Aix-En-Provence apartment rental - Cafe, Jus de Orange et Pain au Chocolat at octagonal table !!!!!
Cafe, Jus de Orange et Pain au Chocolat at octagonal table !!!!!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps7
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Aix-En-Provence Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 7)

Beautiful, bright & spacious 3 bedroom loft style apartment, in classic 160 yr old Provencal building, is on a semi-pedestrian street, in the famous 16-18th century 'Quartier Mazarin', seconds from the Cours Mirabeau & at the heart of Aix en Provence. Previously a carpenter's workshop or 'atelier', it retains its exposed oak beams & old advertising on the fa├žade.

At 115 m.sq or 1250 sq.ft, this single level apartment, overlooked by the mezzanine, has 3 double bedrooms, a large bathroom with bath & 2 sink units & a separate toilet room, o. The large open plan living/dining area is the heart of the apartment & is flooded by sunlight.

Founded by the Romans in 122 B.C. Aix en Provence is a very beautiful city of food markets, cafes, boulangeries, cathedral & churches, universities, student life, art exhibitions, public gardens, 100 fountains & fabulous restaurants throughout its narrow cobbled streets.

French history & culture lovers can visit the ancient cites of Arles, Avignon, St Remy & Orange. 'Amateurs' of wine can tour vineyards & taste the rich reds of Chateau Neuf du Pape, refreshing roses of Bandol or the excellent Henri Bardouin Pastis of Fourqualquier.

One can sunbathe, swim & hike nearby at the Calanques of Cassis or within 1-2 hrs drive east along the Cote Azur to Saint Tropez, Cannes, Antibes, Nice & Monaco or west to the Camargue national park, famous for its pink flamingos, bulls & cowboys.

From touring through Van Gogh's sunflowers at Arles, the lavender fields & perched villages at Gordes & Roussilon in the Luberon National Park, painting or photographing Cezanne's famous Mont Saint Victoire, to cycling your own Tour de France at Mont-Ventoux, Aix is the perfect location to begin touring Provence.

We offer a great place to stay here, from family vacations seeking the authentic Provence. Assistance is offered in English & French & a detailed guide to the locality is provided in the apartment for your enjoyment.

Uniquely, we can offer an 'Apartment & Tours Package' helping you best experience the many great treasures that Provence has on offer.

We also offer our guests one FREE Marseilles Airport or Aix TGV pick-up on arrival & have one parking space in a nearby private garage for rent.

If you are interested in a stay in our great apartment or only our private guided tour services, please dont hesitate to contact us.

Merci beaucoup & bonnes vacances.

Keywords: Large Center 3 Bedroom Sleeps 7 *Apart Rental & Tour Package*

More Details
Hide Details

A 45 year old Irish transplant to Aix, I first visited friends here 14 years ago and the rest, is history. Living here some 10 years, the sunlight, sea, countryside, history, food, language & the people never fail to delight and surprise. This photo is of one of my favourite tour hikes at En-Vau in the Calanques of Cassis.

Donal purchased this apartment in 2008

Aix en Provence is at the heart of Provence and the Quartier Mazarin represents the best of the old and new, new being 200 years old here. Aix is the crossroads city of the south, east to Italy, west to Spain, from Northern Europe to Africa, Aix is influenced by all its neighbours. So life here has a unique fusion of culture, language & cuisine.

An international town of Art & Education, Commerce & Law, Aix is very welcoming to new arrivals, always lively with markets and festivals, full of charm and character. Yet in moments one can be in the countryside of sunflowers and lavender fields, old roman churches and vineyards. The area offers such a variety of landscapes and cultures, from mountains to the sea, it really is a great place to live & the best base for touring provence.

A sunlight filled, single level (except mezzanine) loft style apartment with 3 comfortable double bedrooms. The living area & dining table seat up to 8, so space to host friends for dinner or drinks. The apartment 'really' is seconds from the famous Cours Mirabeau, at the heart of this ancient walled city and 2 minutes stroll from its markets & museums, cafes, bars & restaurants. It's all one hopes for & imagines of an idyllic Provencal setting.

Uniquely we can offer an 'Apartment Rental' & Private Tours' package in our 7 seater people carrier, helping you make the most of your precious time in Provence, whilst minimising the hassles of car rentals, parking & traffic.

However, if you wish to drive too, we can offer expert tour advice & guaranteed access to a parking space, in a private garage nearby.

