Gatlinburg cabin rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Gatlinburg Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Cabin, 4 Bedrooms + Sleeping Porch, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 9-12)

*LAKE FRONT LOG CABIN:

'MUST SEE VIDEO AT BOTTOM OF PAGE UNDER CALENDAR'

You have found a spacious and beautifully decorated log cabin on beautiful Douglas Lake. The Pioneer offers the best of both worlds...A LAKE AND MOUNTAIN VACATION!

Stay at the beautifully appointed, Pioneer Trading Post, located just 17 miles from Dollywood and only 30 minutes from Gatlinburg and the National Park.

*5 BEAUTIFULLY DECORATED BEDROOMS:

Each room has it's special own special charm and appeal. You will find 100% cotton sheets, feather pillows and authentic hand stitched quilts for the feel you only get at Granny’s house.

*YOU HAVE A 4 ACRE PRIVATE PENINSULA TO YOURSELF:

The house sits on a 4-acre wooded peninsula surrounded by calming waters of Douglas Lake. Parents can relax knowing their kids are always within ear-shot on the 4 acre gentle sloping peninsula.

*3.5 BATHROOMS

There is a large, modern two- person shower; three claw footed tubs with showers, two outdoor showers and a 6-person hot tub over looking the lake.

*SCREENED IN SLEEPING PORCH

There is also a screened in sleeping porch with an antique 3/4 bed and a sitting area.

APPALACHIAN CULTURE AND HISTORY:

The home was built by the first American settlers to the region. Each log was hand hewn. You will find early American chestnut walls and ceilings, vintage oak and heart pine floors, spinning wheels, church pews and butter churns, pie safes, cedar chests and family antiques throughout, yet with all the amenities of plush modern living. The Pioneer is a living museum to Appalachian history.

*A REAL CHEFS DREAM:

The kitchen is a chef’s dream with a 6 burner gas stove, a full range of modern cookware, Stainless steel refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, Carrera marble counter tops and a 7’ antique porcelain sink. If you like to cook, you won’t find better appointed kitchen. The Pioneer includes an arsenal of stocked spices and some fresh herbs on the grounds.

*AN OUTDOOR KITCHEN AND DINING AREA OVERLOOKING LAKE:

*TOTEM POLE:

Pull up a seat next to the fireplace and study the vintage hand-carved totem pole made by Chief Blue Cloud of the Cherokee Nation as a gift to the family.

*NATURE:

Enjoy the foot-trail around the woodland property and lovely landscaping with many secluded sitting areas with swings and hammocks to sit or lay back and take a load off. There is a fire pit as well as a yoga/ camping platform. Watch for deer and fall asleep listening to the song of rare whippoorwills.

*AMENITIES:

46-inch flat screen TV with stereo, DVD, I pod connection, XM Radio and Wi-Fi connection. In the poker room you will find a smaller 27-inch TV with DVD.

Wrap around decks, large stainless steel BBQ, Fire pit, central heat and air, on demand water heater, ADT security system, gate, Jacuzzi Hot Tub overlooking the lake, boat launch area and plenty of parking.

GATEWAY TO THE GREAT SMOKY MOUNTAINS:

The Pioneer is located in a rural setting on beautiful Douglas Lake in Sevierville, TN., just 15 minutes from Hwy 66 which is the gateway to the national park, Sevierville, Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. Skip the traffic and take the back-roads and short cuts from the Pioneer to surrounding attractions. (Maps will be provided).

HANDICAP ACCESSIBLE and KID FRIENDLY RANCH STYLE LAYOUT:

With ramps and wrap around decks, it easily accessible to the elderly, handicapped and small children.

Keywords: log cabin, mountains, lake, private, honeymoon, special, family vacation, romantic getaway, Smoky Mountains, fishing, boating,

More Details
Hide Details

We love the great outdoors. Our family really enjoys good food and coming together around the large harvest table at the Pioneer. The kitchen is very large and this is where we spend most of our time together.

Parents can relax knowing their kids are always within ear-shot on the 4 acre gentle sloping peninsula. The boys love to waterski, fish and hang out around the camp fire.

