Austin house rental - HOUSE: Living Area with Vaulted Ceiling and Comfy Couches
HOUSE: Living Area with Vaulted Ceiling and Comfy Couches
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 31 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Office, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-10 with apt)

T H E G A R D E N S T R E E T H O U S E and APARTMENT

It's like home. But better.

You could stay in a colorful, historical remodeled home built in 1912 with original wood floors and unique homelike atmosphere on the edge of downtown Austin. Great family environment or groups up to 6 Upstairs Apartment (#315883 vrbo) can be rented (if available) for a combined rental for up to 10 people.

THE Garden Street HOUSE INFO:

Vaulted ceilings, wood floors, big front porch just east of downtown, near hike and bike trail and Town Lake/Lady Bird Lake. Furnished very comfortably.

MASTER bedroom (large room) with KING size bed, private bath/shower, cable TV, ceiling fan, wood floors, antique rugs, empty closet and dresser, large comfortable easy chair, very private.

MIDDLE bedroom, queen size bed, ceiling fan, wood floors, cable TV, closet and shelf space.

FRONT bedroom with Queen size bed, empty antique dresser, closet space,

ceiling fan, cable TV, wood floors, antique rugs.

Additional full size futon couch in office.

1 Twin Size blow up bed also available.

Check online calendar for house availability. On this site #198508.

Apartment availability - contact owner or go to vrbo #315883 for calendar and more info. Addt'l charge for apartment of $99/nite.

Includes wifi, cable tv, linens, towels, and a great location!

SPECIAL RATES for SXSW and ACL. See rates.

________________________________

THE Garden Street APARTMENT INFO:

Live in the Trees! Fully furnished 'treehouse' apartment, private entrance through side yard to backyard private deck. Can be rented separately or with downstairs house. Great for romantic getaways or for people who love unique places. Red wood floors with upscale urban modern furnishings. Colorful and fun with angles and cubby holes.

Go to vrbo #315883 for calendar and more info on apartment. Or contact owner.

One queen bed, one full size bed in living room area. Clawfoot tub and shower, fully furnished kitchen, gas stovetop, microwave/convection oven.

Comfortable for 1-3 people.

Contact owner for availability.

SPECIAL RATES for SXSW and ACL. See rates.

Rentals include wifi, cable tv, linens, towels and a great location!

House and apartment together has 4 bedrooms and 3 baths with 3 additional sleeping areas. Please contact me for availability of apartment. Two calendars on this site not available.

The Garden St. House and Apartment is located one mile to downtown, 6th street and Austin Convention Center. Bus stops very close for University of Texas, Downtown and Convention Center. 7 minutes from the airport.

Walking distance to Downtown is 15-20 minutes. Parks and hike and bike trail are very close.

House only has Washer/Dryer

House and Apt. have Iron and Ironing Board.

Local phone available with national long distance.

Professionally cleaned after each group of guests.

Very unique and comfortable set-up.

People have loved staying here and write wonderful things in my guestbook. I have been renting ongoing for about 4 years.

International guests welcome as well. Come enjoy the

GARDEN STREET HOUSE and APARTMENT. Great for large groups up to 10 people.

See you soon,

Connie Leaverton

owner

Paypal and credit card accepted.

Rates include all paypal fees, cleaning fees, wifi, cable TV, linens, towels and Coffee and Tea Set-ups.

Registered with the City of Austin,

License #2013-002341 OL

Keywords: House, duplex, house and apartment, downtown, east

More Details
Hide Details

Hi! I own and cherish the Garden St. House and Apartment. I love this house! My name is Connie, but I also go as Paprika, a nickname of 20 years or more.

The house and apartment have quite different personalities. Downstairs, the house has antiques, original wood floors from 1912, overstuffed couch and chair with arches, colorful walls and character.

Upstairs in the Treehouse Apartment, the design is modern, with red wood floors, curvy purple couch, a full size bed and a platform queen size bed with 3 skylights that connect you to the trees and the world outside. The skylight over the shower is the best! The glorious deck is surrounded by trees, and it truly does feel like living in a treehouse.

Come stay at the Garden St. House and Treehouse Apartment! It's a wonderful space for a few or for many. It feels like home, and has all of the comforts and more!

Connie 'Paprika' Leaverton purchased this house in 2001

I bought this wonderful house in 2001 to live in because of the nearby parks, lake and its close access to downtown, 6th street and everything cool! It was built in 1912 and has original wood floors, which I found during renovation after peeling up layers of carpet, vinyl and tar paper. Joyous to find! They are beautiful pine floors that give the house an old country house feel.

I have since renovated it, taking out walls, adding arches and adding vaulted ceilings...and the apartment upstairs. It is now a combination of new and old. Bold colors complement the various rooms of the 1800 square foot downstairs house. The 'treehouse' apartment upstairs is an additional 700 square feet including a private deck in the trees with a modern urban design and red wood floors.

The big covered front porch of the downstairs house reminds me of the slower simpler days of the early 1900's when neighbors used to spend alot of time outside drinking lemonade to stay cool in the hot Austin summers, waving to neighbors and enjoying the occasional rainstorm while sitting under the protected large porch. Don't worry, I now have central AC/Heat to keep you cool and warm in winter...but you can still enjoy the rain and wave to the neighbors on this wonderful porch.

