Colton cottage rental - hot tub in winter
hot tub in winter
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps17
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Colton Cottage Rental Photos and Description
5 BR, 2 B, 16 acres waterfront, sleeps 17, hot tub, motorboat, kayaks, canoe

Ultimate privacy in this new, luxurious 2,800 sq' log home on 16 acres of wilderness waterfront on a section of Raquette River which has been dammed to create a pristine lake excellent for swimming or fishing for pike, bass, walleye. Includes pontoon boat w/ Mercury motor, free boat gas, canoe, 2 kayaks, dock, 8-person, jetted, lit hot tub at the water's edge. Regulation-size, lit sand volleyball court, private pond, bon-fire pit, Adirondack chairs and lounge chairs. Snowshoes provided in winter, snowmobile trails nearby. Fully equipped kitchen w/ new (2010) refrig and new ceramic top stove , dining room, living room w/ 2-story cathedral ceiling, leather furniture, stone fireplace (wood provided). Upstairs den/TV room. Just added--a 2 car garage has just been renovated, pine-paneled, and made into a game building with bar size pool table, shuffleboard table, ping pong table, electronic soft tip dart game--a great addition to an already fabulous recreational paradise! Sleeps 17, 1 king, 3 queens, 3 doubles, 1 single, 1 futon, 2 full baths, washer/dryer; 4 mi. to Higley Flow State Park; 25 min. to SLU & Clarkson U; 1 hour to ski mountains.

Two story grand room with a cathedral ceiling, leather sofas, an oriental rug, and a stone fireplace, satellite TV and DVD. The dining room has a solid cherry hand-made table which seats 12. The fully-equipped kitchen includes modern appliances, a Kitchen-Aide mixer, and ample place settings for large groups. Telephone w/ free unlimited local and long-distance service.

Two downstairs bedrooms share a bathroom with a washer and dryer. The 2nd floor has a second bath, shared by one bedroom that has 1 queen and another bedroom that has a queen and a single bed. The 3rd floor has a loft with 3 double beds, skylights. Also there is an attached porch with waterfront and sunset views. There is a large fire pit surrounded by new Adirondack chairs and lounge chairs. It's just four miles to Higley Flow State Park -- with its acres of woods, trails, and swimming at a sandy beach. It's 25 minutes to St. Lawrence University, Clarkson College, Sunny Canton, and Sunny Potsdam; and, as such, the Raquette River Lodge would be an excellent place for visiting families or college conferences.

It's just one hour to Lake Placid, site of two winter Olympics, and home of Whiteface Mountain ski slopes. And it's just 1.5 hours to Ottawa, Canada's capital -- where one can skate on the canals or visit Parliament buildings, museums, and cultural events.

More Details
Hide Details

Donna and John Clark began their lodging business in 1994 with one room in their home which they converted into a bed and breakfast room. Now, almost 20 years later, along with some of their grown 7 children and 15 grandchildren, they own and manage 12 bed and breakfast rooms as well as 5 waterfront vacation rental homes. It is a family business that has brought joy to their family as well as to the hundreds of vacationers who have stayed with them.

Donna & John Clark purchased this cottage in 2005

22 Reviews of Property 218578 in Colton, New York

16 acres secluded waterfront hot tub, 4 boats, 5 BR sleep 17
average rating of 4.9545455 based on 22 reviews
business
16 acres secluded waterfront hot tub, 4 boats, 5 BR sleep 17
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218578
+1 315-386-2353
Colton Adirondacks
Mohawk Valley, NY
5

Raquette Lodge

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
Our hosts, Donna & John, were easily accessible, very friendly, and most accommodating. The Lodge was very clean and comfortable. The hot tub was awsome, in a private and scenic setting. Can't wait to return....
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
16 acres secluded waterfront hot tub, 4 boats, 5 BR sleep 17
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218578
+1 315-386-2353
Colton Adirondacks
Geneva, NY
5

Awesome, secluded, family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We found this place as was described, and then some more. The house was clean, spacious and nicely furnished. The owner was easily accessible by phone and answered questions as needed. By far the greatest highlight was the out of doors. We enjoyed the seclusion, the wildlife and the water. Our family especially enjoyed exploring the the surrounding water by using kayaks a canoe and the pontoon boat. The sand volleyball court was a great addition. My 10 yo and 13 yo say, "tell everyone they should not miss a chance to go to the Raquette Lodge."
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
16 acres secluded waterfront hot tub, 4 boats, 5 BR sleep 17
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218578
+1 315-386-2353
Colton Adirondacks
Pennsylvania
4

Breathtaking Family Retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Our family just returned from a week long vacation at Raquette Lodge. There were 16 of us ranging in age from 77 to 20. The lodge was absolutely spectacular. We were visited by loons, bald eagles, deer and the beaver who lives next door. Even though the weather didn't cooperate until the last day, we fished, hiked, climbed, played volleyball, sat in the hot tub and just hung out by the fire. Everything was as promised. We were already planning next year's trip as we were walking out the door to go home. We would definitely recommend this place. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to stay here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
16 acres secluded waterfront hot tub, 4 boats, 5 BR sleep 17
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218578
+1 315-386-2353
Colton Adirondacks
Henderson Harbor, NY
5

Great Family Place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We had 6 adults and 6 kids with plenty of room for everyone. The beautiful property had something for everyone - those in the hot tub could watch a rousing game of Boccie in a light snow, while the kids explored the property.

