Salem condo rental - Front Street cobblestones beckon
Front Street cobblestones beckon
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Salem Condo Rental Photos and Description
One bedroom, one and 1/2 baths, living/ kitchen

We chose to by this condo because it reminded us of romantic places we’ve stayed in Paris and Montreal. There is endless fascination in watching all the people walking on the street below on one of the most pedestrian streets in Salem. Picture granite cobblestones on a tree lined street situated next to the old Town Hall, site of the Farmer's Market and many cultural events.

This is a 2005 renovation of the old Distillery building, which left many fascinating architectural details, and installed top-flight appliances. Jacuzzi, full kitchen, gas fireplace, washer/dryer, central heat/air conditioning.

This is a second and third floor condominium loft. Sleep on a cushy Tempurpedic queen size mattress. The sofa is a new convertible bed as well- for a child or a second couple.

We are surrounded by restaurants serving world class selections of unique cultures. Eat American, Thai, Turkish, Irish, Indian, Mexican, or Italian without leaving sight of your home base.

This is an exciting time to live in Salem. Many restaurants host open mic evenings, or have regular bands playing jazz, blues, and soul each night. Folk and Irish music is also alive and well. We even have street performers in the Derby Square amphitheater next door on a regular basis. This is not your best location if you want to get an early night's sleep on the weekend!

Mature guests: This unit is amongst a building full of childless professionals, and so we look for couples with older children.

Health club: We provide passes to the local YMCA which is two blocks away. Come with your exercise gear- they are open from 5AM to 10 PM!

More Details
Hide Details

Robert and I bought this condo hoping that one of our adult children would want to live in Salem. As it turned out, they have settled on the west coast, and we have moved to Maine. The condo is managed by us with the help of a knowledgeable local property manager, so all questions will be handled quickly and professionally.

Ruth Wall purchased this condo in 2005

This is a classy repurposing of an old jazz club, which was once a distillery when the waterfront lay just outside the door. We loved the inclusion of antique details, like the huge gears that remain in our rafters, from the days when barrels of rum were lifted for storage.

All our guest comments will mention how handy the condo is to everything down town. You will see it all from the tall south facing windows that look over the graceful balcony to the street below.

23 Reviews of Property 233110 in Salem, Massachusetts

Window Seat on a Trendy Street
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

Prefect Holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
We could not have made a better choice, Ruth was the perfect host, her condo is amazing the location was perfect lots of great restaurants within a few minutes walk and easy access to all that Salam has to offer. What else can we say Perfect holiday HomeAway from home.

Martin and Wendy
Owner's Response: It is so much fun to play a part in someone's "excellent vacation" in our vibrant town, just by keeping our condo well maintained and ready for travelers and explorers. Thank you for coming!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
5

Beautiful Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
Beautiful condo! Fabulous kitchen and upstairs bedroom is wonderful with tempupedic bed and whirlpool tub. The location can't be beat and was within walking distance to everything you would possibly want to do. I rented a car and next visit will skip the car (to be honest it was more of a hassle having one). Next time I will take the train and ferry to get to other areas around Salem. Owners of condo are awesome!!!!! and really take care of you. THANKS!!!!
Owner's Response: Any time someone comes from the airport in a rental car, even when Salem is at its busiest, we seem to be able to help them find a free parking spot within 3 blocks of the condo. It is so easy to get anything you need though, that some visitors find they are glad they left the car behind. We're glad you came, and look forward to your return!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Newbury, England
5

The photos do not do justice to this apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
My wife fell in love with this apartment after two seconds here. It is so stylish and spacious. The pictures do not capture the chic of the rooms at all. The apartment is pefect for exploring Salem and we spend a few days not touching our car- a most astonishing thing is a US town. Everything is in walking distance, good cafes, good restaurants and weird shops!
The apartment is filled with books, and if I had remembered t obring my CDs it wouls have been filled with music too.
The owner was very helpful and met us exactly on time to hand over the keys
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is always exciting to meet new guests, especially international ones, with whom I've been corresponding for months. There are so many lovely people who find their way to our door, who we would never meet otherwise.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Houston, Tx
5

Great condo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Beautiful condo with tons of charm! Fabulous kitchen and bath (whirlpool tub!) The condo was inviting and beautifully decorated and well stocked (great library selection). The location can't be beat. A wide variety of dining choices in the immediate vicinity (and a farmer's marked literally next door on Thurs). Having breakfast at Red's around the corner is a must, but pace yourself - huge portions!! There is so much to see besides the Witch Trial history so check out the nearby Visitor Center for tips on free walking tours (we did the Samuel McIntire District) and other attractions. There is an ice cream parlor next door (that stays open until 10PM!) so you can indulge yourself after a good day of walking. We didn't have a car and didn't need it. Arrival from Logan by train was a piece of cake (the train station is only 5 minutes away). We didn't want to leave and plan to be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is fun to see someone from "out west" get all excited about staying in a place that is 200 years old. We still have the gear works up in the rafters from the old elevator system of lifting the huge barrels back in the day when this was a distillery.
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Lihue, HI
5

witch city

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Comfortable, beautiful, near everything you'd want to be near - including a gaggle of good restaurants.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Oklahoma City, OK
5

