Captain Cook house rental - Hale Mele Kohola
Hale Mele Kohola
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Captain Cook House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms - 2 Baths - (Sleeps 2-4)

Watch the sun dip toward the sea painting the skies with orange, pink, red, violet, lavender, and blue, while you are relaxing in an Indonesian sling-back chair on the lanai. Soothing breezes fan the trees sending up scents of plumeria. Soon the evening stars appear and the surf is heard above the hush that follows the setting of the sun. Night has fallen and the coastline is now dotted with lights.

Tomorrow perhaps you will go to the beach a couple of streets below and play in the tidal pools. Or hike along the coast and investigate a cinder cone. Watch whales and dolphins swim by. Or maybe you will go sightseeing or snorkeling and be with the turtles and multi-colored fish. Perhaps you will just stay and read. Or study the original artwork by local and international artists displayed within the house.

For dinner, you might decide to go to one of the restaurants in a nearby town or venture to Kailua for more choices and a little nightlife; although it would be lovely to stay and eat in. The kitchen is well equipped to handle simple to gourmet preparations. Enjoy the dining set made from three hundred year-old roots from a jungle in Thailand. Afterward, sink into one of the sofas and feel the inviting softness of the hand-knotted rug from Tibet under your bare feet. Select a movie to watch from the DVD collection in the teak armoire. Or listen to music played on a high quality stereo/CD player.

Then slip into the cool, comfortable bed and let the sound of the surf and the night wind be your lullaby.

If you can imagine yourself in this peaceful setting, then Hale Mele Kohola is for you.

Keywords: House

More Details
Hide Details

While we were in college we would take day trips either to Shenandoah in Virginia or to Sugarloaf Mountains in Maryland. At other times we would go to Ocean City. We would talk about how wonderful it would be to live in a place where both features existed side by side. When we came to Hawaii we saw that this dream could come true. Our children agreed as they also love the mountains and the sea. Buying an island home to where we could come for rejuvenation has been one of the best decisions of our life.

Nanette and Gary purchased this house in 2003

While in the military, we lived on Oahu for three very short years, then our tour was up and had to go to the next station. Before we left, we did have a chance to visit the Big Island. We had heard that it got cold in Volcano and that the mountains would be snow capped in winter. We were intrigued so we went for a weekend and sure enough, Mauna Kea and Mauna Loa had snow on their peaks! In the morning there was frost on the windows. There are sixteen micro-climates in the world and fourteen are on the Big Island; is that not astounding? You can go from alpine to semi-arid in a matter of a few hours! We fell in love with the Big Island and secretly wished that someday we would return. We liked its slower pace of life. We go on holiday to get away from it all and we can do that here. When we look at the sweeping views of the coastline and the beautiful sunsets and the way the moon shimmers in the water; the schools of dolphins and pods of whales that swim by - all from the vantage point of our lanai, we know that we made the correct decision to buy a vacation rental here.

Hale Mele Kohola offers you all the comforts of your own home, and more!

23 Reviews of Property 209133 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

A Cozy Private Home with Beautiful Coastline Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 23 reviews
business
A Cozy Private Home with Beautiful Coastline Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209133
(330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Albuquerque, NM
5

Hale Mele Kohola

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
This vacation home was a joy... Away from the crowds, cruise ship tourists and malls made for a very relaxing time. The photos do show exactly what the house is but do not show the incredible view from the lanai which is where we spent most of our time. Being close to Two Step beach is great since it is one great place to snorkle and enjoy the beach. The road and driveway was a challenge but made for great power walks up and down. The house is placed so the Volcano and the Kona Brewery are about an hour to hour and 1/2 away in opposite directions giving you a chance to explore north and south. We cooked most of our meals in the great kitchen and ate outside all the time.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
A Cozy Private Home with Beautiful Coastline Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209133
(330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Midland, TX
5

beautiful views & home

beautiful views & home
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
Great home on the Big Island. The house was just as pictured. We started each day on the lanai drinking coffee and ended each evening there with a glass of wine, beautiful views and wonderful sunsets. Nanette was wonderful to work with, she provided lots of information on things to do and see. This was my first experience with VRBO. I will definitely use the service again.

