Muskegon cottage rental - Mona Lake House with Large Wrap-around Deck
Mona Lake House with Large Wrap-around Deck
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Muskegon Cottage Rental Photos and Description
3 bedrooms, 1.5 bathrooms, sleeps 10

Beautiful lake front home completely furnished. Extra large wrap-around 30'X40' deck overlooking beautiful 600+ acre Mona Lake. 2 sundecks next to water with small beach in between. Large deck includes gas grill, plenty of seating, beautiful flowers and foliage. Sidewalk out to boat dock and fire pit for evening smores. Canoe, paddleboat, kayak, trolling motor and fishing gear. Modern kitchen with all appliances. Open floor plan with comfy seating in living & dining room with large screen TV with cable and wireless access. Washer/Dryer in laundry area. 4 air mattresses and complete bedding also included. Within minutes of Lakes Mall, Hoffmaster State Park with Dunes, Downtown Muskegon, Lake Express Ferry, Pere Marquette Beach/Lake Michigan, Party in the Park and Summer Celebration, Michigan Adventure etc

Guestbook Comment-August 2008: What a wonderful week at the lake! We had a great time! Relaxing on the deck at dusk with wine or margaritas, last days paddling, fishing & napping – couldn’t have been more perfect! Jim & Nancy - Frank & Connie

Guestbook Comment-June 2008: When we first walked in and saw the view from the back porch we were taken back by the beauty of the place. The extras you had such as the boats were wonderful. We loved being able to have our dogs here and they especially enjoyed the beach and swimming. Thank you so much! Carol

Guestbook Comment Summer 08: Loved the place. The lake is beautiful. The deck is the best. Fun in the sun, drinks and a fire at night. The grandchildren had a great time! So did the adults.

This is a lovely home & place. Our family had a great tme and have made many memories! Thank you for sharing your home! Vicki

More Details
Hide Details

14 Reviews of Property 210281 in Muskegon, Michigan

Pet Friendly Lakefront Beach Cottage
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews
business
Pet Friendly Lakefront Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210281
+1 248 2484448712
Muskegon Western Michigan
Chicago suburbs, Illinois, USA
5

Gracious, spotless lakefront home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
We spent a quiet five days by the lake in this tastefully decorated home. The amenities and decor are similar to a four star hotel. The second floor BR faces the lake, as does the living, dining room, and deck. Very pleasant, soothing view of placid water and wildlife. Those are real bald eagles swooping down to catch fish.

The neighborhood is quiet as well, except for the traffic noise from HWY 31 a few blocks away. But by nine p.m. this disappears -- apparently they roll up the sidewalks in Muskegon at night.

There is a tiny beach which we used as a sand trap for sprited games of croquet and for golf practice. But there is a much larger public beach across the lake which we canoed over to. The hiking trails at a nearby state park are very nice and there are multiple places to play golf.

We only used one BR, but the bed was very comfortable and firm. There were ample supplies of towels for the two of us, but if you bring a small group you may need more.

The owners were very pro-active, calling to make sure that everything was going well and answering questions/making suggestions about the area. They were nice enough to let us bring our cats, who had a very good time as well.

Mona Lake would be perfect for sailing and/or water skiing if you brought your own boat. There is a boat launch area about a block away from the house.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback. We're glad you enjoyed it like we do. We have purchased some more towels to augment our stock. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Pet Friendly Lakefront Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210281
+1 248 2484448712
Muskegon Western Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
Christmas vacation in Michigan. More snow than Maryland. Time spent in comfort and great energy. Saw three eagles and a hawk. Great place for entertaining family. We enjoyed our time here immensely. We thank you.Joe, Jessica , Allison & Taylor
business
Pet Friendly Lakefront Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210281
+1 248 2484448712
Muskegon Western Michigan
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
8-2-08What a great place, we had the time of our life with the kids. The beach was great! All the little extras were very nice. Thanks so much! Rita
business
Pet Friendly Lakefront Beach Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p210281
+1 248 2484448712
Muskegon Western Michigan
Kenosha, WI
1

Beware

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2008
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
We had multiple issues with this property. Highlights of the interior include no window shades in the upstairs bedrooms which will enable you or your kids to be up at sunrise.

The lake - Mona Lake had a bad outbreak of toxic algae during the summer of 2008. Make sure it does not come back prior to renting. Owners will claim algae is the same as rain and will not refund any money if the lake can not be used by humans.
Owner's Response: Our Lakehouse provides the opportunity to wake up to a beautiful view of the lake from the upstairs bedroom or, if you choose, a more subdued wakeup in the 1st floor bedroom.

It was unfortunate that during the week this person rented, Mona Lake as well as several other inland lakes in the area had a bad incidence of algae. We offered other alternatives but this renter was not interested. .
Helpful votes: 6/6