Portland apartment rental - Front of the building.
Front of the building.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Portland Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Vacation Apartment - 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s) - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 4-6)

The Hawthorne Garden Guest House combines style with green sensibilities. We offer a furnished apartment with a fully equipped kitchen, cozy living room, bathroom, and two bedrooms. Nurturing gardens, on site massage, holistic health therapists and wifi keep you both connected and grounded.

Two hiking, skiing, biking incomers (Scotland and CT) been here for a collective 20 years and intend to stay. We own and work in the Wellness center that shares the building so we really care for the apartment and the people that stay.

Michael Alexander purchased this apartment in 2006

This apartment used to be where we lived until we bought a place with room to grow our our veggies, just around the corner.

The Garden Guest house is right opposite New Seasons, the best grocery/wellness store in town so no problems about getting provisions. On Hawthorne, a walkable neighborhood in the city of neighborhoods and close to downtown, bus stops just outside. Quiet and cozy, parking right behind building.

Decorated and furnished as our own home with a special atmosphere of calm. Small entertaining deck at the rear available in the evenings and the ability to book in for massage and other services in the Wellness center, that is open from 9 am to 5 pm.

22 Reviews of Property 200268 in Portland, Oregon

The Garden Guest House on Hawthorne
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 22 reviews
business
The Garden Guest House on Hawthorne
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200268
+1 503 705 0718
Portland Oregon
suburb of Chicago
5

home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 20, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We stayed here for five nights while we did sight-seeing in the area and attended our son's college graduation. It was much nicer than staying in a hotel. Having a kitchen, and a grocery store just a block away, made it easy to entertain other family members who were in town for the event.

We were always able to find a parking space on the side street. (It would also be a great place to stay without a car, as there are plenty of places in walking distance and an excellent transit system.)

We would recommend a few improvements:
- better lighting
- more toilet paper
- a telephone, even if it requires a calling card

We were happy to comply with the owner's request that we wash the dishes, launder the towels, and remove the recycling and garbage, so we hope the $75 cleaning fee will not apply.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The cleaning fee is something we instigated because we want to keep the standards up high. Some people clean beautifully but others not so. Susan who does the cleaning is a real 100% person and the place will always be spotless for you to stay. If she misses something just let me know. Michael
business
The Garden Guest House on Hawthorne
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200268
+1 503 705 0718
Portland Oregon
Friday Harbor
5

Hawthorne Hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
We were surprised to find the apartment was a basement yet after the initial surprise, and meeting up with our friends, it turned out to be an exceptionally functional unit, nicely appointed, and best of all, quiet. There were some issues with the hot-water not being hot enough (which the owner would have fixed had we had the gumption to mention it), and the bed frames while handsome were a dangerous element in the bedrooms - catching all of us on the shins - getting back in bed after a trip to the biffy in the night.
Even so, the location in the midst of a restaurant rich section of Hawthorne S.E., half a block from two Powell's Book Stores, a block from a huge Fred Meyers, and dozens of small offerings was delightful.
Parking was available within easy walking in the residential neighborhood half a block away.
The owner was readily available and we plan to do a week next time.
One of the best restaurants we ate at was EVOE in the pasta/high-end deli-grocery between the two Powell's. The smoked duck-breast prosciutto was out of this world, esp. with the $19 bottle of white wine.
We also ate at Ping and Andino both of which were mouthwatering in their comestibles and in the Pearl district.
For those who love Mexican - a few blocks up is Por que No which has a huge variety of lovely tacos with fish, chorizo, octopus, and tinga.
It's worth noting that there is a Grand Central Bakery a few blocks down the street.
Overall, for foodies on the make the Hawthorne Hideaway is a perfect retreat in which to estivate after eating too much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Yes the Apartment is in the basement, it does say this on the web site. However it is a daylight basement which means the windows are above ground. This arrangement keeps it cool during the summer without A/C and warm in the winter.