The upstairs apartment I built for myself so I could start renting out the downstairs area for vacation rentals. So the apartment is very nice! Now I live elsewhere and rent the apartment separately and with the house.

The apartment has high grade red wood floors, texured ceilings, peach and blue interior colors along with high end urban modern furnishings. The private entrance and private balcony in the trees give this apartment a treehouse feel. I lived there for about a year, and then have since started my own family and moved to South Austin.

That is why both the upstairs and downstairs are now vacation rentals but with a homelike feel. Downstairs you find the big country home with antiques, and upstairs you find hip, cool treehouse with a modern design. They can be rented together or separately depending on your needs.

Thank you for visiting my Garden St. House and Apartment Site. Hopefully I'll see you here soon!

Many smiles,

Connie

46 Reviews of Property 198508 in Austin, Texas

3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
average rating of 4.847826 based on 46 reviews
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
4

EARTHY ECLECTIC CHARM! WE LOVED IT!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We just stayed at the Garden Street House and looking at the reviews we don't know what the one was taking about. It was clean, tidy and very colorful, with an eclectic vintage decor. We took full advantage of the nearby hike & bike trail, which parallels the Colorado River to Zilker Park & Deep Eddy Pool, artsy South Congress Ave. which locals call 'SOCO', then up to the Capitol, the music district downtown. Garden St. House was great for us. We appreciate real Austin neighborhoods! Bring your bikes!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Velanne I'm glad you enjoyed the hike and bike trails. It is great the house is so close to the parks, river and downtown...all via bikes! I bought the house there in 2002 because it was close to the beauty of the water and parks. The families that stay in the house also like the elementary school half a block away with a playscape and the other park 2 blocks away has a water park and another playscape bordering the river with a large basketball court. Yes, bring your bikes next time! Thanks so much, and do come back to visit soon!
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Tx USA
2

Cleanliness was unacceptable.

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I have decided to write this review bc we depended on all its previous good reviews, and I feel I owe my own review due to our experience, and to shed some light on the other side.
Bc of our family size and being during the Thanksgiving holiday, we rented this unit as well as the separate upstairs loft. It came out to be a pretty penny, but we were willing to pay it for what we thought would be a comfortable, cozy and eclectic "austiny" house.
When we got there we were surprised on how the house was kept and the overall neighborhood.

Neighborhood: The only huge plus about this house is its proximity to downtown, very close and accessible.
Bad side: the neighborhood was on the east side, which could be considered a somewhat "shady" area. Even during daylight, walking anywhere close by was not even a consideration, much less after sunset.
Once inside, the house had a feel of college life, roommates that had thrown together mismatched worn furniture. But even with these things, none of this mattered to us, we felt adventurous even.

What WAS unacceptable was the cleanliness of the house!!!
We had stained sheets that looked unwashed, more than a couple towels that were dirty, both shower curtains had black mildew, and a toilet that would not stop running. And then, after seeing a large cobweb under a table, we realized that this could not have been thoroughly cleaned for a period of time.
We are not one to call and complain over little things, but adding all of those up (as well a a few other minor details) we felt that the owner should be notified.
The one thing I must say is that the owner responded quickly, and dutifully came the next day to try to undo some of the issues. She was respectful and understood our concerns. She had her excuses and mentioned that she had a new cleaning crew that did not meet up to her normal high standards.

But it was too little, too late. After the first night, we even had one of our families decide to stay in a nearby hotel bc she was uncomfortable with the neighborhood and esp the cleanliness. Thus having our whole family stay together, to allow larger gathering that cannot be achieved in hotel stay, null and void.

When you pay a significant sum of money, there is a certain level of expectation. Had we had seen the house prior to renting, we would have just paid for four decent hotel rooms, for five nights, and would have paid the same amount.

Not what we were hoping for. :(
Owner's Response: Please feel free to ask me about this review.

These folks rented for thanksgiving for 5 nights that live close to this neighborhood, and then attempted to get all their money back after they stayed. It was a scam, and they used this review to try and prove their point. They did not win, nor did they get any money back.

The neighborhood is nice, and they know it! The sheets were wine colored and a bit of white bleach had created a white area (I use all white sheets now) and the white towels had been bleached but the stain on 1 washrag and 1 hand towel had not come out.

This is why I now have make-up removal towelettes so people won't use the towels for that.

I keep a beautiful, clean house and the neighborhood is nice and safe. I have never had any problems in my neighborhood, and I've had this house since 2001.

It is not your standard suburban neighborhood, it is an older neighborhood with artists, colorful houses of all shapes and sizes, a wonderful mexican influence, and beautiful families of 30 years. Half a block away is an elementary school with a playscape, so kids are everywhere.

The people that wrote this negative review seemed to pre-plan this entire strategy of complaining, writing a bad review, and then battling with me through the credit card company to get their money back. They did not win. And I was hurt by this negative review that is very misleading. Hopefully you will read all the other reviews and know the truth.

