Puako cottage rental - Fun in The Sun, Rent Kayaks and get close to the turtles and whales!
Fun in The Sun, Rent Kayaks and get close to the turtles and whales!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Puako Cottage Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom plus a Convertible bed, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

This newly remodeled guest house is located in the magical neighborhood of Puako. You will awake to the sound of the ocean, the breeze of the palm trees and the smells of Hawaii. You will share the dry sandy beach in front of the home with sea turtles and the seas with abundant sea life and whales (winter season).

The guest house has wood flooring, stainless steel appliances, 2 full bathrooms, flat screen television, WiFi and Hawaiian furnishings.

Puako is a beautiful blend of old Hawaii charm and quietude. It is the sunniest place on the big island with only 8-10 inches of rainfall per year.

Enjoy morning walks the historic Petroglyph park along oceans trails of black lava and white corral. Or take the home's beach cruiser bikes for a ride to explore the many beaches along Puako. Spend your day relaxing on the shady lanai enjoying the trade winds.

The white sandy beaches and clear deep blue water are home to hundreds of sea turtles and tropical sea life. Puako has some of the best snorkeling and diving on the Big Island and is a wonderful spot to explore marine life for either a novice snorkeler or an advanced SCUBA diver. In winter months, you can watch mother whales training their calves; a truly miraculous sight!

Golf is available at many wonderful courses through the island (the closest courses is less than a 5 min drive from Puako.)

The guest house is close to wonderful spas, shopping and dining. This vacation spot truly has something for everyone.

Keywords: Guest House

More Details
Hide Details

17 Reviews of Property 233553 in Puako, Hawaii

Newly Remodeled Guest House - Steps from the beach!
average rating of 4.875 based on 17 reviews
business
Newly Remodeled Guest House - Steps from the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233553vb
+1 310-922-7506
Puako Kohala Coast
Victoria, BC, Canada
5

Friendly Puako

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We loved our stay at our VRBO, it was perfect for those of us who don't like hotels, and want to be in a small community. Then Puako is the place for you and so is this rental. We loved the easy access to the beach, eating our breakfast on the beach by the perfect tree and we loved the sunsets from our special spot on the beach. The rental was perfect, very well designed, the best bed ever, great to have two bathrooms, great kitchen and dining table and outside dining table on the lanai with comfortable chairs as well. The whole ambience of "our Puako home" was perfect and everything was new and in good taste so we felt very comfortable there. We always had breakfast at home, made picnics to go out with, and often came back to a comfortable dinner in our own home.
The only drawback for some would be that there is not an unimpeded view of the beach from the lanai but a rather narrower view from the rental as the main house is in the way. But the whole property is yours and its such an easy walk to the beach and through the lovely property with flowers in bloom that we didn't find that a drawback for us.

We would recommend eating at the Blue Dragon and the Cafe Pesto in the nearby town of Kawaihae, and at the Red Water in Waimea, found on the way into town.

And the hike down to the beach at Pololu remains a highlight for us.

We highly recommend this rental and want to go back again. The rental exceeded our expectations.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Newly Remodeled Guest House - Steps from the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233553vb
+1 310-922-7506
Puako Kohala Coast
Thayne, Wyoming, U.S.A.
4

Great Time and Location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
My Wife and Two boys ages 14 and 16 stayed here and found the place very well kept. Excellent facilities, clean and very comfortable. Fresh mango and bananas for a good snack are right at your finger tips. We snorkled in front of the main house and saw many turtles, moray eels and a large manta ray. The whales also made their presents known.Also located very close to good beaches. My complaints of the place are, the guest home is above a garage and not on the ocean, you can hardly see the ocean. The main house is in front of the garage. From the upper deck where you would have dinners or drinks you are looking directly into the neighbors property which has numerous cars and clutter, not to mention the pound of barking dogs that seemed to wake us very early in the morning. I would visit this rental again, the dogs really were not that bad.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Newly Remodeled Guest House - Steps from the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233553vb
+1 310-922-7506
Puako Kohala Coast
Los Gatos, California
5

