Alamo Square condo rental - Our Home
Our Home
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Alamo Square Condo Rental Photos and Description
3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6-8

Bask in the exquisite period detail of this historic 3 bedroom, 2 bath home. With approx. 2,600 sq ft and two levels of living space, a remodeled kitchen and eight rooms, including a tremendous great room at the roof level with a luminous circular turret, a double parlor, a formal dining room and an additional office space,

This home seamlessly blends old world elegance with the comfort of today`s modern living. It resides in the historic Alamo Square area of San Francisco - the 'painted Ladies' (Victorian houses) surrounding the neighborhood park have been depicted in hundreds of postcards and movies.

The park includes tennis courts and a recently updated children’s playground.

The apartment is a short walk from the restaurants and shops of Hayes Valley and has easy access to the Symphony, Opera, Museums, Civic Center and lets not forget Union Square for the shopping!!.

Central Location!!: Our home is centrally located in San Francisco's historic Alamo Square neighborhood. Just blocks from Fillmore Jazz Preservation District and the trendy restaurants and cafes of Hayes Valley.

We also have easy access to world class shopping (Union Square) and entertainment (San Francisco Opera, San Francisco Ballet & the many excellent theaters).

More Details
Hide Details

40 Reviews of Property 200821 in Alamo Square, California

Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
average rating of 4.939394 based on 40 reviews
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
Fort Lauderdale, FL
4

San Francisco charm

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
I highly recommend this historic home in Alamo Square. The home is located in the Hayes Valley neighborhood and has a great location and easy access to all of San Fran. I brought my wife, mother in law and daughters for 9 days while I worked in Santa Clara. It had the feel and charm of an old historic San Fran home. Plenty of room for 3 adults and 2 small kids. We will definitely consider this home for future trips to the Bay area for work or pleasure.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
London
4

Gorgeous apartment, great location, amazing city!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2009
  • Stayed: Nov 2009
Myself and 4 friends rented this gorgeous apartment for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday, and can thoroughly recommend it. The apartment is lovely and spacious, the kitchen is brilliant, all the amenities you could wish for, and even better it's all in a brilliant location. Hayes Valley - just a few blocks away - is a super little groovy area with some lovely shops and yummy restaurants (a bit like Soho in NYC, albeit on a smaller scale!) and having the bus stop back from the city centre stopping right outside our door was such a bonus! Love San Francisco but those hills were slowing killing us!!

Probably the only teeny tiny negative is that we couldn't work out how to switch the heating on - we got the fire in the living room going, but were a little chilly later on in the evenings elsewhere in the house. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this fabulous apartment!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
sydney
5

Great for a family visit in San Francisco

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
This was a wonderful location for our 2 adults/ 2kids (11/6) stay in SF with room to spare. Will easily accomodate 3 kids or another adult/nanny.

The attic area provides great opportunities for the parents and kids to have some separate time during a long trip.

The owners provide all the necessary information, dining details etc and make you really feel at home.

Very easy public transport access to all tourist areas while still being in a residential area.

Only problem was our kids didn't want to leave the house to go sightseeing.

The house exceeded our expectations and we would definitely recommend it to everyone.

"Stacks" on Hayes St for breakfast was great and Absinthe is a great special dinner option.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/5
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
Montreal, Qc. Canada
5

2 memorable weeks

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2009
  • Stayed: Sep 2009
The location of the property was excellent, easy access with the (bus) Muni 5 (at the door) to downtown or the beach, Muni 24 ( a few blocks away) to Castro/Mission. A great bus ride through the hills with the 24 brought us to the Liberty Café ( On Cortland ave. in Bernal Heights) - Nice little breakfast place (30 places or so) with great food and service. Great city to walk as well! The property is sparkling clean and well maintained. Walking around we discovered good and affordable restaurants; Alamo Square Seafood Grill(French), Saffron Grill (Indian) opened 8 month ago. In Haight/Ashbury - The Magnolia (1398 Haight) is recommended for a beer and some time out to write or read. The owners recommended amongs others, Seafood Grill and Little Box Pizza (excellent as well). For the nightLife, we had booked 2 shows; BeachBlanket Babylon- a hillarious musical Cabaret and The Rrazz Room at the Nikko hotel - a small intimate hall to see and hear Spencer Day. Great performer and great voice! Spencer should be at the Mtl Jazz festival next summer. The King Tut exhibit (Toutankhamon) at the Young Museum was a little disappointing. I suggest to anyone to go to the boutique, look at the book of the exhibit and decide if it is worth your while - Out of the 10 rooms - Only the last 4 contain very few breathtaking artefacts from the tomb of King Tut.

I would without any hesitation recommend this property to anyone who's active (25-30 steps to get in the condo on the third floor) and loves to walk. The Golden Gate Park is magnificent with the Conservatory of flowers, Japanese Tea garden, the Aids Memorial Grove and more.
September was a great month to go there with one surprising night of thunder and lightning .
Great place, great location, great city and the best 50th birthday gift!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 4/6
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
5/24/09Thank you so much for the lovely apartment! The upstairs was perfectfor our two girls (ages 4&7). We really appreciate all the toys andbooks upstairs the girls had a wonderful time! As for the adultseverything was laid out so nicely. At least 3 of us REALLY liked thewireless internet access. The central location made this apartmentperfect for seeing everything we wanted to see. Thank you again foreverything!Warmest Regards,Bruce & Jenny& Tabby(7) & McCamy(4)- Coeurd’ Alene, IDDenney - Pocatello, IDMarsha & Gerry - Lewiston, ID
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
London
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
A beautiful apartment, and very big. Great location, big rooms. So spacious that even with 6 people it was difficult to find where people were in the flat! I would absolutely stay there again and highly recommend this property.
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
Charleston, WV
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Catherine,
Thanks for sharing your wonderful Victorian home. Three generations of
our family enjoyed connecting again, working sudoku, and touring the
city together. We were an engineer, an artist, a grandmother, a
runner, and a college student. Each found your house intriguing.
We appreciated the artwork, comfortable beds, computer/printer, great
location and charming decor. What a great week in San Francisco!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
Hatboro, PA
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2009
  • Stayed: May 2009
Catherine,
What a beautiful apartment!! We settled in and felt like we were at home immediately. The beds were comfortable, the kitchen well appointed and the large dining room was a plus. Even our two year old granddaughter had fun. The toys, the port-a-crib and safety gates let us relax and enjoy. It was a great family time in wonderful surroundings.
Janice
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
San Francisco
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We rented the flat for a girlfriends weekend and had a
wonderful time! The Victorian is decorated beautifully
and there was plenty of space for everyone. The
location is quite close to different bus lines and a
short walk from many shops and restaurants. Thank
you Catherine for a lovely space.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Luxury Victorian Flat in Historic Alamo Square, San Francisco
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200821
+1 4156245289
Alamo Square San Francisco
Traverse City, MI
5

Guestbook Comment

I stayed in this property in April of '09 with my family (5 with three kids). It was just as advertised by Catherine Woods, who does a great job of s...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
I stayed in this property in April of '09 with my family (5 with three kids). It was just as advertised by Catherine Woods, who does a great job of supporting the property and her guests.
Very nicely equipped kitchen for those who choose to eat in, and two good groceries (one upscale, one very nice Safeway) nearby.
Comfortable furnishings and bedding.
This is a good location from which to explore SF. On street parking close to the door is available on occasion, and the dedicated parking spot 1.5 blocks away works nicely when street parking is tough.
A large, nicely furnished, comfortable home away from home in SF-our kids loved it.
Helpful votes: 2/3