This was once our Grandmother's home. Granny knew the Smoky Mountains like the back of her hand. She knew just about every thing that grew in the woods and what it was used for. The building techniques of the Early American settlers have last to this day. Each log is a work of art.

Guest get to experience a glimmer of what life might have looked like during the early 1800's, but with all the comforts of modern living. Guests get the pleasure of staying in a real home that was full of love and music...you feel it right at home as soon as you walk in the door. Staying at the Pioneer is like having the best of both worlds. You have the lake shore vacation that is within easy driving distance of the mountains and all the action of Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg.

36 Reviews of Property 207299 in Gatlinburg, Tennessee

**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
average rating of 4.9 based on 36 reviews
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wonderful

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Wonderful cabin, wonderful weather, wonderful Dobi! I can't wait to come back again! The cabin is so thoughtfully curated, I loved exploring it. We miss Dobi already.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

I knew I would Love it!

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My name is Erin. I had a great time here. At first I was a little nervous, but when I saw the lake view I knew I would love it here.

Our family celebrated Thanksgiving dinner with our great aunt Mary Louis. (I never met her before.) Then the next day we went to Dollywood! I was kind of mad because I only got to ride 3 rides :( But they were great!

Dobi is the sweetest dog ever. My sis and I took him on walks. It will be so sad to see his eyes when we leave! But all in all , this trip was awesome!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Top Vacation Spot

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My family and I enjoyed the cabin a lot . Since we had Thanksgiving here, we had family come to celebrate. We ate , built a campfire, hiked the lake, watched tv and simply loved the cabin. Its one of my top ten vacation places. I hope we can visit and again in sometime.

Also Dobi was the sweetest dog I've ever met. He was a terrific host and I enjoyed walking him on the lake. We even fed him some thanksgiving table scraps! :)

I love this place and I hope we come again soon.

Our thanks,
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
blairsville, pa.
5

amazing property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The property is just beautiful. My husband and I, children and grandchildren had a wonderful week at the cabin. The pictures display it honestly. However, the surrounding towns leading up to the Smokey Mountain National Park were over-developed and commercial. This was the only disappointment. If you are there for the shops and shows you will love the locale.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Chery, We're so glad you appreciated the cabin's uniqueness. It is a very special place especially with its proximity to everything in the area. We hope you'll come back. Thanks again for choosing The Pioneer!
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Ohio
5

Amazing cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our entire group loved this cabin. It has so much personality and a great antique feel to it. Everyone loved Dobi and was so excited to see him every morning. We will definitely be coming back in the future. Thanks for such a great stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Wes! Glad you enjoyed the cabin. Please return anytime! It sounds like you had a great time.
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Tennessee
5

Beautiful Cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Well, this was my first time renting from VRBO. I must say, Sarah made the process very easy and was always very responsive to all my questions! Thank you Sarah! :)
The cabin is beautiful! It is like stepping back in time, but you also have some nice modern ammenities. You could really feel all of the history of the cabin. The back deck overlooking the lake was awesome, would definatley love to go back during the summer to see the lake full!
Our overall experience was great, but there were a couple of minor issues. The biggest issue was the sulphur water, the smell was pretty bad - I did contact Sarah and she sent someone over to treat the water, we didn't notice a big difference, but we were only there for the weekend, so we had a short stay. The other issue would be that the main bath (with the large 2 person shower) did not have a lock on the door and the windows and back door to the deck do not leave you any privacy. Since we were there with a large group - it was a little challenging. All in all, great weekend spent with family, great cabin that was cozy and we made some great memories. I would recommend it, and would love to stay again! Hopefully our next stay will be longer so we can enjoy it even more. Thanks for sharing your grandmother's home with us - it is definately a special place!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're so sorry our water system was not functioning properly during your stay. Its an unfortunate circumstance of the end of the high season. We have asked our staff to periodically check the water filtration system, but have reminded them to be extra conscientious of this during the busy season. We appreciate your suggestions for the bathroom door and windows. Its always good to have another perspective on the cabin's set-up.
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
5

