Pinehurst house rental - Glass foyer entrance, terrazzo floors, redwood ceilings. Mid-Century Modern WOW!
Glass foyer entrance, terrazzo floors, redwood ceilings. Mid-Century Modern WOW!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Pinehurst House Rental Photos and Description
House - 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s) - 2 Baths - (Sleeps 4-8)

Totally private, sprawling, one level Mid-Century Modern three bedroom two bath home, on two woodsy and beautifully landscaped acres of 50 year old azaleas and camelias in Southern Pines, NC. You can’t see any neighbors - its like being in the country, yet minutes to the heart of town. Totally quiet and peaceful, a bird lovers paradise.

Top of the Hill was built in 1958 and designed by Thomas Hayes, an architect who taught at NC State at the time. It is featured in www.trianglemodernisthomes.com as an example of North Carolina mid-century modern architecture.

Furnished unlike any vacation rental house with four generations of family antiques and quality beds, sofas and upholstered pieces.

Cooks will be delighted by the large and very well equpped kitchen and library of cookbooks.

This is my second home and as such it reflects my interests in design, architecture, gardening, cooking, entertaining and living well. I hope you enjoy it as I do!

The main living areas have original redwood shiplap ceilings and terrazzo floors. The living room has a wall of glass providing stunning views of the Pines, deck, gardens and sky.

The kitchen in all new and equipped for the serious cook or entertainer and every convenience for guests on the go. The laundry room has new front loading washer and dryer.

The foyer has glass walls that create a space that seperates the bedroom wing from the bedroom wing, and a view of a Japanese garden.

The dining room seats 6-8 and opens to a side patio with propane grill.

The bedroom wing is carpeted, each bedroom is very well furnished and equipped with every convenience. The beds are all high quality and linens are provided.

The grounds are stunning with 50-plus year old plantings by a Landscape Architect who worked with Thomas Hayes. There is a hammock, a bocci set, a big deck with dining table and lounge chairs.

There are two drives, one to the garage (garage no included) and the other very large drive for guests proving parking for ten or more cars for a party.

This home has just been repainted inside and redecorated with valuable family antiques. I am only interested in sharing my home with people who will respect it and treat it with care.

Big living room with Terrazzo floors, flat screen TV with Bose sound, cable and DVD system and a wall of glass looking out on big deck with lounge chairs and a dining table and chairs with umbrella. Huge yard, mature gardens full of 50 year old azaleas, camellias, magnolias and other lush southern plants, surrounded by pine forest. Enormous fireplace. Formal dining room seats six to eight, looking out on separate patio with gas grill. New fully equipped kitchen including 6 burner stove, microwave, refrigerator and ice maker. Three bedrooms including one with queen beds and one with a double bed separated by full bath with combination tub and shower and dual sinks. The third bedroom has a queen bed and adjoining hall bath

Top of the Hill is a unique,stylish and fun property located minutes to Broad Street, (the main street of Southern Pines) where there are many excellent restaurants and shops, and ten minutes to the center of Pinehurst Village.

More Details
Hide Details

I am a Fort Lauderdale native and a Realtor in that area. My family is from coastal North Carolina. Top of the Hill is my second home. I recently furnished it with family antiques, art, books and other beautiful and valuable things not usually found in vacation rental homes. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Rob Rose purchased this house in 2006

I love the smalll town atmosphere of Southern Pines which was founded as a resort town after the Civil War. Of course the big draw here is golf, but for me, being an hour from a major city (Raleigh) and hours from the beach and the mountains makes this ideal

It surprises most people that North Carolina has the third largest concentration of Mid-Century houses in the US after California and Illinois. This is thanks to the design school of NC State that attracted architects and landscape architects of Modernism to thier faculty starting in the 1950's. This home was designed by Thomas Hayes, one of those Architects and is a true gem of its period. I love the mix of 50's modern with antiques. Watching the sun come up behind the Pines through the wall of glass in the living room is heaven to me!

18 Reviews of Property 202380 in Pinehurst, North Carolina

Top of the Hill, Private Mid-Century Modern One Level Frank Lloyd Wright Style
average rating of 4.9 based on 18 reviews
business
Top of the Hill, Private Mid-Century Modern One Level Frank Lloyd Wright Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202380
(954) 328-9700 (Florida, USA)
Pinehurst North Carolina Piedmont
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Great home for families or a golfing group.

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
It's like a home in the woods- very private and quiet. One evening, at sunset, I returned to the house and noticed a 10 point buck just relaxing in the backyard!

Good security with motion detectors surrounding the home. Fantastic kitchen that is fully equipped. Just minutes from restaurants and golf courses.

We will return to the "Top of the Hill".
business
Top of the Hill, Private Mid-Century Modern One Level Frank Lloyd Wright Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202380
(954) 328-9700 (Florida, USA)
Pinehurst North Carolina Piedmont
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

FRank Lloyd Wright in Callaway Gardens!

