Lake Austin house rental - Incredible views from the relaxing negative edge pool
Incredible views from the relaxing negative edge pool
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps14
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 
Special Offer! New Fill-In Rates! -

Lake Austin House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

New 3 story Mediterranean Style Home with elevator overlooking Lake Austin near Mansfield Dam/LakeTravis. 5 bedrooms (sleep 12 in beds), 3.5 baths with 3 balconies and rooftop deck with hot tub. Pool overlooking Lake Austin. Internet Access. Cable TV with Movies. Local and Long Distance Calling. Less than 4 minute drive around to bottom of cliff to access Lake Austin waterfront. Sleeps 12 in beds (2 king, 1 queen, 3 full beds). The master suite has spa tub and a steam shower. Bring your boat. There are several boat launches nearby less than five minutes away for Lake Austin and Lake Travis. Canoe available to use for free.

Keywords: House

The Craig's built this home several years ago to take advantage of the great views of Lake Travis and Lake Austin, as well as the Hill Country. We live here when it is not rented, and we know you will love it as much as we do!

Jennifer Craig purchased this house in 2008

Outstanding views of Lake Travis, Mansfield Dam, Lake Austin, Hill Country.

Rooftop hot tub, fantastic pool overlooking Lake Austin, Mansfield Dam, 5 minutes away from Lake Travis - best of both lakes!

21 Reviews of Property 231189 on Lake Austin, Texas

Lake Austin Waterfront Home/Great Pool/View of Lake Travis/Dam
average rating of 4.857143 based on 21 reviews
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Home/Great Pool/View of Lake Travis/Dam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231189vb
+1 727-420-2746
Lake Austin Austin area
Dallas, TX
5

Amazing property, outstanding value, great owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
Pictures do not do this property justice. This is an amazing rental and a fabulous location for a family get-together. Bruce, the ower, was very helpful and went out of his was to respond to questions and give us advice on a caterer for a family dinner. The house is gorgeous and well maintained. The amenities just go on and on. I would definitely go back to this property. My son and I had a great time taking out the canoe on the lake. My family also hired Bruce's boat for a few hours tour of Lake Travis and couldn't have asked for a better experience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Home/Great Pool/View of Lake Travis/Dam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231189vb
+1 727-420-2746
Lake Austin Austin area
Dallas
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This was our 2nd time renting this gorgeous house. The house is beautifully designed with breathtaking views of Lake Austin & the Dam. The rooftop hot tub, gorgeous pool w/grill, well equipped kitchen, and access to the lake & canoe make it a lovely weekend getaway for a group of people.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Home/Great Pool/View of Lake Travis/Dam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231189vb
+1 727-420-2746
Lake Austin Austin area
Azle, Texas
5

Amazing Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Bruce has gone above and beyond with this home, the architecture and materials are just fabulous! Everyone in our group had wonderful beds, bedding and baths. The kitchen is so well equipped that you can bring in your food and feel like you are cooking at home - even a coffee grinder! I would highly recommend this place for a family gathering, a book club trip or 5 or 6 couples! It's just wonderful. The pool is on the second level overlooking the cliff but is fenced off and perfectly safe, we had a 3 and 6 year old and they were just fine. Walking the neighborhood with all the hills gives you a built in gym (what a workout!). We are already planning our next trip back! Thanks Bruce!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Home/Great Pool/View of Lake Travis/Dam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231189vb
+1 727-420-2746
Lake Austin Austin area
Dallas
5

Great for girlfriends get-a-way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
With out a doubt the best VRBO experience I have had out of 5+. The view is spectacular, the home is luxurious, and the owner is extremely accomodating. 11 of us--women in our late 60's who went to junior/senior high together and do this every year--were very comfortable. We loved the pool and spent most of our time on the patio. Great inet connection. Easy access to Lake Travis for an outstanding boat charter, with the owner as the captain, in a 26 foot beauty of a boat. Great water for swimming. Just wish we could have stayed longer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Home/Great Pool/View of Lake Travis/Dam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231189vb
+1 727-420-2746
Lake Austin Austin area
Burke, VA
3

An Interesting Experience!

