New Orleans house rental - Front of living room
Front of living room
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

New Orleans House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 3 Full Baths, (Sleeps 8 - 10)* When TWO per bed

Circa 1880's Greek Revival side hall double parlor home on historic Magazine Street! In the hip, safe, Lower Garden District near coffee shops, diners, funky shopping and antiques.

Four bedrooms, plus den with pull-out bed, three full bathrooms, huge kitchen. Master suite has California king bed and large 120 sq. ft. bathroom with separate dual head walk-in shower and clawfoot bathtub.

Media room can be secured with two doors, has a full bath within the secured area, and the couch converts to a bed.

The master bedroom has a California King, the front and middle bedrooms have queen beds and there is one double bedroom. Media room with huge wall screen, projector and 5.1 stereo, DirecTV, Tivo and HD with a DVD, and a pull out bed for an addtional bedroom. Front parlor with piano, and large dinner formal dinner table.

3671 square feet of original New Orleans. Almost everything is original and was renovated in 1991 with materials native to New Orleans homes. Please check out the video tab to the left (music courtesy of the New Orleans Jazz Vipers).

Kitchen has two stoves, and separate dining area in addition to the front dining room and adjoining parlor.

House has been used for movie crews, rentals and cooking shows. Heather Graham stayed here!

And, if you desire, a mule and carriage from Royal Carriages is available for a tour of the Garden District or the French Quarter, or Cemetery tour. Additional fee. Pick up and drop off from the house.

Email for more information.

Todd Grove, owner

Karen Dolan, House Manager and Booking Agent

Keywords: Large 4 bedroom house, plus pull out couch in media den for 5th bedroom. 3671 SF two story Greek Revival side hall double parlor.

More Details
Hide Details

Todd Grove moved to New Orleans in 2003 and purchased this magnificent house in 2004.

Todd is a producer of live theater, comedy, and music events internationally.

Karen Dolan is the house manager and is available for all inquiries.

Karen Dolan purchased this house in 2004

This house is in an ideal location. Just between the grand houses of the Garden District and the great restaurants of the Warehouse district, on a beautiful, residential, tree-lined stretch of Magazine street. It has a coffee shop on one corner and one of New Orleans' best breakfast diners in the city near the other.

We love this location as it is close to everything. It is safe, and the park a block away is great for relaxing.

Everyone say's 'hi' and everyone watches out for each other. Very different from our experiences in Chicago and New York. New Orleans is truly different.

Huge screen projector television in main media room, DVD player, 5.1 stereo, CD.

Shopping on Magazine street along with antique and window browsing is a must. And, the Mercedes Superdome and Arena are within walking distance for sporting and entertainment events.

30 Reviews of Property 219021 in New Orleans, Louisiana

MAGAZINE ST Entire Authentic 4 Bedroom Greek Revival House
average rating of 4.9666667 based on 30 reviews
business
MAGAZINE ST Entire Authentic 4 Bedroom Greek Revival House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219021vbi
+1 (646) 281-7742
New Orleans Louisiana
4

Gem

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house is magnificent! High high ceilings and lots of detail with decorating. We had everything that we need and the house realtor, Karen was very sweet and kind. Even drove me and my hubbie around to check out NOLA!
Only downsides were the mattresses that really were old and needed updating. One of the bathrooms wasn't very clean and the other outside of the main was draining water from the shower and sink very slow. Another issue was that we had 4 couples and one of the beds was between a full size and a twin. We loved Surrey's that was down the street and ran into the lead actor from Entourage (was headed there for lunch). Great location, great house, great amenities. We essentially walked eveywhere we needed to get to! Just needs a little more investing to make it a comfy stay for all!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
MAGAZINE ST Entire Authentic 4 Bedroom Greek Revival House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219021vbi
+1 (646) 281-7742
New Orleans Louisiana
Discovery Bay, Calif United States
5

