
Castro District San Francisco
5

big city visit, small town people

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We had a fantastic time on castro street! Andy picked us up and dropped us off at the airport which was a godsend to us coming from a small town in minnesota. We had everything we needed and the beds were super comfortable. We would deffinatgely stay there again! Thanks Andy!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Pampered San Francisco Vaca Airport Pickup+Dropoff FREE HBO
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235968
+1 415 519-7161
Castro District San Francisco
5

Fantastic Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What a perfect place to stay when you visit San Francisco! The apartment is fantastic, well furnished and spotless! Andy has thought of everything you could ever need. The jacuzzi tub is perfect after a long day of walking the city hills! Andy is a fabulous host, he took us on a tour of the neighborhood, showed us his favorite spots and how to get around. We took his advise on restaurants and transportation and he was correct on all fronts. The neighborhood was safe and quiet with plenty of parking. We will definitely stay there again.
Helpful votes: 2/2