Hershey house rental - Gateway to your private retreat; play basketball
Gateway to your private retreat; play basketball
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Hershey House Rental Photos and Description
5 bedrooms, 2 full baths & 2 half, sleeps 10-12, 3 queen beds, 2 double, 1 twin

Hershey, Gettysburg, and the Dutch Country at your fingertips, yet you'll enter your own private retreat in this comfortable home on a large corner lot with majestic oak, maple and dogwood trees in a peaceful neighborhood. The star attraction is the large back yard with in-ground pool with slide and fountains, screened gazebo with dining table, ceiling fans, and lighting, and convenient pool house with outdoor kitchen and bath. The pool opens April 1, and the water should be comfortable for swimming within a few weeks. Until then, enjoy the relaxing sound of the fountains as you lounge by the pool. The 5 bedroom home features a fully equipped kitchen with breakfast nook and top-of-the-line GE Profile stainless steel appliances, including convection double oven, dishwasher, convection microwave, refrigerator and trash compactor. Relax in the TV room with Pioneer Elite big screen TV and sound system, or play air hockey with the kids. The fireplaces are decorative, not operational.

Your Hosts: We take pride in providing our guests with a sparkling clean home that has been well cared for, and one that is furnished with many conveniences. You will find the house and grounds well maintained. We live in the area and will respond promptly to any need. We truly enjoy helping to make your vacation in central Pennsylvania a very special one to remember.

David and Janice Waltz

More Details
Hide Details

28 Reviews of Property 221868 in Hershey, Pennsylvania

Inground Pool, Screened Dining Gazebo, Outdoor Kitchen/Bath, Lg private yard
average rating of 4.928571 based on 28 reviews
business
Inground Pool, Screened Dining Gazebo, Outdoor Kitchen/Bath, Lg private yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221868
+1 717 574-8571
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Perfect Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
A group of my friends and I, all with our small children, from NJ, PA, and MD, spent 3 nights in this lovely home. It was extremely comfortable and clean. We couldn't have asked for a better fit for our large group. It has every accommodation needed. The pool and yard are fantastic and immaculate as well, equipped with an outdoor bathroom, kitchenette, grill, and beautiful gazebo.
The owner, Janice, is one of the nicest people I have come across. She was extremely helpful with suggestions on what to do. We did Hershey Park one day and Lake Tobias Wildlife Park the other. Both places were huge hits with our children, and not a far drive from the home. We will definitely be returning. It felt like a home away from home. -Erin
business
Inground Pool, Screened Dining Gazebo, Outdoor Kitchen/Bath, Lg private yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221868
+1 717 574-8571
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Perfect Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
A group of my friends and I, all with our small children, from NJ, PA, and MD, spent 3 nights in this lovely home. It was extremely comfortable and clean. We couldn't have asked for a better fit for our large group. It has every accommodation needed. The pool and yard are fantastic and immaculate as well, equipped with an outdoor bathroom, kitchenette, grill, and beautiful gazebo.
The owner, Janice, is one of the nicest people I have come across. She was extremely helpful with suggestions on what to do. We did Hershey Park one day and Lake Tobias Wildlife Park the other. Both places were huge hits with our children, and not a far drive from the home. We will definitely be returning. It felt like a home away from home. -Erin
business
Inground Pool, Screened Dining Gazebo, Outdoor Kitchen/Bath, Lg private yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221868
+1 717 574-8571
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Show Low, AZ
5

New Mexico

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
Spent another wonderful week at this beautiful home. Excellent place for entertaining family. The owners were so helpful and gracious to check if everything was going well during our stay. Love the kitchen for cooking with a great stove with cooktop and 2 ovens. Looking forward to coming back in the future. Thanks so much for sharing your home.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Inground Pool, Screened Dining Gazebo, Outdoor Kitchen/Bath, Lg private yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221868
+1 717 574-8571
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Amazing house for a fun and relaxing weekend!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
After college, my roommates and I ended up in different parts of the country, and we were looking for a central location to catch up for a weekend reunion. We found it at this wonderful vacation home in Mechanicsburg. In fact, though we had planned things to do in the surrounding area, we ended up spending most of the time hanging back at the house, and having so much space to ourselves was a highlight of the trip. Between the grill, outdoor fireplace, and basement lounge, we had plenty to do.

The owners were incredibly friendly and helpful throughout the entire process, and it's clear that they've put a lot of effort into decorating and maintaining the property. They were professional and courteous, and a pleasure to work with.

As a travel industry manager, I frequently stay at luxury hotels and resorts; none of them come close to the comfort and warmth of this rental. I've never rented a vacation home before, but this experience has made me an advocate. My only disappointment was that I didn't get a chance to visit during the summer!
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Inground Pool, Screened Dining Gazebo, Outdoor Kitchen/Bath, Lg private yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221868
+1 717 574-8571
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Show Low, AZ
5

New Mexico

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
Recently stayed 8 wonderful days. Pool is great. Grandkids loved the slide and basketball net. Gazebo is awesome, kept out mosquitoes at night and fans were great for the hot daytime. Kitchen is perfect for preparing meals for large groups. Plenty of kettles and dishes to prepare and serve inside or outside. Loved the pool house for changing bathing suits and it's complete with shower. Owners came by frequently to tend to pool and any needs or questions we had. Looking forward to returning
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Inground Pool, Screened Dining Gazebo, Outdoor Kitchen/Bath, Lg private yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221868
+1 717 574-8571
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Port Jervis, New York
5