Very quiet location with ample room in the house to be as engaged with or disconnected from the rest of the group as the mood struck. The huge dining table was perfect for full sit-down meals as well as games and arts and crafts.

The loft with 3 beds was great for the kids. We slept 4 up there. The loft looks bigger in the pictures, and would be tight for more than 3 adults. The skylights were great for ventilation and would be perfect for a moonlit night. A great place we hope to return to next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
16 acres secluded waterfront hot tub, 4 boats, 5 BR sleep 17
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218578
+1 315-386-2353
Colton Adirondacks
Cazenovia ny
5

great place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2010
We had a great time. We wished we had brought more family and friends. Its really warm and homey. We could here the kids talking upstairs as if they were in our bedroom.That was alittle weird. But, the bedrooms and bathrooms and living room were all beautiful. We brought our snowmobiles there and a few miles away found great, groomed trails.
The big room was great for hanging out and connecting. They evan had the latest movie video releases.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
16 acres secluded waterfront hot tub, 4 boats, 5 BR sleep 17
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218578
+1 315-386-2353
Colton Adirondacks
Petersburgh, NY
5

Great vacation.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
I wanted to let you know we enjoyed our stay at the Lodge (1/8 – 1/15/10). You have done a great job with this rental. We found the nearby snowmobile trails, did a lot of snowshoeing, cross country skiing at the nearby park, skating in town, enjoyed the fireplace and the conveniences of the home. The activities are too numerous to mention all of them. This is a very comfortable home for a group. We plan to return. Thank you.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
16 acres secluded waterfront hot tub, 4 boats, 5 BR sleep 17
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218578
+1 315-386-2353
Colton Adirondacks
Albany, NY
5

Beautiful Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Raquette River Lodge was an excellent vacation getaway.
The lodge is even more impressive than what you see through the pictures. We were a large group of adults with kids ranging from 1 to 7, and we were never cramped or uncomfortable.
The lodge is beautifully rustic and modern at the same time.

We took advantage of the outdoor options like hiking, skiing, sledding, and fishing during the days, and enjoyed the warmth of the house and Hot Tub in the evenings.

Mr. and Mrs. Clark were a pleasure to work with. They were always available, and more than willing to provide what was needed. We especially appreciated having an abundance of supplies rather than the bare minimum. Plenty of firewood, BBQ gas, kitchen / cooking supplies, etc.. We never felt like we were missing anything.

I would highly recommend this remote and private vacation spot to anyone looking for an adirondack vacation.
We already cant wait to return!
Thanks for everything!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
16 acres secluded waterfront hot tub, 4 boats, 5 BR sleep 17
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218578
+1 315-386-2353
Colton Adirondacks
Chicago, IL
5

Family Get Together

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
What a perfect place!

We recently stayed at the Raquette Lodge for a Thanksgiving Family Get Together. We were impressed by the cleanliness and space in the lodge. The kitchen was well stocked for all our cooking needs, the beds were extremely comfortable, the dining room table sat all of us and the amenities were ideal. We particularly enjoyed the indoor shuffleboard and covered porch. We were also fortunate enough to get a break from the rain and enjoy the jacuzzi and star-filled sky. How perfect was the lodge? Perfect enough we are going back next summer for another reunion!

Thanks John and Donna for a wonderful stay!

Best Always!

Ed
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
16 acres secluded waterfront hot tub, 4 boats, 5 BR sleep 17
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218578
+1 315-386-2353
Colton Adirondacks
Middletown, CT
5

Heaven on Earth?

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
A group of 10 friends all spent an incredible week at the Raquette River Lodge in August 2009. We've been vacationing as a group for a few years and found this place to be absolutly perfect for what we're looking for. Space to be with one another with no distractions along with unreal views and house to fit all of us.

Between the large yard, and pontoon boat we kept ourselfs busy. It was just nice to be with people you love to be with and not have to worry about the rest of the world. Time stood still for our week at the lodge. We have already begun planning our next trip, next year and plan on carrying this tradtion on for years to come.

You are missing out if you pass on chance to stay at the Raquette Rive Lodge!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
16 acres secluded waterfront hot tub, 4 boats, 5 BR sleep 17
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p218578
+1 315-386-2353
Colton Adirondacks
Williamsville NY
5

Outstanding !! Highly Recommend !!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
Clean, modern, rustic, isolated, great yard/space, Hot tub on Lake edge, pontoon boat -perfect for little ones (railing), clean water for swimming, loons, great fishing, ….
The ultimate vacation spot – lots of privacy.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 7/7