Honokowai condo rental - THIS IS YOUR VIEW. NO EDITING, NO ZOOM, NO PHOTOSHOP!
THIS IS YOUR VIEW. NO EDITING, NO ZOOM, NO PHOTOSHOP!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights
 

Honokowai Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 bathroom, 1 Sofa bed, sleeps 4

Sunsets, beach, ocean, tranquil, cozy, whales, best value.

Remodeled SEPTEMBER 2013!

*KID READY: Stroller, Pack N' Play, Booster Seat

*BEACH READY: Beach Chairs, Boogie Boards, snorkel kits, Beach Towels, Kid's Beach Toys, Beach Mats, Cooler!!!

If this is what you are looking for, welcome to Maui Paradise Condo! The best place to stay in West Maui. Oceanfront condo.

1. Location, location, location! 20' to the ocean, no walking around the buildings, no busy streets to cross to enjoy the ocean close up. You are staying right on the ocean! 5 minutes to world famous Kaanapali Beach, walking distance to Honokowai shopping center and fun farmers market, 5 minutes south to Kaanapali golf course and 10 minutes north to Kapalua resort.

2. Amazing 180 degree view from the wide 147 sq ft lanai. We have a magnificent view of both neighbor islands of Molokai and Lanai, with comfortable patio furniture to relax and enjoy your meals or a glass of wine in the best seat on the island. You have the perfect combination of the best privacy, stunning views, and soothing ocean sounds on the famous West Maui coast.

For more details see website. www.mauiparadisecondo.net

Breath taking SUNSETS year-round.: During the year the sunsets move back and forth from the islands of LANAI and MOLOKAI. What a sight! Words cannot describe what it is like watching sunsets from your condo right on the beautiful West Maui OCEAN EDGE and with the surrounding Pacific Ocean sound.

WHALES! WHALES! WHALES!: During the season watch the Humpback Whale Shows right from your large lanai as the adult whales teach their babies how to jump and play. No need to even go on a boat to watch for whales!

This condo has been popular for many years and has many happy and satisfied returning annual guests. We recently purchased from the last owner who had great reputation. We have upgraded all of the windows and doors and installed a new air conditioner, wireless with firewall protection. Annual guests will find out the condo now is even better!!

Only four stories high our property is relatively quiet set away from all the high-rise resorts and condominiums. Enjoy the advantage being on the top floor, nothing is between you and the OCEAN! Besides being 5 minutes away from world famous beaches, we also have our own small sandy beach cove that is just to the left of our barbeque area. There is a nice sandy entrance into the water and you will usually find the current in this area quite calm for easy swimming. Enjoy the private snorkeling area right in front of your condo! Explore the incredibly clear waters of the Pacific Ocean where colorful TROPICAL FISH AND SEA TURTLES play!

Be sure to enjoy all the wonderful restaurants in our area. Roy’s is just up the street and considered one of Maui’s best! Or, you may just want a nice relaxing dinner at home. You can barbeque on the OCEAN FRONT and listen to the soothing waves. The best seat on the island for dinner is on your LANAI, enjoying the SUNSET!

NO SMOKING & NO PETS

Keywords: Oceanfront Condo,beach, maui, turtles, whale watching, Amazing views, super clean, Sunsets, Romantic, kid friendly

The Hawaiian GET License # is: W43740339-01.

More Details
Hide Details

This is Julia & Jack's place.

Becky Fuller purchased this condo in 2008

The views! They are amazing! Best on island.

45 Reviews of Property 207842 in Honokowai, Hawaii

BEST VIEWS ON MAUI! HEAR OCEAN IN BED! 5* LUXURY! Turtle watching from lanai!
average rating of 4.5925927 based on 45 reviews
business
BEST VIEWS ON MAUI! HEAR OCEAN IN BED! 5* LUXURY! Turtle watching from lanai!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207842
+1 808 665-5755
Honokowai Maui
California
5

Great Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 19, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We stayed here from May 5 - 17, 2013. It was just wonderful. The view is to die for. We sat on the balcony for hours reading and watching and listening to the ocean. It was so nice to be able to leave the sliding doors open at night and be able to hear the ocean when going to sleep. Cooked in almost every night. Everything we needed, and more, was provided. We snorkeled, drove to Hana and explored the island. The best experience was snorkeling right outside the condo. The turtles are huge and they come right up and swim with you. That alone was worth the stay. It was so much fun to count how many would be there every day. Loved this place!!!! We will definitely be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
BEST VIEWS ON MAUI! HEAR OCEAN IN BED! 5* LUXURY! Turtle watching from lanai!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207842
+1 808 665-5755
Honokowai Maui
Shanghai
5

We loved this Condo! Breathtaking views… Amazing Turtles & Whales… Great Condo

We loved this Condo! Breathtaking views… Amazing Turtles & Whales… Great Condo
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This place was amazing! Even better than the pictures. We have been to many countries in Asia and Europe, Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia, Maldives, Philippines, France, Italy, Spain....etc. We have stayed in many beachfront condos/houses, this condo was a top 3 destination!