Autumn in New England

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
There is no place like New England in the autumn and Salem in the witching month of October is the best. The condo is all it is advertised to be and so much more. Ruth was right there to greet me and to help lug a carload of baggage upstairs. She had excellent tips on everything from sightseeing to shopping, in addition to a back route to Boston Logan Airport (a trip made three times collecting family from Oklahoma, New York and Munich). The condo is ideally situated near restaurants, shopping, the commuter station, and the Salem ferry, so a car isn't needed. But best of all this little bit of paradise feels like home and life doesn't get any better than that.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Home away from home and everything comfortable is what any traveler dreams of, and it is good to know that our efforts to help guests get situated made a difference. Cool to think that we had a part in reuniting such a far flung family!
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Mill Creek, WA
5

Great Condo in Salem, MA

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
My wife and I spent two weeks in this lovely Condo at the end of May/early June. We had a couple of friends stay with us for the first four days and the Condo was large enough to easily accommodate all.

It was everything as advertised and more! It's exactly as the pictures show: clean, in a great location with many restaurants near by and a very short walk to the Commuter train to Boston (which we used many times). It is very well stocked with just about everything you would need to have a comfortable and enjoyable vacation.

It was a great price and a real treat to come home from our excursions to Boston and to relax and enjoy a good home cooked meal. restaurant.

Ruth and her husband took very good care of any needs we may have had and were always available should we be seeking inputs on what to do, etc.

We would definitely come back if we were to visit the Salem/Boston area again. It was great. Thanks Ruth.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are so glad that our condo has made a comfy home base for so many couples who want a change from the hotel or B&B way of vacationing.
Some people cook, but we find that a lot of folks see so many tempting restaurants around that they barely touch the pots and pans!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Scottsdale, AZ
5

Great Place!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
What a perfect place to stay while in Salem! My husband and I rented this cute condo for 2 weeks and did not want to leave. The location is unbeatable...right in the middle of everything Salem has to offer (shops, museums, restaurants, tours, and the wharf!) The condo was very clean and so interesting with the exposed brick wall and old factory gears on the ceiling. I loved the farmers market in the square downstairs...it was an added bonus! Ruth (the owner) was extremely nice and even dropped off some extra supplies at the front door. I would definitely stay here again and I am actually looking into Ruth's other property!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Two weeks near the ocean was a wonderful break for this couple from the desert. Our summer farmers market allows you to carry the fresh ingredients right upstairs and make a feast.
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Salem, MA, USA
5

A rare gem - unbeatable value

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
My husband, 20-month-old son and I chose the condo as a base for 2 weeks while we looked for an apartment to rent (we’ve recently moved to Salem). The condo is a rare gem and surprisingly good value. We couldn’t have wished for a better location, better amenities or a better owner. The condo is beautifully-appointed, with lots of thought and attention to detail, and everything you need to make it a comfortable home away from home. We loved being in the centre of town and within a very short walk from lots of great little restaurants and cafes (you don't need a car to enjoy the best of Salem). Right from the start Ruth was only too happy to email us with answers to our questions. She was genuinely hospitable and nothing was too much trouble. We were sad to leave – needless to say we’d definitely recommend this special place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is exciting to help a young family find their way in a new country, and we were proud to be chosen as these New Zealander's home base. We get to learn a little more about faraway places as we welcome guests from Europe and beyond!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Window Seat on a Trendy Street
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p233110
+1 978 807-5685
Salem Merrimack Valley & Essex County
Manhattan
5

Our stay in Salem February 14 2010

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
My husband and I just spent a long weekend in this wonderful condo in the center of Salem. The photos on the website are exactly how the apartment looks. There are beautiful wide board floors, modern appliances, a convenient powder room for guests on the first floor and it is convenient to everything in Salem.

It was a pleasure to come back to the apartment after a long day
of walking around Salem to just sit quietly in the living room area, with the gas fire going to talk, read or watch the winter Olympics.

Members of our family came to see us (from Newburyport, Cambridge and the Bershires) and they too fell in love with the apartment. We highly recommend this condo if you're looking for a great get away place. It is quiet, charming and has everyhing you need when you are away from home.

Jane and Carl
New York City, NY
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Sometimes short notice works like a charm- this couple chose our condo just days before their trip. Winter weekends are quite restful here, in Salem's "off season", though there is still plenty to see. Thank you for coming!