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Hi Robert,

I've been meaning to tell you how much we LOVED your house! It felt like we were coming home instead of a rental. It felt almost like we were staying outside with all the windows. And I couldn't help but feel like I was living in a Frank Lloyd Wright house if he had built one at Callaway Gardens! We LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it! Thank you so much for sharing it with us!

And the new kitchen was fabulous! (But I never could find any kitchen towels or hot pads, so I hope we didn't ruin the bathroom towel we used in the kitchen!) And we tried not to open/close the utensil drawers as they didn't want to close and I didn't want to force them. So we just left those open slightly.

We did try not to run the heater too much and built a fire every night to cut down on propane use. We also kept the living room door closed at night and turned the thermostat way down in the living area.

How do you handle the deposit return? Will you be mailing back our original check as I see it was never cashed?

Thanks so much!
Telie
business
Top of the Hill, Private Mid-Century Modern One Level Frank Lloyd Wright Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202380
(954) 328-9700 (Florida, USA)
Pinehurst North Carolina Piedmont
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
3

FRank Lloyd Wright in Callaway Gardens!

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
Hi Robert,

I've been meaning to tell you how much we LOVED your house! It felt like we were coming home instead of a rental. It felt almost like we were staying outside with all the windows. And I couldn't help but feel like I was living in a Frank Lloyd Wright house if he had built one at Callaway Gardens! We LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it! Thank you so much for sharing it with us!

And the new kitchen was fabulous! (But I never could find any kitchen towels or hot pads, so I hope we didn't ruin the bathroom towel we used in the kitchen!) And we tried not to open/close the utensil drawers as they didn't want to close and I didn't want to force them. So we just left those open slightly.

We did try not to run the heater too much and built a fire every night to cut down on propane use. We also kept the living room door closed at night and turned the thermostat way down in the living area.

How do you handle the deposit return? Will you be mailing back our original check as I see it was never cashed?

Thanks so much!
Telie
business
Top of the Hill, Private Mid-Century Modern One Level Frank Lloyd Wright Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202380
(954) 328-9700 (Florida, USA)
Pinehurst North Carolina Piedmont
boulder, co
4

Location, Confort

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
My family just spend a long week in this home.
We enjoyed it a lot. The location was perfect. Neslted up the hill but a very short drive to downtown Southern Pines, Pinehurst, Aberdeen etc or to all the wonderful local golf courses including Pinehurst.This home has a 60s feel but is confortable, spacious and well furnished. The backyard, hamac and foosball table were perfect for the kids. The kitchen is VERY WELL equiped which makes cooking easy for breakfast or dinner. Wireless DSL made is convenient for cruising emails or gathering local infos.
Rob was friendly, always accessible and easy to deal with.
I recommend this home for a family vacation, golf getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Top of the Hill, Private Mid-Century Modern One Level Frank Lloyd Wright Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202380
(954) 328-9700 (Florida, USA)
Pinehurst North Carolina Piedmont
Durham, NC
5

Bright Living Room, Huge Deck, Private Backyard

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 6, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
What a great house. Rob - thanks for a stress free rental experience. We had a great time enjoying the great combination of the bright living room, huge deck, and secluded backyard. All in all, it made for a very relaxing getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Top of the Hill, Private Mid-Century Modern One Level Frank Lloyd Wright Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202380
(954) 328-9700 (Florida, USA)
Pinehurst North Carolina Piedmont
Fredericksburg, VA
5

Great Golf Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We just returned from Southern Pines and rented "Top of the Hill" The house is in great condtion and convenient to town. Dealing with Rob was very convenient and would recommend renting this house to anyone and hope to go back next year or in the fall.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Top of the Hill, Private Mid-Century Modern One Level Frank Lloyd Wright Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202380
(954) 328-9700 (Florida, USA)
Pinehurst North Carolina Piedmont
Washington DC
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2009
  • Stayed: Feb 2009
Just wanted to let you know how much my wife and I and my brother and his wife enjoyed our week at your house. The house was really nicer than we expected, it was clean and in great shape and very comfortable. We will stay there again next year for our golf week. We liked being so close to the restaurants along Broad Street, LOVED your suggestion of Ashten's-great restaurant. My wife was really surprised by the variety of good restaurants in Southern Pines.

Thanks again....worked out great for us.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Top of the Hill, Private Mid-Century Modern One Level Frank Lloyd Wright Style
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p202380
(954) 328-9700 (Florida, USA)
Pinehurst North Carolina Piedmont
Virginia
5

Beyond our expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2008
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
I stayed at Top of the Hill with 2 golf buddies for a week this Fall. The house was great. Very comfortable, well furnished and equipped, and clean. The location was perfect for us, close to great restaurants and bars on Broad Street 5 minutes away. We really liked feeling like we were in the woods, but really close to everything. I have stayed in other rental houses, and this one was superior for the quality of the furnishings, kitchen equipment, etc. We plan to come again in the Spring.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3