You are so close to the ocean. Every day from the balcony we saw sea turtles 3 times a day - breakfast, lunch and dinner. The best time to see the turtles was between noon – 1pm. They were easy to spot because the water was so clear. They actually come to the close reef about 3 feet from the shoreline. Our 2 young boys loved looking for turtles every day. We also spotted whales daily from the balcony. They were so close! No binoculars needed! Talking about the balcony, that was the best spot for dining on the island! Better than any fancy restaurant! We also enjoyed cooking in the ocean-view kitchen, I literally saw whales jumping when I was cooking!

The location of the condo is very central on west Maui. There was a great farmers market down the street on – Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings. You could sample all types of fruits, chips, breads, and dips. There was also a nice park across from the farmers market. Lahaina was 10 minute drive south of the condo where we took a whale watching cruise. The aquarium in Ma'alaea was also very nice. We also enjoyed snorkeling at Honolua bay. The condo was also a 10 minute walk to Ka'anapali beach, the most famous beach on Maui. A great place to surf, snorkel, or just take a long walk on the beach. We did so many things and had so much fun!

The condo was great. It came fully stocked with boogie boards, snorkel kits, beach chairs, cooler…etc. There's plenty of dish and silverware in the full size kitchen. The bed was very comfortable, and we could hear the ocean every night in the bedroom. Our boys slept on the pull-out sofa in the living room and they didn't even have jet lag, the ocean white noise was so soothing! Also this condo was very kid friendly, it came with Pack-and-play, boost chair, beach toys and a nice stroller. It was very nice that we didn't need to travel with that stuff! My husband also enjoyed barbequing on the oceanfront. The sunsets were spectacular every evening. The little beach south of the condo is a great place to enter the ocean to surf, snorkel or swim, or just simply hangout with my kids and look for shells.

We highly recommend this condo and have already booked for next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
BEST VIEWS ON MAUI! HEAR OCEAN IN BED! 5* LUXURY! Turtle watching from lanai!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207842
+1 808 665-5755
Honokowai Maui
Regina, SK, Canada
4

Spectacular View

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Just returned from our trip to Maui and concur with the recent review of this property by juju (except for the sound of the waves which we loved). The views from the unit are spectacular - a great place for happy hour or a nice evening dinner. Also Becky and Steve were really helpful when we ran into a few snags.

The unit is nice but has become a bit 'tired'. I did let Becky know about the rusted air conditioner - so I'd encourage you to ask about it when booking.... as we found the unit to get a bit stuffy without it. We also had troubles with our fresh produce freezing in the fridge. The bathroom was quite clean but would benefit from being updated and sprayed for the tiny bugs.

Overall our stay in Maui was exceptional. We loved the proximity to the beach walk (paved path that took us 1 hour + each way and we are walkers) and couldn't wait for the sea turtles to return each day. The area is very quiet and in close proximity to a variety of services.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: The air conditioner in Kaleialoha Unit 409 has just been completely replaced with a brand new unit. Some recent guests have been adjusting the refrigerator setting to 9. The appropriate setting is 4. If the refrigerator is set too high, some items may freeze. A reminder of this has been placed on the refrigerator in this unit. Just steps from the ocean, Kaleialoha Unit 409 continues to be a favorite rental in this area with many repeat guests. The stunning view from the lanai, which literally sits right on the ocean's edge, and the attention to detail with regard to the decor of this unit keep it booked most days of the year. Guests frequently comment on how fully equipped this unit is, their daily sightings of many turtles right from the lanai and the superb location of this unit. Book early to avoid disappointment.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
BEST VIEWS ON MAUI! HEAR OCEAN IN BED! 5* LUXURY! Turtle watching from lanai!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207842
+1 808 665-5755
Honokowai Maui
Weirton, WV
4

will someday be a best kept secret~

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We stayed in this unit for 5 days. The location is SUPERB!. It was within walking distance to an amazing health food store and farmers market, as well as a super market and some restaurants.