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
In April, my family and I rented this property for 4 days to attend my son’s wedding. Within a short time after signing the rental agreement, the property owner followed with an egregious addendum to the contract that violated and eliminated renter’s rights, and gave the owner sole discretion to evict the renter at a moment’s notice, at any time without refunding rental payment or security deposit. The owner claimed bad experiences with previous renters required him to do so. I refused to sign the addendum and encouraged him to seek an attorney’s advice on Texas rental law to explain how to properly structure a lawful rental agreement, and why forcing a unilateral addendum to an already signed agreement was not binding and enforceable.
After a late check-in the first night, we found no hot bathroom or shower water to the 3 bedrooms on the first floor, a terrible inconvenience for family members who wanted to wash-up or shower before retiring after a long trip, and upon awakening early the next morning. This was a major maintenance problem that the owner of a properly maintained house should have resolved prior to occupancy. Also, a convenient second key to the premises that the owner provided did not work in the lock.
However, the most annoying issue was that the property, situated on a lake, has an infestation of bugs that swarm by the thousands, especially at night. Thousands of bugs cling to the exterior of the windows and doors each night. The owner has not provided screens for doors that are used to enter the house, the pool, or the balcony. As a result, many bugs fly into the house along with the occupants as they use the doors to enter or exit. At the end of the rental period, once the occupants depart, the owner deems it his prerogative to deduct a substantial portion of the security deposit to fumigate the house.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: If renters would have notified us of the hot water problem, we could have handled it that first evening. We didn't learn about it until after they left!! We have a very sophisticated solar system with backup On Demand hot water system, which is one of the best and most efficient. As for bugs, we can't control mother nature, but we definitely warned renters about the presence of these bugs and asked them not to leave doors or windows open at night. We only deducted a small amount to fumigate bugs and refunded balance.
Helpful votes: 7/9
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Home/Great Pool/View of Lake Travis/Dam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231189vb
+1 727-420-2746
Lake Austin Austin area
Austin, Texas
5

An amazing house for my family reunion over Easter

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
This house was simply an amazing deal for my family reunion. The house is essentially a mansion, and with 4 couples plus my 93 year old grandmother staying there we basically paid La Quinta prices for a 4 star stay.

The house has 3 levels with beautiful views on each level, plus a rooftop terrace with a jacuzzi and 360 degree views of Lake Austin, Lake Travis over the dam and the hill country. The infinity edge pool is fantastic, and the house itself is very nice on the inside with a huge kitchen. Other pluses were a great grill for our cookout, a big front yard where my nieces went on their easter egg hunt, and a tram to take you down the cliff to the lake.

2 things to be aware of: While the house was a good place for my 8 and 1 year old nieces, I wouldn't recommend it if you had lots of little kids running around - the edge of the pool does hang over a cliff, after all. Also, there isn't access to closet space or dressers in the master bedroom (it's locked off for the owner) - not a big deal for us but something to be aware of.

I look forward to staying here in the future, and in the meantime I've recommended the house to all my friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Home/Great Pool/View of Lake Travis/Dam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231189vb
+1 727-420-2746
Lake Austin Austin area
Houston, TX
5

An absolute gem of a home! Amazing experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
A group of 11 friends and I rented Bruce's beautiful home over the Austin City Limits '09 weekend. We had the most incredible time owed in most part to the fact that we stayed at this beautiful and spacious home. We did not actually make it to the music festival due to all the rain that weekend but none of us cared. We were all in heaven staying at Bruce's home-- the breath-taking views, the pool, the hot tub, the well-equipped and stocked house, the steam room, the chef's dream kitchen, the EVERYTHING. None of us wanted to leave. We felt like we'd moved in and made his home ours... There are so many great surprises to the house that I won't list lest I ruin the magical feeling of first experiencing all of them. We are definitely going back when the weather warms up in 2010 and have already told all our friends (well not everyone.. we want to be able to get in on that booking calendar! Lol). Don't miss this!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Home/Great Pool/View of Lake Travis/Dam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231189vb
+1 727-420-2746
Lake Austin Austin area
Houston, TX
5

Absolutely amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
I couldn't say enough good things about this house. It sits right above the lake Travis/Austin damn with an absolutely amazing view. Infinity pool with fountain and waterfall is amazing. Plasmas in every room in the house, they have spared no expense with the emenities within the house. The weekend we went was for a couples birthday party - and it couldn't have been in a better setting. If you want, you can take the tram down to the river, or go to the top of the house and enjoy the sunset while sitting in the hot tub. I will be renting again for certain.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Home/Great Pool/View of Lake Travis/Dam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231189vb
+1 727-420-2746
Lake Austin Austin area
New Orleans, La
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
This home is a slice of HEAVEN! I spent a glorious Memorial Day weekend here and I did not want to leave. This palace has everything you could ever want and more. The steam shower in the master bedroom is to die for. The pool and waterfall is the ultimate in relaxation. I had planned to venture into Austin while staying here, but I never did because I felt like I was at my own private resort. I have told everyone about this gem and I cannot wait to return. Do NOT miss out on this paradise on the bluffs of Austin!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Lake Austin Waterfront Home/Great Pool/View of Lake Travis/Dam
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p231189vb
+1 727-420-2746
Lake Austin Austin area
Denver, Colorado
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
I stayed here July 4th weekend; we had a 360º view from the rooftop hot tub of all the fireworks going off in the surrounding areas. It was unbelievable! The customer service from the homeowner was exceptional; they answered my calls & questions promptly. The location of the house was great, it was on Lake Austin, a 5 min. drive to Lake Travis & we made a day trip to Gruene, TX to float the river and visit Schlitterbahn. The accommodations were outstanding! We are already planning next years retreat!
Helpful votes: 3/4