By the way, we now supply full body armor so guests can get to the loo at night safely!

When you come, please ask if the water is not hot enough, sometimes the thermostat gets changed, it is up stairs in one of the offices and I suspect the cleaners little daughter!!! In fact if anything is not as it should be CALL ME that's what I have a cell phone for.
business
The Garden Guest House on Hawthorne
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200268
+1 503 705 0718
Portland Oregon
Carbondale, CO
4

Great downstairs apartment in hip neighborhood

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
We had a great stay in this well designed and aportioned downstairs apartment. Comfortable for 4, and worked for 6 (with two on sleeper sofa). We made good use of ammenities (Wi-Fi, TV, DVD, kitchen, etc). Needed to buy TP and sponge to cleen-up in kitchen. Beds comfortable, although three of us left with bruised shins from smacking them on the bed frame (the bed frame and layout and small size of the first bedroom on the right makes it easy to whack your shins!)

We enjoyed our stay and appreciated the location and easy access to nearby food and shops. We borrowed bikes from friends and were able to get downtown easily (10 minute ride) and explore the local neighborhood and Mt. Tabor park.

Would stay here again for sure!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Always just phone me on my cell if you need more TP or any other supply,we keep a stock the closet and I can direct you to them. Actually call me if you have any requests.

If you want to hire bikes we have the address of the shop

But bring your own shin pads!
business
The Garden Guest House on Hawthorne
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200268
+1 503 705 0718
Portland Oregon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Review Submitted: November 25, 2008 Date of Stay: November 2008

A cozy nook, very quiet and peaceful, on a street busy with a perfect array of
shops to meet our daily needs as well as gifts.
We were well attended to by the owners.
WiFi was disappointing on my old laptop, but I was able to connect at an
internet cafe only a couple of blocks away.
I hope to visit again.
K



Owner's Response: K was right about the WI-FI, it is a very up to date and
secure link, needs Firefox 3 or Navigator 3. We have only just discovered this
and will alter the web site to alert guests in the future.

However older laptops can get great reception and a great coffee, two blocks
away at the Common Grounds Coffee House, just another totally cool
Hawthorne hang out! Join the community!
business
The Garden Guest House on Hawthorne
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200268
+1 503 705 0718
Portland Oregon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Review Submitted: April 23, 2009 Date of Stay: November 2008

What a joy this place was for us! We filled the fridge and cooked for six on
most nights of our week-long stay in your fabulous well-stocked kitchen.
Beds so comfy. Explanatory signs very helpful. And we knew when we saw
"Little Quack's Bath Book" that you didn't forget a thing! We'd love to come
back ... can you work on Portland's rain?!? Thanks Michael, Beata. Great Job.
P.S. The acoustics for our singing and instruments were also a plus.
Recommended for: Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Girls Getaway,

Owner's Response: We were glad they liked the beds, they are a special,
cotton and natural laytex, no chemicals!

"Little Quack's Bath Book", well we all need a bit of like reading in the bath!

As far as the rain goes, we are working on it!
business
The Garden Guest House on Hawthorne
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200268
+1 503 705 0718
Portland Oregon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Review Submitted: June 3, 2009 Date of Stay: May 2009

I visited the guest house in early summer 2009 and stayed 5 nights. My
daughter is a college student at nearby Reed College and the cottage was the
perfect place to be headquartered to help her move out of her college
accommodations. The location was perfect for us, but it would also be perfect
for anyone visiting Portland wanting to be centrally located to all of the city's
different attractions. Head straight down the straight and you're across the
bridge into downtown, or head the other direction for easy access to Mount
Hood or the Columbia River for Portland's outdoor attractions.

The cottage shows the loving care of the owners - it's quite fresh and
comfortable and is actually the beautifully remodeled and outfitted basement
apartment of a classic Portland home that is on the main street of a very
lively and fun neighborhood with all kinds of shops, restaurants, cafes,
grocery stores and pubs in walking distance. The cottage is quiet, though,
and guests have a little outdoor patio they can use at all times and a pretty
deck that is available after 6pm and on weekends.