Wonderful spot for family vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We stayed in Puako at this lovely guest house for 9 nights and loved it! We have a toddler and a 5 year old, and they had such a great time on their own beach with sand and turtles and lots of tide pools to explore. The property has grass all around and a hammock, access to beach chairs, bikes and Mary even left us an umbrella stroller and a jog stroller. Perfect for young kids. I loved the kitchen with amazing appliances and exactly the right stuff for us to cook and enjoy our trip without needed to eat out all of the time. The lanai is lovely, with a peek of the ocean (also visible from the kitchen sink), with lovely furniture inside and out for hanging out and reading, playing with the kids. The two bathrooms were perfect for a family of four. We were there in August, one of the hottest months, and we didn't use the air conditioning except on the first day to cool off the house when we opened it up. Oh, did I mention the mango and banana trees on the property? Fresh fruit every morning! This Puako community is very friendly, the gentleman at the local store gave me a great name for a local babysitter so we could have a night out! It was a very special vacation for all of us -- we hope to have the opportunity to go again next year! I recommend to anyone looking for a wonderful getaway. Plus, the owner, Mary, was very friendly over the phone and email and made the whole experience very relaxing and comfortable for us.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Newly Remodeled Guest House - Steps from the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233553vb
+1 310-922-7506
Puako Kohala Coast
Seattle, WA
5

Great vacation with our toddler!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We come to Puako every year for a vacation and have stayed at many of the rentals available on the street. This property is by far the nicest. It's newly remodeled and the owners have created a clean comfortable space that is truly wonderful. We will definitely be back next year.
The layout was perfect for our family, with enough space for all of us and enough privacy for my husband and I.

We spent the days on the beach, bbqing fresh fish on the deck, snorkeling with turtles, and eating fresh mangoes. A perfect Hawaiian vacation.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Puako is a special spot and we love when our guests feel the same way. It is so nice to have return guest who love it here as much as we do. Thank you for your helpful and kind review of the Ohana.

Many Thanks.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Newly Remodeled Guest House - Steps from the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233553vb
+1 310-922-7506
Puako Kohala Coast
Los Angeles, CA
5

Me and the Mrs. had a great 10 Day vacation here

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
This a beautiful house on a quiet street. Beautiful clear water with a little swimming area in the tide pools. Lot's of friendly Honu, (sea turtles) that don't mind you sharing their space.

The house is very clean and new, with new appliances and a giant & comfortable bed.

The street, Puako, is very quiet and great for bike riding and walking. The petroglyphs and the big nice hotels are walking distance, along with some great beaches.

Great for those seeking a quiet vacation in a beautiful space.
The owner is very friendly and took care of all of our requests and need. We will be back next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We welcome return guests and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in this special place. Please feel free to email us with any questions.
Mahalo
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Newly Remodeled Guest House - Steps from the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233553vb
+1 310-922-7506
Puako Kohala Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We stayed for 10 nights in February 2010 and were 100%satisfied. The house is exquisite and immaculate with beautiful wood floors, comfortable furniture, comfortable beds, precise air conditioning,and a kitchen to die for! The counter tops are a work of art. We saw numerous whales right in front of the house every day and the tide pool had many large green turtles. The small village of Puako is great for walking or riding bike and the Puako store is handy. Sunsets are magnificent and peaceful. Wonderful beaches close by ( Hapuna, 69, Mauna Kea etc) but we most enjoyed sitting right out on the ocean front 25 feet in front of the house watching whales, reading, etc. with not another soul in sight. We have stayed at Hapuna, Mauna Kea and Mauna Lani but this is our favorite. We are going back next year.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Newly Remodeled Guest House - Steps from the beach!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233553vb
+1 310-922-7506
Puako Kohala Coast
Portland Oregon
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
We stayed for 10 nights in February 2010 and were 100%satisfied. The house is exquisite and immaculate with beautiful wood floors, comfortable furniture, comfortable beds, precise air conditioning,and a kitchen to die for! The counter tops are a work of art. We saw numerous whales right in front of the house every day and the tide pool had many large green turtles. The small village of Puako is great for walking or riding bike and the Puako store is handy. Sunsets are magnificent and peaceful. Wonderful beaches close by ( Hapuna, 69, Mauna Kea etc) but we most enjoyed sitting right out on the ocean front 25 feet in front of the house watching whales, reading, etc. with not another soul in sight. We have stayed at Hapuna, Mauna Kea and Mauna Lani but this is our favorite. We are going back next year.
Helpful votes: 1/2