Carmel Valley house rental - Entrance to home and pool outdoor dining area
Entrance to home and pool outdoor dining area
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Carmel Valley House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Baths (Sleeps 8-10)

Welcome to Provence in Carmel Valley. Authentic Adobe features with beautifully remodeled interior, many items imported from France. With over 3,000 feet of fine interior living and three seamless outdoor spaces, you won't remember if you are dining in or out by the adobe fireplace and outdoor living room. With rosemary, lavender, and your own fruit bearing olive and fruit trees, you will enjoy the special scents and the harvest when in bloom.

Perched just above Los Laureles Lodge, you can enjoy the fine dining there or at Bernardus Lodge. You can also enjoy the many nearby fine restaurants in Carmel Valley village, Carmel, or cook a gourmet meal in the chef appointed kitchen fully equipped with an espresso machine and wine fridge. There is also a large bar and game room with a small game table that includes chess, checkers and backgammon.

More About the Property: The best wineries in Carmel Valley, and hiking at Garland Park are located less than 5' away. Carmel restaurants and beaches are 15' by car, and the spectacular Big Sur Coastline beckons you to drive south 45' to enjoy Ventana, Nepenthe and The Post Ranch Inns. The Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk with beach and amusement part is just 45' by car.

Three Bedrooms, an adjoining den with closet, and three bathrooms ensure comfort for all your guests with two king beds(one with memory foam), one queen bed, also with memory foam, and one comfortable queen pull out air bed in the den, and two twin beds (one tempurpedic) in the large guest bedroom with private bath.

Enjoy an authentic and charming adobe home which has hosted many satisfied guests over the years. This is the first time it has been available for vacation rental in its 65 year history. The special feeling of the home and surrounds will make it hard to leave.

The pool/spa is heated during the months of May-October.

Special requests for food or other furnishings will be considered.

Conceirge Service Available for a fee. Restaurant reservations, shopping for arrival amenities and food.

More Details
Hide Details

24 Reviews of Property 235148 in Carmel Valley, California

Provence in Carmel Valley with Pool-Sleeps 10
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 24 reviews
business
Provence in Carmel Valley with Pool-Sleeps 10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235148
+1 831 277-9502
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
Boquete, Panama
5

Most beautiful, magical place we've ever stayed!!

Most beautiful, magical place we've ever stayed!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 16, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We stayed at the house for my son's wedding in Carmel Valley, we had the most wonderful, amazing time. The beds were incredibly comfortable, the separate spaces are perfect for large groups who like to mingle in separate spaces. The pool was warm, the hot tub was hot - the gardens were beautiful and full of fresh herbs.
We saw rabbits, quail and deer, and roads were quiet for walking, providing a good, challenging workout. It was so quiet at night, it was so relaxing and restful.
Our group loves to cook, and the kitchen was perfectly outfitted with a Viking Stove and all the gear. The house was beautifully decorated, very clean and the photos didn't even reveal the whole scope or beauty. We loved it! Thank you for all - Oh, and we visited the aquarium with the free passes - thank you! Cecilia Allen
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was a great pleasure to have you stay in my home. Your guest review makes me want to continue sharing my home with people who truly appreciate something unique and special. I was pleased to learn that you are considering returning to Carmel Valley and enjoying "Provence in Carmel Valley" again soon. Most of my guests are repeat guests at this point and it would be a pleasure to count you among them!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Provence in Carmel Valley with Pool-Sleeps 10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235148
+1 831 277-9502
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
Monterey
5

What a great place to hang out and eat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
I am a personal chef for hire, Spyoptics hired me for 5 days; I have done a lot of gigs in vacation rentals of all kinds, this home from a chefs standpoint is excellent. There is a 6 burner stove and oven which I was able to get a commercial sheet pan into, the Sub-zero fridge had ample space for drinks and my groceries and there was just about every utensil and appliance a chef could use.

Aside from hanging in the kitchen I had plenty of time to check out the whole property; overall it has a nice zen feel to the backyard, right in the middle of the property is one of the most interesting oak trees I have ever seen, you can't help to gaze at its squirrelly branches and its enormous size. The backyard is not only spacious with out door grill, outdoor fireplace, a nice pool and hot-tub, it has an amazing view of the rolling mountains across the valley.

