Palm Springs house rental - Sparkling Saltwater Pool and Spa
Sparkling Saltwater Pool and Spa
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Palm Springs House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedroom, 3 Bathroom, sleeps 8

Knock down Mountain Views towering behind the house! Stretch out by the saltwater pool and grab a drink- and get ready for serious rest, relaxation and fun! This Palm Springs Alexander was taken down to the studs and restored to its original splendor... Super nice and cool- home was once owned by Oscar nominee Jackie Cooper. Walls of glass and the dead-on mountain views- the ultimate in California indoor/outdoor living. The house offers everything imaginable outside- supercool firepit lounge for you to relax and enjoy the beautiful views at night, an outdoor BBQ island right off the kitchen. The kitchen window opens up all the way so you can connect the outdoor BBQ area to the indoors kitchen- making it one seamless indoor outdoor experience. This house truly offers the best in California outdoor living. Simple, Elegant, FUN!

The classic MidCentury open style of this Alexander makes it a perfect entertaining space. The kitchen and dining area connect to the great room with vaulted exposed beam ceilings, 56' wall-mounted TV, a huge circular couch, large windows with incredible Mountain Views and several sliding glass doors providing an abundance of light inside this hip desert retreat. Bring your Ipod and plug into the home sound system You’ll find the kitchen well stocked with anything you might need to enjoy and have a great time.

The 4 bedrooms comfortably furnished with Queen beds, fresh linens and alarm clocks with Ipod docks. All have their own TV. Two bedrooms have their own private patio space with chairs to relax among the fruit trees. Ensuite baths for the two master suites at opposite ends of the bedroom wing. The bathrooms are new and updated with Skylights and windows to keep things light and bright.

Every last detail of this house is brand new; new bathrooms, new kitchen with stainless appliances and ceaser stone counter tops, new salt water pool and spa.

The views, from inside and out, don't get any better than this.

The location is terrific, walking distance to downtown Palm Springs and the famous Palm Canyon Drive Strip. People are attracted to the neighborhood for the same attributes that made it popular originally. Vista Las Palmas is close to downtown -- 15 minutes by foot -- yet feels remote because it lacks streetlights and through traffic, has all utility lines buried, and is in the shadow of the San Jacinto Mountains.

Residents love gazing at the hills, which provide the neighborhood with an awesome backdrop. You wake up and see the mountains and your pool. Imagine back in the heyday when Jackie Cooper owned this house- Think that Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., and Frank Sinatra could have cavorted out by the pool... Peter Lawford's open-beamed home is in Vista Las Palmas- imagine Marilyn Monroe stopping by -- and so, people say, did Jack Kennedy.

NOTE: WE DO NOT ADVERTISE ON CRAIGSLIST. IF YOU ARE CORRESPONDING WITH SOMEONE IT IS A SCAM

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up in and Eichler in Northern California and love Mid Century Modern Architecture. Palm Spring has always had a strong pull for me and I enjoy coming down as much as possible.

Margaret Healy purchased this house in 2006

Vista Las Palmas has a wonderful history and the best views in Palm Springs. When I found this house was in a sad state. It had been remodeled into a Spanish Style Adobe in the 80's and had sat partially demo'd for over a year before I bought it. It took the work of a talented architect to see the true Alexander bones underneath all the mess. I am proud to have brought her back to life- and still can't get over the Mountain Views.

This house isn't a rental- it's my dream home. I like to share it with others who will enjoy it as much as I do. The location is awesome too.

35 Reviews of Property 207373 in Palm Springs, California

Incredible Mountain Views Vista Las Palmas All New Alexander
average rating of 4.9714284 based on 35 reviews
business
Incredible Mountain Views Vista Las Palmas All New Alexander
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207373
650 787 4683
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is our second year staying at Vista Las Palmas. Just beautiful, hard to leave the house and go into town. The house is wonderfully decorated with plenty of room for everyone to relax. The pool area is peaceful and we can't say enough about the view, spectacular mountains surround the backyard. We feel lucky to be able to stay in our own little paradise in Palm Springs when we visit. And the arrangements couldn't have been easier, just love the owner.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Incredible Mountain Views Vista Las Palmas All New Alexander
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207373
650 787 4683
Palm Springs California Desert
San Diego, CA
5

Best Girls Weekend Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 0009
  • Stayed: May 2013
I can not think of one single critical thing to say about this house. Clean, spacious, fully stocked, a perfect pool, spectacular view, and the best outdoor fire pit I've ever seen. We had a girls' weekend here and had all kinds of plans for dinners, drinks, and shopping out and about in Palm Springs. However....except for quick trips to the airport, we didn't end up leaving the house ONE time! We couldn't get enough of it!!