Best rustic vacation spot with friends and family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
We have stayed here multiple times over the years. Each time this home was full of history, charm, and warmth. The facility was always immaculate and well kept. Everything here is in its own perfect little place. We always rent a pontoon boat, keep it overnight on the included gorgeous dock owned by the pioneer property. It makes the stay a real adventure. Now that we have been there multiple times, we know every road in and out. I truly love this property and will always hold it close to my heart. I recommend this to anyone looking for a cabin on Douglas lake.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
5

August Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
My family absolutely loved this location and the cabin was perfect for our every need. THe house was very comfortable and private. The location on the lake was also quiet and perfect. Being within a close proximity to Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge was great to keep the kids occupied.
We intend on returning to this rental in the future.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
5

2012 Tennesee Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
What can I say except we loved every moment we stayed at the cabin. My sister and her two children joined my husband, son and I for a week of Tennessee relaxation. This property was everything stated and more. We are all dog lovers and to have Dobi join us each day was an unexpected pleasure. What a truly great dog. We did rename him for the week "RD" a/k/a Rental Dog! My son wanted to bring him home, but we believe Dobi has a great life and receives a ton of love right where he is. He does like to "try" to come inside so you must be mindful of that, he likes to pull on the screen doors, but you just tell him no and he goes and lays down. If you don't mind having a dog around, he will hang with you by the hot tub, he will go swimming with you,he will play with your kids, etc. He does have a rather pungent odor of dog however, so a bath would be great. We thought of it but never remembered doggie wash.
As for the cabin amenities, everything was as stated. The house does not feel as though it belongs to someone else or that it is rental. Everyone in our party felt completely at home and comfortable being at the cabin. We absolutely loved the primitive nature of the cabin, the location was excellent, the eclectic artsy feel to the place made it soothing to the soul. You really felt as if you were at your Granny's house.
We cooked our meals and ate outside every night; swam off the dock every day morning and night and all around enjoyed everything this property had to offer us. It is an easy spot to get to Pigeon Forge if you are so inclined or to everything the Smokies have to offer. We all left relaxed and rejuvenated ready to head back to our stressful jobs and school. We definitely plan on coming back to this cabin again. I would highly recommend it to anyone who loves houses that are quirky and comfy. And if you don't like dogs, well you are missing out on an extra special soul named Dobi a/k/a RD.
The property is quiet, well maintained, easy access to lake, easy access to local amenities, you really do not need to bring anything other than food, drinks, lake towels, floats, cooler. Beds are fairly comfortable for now, twin bed should probably be replaced sooner rather than later. Stairs to loft are a bit steep for small ones. This property is better suited to families with 8+ kids, I think small children could have some challanges.
We will definitely be back! Thank you for sharing this amazing home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Stacey for your rave review. We're glad you appreciate Dobi and didn't mind his old dog smell. We urge guests if they are bothered by Dobi to call our neighbor who will keep him inside. We will add replacing the twin bed matteress to our "to do list". Your review will be very helpful to future gets. Thanks!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
**AMAZING CABIN** LIKE NO OTHER, PRIVATE COVE & 4 ACRE PENINSULA
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p207299vb
+1 8283373362
Gatlinburg Tennessee
Indianapolis, Indiana
5

Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
What a great place to spend our parent's 50th Wedding Anniversary with the whole family! You can feel the history, culture, and warmth that resides here. There is so much to explore inside and out. It's like stepping back in time and reminded me of my grandparent's cottage up on Lake Freeman in Indiana but even better. We cooked in the vintage kitchen, spent time out on the deck, in the hot tub, and down at the dock. My sister and her husband brought their kayaks so we could kayak right off of the floating dock. We even had our own dog for the week, Dobi. We couldn't wait for him to greet us each day. Thanks for making this our home away from home. A place to relax but not too far away from all of the activities in Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg. We hope to be back soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Thank you Shelley! Great to hear you had a great time and appreciate how special The Pioneer is to enjoy. Please come back and thanks for providing your review!
Helpful votes: 3/3