We loved staying at this home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
My best friend (who lives in Virginia) and I both fell in love with this property when we first saw it on HomeAway while searching for a vacation rental equal distance from both of our homes. The pictures and description are 100% accurate! Janice and Dave are such a lovely couple and were a total pleasure to deal with every step of the way! The home was spotless and stocked with everything we could've ever needed! We were 4 adults/4 children and there was tons of room to spare (we didn't even use one of the upstairs bedrooms). The 3 boys camped out in the finished basement where they were able to play their video games on the large TV without disturbing the adults. The backyard is a tropical oasis! The pool and gazebo were definitely the highlights of our stay - we basically lived back there, as the weather was gorgeous every day! The pool house was a great feature - the kids didn't have to dry off and go in the main house to use the bathroom and could just grab drinks/pops from the fridge whenever they pleased. The screened-in gazebo was a huge hit with us adults - we were in it all the time! The kids loved making s'mores in the chiminea and Janice even dropped off the makings for them one morning! We did take a couple of day trips (Hershey's Chocolate World and Lake Tobias) which we all really enjoyed, but we were always happy to come "home" afterwards! I highly recommend this wonderful rental and would most definitely stay there again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Inground Pool, Screened Dining Gazebo, Outdoor Kitchen/Bath, Lg private yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221868
+1 717 574-8571
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Westchester, NY
5

Excellent House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
My family and I really enjoyed our stay in this house. The house had plenty of room for my wife and four kids. It was very clean, well-furnished, and the owners were readily available to answer any questions that we may have had. The backyard was very neatly-groomed and large. While we didn't use the pool (the weather wasn't ideal and we have two very young kids), we could certainly see coming back and taking advantage of it some time down the road (same thing with the gazebo closed-in patio which appeared to be relatively new and in excellent condition). We did take advantage of the horseshoes in the backyard (first time for my kids; they really like the game), and the basketball court in the driveway (there is a good amount of sporting equipment, as well as pool toys, in the shed by the pool).

The house was about a short 30-minute drive away from Hershey which allowed my family to take in Chocolate World one day and Hershey Park the next (even though we didn't go there, Pennsylvania Dutch Country and Gettysburg are also a relatively short drive from the house).

We would certainly recommend this house to anyone looking to spend some quality time in Central Pennsylvania.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Inground Pool, Screened Dining Gazebo, Outdoor Kitchen/Bath, Lg private yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221868
+1 717 574-8571
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Lakewood, NY
5

Vacation home near Gettysburg & Hershey

Vacation home near Gettysburg & Hershey
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The house is beautiful and very well decorated with plenty of towels, soaps, and paper products available. The pool and outside amenities are awesome as well. Although it was too cold for us to really use them this time of year, they were beautiful and well taken care of. The owners David & Janice are very accommodating and were nice to talk to. The appliances, dishes & utensils were very nice and well taken care of. We would have liked a TV in the main living area upstairs so we could have spent more time together in the evening relaxing. We found ourselves split up into different bedrooms instead of together in the living room. Otherwise - everything was very nice and we would absolutely recommend this home to others. Great central location as well when visiting Hershey & Gettysburg.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Inground Pool, Screened Dining Gazebo, Outdoor Kitchen/Bath, Lg private yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221868
+1 717 574-8571
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Brooklyn, New York
5

Exceeded My Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
This property was fabulous and exceeded our expectations. The bedrooms had plenty of pillows and blankets. The bathrooms with more than enough towels. The kitchen was fully equipped, even with spices, which we were allowed the use. The homeowner was even nice enough to provide us with a blender when I inquired if there was one on the property. I highly recommend this rental. You will not be disappointed. The only thing I would have liked and would recommend is a tv in a common area. Although there were three televisions on the premises, they're in the bedrooms. Nonetheless, the stay was great!
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: We are delighted when our guests find our property to be more than they had even hoped for. If there is a special request, we do everything we can to fulfill it. There are three TV sets in the house currently, a Sony XBR HDTV in the master bedroom, a TV set in the first floor bedroom, and a Pioneer Elite HDTV in the family room in the basement. That family room has two leather couches, a fireplace, and, in the back of the room, a double bed for extra sleeping space as needed. That constitutes the combination family room/fifth bedroom.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Inground Pool, Screened Dining Gazebo, Outdoor Kitchen/Bath, Lg private yard
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p221868
+1 717 574-8571
Hershey Pennsylvania Dutch Country
5

Best Family vacation ever...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
My wife and I planned 2 day trips during our stay and before coming were a little scared we would all be bored the remainder of our trip. That absolutely was not the case. Truth is, that the best part of our vacation was the home. It was the most beautiful, welcoming home we've ever rented. The pool was fabulous. We had 4 young children with us ages 3,5,5 & 6. They were easily entertained throughout the day not only with the pool and all it's toys but air hockey, basketball a piano or just running around the fenced in yard. The couple we rented from were so wonderful to us and our children. Janice even dropped off s'more ingredience for our last night there. There were 11 of us total but there was plenty of room for all of us. We never felt cramped. Not only is the house beautiful but the yard is also very appealling with beautiful plants and flowers. I think we took more pictures while at the home than on our day trips.We weren't in the house for more than 10 minutes when all the adults were on our cell phones calling someone to tell them how gorgeous the house was and what an awesome week we were gonna have. I believe it was on our first night there that we decided that we would definitely love to come back to this same house next year. I would highly recommend anyone renting this home unless of course you want the same week we do in which case everything you just read is a lie. Hahaha!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 3/3