Captain Cook cottage rental - Welcome to Makalani OceanView Cottage
Welcome to Makalani OceanView Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Captain Cook Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage-Studio w/King bed & Queen futon + addtl.BR, 1 Bath (Sleeps 1-5))

Makalani (Heavenly View) Cottage is a delightfully romantic cottage surrounded by a tropical garden in South Kona's coffee-belt with a breathtaking panoramic view of the Pacific Ocean. For the adventurous traveler seeking authentic Hawaiian beauty and serenity, you can spend your whole vacation here gazing out over the endless ocean and its incredible sunsets. In the winter, you can spot whales breaching from your outdoor lanai or listen to them singing at night. Awaken to the music of colorful birdsong from papaya, mango and banana trees.

With a perfect year-round climate, perched at 1200 ft. above the sea on the side of Mauna Loa Volcano, Makalani Oceanview Cottage is authentic Hawai'i unspoiled by crowds and resorts. A great location that gives you many options for experiencing The Big Island's natural diversity. From your cottage you are just 4-minutes from the closest beach and 15-minutes to Ho'okena Beach State Park for sunbathing and swimming with dolphins. A 20-minute drive brings you to the famous Pu'uhonua o'Honaunau (Place of Refuge) National Historic Park and Kealakekua Bay where you can kayak to Captain Cook's monument and snorkel with an endless variety of tropical fish and sea turtles. And best of all, you're only 65-minutes from Madame Pele's live action at Volcanos National Park.

Your cottage is tastefully appointed with Indonesian teak furniture providing a romantic comfort reminiscent of Colonial British tropics. Your large open-room (studio) cottage sleeps two luxuriously with a romantic king-size canopy-bed with a memory-foam mattress fit for royalty. There is also a convertible couch-futon which can comfortably sleep two additional guests. You'll have a fully-equipped kitchen as well as dining area for four. A large outdoor lanai with barbeque gives you garden seating with a stunning ocean view. Your detached private bathroom with semi- outdoor shower will provide a refreshing Hawaiian experience with nature.

There is also a detached guestroom/meditation room available which is set in a grove of mango trees overlooking the ocean, called the 'Mango Grove Lookout'. It has a sofa-futon which can comfortably sleep one or two people. Serene and magical, this special extra-room provides daytime privacy as well as an intimate camp-like Hawaiian sleeping experience.

Managed with aloha spirit, Makalani Oceanview Cottage is the perfect vacation/retreat cottage where you'll find yourself surrounded by the natural beauty of Hawaii.

We hope your stay here will be the first of many happy vacations to South Kona and this beautiful island of Hawaii.

Keywords: Cottage/Ohana

More Details
Hide Details

I love Hawaii and sharing it with friends and guests, especially those who appreciate the spirit and mana of the island.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2005

To be in authentic and natural Hawaii,close to the ocean and untouched by tourists, hotels and resorts.

I love the ocean and the secluded beaches nearby with the wonderful trails leading to them. It feels like 'Old Hawaiiana'. The sounds of the birds, wildlife and whales singing at night in the winter makes you feel like you're in the great outdoors. The tropical garden and romantically furnished interior provide a unique comfort. Lots of wonderful wildlife to encounter.

25 Reviews of Property 199288 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Seattle, WA
5

Paradise island home away from mainland city home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 0610
  • Stayed: May 2011
This was, by far, our best island experience to date. We really felt at home, like we had our own little slice of paradise. Harry was the perfect host, not intrusive -- but attentive to our needs, and his advice and suggestions were spot on. The property is so lush and tropical, you feel like you're in the garden of Eden, which seems like a major feat on this part of the island. We could pick papayas and bananas for our smoothies and there were other fruits around as well. Being an artist, Harry definitely has an eye for beauty, and everywhere you look around the place, that is evident. He has a wonderful way with all the little touches that make you feel special and welcome. We loved our time here and absolutely hated having to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Seattle, WA
5

Paradise island home away from mainland city home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This was, by far, our best island experience to date. We really felt at home, like we had our own little slice of paradise. Harry was the perfect host, not intrusive -- but attentive to our needs, and his advice and suggestions were spot on. The property is so lush and tropical, you feel like you're in the garden of Eden, which seems like a major feat on this part of the island. We could pick papayas and bananas for our smoothies and there were other fruits around as well. Being an artist, Harry definitely has an eye for beauty, and everywhere you look around the place, that is evident. He has a wonderful way with all the little touches that make you feel special and welcome. We loved our time here and absolutely hated having to leave.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Seattle
5

Beautiful peaceful getaway.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
The photos are very accurate. The cottage is very private and although some traffic from the road can be heard, it was very quiet and relaxing. It is well furnished and Harry, the owner gave great advice regarding local beaches and businesses.
The property is elevated from the coastline, which gives somewhat cooler temperatures. We found this very comfortable for sleeping.
There was a ferrel rooster, who is an early riser. This has been our experience in most of the rural settings on the islands, however. We would definitely recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Germany, Düsseldorf
5

Romantical refuge in wonderful tropical surroundings

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We spent our honeymoon here and we really miss this wonderful place!!! Pictures or words are actutally too poor to desribe what is waiting for you when you step in this cosy appartement.
We found fresh flowers everywhere, fresh fruit waiting for us when we arrived and the owner was so engaged in helping us and making our stay as wonderful and comfortable as it can be. Nothing is missing there - you find everything you need.
The flat is calm and peaceful and a great spot to relax and just be there. The bathhouse is great! And we enjoyed to relax in the air chair in front of the mediation hut. Sitting on the lanai of the mediation hut you feel that this is a very very special place.
We loved to watch the cats and the geckos - the one which lived together with us in the flat was very curious and loved to be filmed ;-)... sitting on the lanai you can watch lots of butterflys, listen to the tropical birds, look at all this flowers and fruits that are in the garden...