22 Reviews of Property 232370 in Aix-En-Provence, France

Great 3 Bed Loft - Aix - Qrtr Mazarin *Apart & Tour Package*
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
business
Great 3 Bed Loft - Aix - Qrtr Mazarin *Apart & Tour Package*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232370vbi
+ 33 6853 13122 (France)
Aix-En-Provence Aix-en-Provence area
Detroit, Michigan
5

Terrific spot: great host.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We had a wonderful time in Donal's apartment. Hard to find 3 bedrooms; great for our group of 5. Location is just steps off the Cours Mirabeau. Lots of shopping - veg/fruit markets, boulangeries, wine stores and haute couture all within easy walking distance. Donal is an important part of the experience. He took us on two day-long tours: villages of the Luberon and Marseilles/Cassis. Very enjoyable; low pressure touring. Wish we could go back tomorrow.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Great 3 Bed Loft - Aix - Qrtr Mazarin *Apart & Tour Package*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232370vbi
+ 33 6853 13122 (France)
Aix-En-Provence Aix-en-Provence area
Kamloops, BC Canada
5

The Perfect Provence Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family of 4 (2 girls, aged 11 and 13) spent 2 idyllic weeks in this perfectly located apartment at the beginning of July 2011. The other reviews about this property are absolutely correct. The apartment is immaculately clean, and equipped with everything you could possibly need, right down to a beautiful Provence cookbook (we recommend the roasted beet and chevre salad, now a family favourite we have re-named "Salade Chez Donal"). Donal takes the job of providing an excellent vacation experience for his guests very seriously. I see by the photos that he has made improvements even since our visit. He makes a sincere effort to tailor his recommendations to the needs of your individual party. His local knowledge allowed us to see many more sights on the day we spent touring with him than we could have by ourselves, and he is very well versed in his knowledge of the area. His suggestions for local sights, provisioning, and dining, as well as ideas for excursions on our own, were invaluable. He will provide you with any information you need, without being intrusive. We would absolutely recommend the town of Aix-en-Provence, Donal's apartment, and his guiding services to anyone travelling to the south of France. We left feeling that not only had we had an amazing vacation experience, but also that we had made a new friend in Donal. We all look forward to the opportunity to return to his wonderful apartment.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Great 3 Bed Loft - Aix - Qrtr Mazarin *Apart & Tour Package*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232370vbi
+ 33 6853 13122 (France)
Aix-En-Provence Aix-en-Provence area
Berkeley, California, USA
5

Truly Awesome Adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
This past summer, my mother, 4 year old daughter and I stayed in this loft. We had an absolutely fabulous time! Not only were the accommodations clean and well maintained, we were very close Cours Mirabeau, as advertised. This is such a quaint area where one can shop for food, clothes, restaurants, everything. I was able to jog through the city most mornings, get pastries, eggs and bacon to cook breakfast for my family upon my return.

What was even greater were the tours the owner provided. The tours we took were personally tailored for us! With a 4 year old and a stroller, it can be difficult to visit many attractions with ease. However, not only were we accommodated, we were taken to places that my daughter enjoyed, including the park and carousel! We were given a extensive history about all the places we traveled on our excursions. It was a pleasure to actually see the apartment where Cezanne was born, the hospital where Van Gough lived after cutting off his ear, the antique festival in Isle Sur le Sorgue, the Fountain de Vaucluse, and visiting Chateau Neuf du Pape. Just to name a few!

I have traveled extensively, but this was by far one of the best vacations I have ever taken! The loft was wonderful, the tours were outstanding and the tour guide truly knowledgable and my child keeps talking about going back to France! I plan to bring my husband in April so we can visit the antique festival again.

One will never go wrong renting this apartment and taking the tours and excursions offered by this owner! One will have the time of their lives!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Great 3 Bed Loft - Aix - Qrtr Mazarin *Apart & Tour Package*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232370vbi
+ 33 6853 13122 (France)
Aix-En-Provence Aix-en-Provence area
Collingwood, Canada
5

A la Prochaine, Donal

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Our family of four recently returned from a wonderful 5 day stay chez Donal in Aix-en-Provence. Donal's apartment is bright, clean, comfortable and well-located to explore the charming streets of Aix. Just a few steps from the markets, we loaded up and enjoyed preparing provencal meals in the well-equipped kitchen. The children enjoyed reading books from the shelves and working through the classic CD collection. We did not have a car, but were able to easily catch the bus to go hiking nearby.
Donal picked us up from the TGV and returned us to the airport for a fair price. He was available and helpful whenever we had questions. We would not hesitate to recommend this apartment for a stay in Aix. We hope to be back before too long!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Great 3 Bed Loft - Aix - Qrtr Mazarin *Apart & Tour Package*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232370vbi
+ 33 6853 13122 (France)
Aix-En-Provence Aix-en-Provence area
5

Fantastic property, great location, beautiful town

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We were 5 friends travelling together and had a wonderful time in this apartment. It is centrally located, clean, well fitted out and had all the amenities that you could require. The parking space was a few minutes walk and was very easy to find when driving. The fresh food markets and the wonderful little shops around the corner ensured that we ate like kings for the week. Donal was a great host and was full of tips and information for us. Donal picked us up at the airport which was also great after 36 hours of travel. I would recommend this apartment for families and friends travelling together - just ensure you can climb stairs!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Great 3 Bed Loft - Aix - Qrtr Mazarin *Apart & Tour Package*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232370vbi
+ 33 6853 13122 (France)
Aix-En-Provence Aix-en-Provence area
St. Paul, MN
5