Better than advertised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I do not normally take the time to review a property or a restaurant but this beautiful property deserves a review so others can enjoy it as much as my family did. Heck, this place is as good or better than the photos!
My wife and I brought our 2 sons, 2 daughter-in-laws and our 12 and 13 month old Grand Daughters (1 each) for a week of work and vacation. We had a convention to attend in New Orleans and wanted to find a property in a nice area with a slower pace than the 24/7 of the French Quarter and what we found was this beautiful home, classically renovated with access to so many great restaurants and spots to enjoy a cold beverage, the ladies loved the shopping on Magazine St and we enjoyed having a home base where the girls could crawl around, take a nap and make some noise if and when they needed. Every morning I would take a walk and end up a 1 of 2 great coffee shops a block from the house, get my coffee and a local paper walk back home and sit in the dining room in front of my lap top and respond to emails as the kids made their ways down stairs to start another fun filled day.
We entertained 1 night and our guests were blown away by the beauty of the home and my Grand daughters, we all migrated to the gourmet kitchen which became the focal point of a great evening. We were visiting New Orleans from the San Francisco Bay Area and with this house as our base we took advantage of the world famous food, had meals at Commanders Palace, Emeril's, in the French Quarter and on Magazine Street as well as at the house. We shopped and went on tours all over the region and every day or night were able to return to this magnificent home. I recommend this property and I hope all future guests have as great a time as my family did. We had done New Orleans 10 years earlier with the boys in a room and my wife and I in another at a great French Quarter hotel, now with wives and a baby each we needed something different this house was the right place for us and honestly my wife and I agreed we could scratch the "great vacation with the whole family in New Orleans and in a special place" off our "Bucket List" ....DONE and DONE RIGHT. Thanks Karen it was great to work with you. Steve
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
MAGAZINE ST Entire Authentic 4 Bedroom Greek Revival House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219021vbi
+1 (646) 281-7742
New Orleans Louisiana
5

What an amazing house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
A few colleauges and I stayed here during a conference. I have to agree with previous reviews that the pictures simply do not do the house justice. What an amazing place. there were 10 of us but we did not feel crowded at all. The house has 16 foot ceilings on both floors with lots of wonderful detailed crowning and such. The kitchen was a great place to hang out and had everything we could think of. We had a couple of get-togethers and everyone was amazed at the house. And that master bathroom! Wow! Karen was great, she met one of us to let us in and show us around and always responded very quickly to any questions we had.
Really, what a great place! I can't wait for the next conference to stay there again!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
MAGAZINE ST Entire Authentic 4 Bedroom Greek Revival House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219021vbi
+1 (646) 281-7742
New Orleans Louisiana
Panama City, FL
5

Nice Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My 3 kids - ages 22, 20 & 16 - had an amazing time at this house. We stayed 5 nights and would have bought the place if we could have. House was furnished with everything you could need. Felt very safe in the house.
My daughter played the piano for me and I thought that was a big plus having a tuned piano for guest.
This house would easily hold many more people, but the four of us were very happy in the house. Thank you Karen for all your emails as that made me very comfortable knowing I was getting a nice place after traveling several states away. AC worked great - no moldy or weird smells - just really perfect. Thanks for allowing us to enjoy the big easy, in a big easy way.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
MAGAZINE ST Entire Authentic 4 Bedroom Greek Revival House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219021vbi
+1 (646) 281-7742
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Authentic New Orleans Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
This house is amazing. The pictures do not do it justice. The house was lovingly restored and everything was impeccably maintained. The decor was period appropriate without being stuffy and there was plenty of room for our group of 6 adults. The location is awesome too. It's in a beautiful neighborhood, close to shops and restaurants and also the World War II museum. We really felt like we were locals staying in this house. The WWII museum is a must see. . .even if you think you know everything about WWII, the experience provided by the museum is really unique. We had several amazing meals on Magazine St.; La Petit Grocery and Juan's Flying Burrito just to name a few. Good antique shopping on Magazine too. The property manager was very helpful and accomodating when checking us in and out. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone staying in NOLA.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
MAGAZINE ST Entire Authentic 4 Bedroom Greek Revival House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219021vbi
+1 (646) 281-7742
New Orleans Louisiana
-
5

Birthday Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
I was put in charge of finding the accommodations for my Mom's 80th birthday celebration. I am an experienced traveler, traveled all over the world, along with owning my own rental property that I also advertise on VRBO. My Mom, Aunt and Uncle grew up in New Orleans but moved away many years ago. I had to try hard to satisfy them since they were very familiar with the homes in the area. I did tremendous research before committing to this property. Luckily, no one was disappointed with my selection.