Now it's not hard to find a beautiful Palm Springs rental but what made this house stand out for me is Margaret, the owner. She was so incredibly easy to work with - kind and professional. She really went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect.

One warning: there is apparently some nasty scam going on that has unfortunately targeted this house. So do not rent this house from craigslist - that listing is phony. We had a little family show up thinking they had also rented the house for the weekend. Margaret was quick to help though. So just rent it from VRBO and it will be fine!

Summary: Paradise!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Incredible Mountain Views Vista Las Palmas All New Alexander
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207373
650 787 4683
Palm Springs California Desert
Seattle, WA
5

Wonderful house! Fantastic week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted:
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We staye here for a week with 2 other young families. The house was fantastic and we hardly left! The pool, hot tub, and firepit were well enjoyed during our week. The kitchen and grill were perfect and had everything we needed. The house in general worked great for adults and kids - looks just like the pictures. It was the perfect mod oasis for our vacation. We couldn't have asked for a better sunny retreat! Highly recommend the house and the neighborhood!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incredible Mountain Views Vista Las Palmas All New Alexander
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207373
650 787 4683
Palm Springs California Desert
portland, oregon
5

Fantastic Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We have been renting apartments/houses/villas since our kids were little, and we are still doing it now that they are 18 and 22. For the price of a very nice hotel room, you get a fantastic house-so long as you pick the right house. This is the "right" house for Palm Springs. We are repeat renters and we will continue to rent it each spring (as by spring the winters of Portland-and its lack of sun-have sapped our souls and we need someplace sunny and warm to visit). I'm reticent about praising this house too much as I want it available to come back to each year. The listing fairly captions the property and the photos are good-though as is often the case, the reality of the place is better than the photos depict. The house's location cannot be beat. It sits on Rose in Old Las Palmas and you can walk to restaurants if so inclined. The back yard has fantastic views of the mountains and the sunsets. The stupendous view is realized in the house's living room, eating area, kitchen and master bedroom so one never closes a blind. The house has a large living room, dining area and kitchen which has every amenity, and everything you require to cook at home. It is very well equipped. The living room has a large mounted plasma TV and a gas fireplace. One of the things that makes this house so special is its size and the luxury of space. Now that my "kids" are young adults, we all have the occasional need for some time to ourselves in our own private space. All 4 bedrooms are spacious with wall mounted, large tvs and each has a queen sized bed. All have decent wi-fi. All 4 bedrooms are great so there is no quibbling over who gets what room. The master and one other bedroom have en suite baths and there is another full bath for the other two bedrooms. In our case, my wife and I had the master and each kid had a bedroom and bath so everyone was happy. The 2 bedrooms that do not have a bathroom of their own do each have a private patio just outside the door of each bedroom. Very nice! Perhaps the most remarkable thing about the house is the gorgeous, private backyard w/its stunning mountain views, a large heated saltwater pool, a spa/hot tub, and an outdoor gas fireplace. This place is very special! Al in all this is an incredible property owned by a remarkably smart and responsive owner who has had the good sense to hire an absolute gem of an on site property manager who is always just a phone call away. I highly recommend this property. It was the perfect trip.
Helpful votes: 4/5
business
Incredible Mountain Views Vista Las Palmas All New Alexander
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207373
650 787 4683
Palm Springs California Desert
portland, oregon
5

Fantastic property, owner, and manager all add up to a great vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We have been renting apartments/houses/villas since our kids were little, and we are still doing it now that they are 18 and 22. For the price of a very nice hotel room, you get a fantastic house-so long as you pick the right house.This is the "right" house for Palm Springs. We are repeat renters and we will continue to rent it each spring (as by spring the winters of Portland-and its lack of sun-have sapped our souls and we need someplace sunny and warm to visit). I'm reticent about praising this house too much as I want it available to come back to each year.
The vrbo listing fairly captions the property and the photographs are good-though as is often the case, the reality of the place is better than the photos depict. The house's location cannot be beat. It sits on Rose in Old Las Palmas and you can walk to restaurants if so inclined. The backyard has fantastic views of the mountains and sunsets. The stupendous view is realized in the house's living room, eating area, kitchen and master bedroom so one never closes a blind.
The house has a large living room, dining area and kitchen which has every amenity, and everything you require to cook at home. It is very well equipped. The living room has a large mounted plasma tv and a gas fireplace.
One of the things that makes this house so special is its size and the luxury of space. Now that my "kids" are young adults, we all have the occasional need for some time to ourselves in our own private space. All 4 bedrooms are spacious with wall mounted, large tvs and each has a queen sized bed. All have decent wi-fi. All 4 bedrooms are great so there is no quibbling over who gets what room. The master and one other bedroom have en suite baths and there is another full bath for the other two bedrooms. In our case, my wife and I had the master and each kid had a bedroom and bath so everyone was happy. The 2 bedrooms that do not have a bathroom of their own do each have a private patio just outside the door of each bedroom. Very nice!
Perhaps the most remarkable thing about the house is the gorgeous, private backyard w/its stunning mountain views, a large heated saltwater pool, a spa/hot tub, and an outdoor gas fireplace. This place is very special!
All in all this is an incredible property owned by a remarkably smart and responsive owner who has had the good sense to hire an absolute gem of an on site property manager who is always just a phone call away. I highly recommend this property. It was the perfect trip
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Incredible Mountain Views Vista Las Palmas All New Alexander
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207373
650 787 4683
Palm Springs California Desert
California
5