I was a little surprised at the long driving time to and from some of the areas we wanted to see. You will need to allow plenty of travel time when making plans. This house is in a quiet, peaceful area away from the hustle and bustle of city traffic.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: It gives us a warm feeling when our guests have a pleasant time staying in our island home. Our neighborhood is indeed peaceful and quiet which adds to the restfulness of Hale Mele Kohola. We are also glad to have have been part of your first experience in renting a home on the Big Island. Though the driving time seemed long, when you come back it will seem shorter especially as you become more familiar with the area. Mahalo for your stay and we look forward to your return.
business
A Cozy Private Home with Beautiful Coastline Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209133
(330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Auburn, WA
5

Fabulous Stay at Pebble Beach!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We couldn't have asked for a better stay at the wonderful house at Pebble Beach! The house itself was perfect and had everything we needed. The view was great and we watched whales every day. Nanette was a delight to work with, by not only providing information on things to do and see in the area, but also making sure we were okay following the tsunami! We loved going down to the beach every morning and evening, and in particular, enjoyed the little private cove. We would definitely recommend this home for travelers to the Big Island. It was a perfect location for heading south around to the volcano or north to Kailua/Kona and beyond. We have memories from the B.I. that will last a lifetime!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We always like to hear how much our guests enjoyed their stay at Hale Mele Kohola. We strive to maintain it to be comfortable and restful since it is "home away from home." We, too, feel that it is happily situated and within easy distance to many points of interest.
business
A Cozy Private Home with Beautiful Coastline Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209133
(330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Aaahhh!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
From the porch you are treated to an exquisite 30 mile panoramic view. Try that after a day of sightseeing for pure bliss! This home works well as a vacation refuge. The rooms are comfortable, and bathrooms excellent. The kitchen is well stocked and a pleasure to prepare meals in. They have provided for your entertainment needs. Nanette is a pleasure to work with. Big Island is very large and diverse, and well worth the visit.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you found Hale Mele Kohola relaxing and comfortable. We like our guests to feel at home and we make it our goal to create a welcoming and restful atmosphere. Mahalo nui loa for choosing to stay in our island home. We hope to work with you again soon.
business
A Cozy Private Home with Beautiful Coastline Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209133
(330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Watts Valley, California, USA
5

Our Home Base

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We spent 5 nights at Hale Mele Kohola during a recent trip to the Big Island. Once we conquered the challenges of getting down the road and up the driveway, we were rewarded with a great vista from our aerie perch overlooking the Pacific. We appreciated being away from conventional tourist lodgings, and ate all of our meals on the lanai, enjoying the view, the breezes, and the sounds of the surf. This was our "home base" as we went sightseeing on the Kona Coast top to bottom. The high point of our stay was a snorkeling trip to the marine sanctuary at Kealakekua Bay. We also made good use of owner-provided detailed sightseeing information, giving us tips that we would not otherwise have had.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. It was a pleasure to have you as guests at Hale Mele Kohola. We are happy to have been part of your lovely adventure on the Big Island. We look forward to working with you again in the future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Cozy Private Home with Beautiful Coastline Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209133
(330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Carlsbad NM
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
We were here for nine days in January 2010, and can not say enough positive about this rental. It is everything that shows in the photos, and more! We loved the privacy, and view from the lanai. We saw whales everyday. This is a perfect location if you are not into crowds, and yet one can drive literally around the island and see all the sites. The owners were very generous with their time and advice about what we might enjoy doing. More than the usual "rental", this is someones home. Highly recommend staying here.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Cozy Private Home with Beautiful Coastline Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209133
(330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Seattle WA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
New Year 2010: Staying at this lovely house with its wonderful views of the Kona coastline gave us the chance to not only relax, but to explore at close proximity lovely parts of the Big Island that can easily be missed if staying in the busier tourist areas. Eating meals on the lanai and watching the beautiful sunsets was an important part of our holiday! The house has everything you need, but also a lot of lovely extra touches that really make you feel at home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Cozy Private Home with Beautiful Coastline Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209133
(330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Hagatna, Guam
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
This home was exactly what we were looking for in a vacation rental. It was quiet with a fabulous view. The house comes complete with everything you might need. The view is incredible with 180 degree views of the ocean.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Cozy Private Home with Beautiful Coastline Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209133
(330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Alliance, Ohio
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We were blessed to occupy your beautiful vacation home in March,2009.

What a wonderful experience! Your home is beautifully decorated, offers a spectacular view, fully stocked with everything - from exquistive china, beautiful silverware and glasses to steak knives and bottle openers.

We truly enjoyed eating breakfast every morning on the lanai, watching the sunrise and sunset and the serenity of sitting on the lanai reading a book and taking a walk each morning and enjoying the beautiful flowers and landscapes.

We have stayed in other vacation homes and your home is, by far, the best and most reasonable. We highly recommend it.

In summary, your home is a piece of paradise.

Thank you for beautiful memories.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
A Cozy Private Home with Beautiful Coastline Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p209133
(330) 257-8814
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Minocqua, WI
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
Visiting the Big Island has been one of the happiest times of my life so far! Staying at this beautiful home was a huge part of that. It is comfortable and easy to relax and feel at home. The house is stocked with everything one could possibly need. The view is breath taking. The location is perfect - far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet, yet near enough to all the amazing things to see and do! The owners were wonderful to work with. I can't wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 1/1