Though I was working while there, it made cooking for the great folks at Spyoptics that much more pleasurable.

Highly recommend this property,

Chef John Guinivere
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: John, thanks for your review and pointing out the functionality of the kitchen from a chef's point of view. As you probably guessed, I am a foodie and love to share the joy of cooking with my guests. I hope you enjoyed the fresh herbs surrounding the house. The folks at spyoptics raved about your cuisine. I am sure you will be joining them again next year when they return to "Provence in Carmel Valley"!
business
Provence in Carmel Valley with Pool-Sleeps 10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235148
+1 831 277-9502
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
San Diego, CA
5

Great time in a beautiful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We had a wonderful time staying in this beautiful, most comfortable house. Our company was in town for an event and having everyone under one roof was great and the environment the house provided made it that much better. Everything is as advertised, if not understated. The house is roomy, has every possible creature comfort and will provide anyone with a home away from home experience that you will not soon forget. Can't wait to come back again next year !
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Jim. It was a pleasure to welcome you and the other company execs to my home. I look forward to welcoming you again next year! I was so happy that the weather held up for you and that you could use the pool and spa. I will put in a special order for good weather next April. Thanks also, for introducing me to Chef John. His cuisine sounds amazing and I am certain that other guests will want to take advantage of his culinary talents in the future.
business
Provence in Carmel Valley with Pool-Sleeps 10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235148
+1 831 277-9502
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
San Mateo, CA
5

A warm welcome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We celebrated my husband's 50th birthday in Carmel recently, and was fortunate enough to have stayed at Diane Sena's lovely home. We felt very much welcomed from the moment we walked in the door. Diane gave us a tour of her home as she explained how to work one of the showers, the oven which she said takes a while to heat up (it works wonderfully once it heats up - my daughter used it to bake a berry pie for the birthday boy), and which glass panels were tempered glass (for the safety of my children). Staying at this property didn't feel like staying at a rental at all...it felt more like staying at a friend's home. There are lovely trees on the property, which my son religiously climbed every single day. We used the outside patio quite a bit just to hang out and read. Diane met us on the last day and gave my husband a bottle of wine as a birthday present - how very thoughtful! She also handed us back our security deposit before we left - how nice to not have to wait for the check in the mail. We highly recommend "Provence in Carmel Valley" - what a delight!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Provence in Carmel Valley with Pool-Sleeps 10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235148
+1 831 277-9502
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
San Anselmo, CA
1

RENTERS BEWARE: A complete disappointment. We left after 1hr.

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
We arrived at the property on 4/6/2012 and after a short interaction with the owner called off the deal and here's why:

The house is by no means child friendly. After greeting us, Diane lined up our 3 kids (ages 4,6,8) and told them not to get near any large pane windows because they might break "and shatter into many pieces" and she doesn't want to see them go to the emergency. So much for a warm welcome.

First of all, she discouraged us from using one of the rooms that seemed perfectly fitting for the kids. She said and I quote "this is an adobe house with thick walls so you won't hear your kids if they slept in this room." She made a similar comment in the kitchen, "here's the oven, but your not going to bake right??"

We asked the kids to go outside and play while we finish the tour and Diane stopped the kids saying, "Now I just cleaned the carpet so if you go outside and play make sure you don't bring dirt in unless you want me to use that security deposit of yours".

When the kids mentioned Easter eggs, Diane interrupted saying "You're not going to color eggs in the house, are you?"

After convincing us that the kids should sleep near us, we asked about the pull-out bed and Diane said "make sure the kids don't use these bed covers because those are imported from France and cost $2,000." Also, "Before you leave on Monday wash and fold the pool towels and take out the garbage to the curb".

Diane proceeded to tell us a story about a renter who placed a hot grill grate on her kitchen counter. "I used his deposit to repair my counter because what he did is "stupid" and he's an idiot". (in front of our kids).

"Here's the key to the grill. Leave it open and you'll drain my bank account."

This is a 1960s house, with old interior doors and single pane windows, a non-functional fireplace and garbage disposal. Chess table with broken pieces. Pool heater that won't service both pool and hot tub at the same time.