From the moment you walk into this home, you can tell it is oozing with New Orleans charm. What a wonderful place. From the super high ceilings, wood floors, floor to ceiling windows, to the moldings and claw footed tub, we felt like we were living in the past. Don't get me wrong, all the modern conveniences were there such as two great working air conditioners and a gourmet kitchen. Our group of 9 people ranging from 21 to 80 had an awesome time. We were not disappointed with anything in this lovely home.
Check in was so easy. There was someone waiting for us upon our arrival to give us keys and tell us how everything worked and what we needed to do when we left.
The home is very centrally located to the city. If you do not have a car, you can easily walk two blocks to the street car that takes you almost any where you need to go. There is a small convenience store about a block away, a regular grocery store (Breaux Mart - 3233 Magazine St.) and a Walgreens (3227 Magazine) about a mile away going uptown. It is pretty hard to get lost.
I am also a runner and ran different directions each day. The first day we ran to the French Quarter and back (about 5 miles) and the next day we ran uptown on Magazine to Napoleon to St. Charles and back (also about 5 miles). The following day I drove a few miles to Audubon Park for another great run. Although being hot and humid, the scenery was great.
We also entertained larger groups during our stay. Everyone seemed to hang out in the kitchen area (where most good parties usually do) and eat the food. There was always plenty of room regardless of the size of the group.
Again, I cannot say enough good things about this place. When we return to New Orleans we will definitely stay here again.
Todd, thank you for opening up your home. Our trip was perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
MAGAZINE ST Entire Authentic 4 Bedroom Greek Revival House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219021vbi
+1 (646) 281-7742
New Orleans Louisiana
Bingham Farm, MI USA
5

A wonderful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My daughter graduated from Medical School and we rented the home for the weekend. The home was clean, spacious, and decorated beautifully. The outdoor garden has lovely plants and a great place to sit. The ceiling are very high with beautiful crystal chandeliers. The kitchen is a place I would have loved to have had the time to use. Both the property and owner and manager were very available for questions. This is a wonderful home that you would be lucky to rent.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
MAGAZINE ST Entire Authentic 4 Bedroom Greek Revival House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219021vbi
+1 (646) 281-7742
New Orleans Louisiana
Panama City, FL
5

Wonderful house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I really could go on and on but after reading the other reviews, they say it all. We stayed for Mardi Gras 2011 and had a wonderful wonderful time. We used to live in New Orleans and since Katrina, have spent every Mardi Gras at either a friend's house or a hotel. This was fantastic - like having our own house in New Orleans again. Todd (owner) and Karen (manager) could not have been easier to work with. The house was tons larger than I expected and the pictures really do not do it justice. For our crowd - we spent 99% of the time either in the kitchen (great space) or on the side porch/patio. As for the beds - what a great surprise to find nice 100% cotton sheets on the beds. We are already in the process of booking for next year's Mardi Gras and I'm sure will be calling them concerning other great New Orleans events (Art for Art's Sake, French Quarter Festival, and maybe even a Saints game or two) Again - the other reviews say it all. Todd and Karen, thanks again! Beth
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
MAGAZINE ST Entire Authentic 4 Bedroom Greek Revival House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219021vbi
+1 (646) 281-7742
New Orleans Louisiana
Benton,Ky
5

Best Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We had a wonderful time in New Orleans, our three sons and their wives/girlfriends, my father and my husband had all never been to New Orleans and we had a blast! The house was amazing, everyone loved it. The neighborhood was just fabulous, we loved the little restaurant down the street: Surry's. The shops down Magazine Street were really nice too. All our sons said it was their favorite vacation spot ever, they are all musicians and really enjoyed all that New Orleans had to offer. Thank you Todd for your beautiful home.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
MAGAZINE ST Entire Authentic 4 Bedroom Greek Revival House
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p219021vbi
+1 (646) 281-7742
New Orleans Louisiana
California
5

THE BEST TIME EVER!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
We had so much fun! The House was AMAZING and the pictures do not do this place justice. New Orleans has a lot to do and some of my family did not want to leave the house it was so comfortable. It was like being at home. We had 11 people in the house and it was more than enough room. The house manager was very helpful and the owner is very flexible. About a 1 mile walk to the convention center or short drive to the city, and just a short walk (1-2 blocks) to a great breakfast spot and shops. I can’t say enough about this home; it is a must to have when visiting New Orleans.
See you next year!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3