Condo is in a quiet community~ and almost right on top of the ocean. It was almost too close as the ocean was LOUD! We later came to find out we were visiting during an extraordinary high surf advisory for much of our stay. When we walked into the unit, we were disappointed that the bedroom was by the road, but were pleasantly surprised when we didn't hear one car, only the ocean waves at night. What a joy to watch the whales from the balcony, as well as the beautiful sea turtles daily. It rained for a majority of our stay, as even the neighboring islands were hazed over, but I can imagine the sunsets to be spectacular on a normally clear day.
The condo's pool area is beautiful-- looks like it's brand new.
As for the unit~ it was wonderfully stocked with everything you could need- even laundry soap, beach towels, cooler tote bags, even some kitchen condiments and pantry items. Nice newer small kitchen appliances. Wonderful bed linens.
The unit itself is dated. Has very nice new sliding doors, but the carpet does need to go, and the kitchen counter, stove and bathroom tub, specifically, could indeed use a remodel. Once these remodels take place, this will be the best kept secret on the Maui coast. If you're looking for luxury, head to the Ritz up the road, but expect to pay at least 5 times as much, and not have a view of the ocean like this unit provides. For a quiet getaway, this is perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
BEST VIEWS ON MAUI! HEAR OCEAN IN BED! 5* LUXURY! Turtle watching from lanai!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207842
+1 808 665-5755
Honokowai Maui
Albany, Or
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
From our first steps into the unit, we thought they used trick photography in the listing, in pictures the unit looked much larger and more modern. Maybe the photos are old and the unit hasn't aged well. The bathroom was tiny, the shower leaky. The bed in the bedroom was not "heavenly" as the listing states...it was awful, you could feel all the springs and the frame squeaked every time you so much as rolled over. The kitchen is not modern, but was adequate, even though as another reviewer said, froze on one side ruining some of our veggies. The rusted air conditioner blew warm air, thank goodness for the ceiling fans. The sofa sleeper was horrible, we actually put the mattress on the floor, you could still feel all of the springs but at least the bar wasn't in your back. The large sliding doors and the lanai were the redeeming parts of this condo, the lanai was a wonderful whale watching spot while eating breakfast each morning. The grill area, lounge chairs and convenient location were nice. We called Becky when we ran out of soap and tp, she had it restocked within the hour.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
BEST VIEWS ON MAUI! HEAR OCEAN IN BED! 5* LUXURY! Turtle watching from lanai!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207842
+1 808 665-5755
Honokowai Maui
1

Not Great

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I found this condo disappointing. The photos make it seem quite modern and large. The only modern thing is the hardwood furniture. The refrigerator is so old it froze my vegetables and had to be thrown out, the microwave looks like one of the original ones which could cook a 20lb turkey, the lighting is so poor you cannot read in bed and the bathtub leaks unless the dollar store shower curtain in tucked in tightly. This condo is appropriate for older people or those expecting the likes of an inexpensive motel. Paula 11/2012
Owner's Response: Our guests' satisfaction is of vital importance to this owner and me (the property manager). Therefore, we encourage our guests to contact us directly should they have any needs or concerns. I live only five minutes away from this unit and can respond immediately. When contacted by this guest for additional supplies, I responded to that guest within minutes of receiving the message. In fact, I received a thank you message from this guest indicating that she appreciated my quick response. I did not hear anything about the unit itself from this guest until well after her departure. It is unfortunate that this guest did not attempt to communicate with me during her stay if she was not completely satisfied with this unit. I have personally received a wide variety of positive feedback after our guests have stayed in this unit. The refrigerator (while perhaps not the newest state-of-the-art model) is a standard unit for a high-end rental condominium, as is the microwave. We sincerely regret that this guest's satisfaction was not met. This unit has a reputation of having repeat guests that have had a pleasant experience both in the unit and on this property. Our guests frequently let us know that the reason they ultimately chose to stay with us was the promptness in our responses, our attention to detail and our full disclosure with regard to fees, views and the like.
Helpful votes: 3/7
business
BEST VIEWS ON MAUI! HEAR OCEAN IN BED! 5* LUXURY! Turtle watching from lanai!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207842
+1 808 665-5755
Honokowai Maui
Fresno, California
5

Great Vacation Condo!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
My family of four arrived in Maui on 9/3/12 and stayed at the Westin Ocean Resort and Villa's for the first 5 days. We then moved over to the 409 condo and found it to be fabulous. The lanai view of the ocean was more than we could ever expect. We saw turtles the first day and every day of our stay there. Our 10 year old twins loved this place for the pool and ocean access. BBQing at the condo was great and the property was very clean and visitors at other condo's so nice to talk to. I am so glad we found this condo as it really made our vacation to Maui extra special. We hope to return next year and stay the entire time at this condo.