Cleanliness is extremely important, and I would not have a house in an unsafe neighborhood. This is my homestead since 2001. And as a woman living alone in the neighborhood, my neighbors have always been great and I've always felt safe.

I love the house, and remodeled it and transformed it over the years... and now I share it with others.
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
somerville, ma. usa
5

Charming House, charming neighborhood!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Just wanted to thank you again Connie for host my family and me! The house was perfect for us, and we loved the neighborhood. It was so close to downtown and had the funky, artsy vibe that we were looking for. And breakfast at the Cenote cafe was the perfect beginning for our days adventuring into Austin. Look forward to our next trip out there!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you found the Cenote Cafe located toward downtown on Cesar Chavez. The outdoor seating area there is so wonderful, food, coffee and deserts are yummy too. And then, not far on Cesar Chavez is the Convention Center which is surrounded by an entire array of restaurants and shops. Glad you enjoyed the area! It is wonderful!
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Larchmont
4

christmas visitor to austin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2011
We had a wonderful time at the house - cute neighborhood, great location, local flavor - try the breakfast tacos! Nice amenities and friendly landlord. Warm front porch!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Texas
5

Great weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We loved the Garden Street House. It is fun and funky with ample room for two or more families. It is walking distance to several good restaurants and a wonderful walking trail around the lake. The kitchen was stocked with the necessities, which was very helpful and thoughtful. There is a large backyard with a BBQ for enjoying the warm evenings.

The reservation and check-in process was easy and seamless. We enjoyed working with the owner and felt very comfortable contacting her with questions about the area.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Im glad you enjoyed the house and the hiking trails along the Lady Bird Lake. Its great they are only a couple of blocks away with access to such beauty and the river. October is a wonderful time to be outside, and Im glad you enjoyed the BBQ grill and the backyard. I appreciate your rental and your review! Thanks so much! Connie
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Denver
5

Awesome funky house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
A group of 11 of us came to Austin for a bachlorette party and rented the house and apartment. It was perfect. We were able to take cabs everywhere for very cheap and it slept us all very comfortably! I would recommend this house to everyone. The owners were so helpful and everything went smoothly. Thanks again, hope to return soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed the house and apartment. It is good for big groups and so close to downtown! Thanks again!
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
New Orleans, LA
5

Large beautiful house, convenient to downtown and outdoor leisure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
Myself and 9 others rented the house and upstairs apartment. We spent hours relaxing on the back patio and deck. The bbq grill was a nice touch! All beds were comfortable and the master suite with its private bath was particularly luxurious. Everything you need to feel at home was available in the house, including free wifi. There were plenty of towels, and a washer/dryer if you run out. Connie, the owner, was very helpful, and she maintains a beautiful house and yard with landscaping and flowers.

The address is exactly 1.2 miles from 6th and Congress, the heart of the entertainment district, and only a $5.50 cab ride. There are walking and bike trails along the Colorado river, which is only two blocks away. Half of our crew took our own bikes, but the rest found a bicycle rental place after they realized how easy it was to get around. The weather was absolutely beautiful for us, but if it is hot, I'd recommend taking a bike ride to dip in Barton Springs. The cool water and breeze was a great hangover cure for some of us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: The bike trails are really nice along the Lady Bird Lake, and what a great way to get downtown! Barton Springs is the best for sure! I'm glad you got to experience that as well.
Keep us in mind for the your future travels. Connie
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
San Francisco
5

Couldn't be happier with this rental

Couldn't be happier with this rental
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
I work for a production company, and we rented both the house and the apartment for all of SXSW 2011. Last year we split the team between an RV park and hotels, and it was a mess. This rental was a perfect place to decompress after the long days of shooting. Nice, big backyard, grill, great front porch. Spacious kitchen, etc. The place was very clean. The owner was on top of all email correspondence and payment issues.

For groups of more than 4, I highly suggest renting the tree house apartment with the rest of the house. Having that additional space with an additional kitchen is key. I have no complaints, but for those of you considering renting for SXSW, rent a few bikes to avoid the awful Cesar Chavez traffic, and you will be good to go. In fact, if we're heading back down there again for SXSW2012, then this would be the first place I'd call.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: SXSW is quite the experience, and this house is just east of all the downtown activities. In fact, east 6th is now becoming the new happenin' area for SXSW and all year long. Lots of restaurants and bars on the east side now. Wonderful! And yes on the bikes! What a great way to get around town.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Madison, WI
5

Enjoyable stay at Garden Street house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
Accurate listing, helpful owner, clean property, good location, good local eating options... all in all, a great choice for our golf group. I would definitely recommend this location to someone visiting Austin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Golf, food, Austin and Friends. A Wonderful Combination! Thanks so much!
business
3/2 Garden St. House - Near Downtown, Parks, Lady Bird Lake
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p198508vbi
(512) 632-1404 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Kasilof, Alaska
5

A Colorful Lovable Livable House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
My very spread-out family was looking for a place to re-find itself and celebrate a wedding, and we couldn't have had a better setting to re-find our love for each other than this lovely house in this warm neighborhood in Austin. My only problem was eventually having to leave. Thanks for working with us to make this possible Connie.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children