I've stayed at a number of places using VRBO and Homeaway and this one
strikes me as one of the most thoughtful - it really has everything you might
need, including a cupboard in the kitchen with a label that reads, "Food for
Free left by others for you." I've never come across that before, and it made it
easier to cook since we didn't have to buy basics such as oil or vinegar and
spices or even tea! Owners/managers were always available to answer any
questions.

I had no problem with the wireless internet - it worked fine. I'd say book early
for this place - it's a gem.

Recommended for: Romantic Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing,
Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Adventure Seekers, Age 55+,
Families with Teenagers

Owner's Response: Booking early is a must now, although Jan Feb and March,
as with all vacation places around here is slow, the rest of the year is HOT!
Some one has just booked for next June! A year ahead.

Some people have been put off by the fact that we do not have A/C, there are
two answers to this one. One, the apartment is a daylight basement and
mostly SO cool during the summer. Two, this is Portland! Our motto is green
sensibilities with style! Come try, you'll be welcome!
business
The Garden Guest House on Hawthorne
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200268
+1 503 705 0718
Portland Oregon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Review Submitted: May 27, 2009 Date of Stay: October 2008

We are so happy to have found this apartment! It met our family's needs
perfectly. We enjoyed exploring Hawthorne's shops and eating in many
wonderful establishments. The things we love most about the apartment:
colors, laundry, kitchen (Equipped). Thank you so much for your beautiful
preparations for us.

Recommended for: Families with Young Children

Owner's Response: The kitchen is pretty well equipped now if you want to
cook IN, several suggestions from guests made it complete!

ALSO! The WI FI has had it's security down graded so that older laptops can
use it now.
business
The Garden Guest House on Hawthorne
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200268
+1 503 705 0718
Portland Oregon
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2009
  • Stayed: Jun 2009
Review Submitted: April 23, 2009 Date of Stay: July 2008

We had a great time staying here and enjoying the eclectic Hawthorne district.
Love your color scheme and decorating style, and appreciate the filtered
water. Very spacious yet cozy, and reasonably priced. We hope to be back
when the garden/deck are finished.
Sue and Andrew

Recommended for: Romantic Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing

Owner's Response: The deck is now finished and can be used by guests each
evening and at the weekends. The contemplative garden in the back is
underway. I planted the bamboo in the Autumn and am now working on the
pond and the Tea house, it will be ready this summer.

We agree with Sue & Andrew, the Hawthorne district is a great place to hang
out
business
The Garden Guest House on Hawthorne
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200268
+1 503 705 0718
Portland Oregon
commerce, MI USA
5

perfect for family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2008
We are so happy to have found this apartment! It met our family's needs perfectly. We enjoyed exploring Hawthorne's shops and eating in many wonderful establishments. The things we love most about the apartment: colors, laundry, kitchen (Equipped). Thank you so much for your beautiful preparations for us.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: The kitchen is pretty well equipped now if you want to cook IN, several suggestions from guests made it complete!

ALSO! The WI FI has had it's security down graded so that older laptops can use it now.
business
The Garden Guest House on Hawthorne
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p200268
+1 503 705 0718
Portland Oregon
Petaluma, CA
5

wonderful place in eclectic neighborhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2009
  • Stayed: Jul 2008
We had a great time staying here and enjoying the eclectic Hawthorne district. Love your color scheme and decorating style, and appreciate the filtered water. Very spacious yet cozy, and reasonably priced. We hope to be back when the garden/deck are finished.
Sue and Andrew
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: The deck is now finished and can be used by guests each evening and at the weekends. The contemplative garden in the back is underway. I planted the bamboo in the Autumn and am now working on the pond and the Tea house, it will be ready this summer.

We agree with Sue & Andrew, the Hawthorne district is a great place to hang out