Our special thanks to Becky for making our trip easy and answering all our questions. That makes a big difference when planning a trip from so far away. Thanks Becky!
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
BEST VIEWS ON MAUI! HEAR OCEAN IN BED! 5* LUXURY! Turtle watching from lanai!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207842
+1 808 665-5755
Honokowai Maui
Hartford, CT
5

Loved our stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Had a fantastic time on our honeymoon staying at this condo. Most of the other reviews are right on with what they have to say. Unit is modern with all the kitchen amenities (plates, knives, glasses). There is a dishwasher, stove, microwave and washer/dryer. A/C in the unit cooled things off nicely but never needed it in the bedroom if we opened all the windows. The fresh, ocean air was awesome.

The view off the lanai is unbelievable. We sat out there most days and just watched the water and of course all of the turtles! I think we counted 9 total at one time. The snorkeling right out front is decent. We usually spent 2 hours a day or so out there just swimming around. I imagine there are better reefs in the area but to not have to deal with the crowds and parking - I'll take this spot every time! There really isn't a "beach" to go to as the sandy portion of the area comes and goes with the tide but there are tons of beach chairs on the ledge that you can use and then just walk down into the water when you are hot!

Good food options in the area (Ono Tacos the best!) and pretty close to Lahaina for shopping etc. There is a grocery store down the road and an ABC store in the area. We went to COSTCO right next to the airport and stocked up on breakfast/lunch food for the week and then went out for dinner every night.

My only real complaint, and it's not really a big deal, was that we never heard from the booking agent or the owners the whole time we were there. Again, not really an issue - just thought someone would like to say hi!!! :-)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
BEST VIEWS ON MAUI! HEAR OCEAN IN BED! 5* LUXURY! Turtle watching from lanai!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207842
+1 808 665-5755
Honokowai Maui
Sacramento, CA
4

Awesome view!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My fiance and I spent a week at this condo to celebrate our birthdays and recent engagement. We had a fantastic trip and enjoyed our stay at the Kaleialoha. I've been to Maui several times and stayed in different condos and this by far had the best ocean view! Everyone in the building was friendly and we had the pleasure of meeting many residents and other vacationers when we attended the condo association's annual potluck with hula dancers, live music and terrific food.

The unit does have a washer/dryer (which was great!) and a window a/c unit which cooled things down nicely. We were impressed with the well stocked kitchen and plenty of towels. We could have used an extra blanket which we were unable to find.

Overall we had a fantastic vacation!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
BEST VIEWS ON MAUI! HEAR OCEAN IN BED! 5* LUXURY! Turtle watching from lanai!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207842
+1 808 665-5755
Honokowai Maui
Desert Southwest
5

Great location, awesome turtles! Oceanfront bliss.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
This place was just perfect for us. Very quiet complex, with friendly owners and other renters. The photos were accurate and we knew exactly what to expect, which is always a bonus.

Communications with the rental agent were prompt and helpful, the check in procedure was flawless and easy.

The unit really had everything we could need. Plenty of towels and enough tp and paper towels, etc. so that was one less thing to buy. We didn't have occasion to use the stroller and pack n play (thank God we're past that) but great to see them available! Also there were a couple of coolers, a beach umbrella and a basic snorkel set (we ended up renting).

Super-well-stocked kitchen with great knife set, plenty of plates, and the appliances all worked as they were supposed to. All the basics (salt, pepper, oil, sugar) were there as well, which was great. We didn't use the tv or dvd player, but they were new and nice. Also, a Bose ipod dock. Nice touch!

There is a large gas grill available, as well as two charcoal grills. The gas grill was in high demand when we were there, but everyone was very friendly and accommodating and shared space so everyone got their steak on time! There were always beach chairs available.

As other reviewers have noted, the turtles come to the rocks every afternoon to feast on the seaweed growing on the rocks, and you have a better view than I've had on multiple trips to Turtle Town on boats. Truly amazing. At one point we counted 8 turtles, all just hanging out for hours, a few feet away.

The building shares the beach access with the place next door, so while there is a small beach at low tide, and the water is accessible at any time, it is NOT like Kaanapali Beach where you can walk for miles. (Though that's certainly not far away.) Snorkeling isn't bad from this beach, but again, it's not fabulous.

The mattress was comfortable, but we ended up sleeping in the living room on the pullout most nights, to hear the waves. If the owners ever redo the main living area, a futon might be more comfortable than the sleeper sofa ... i bet a lot of visitors end up sleeping in the living room!

The neighborhood was nice - very walkable and I'd say half residential, half vacation condos. Plate lunch and cafe a couple of blocks away, super ABC store and grocery store a bit further, still within walking distance.

Thanks for a great stay!!!
Helpful votes: 8/8