When one of the kids mentioned we invited friends. "What friends?" said Diane. "You didn't tell me about friends. Are they staying? Where are they coming from?' She then insinuated that she'd want more money because "people are wear and tear."

Needless to say, we turned around and left.
Owner's Response: This was a surprise, especially since this family did not
stay at my home. The above review is not an accurate portrayal of what occurred. This was a very last minute booking for a family of 5. After touring the home, one of the family members disclosed that other families would be joining them later that day. Since the contact stipulated no more than 5 guests, I asked them to be honest about how many others would be joining them over the course of the 3-night stay. They argued that "it was none of my business" and threatened to call off the deal if I didn't let them invite however many people they would like to have join them. I graciously agreed to call off the rental. Apparently, this was not the response they expected. No money was ever exchanged and we did not go forward with the rental. I will take the high road here and not respond point-by-point to what was said, but rather let the other guests' reviews speak to the truth about the home and my welcoming nature. This is still the charming place that each and every other guest who actually stayed at the home rated 5 stars and I am still the warm and welcoming owner that goes out of my way to insure that the house is impeccable and that every stay is memorable. The majority of my guests have returned year after year and I always look forward to seeing them. Feel free to call me if you have any concerns whatsoever, and I will be More than happy to address them.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Provence in Carmel Valley with Pool-Sleeps 10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235148
+1 831 277-9502
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
US
5

My family stayed at the house in July and loved it

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The house is spacious, charming, nicely decorated and in a quiet area. The kitchen is modern and filled with natural light. The outside fireplace and the pool are large. There are pack and plays for little kids, cartoons and TV. My family had a great time and only wish they had stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Provence in Carmel Valley with Pool-Sleeps 10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235148
+1 831 277-9502
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
Broomfield CO
5

G and F (Broomfield, CO)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
This home is a wonderful find. It is located perfectly- just down the street from the quaint Carmel Valley village, close enough to Garlands trails and the Safeway...yet feels tucked away and private. We rented it for a week for a family reunion (6adults and 3 kids), and the house exceeded our expectations. The layout of the house was perfect, the pool was used at least 4 times a day and the pool cover was excellent for small children, and the outdoor fireplace was a wonderful end to every evening. Top notch on every level - would highly recommend. We created so many lovely memories and would love to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Fran,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed "Provence in Carmel Valley" and made wonderful family memories together. That is exactly why I do this! My home is meant to be shared with those that appreciate it.

Hope to be able to welcome you once again!

Diane
business
Provence in Carmel Valley with Pool-Sleeps 10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235148
+1 831 277-9502
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
Berea, KY
5

TRULY AMAZING!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We stayed in this home on our highway one excursion for a couple of nights and wished we would have planned more time. The host made us feel like family. The home speaks for itself with all of the luxuries of a 5 star hotel, only very private. We will definitely stay again when in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So happy that you enjoyed your stay and are considering returning in November. It will be great to welcome you back again this year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Provence in Carmel Valley with Pool-Sleeps 10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235148
+1 831 277-9502
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
Redwood City, California
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
My husband and I have just returned from a WONDERFUL vacation!! The house was absolutely beautiful!! Thank you so much, Diane, for sharing your beautiful home with us!! It was everything we thought it would be PLUS MORE!! This was definitely one of our favorite vacations!! Thank you!!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Provence in Carmel Valley with Pool-Sleeps 10
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p235148
+1 831 277-9502
Carmel Valley Central Coast California
San Francisco
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
I have just returned from a heavenly
weekend at this wonderful home in Carmel
Valley. The house exceeded every
expectation of our group. The setting
was lovely and private, the bedrooms
perfectly appointed, and the terrace and
pool such a perfect oasis that it was
difficult to tear ourselves away from
the property to go into town. No detail
had been overlooked -- amazing sheets,
sumptuous bathrobes, a fully-equipped
kitchen. The home is ideally located in
Carmel Valley just up the street from
Bernardus and near Carmel Valley
village. We could not have been more
thrilled with the house or our stay.
Lastly, the property's lovely owner,
Diane, greeted us with a warm welcome
and went out of her way to make sure
everything was perfect for our stay. An
ideal retreat in every way! Thank you!
Helpful votes: 2/2