BEAUTIFUL home in Palm Springs' best neighborhood!

BEAUTIFUL home in Palm Springs' best neighborhood!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The pictures don't do this place justice...it is AMAZING! Huge bedrooms, great kitchen and living area - relaxing fountains and an incredible back yard with pool and hot tub. Not to mention the outdoor fireplace(stunning!) and grill;area....we didn't want to leave! Plenty of room to spread out and enjoy! Views of the mountains are breathtaking, especially when the sun rises. You actually feel like you are a part of the "old Hollywood" movie star gang staying here - the home has been remodeled to perfection.
Walking distance to GREAT Palm Springs restaraunts and shopping. Short drive to grocery, Aerial Tramway and Outlet Mall. We wanted to go check out Palm Desert while we were there, but the group didn't want to leave the house -instead we hung out by the pool, soaked up the sunshine and marveled at how lucky we were to be there! The owner is great and just a phone call away if you need anything. We hope to come back and stay at "Rose"......again and again!!!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Incredible Mountain Views Vista Las Palmas All New Alexander
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207373
650 787 4683
Palm Springs California Desert
5

Live like a movie star!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We rented this house for the month of December 2012. It is not very often when the actual house is better than the pictures! We enjoyed ourselves immensely and the service and help provided by the homeowner was just as you would receive at a Five Star resort.
If you are looking for a perfect getaway for the family or just yourself, this is the place.

Thanks Again,
We will be back.

Craig
(Calgary ,Alberta, Canada)
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Incredible Mountain Views Vista Las Palmas All New Alexander
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207373
650 787 4683
Palm Springs California Desert
-
5

Wonderful weekend escape!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We planned a girls weekend escape to Palm Springs for our 50th birthday trip for 5 of us. We have very high standards and after looking at many VRBO houses online we knew this would be perfect for our group. The house was exactly as the pictures looked online and we certainly would return again. Loved the mid century design, decor and perfect set up for the 5 of us. The backyard space was awesome with the spectacular mountain views, spa, privacy and we loved roasting marshmallows over the fire pit. Great location too as we did the premium outlets, explored downtown Palm Springs and then so close to the airport. We have all been to PS before and all agreed we would stay at this location again. TIPS: bring your iPod as there is a great sound system in the house to play music, dine at TRIO and if you shop too much go to Goodwill and buy a cheap suitcase to bring it all home. We do that every time. We certainly suggest you stay at this super cool home!!
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to your next visit!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Incredible Mountain Views Vista Las Palmas All New Alexander
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207373
650 787 4683
Palm Springs California Desert
Washington, DC
5

Beautiful home, amazing views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
When I visit Palm Springs, my priorities are peace, quiet, views, and a decent pool / spa. Modern architecture and furnishings are also essential. This home and the Vista Las Palmas neighborhood were perfect: you're just one street away from the mountains, and the views in every direction are stunning, no matter what the time of day or night. The back yard is your own, private oasis. The logistics for arriving and departing were straightforward, and all the equipment inside was clearly explained. There's even a laptop and a printer that you can use to print your boarding pass (sad is it was to leave). Although I was there on my own, the house itself could comfortably accommodate up to four couples.

The view from the master bedroom is so amazing that you'll be tempted to never get out of bed. But force yourself, if only to spend more time in the yard by the pool. And although it will be a tough choice, leave the house from time to time to go hiking at Joshua Tree or to visit the Indian Canyons -- the spa and the pool will be waiting for you to relax in when you return.
Owner's Response: Thanks JTM! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Incredible Mountain Views Vista Las Palmas All New Alexander
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207373
650 787 4683
Palm Springs California Desert
Simi Valley, CA
4

Recent stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Lovely house and pool area. Nice, well-stocked kitchen. Visitors should bring lounge chairs as only 3 were available. Also, don't plan on sleeping in as b/r's do not have window coverings. My girl friends and I had wonderful weather during our long weekend but wished the spa had been in working order for the evenings. Great fire pit area for enjoying a glass on wine when the sun sets. Nice, quiet neighborhood, close to downtown.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/4