So if you want to experience the spirit of aloha - just go there!
Hopefully we come back one day. Mahalo again!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Nashville, TN
5

Wonderful Honeymoon Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
My husband and I spent our 10 day honeymoon at the cottage and we absolutely LOVED it! The grounds are beautiful, the bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and it had everything that we needed to enjoy our stay. We planned to cook every day while we were there and so finding a place stocked with all of the kitchen essentials was very important to us. This cottage had it all! We would definitely stay there again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Seattle, WA
5

Beautiful, quiet and affordable - this

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
My wife and I looked at some of the Big Island's bigger resorts but ultimately settled on this private cottage for our honeymoon getaway. We were sold the second we walked in the door. It is absolutely gorgeous, and the furniture, style and atmosphere made this the perfect choice. It was exactly what we wanted for our trip. The screen doors kept the bugs out but still gave us that "outdoorsy" feel, while the patio, bathroom and meditation hut only added to the fun. I loved reading a book in the morning sitting in the air chair and soaking up the amazing view. We loved everything about this place, and Harry made it even better by caring about our stay. He gave us some great tips on private beaches, the best dining experiences and many other hints that a travel brochure just wouldn't have covered. We were sad to leave but definitely recommend this cottage to anyone interested in the Kona Coast and a unique experience away from the masses of people and big-time resorts. That stuff is only 30-45 minutes away, but you won't find anything like this around town. It really was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Thank you, Harry!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Oklahoma
5

25th Anniversary stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 24, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
This is the ultimate in romantic, peaceful getaways. There is nothing to complain of except we can't live there forever. I would recommend this cottage to anyone! Harry was more than helpful for beginning to end. His tips on where to go, where to eat, what to see were all excellent. The gardens, the cottage and the Mango Hut were all beautiful and very well maintained. The listing photos are more than accurate but cannot reflect the ambiance present on the entire property. I wish I could stay there forever!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Mooresville, NC USA
5

Out of this World Romantic and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
In travels all over the world, I've never had a host who worked as hard to make my visit feel as special as Harry did. More importantly, my traveling companion loved everything about the cottage. Thank you so much !

If you want an eco-friendly, charming, romantic, secluded - but not isolated experience on the Big Island, this is for you. Harry is an attentive but not intrusive host who is genuinely interested in creating a once in a lifetime experience for you.

We are semi-gourmet cooks and enjoyed the full featured kitchen and grill. The canopy bed and furnishings were high end tasteful. This listing doesn't do this property justice. Spotlessly clean and well maintained.

We woke to the sounds of the birds and the cool ocean breezes. The free range chicken and turkeys were a hoot. The grounds are lush tropical landscaped.

Breakfast was walk out the door, pick a mango or papaya, blend up your smoothie (blender provided) and go !

Don't miss the local black sand beaches with unbelieveable snorkling and snoozing. Had the beach to ourselves. Easy, beautiful drive over to Hilo and Volcanoes National Park. Place of Refuge was facinating and just down the road.

If you want crowded, overpriced golf, dining and shopping, stay in Waikoloa. If you want gorgeous, charming, laid back but definately not roughing it - this is for you.

We sure hope to return some day. Thanks again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Upstate New York
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
We had a great time at the cottage. We felt right at home immediately. Harry, the owner, adds little touches that are much appreciated travellimg so far away from home. There are beach neccessities that are there for guests use (we really enjoyed the boogie boards!) Also fresh picked fruits and some kitchen basics were also nice touches. It was great taking a shower and being able to see the ocean at the same time. I slept int he Mango Hut. The first thing I saw every morning when I opened my eyes was the ocean! What a great place. I can't wait to go back again!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Romantic Tropical S. Kona Cottage with Incredible Oceanview
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p199288vbi
(808)328-9730 (Hawaii, USA)
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Denver CO
5

Love this place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
Makalani Cottage is awesome! Harry was outstanding from the first email I sent asking questions to our final good bye afterwords. Traveling so far from home and the uncertainty of what you will find when you get there was taken out of the equation as Harry guided us the whole way. Everything he said was truthful and spot on. To me, this is a rare and a truly helpful quality you don't find often in vacation rental properties (owners wishing to just book it, lipstick on a pig). There is no "pig" (other than the cute wild ones scurrying around the property from time to time) and no lipstick...it is blessed and for real! Harry wants you to enjoy your special time in this magical place and will shoot straight with you to insure you will be happy. You will find all the comforts of modern living coupled with just the right amount of green living. Rain water showers are the best! The beaches Harry shared (we went to every one of them) exceeded all expectations (hike to the green beach...wow!). Our second leg of the trip was at a resort (Hilton) and I will tell you, our best memories are Makalani and stomping around the south island enjoying the local flavor and sites. We will return, save money on the resort and stay longer at Makalani!!

Highly recommended,

Mark and Elizabeth
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3