Fabulous apartment and owner!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Our stay in this fabulous apartment was without flaw. The apartment was spotless, comfortable and convenient to all of Aix. We couldn't have imagined a better location or place to call home. Donal has thought of everything. Seriously. There's even a magnified mirror in the bathroom along with every possible travel item you might have forgotten or knew existed. The apartment is spacious, sunny and quiet. The beds are comfortable with nice linens and duvets.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Great 3 Bed Loft - Aix - Qrtr Mazarin *Apart & Tour Package*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232370vbi
+ 33 6853 13122 (France)
Aix-En-Provence Aix-en-Provence area
Perth, Western Australia
5

Chez Donal - tres bien !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
We stayed in Donal's apartment in Aix en Provence for seven weeks throughout September and October 2010. We had an absolutely fantastic holiday. Everything about the apartment exceeded our expectations. It's location is central and convenient for all activities in central Aix - close to all markets, and a plethora of restaurants and cafes are very close by (all within a few minutes walk). Aix's beautiful main street (Cours Mirabeau) is only one street away; therefore very convenient and accessible. The apartment itself was large and well appointed for all our needs - information on Donal's web-site accurately represented the amenity , the light and the space (indeed it was better than expected). Donal's apartment was very well maintained, and Donal himself was fantastic - his persoanal approach to everything made our stay in Aix very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble, and he is very knowledgable about Aix and all of the surrounding countryside (and villages) in the Luberon (and beyond). We used a car whilst we were in Aix and Donal arranged a garage for us (an amenity which is particularly useful and difficult to find in most towns of Aix's size). Whilst we loved the experience in Aix itself, we also regularly explored the surrounding countryside, and the apartment's location (and garage) made it easy to drive in and out of the town. We would thoroughly recommend the apartment to anyone who wants to enjoy a convenient home away from home in Aix.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Great 3 Bed Loft - Aix - Qrtr Mazarin *Apart & Tour Package*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232370vbi
+ 33 6853 13122 (France)
Aix-En-Provence Aix-en-Provence area
Sydney
5

Superb, we will be back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My parents and I spent a week here in late October 2010. The apartment is spacious and the bedrooms/bathroom are all on the same level as the living area. The kitchen is well equipped and the location could not be better. A quiet street in the prettiest Quartier, a few steps to Cours Mirabeau, the markets and old town centre.

The owner Donal was very helpful and as he is also a tour guide has plenty of local knowledge. He helped with tranfers to trains and planes etc.Wifi and phone worked well for us too.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Great 3 Bed Loft - Aix - Qrtr Mazarin *Apart & Tour Package*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232370vbi
+ 33 6853 13122 (France)
Aix-En-Provence Aix-en-Provence area
Florida, USA
5

A Great Loft Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Yvette and I recently have recently returned from a superb 14 week Summer 2010 stay in Donal's great three bed apartment in beautiful Aix-en-Provence. More than satisfied, we were delighted with the accommodation, as were our daughter's families & friends who came to visit us. To begin, the bedrooms and living area were spacious & welcoming, the apartment's high ceilings & mezzanine allowed "beaucoup de soleil naturel" in through the windows & skylights. The location of the apartment is ideal, one block from the famous Cours Mirabeau and beside Rue d'Italie and its host of shops and restaurants. Not only did Donal provide our transportation to and from the Marseilles airport & a fun Marseilles & Cassis tour, he was also very attentive to all of our requests and needs, such as finding us language exchange partners, etc, etc.

Thumbs up all the way for Chez Donal.

Dr Jeffrey & Yvette Frantz, Florida, USA.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Great 3 Bed Loft - Aix - Qrtr Mazarin *Apart & Tour Package*
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p232370vbi
+ 33 6853 13122 (France)
Aix-En-Provence Aix-en-Provence area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
Yvette and I recently have recently returned from a great 14 week Summer 2010 stay in Donal's great three bed apartment in beautiful Aix-en-Provence. More than satisfied, we were delighted with the accommodation, as were our daughter's families & friends who came visiting. To begin, the bedrooms and living area were spacious & welcoming, the apartment's high ceilings & mezzanine allowed "beaucoup de soleil naturel" in through the skylights. The location of the apartment is ideal, one block from the famous Cours Mirabeau and beside Rue Italie and its host of shops and restaurants. Not only did Donal provide our transportation to and from the Marseilles airport & a fun Marseilles & Cassis tour, he was also very attentive to all of our requests and needs, such as finding us language exchange partners, etc, etc.

Thumbs up all the way for Chez Donal.

Feel free to contact me at "jfrantz@mlcchurch.com" for any questions you might have.

Dr Jeffrey & Yvette Frantz, Florida, USA.
Helpful votes: 6/6