San Diego house rental - Pool Lanai, unbelievable ambience! Ahhhhhhh.
Pool Lanai, unbelievable ambience! Ahhhhhhh.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 4 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights
 

San Diego House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 4 Baths, Sleeps 10

Resort Style living at its best. Contemporary Architecture, Tropical Hawaiian palate, your mind will drift once you've arrived. Indoor outdoor living, featured in San Diego Magazine, it's a perfect setting for special getaways both vacation or corporate. Infinity edge pool/spa on the canyon's edge (Ask about pool/spa heating charges) panoramic views, cascading 10 ft. waterfall. OUR VIRTUAL TOUR IS A MUST SEE! SCROLL PAST AMENITIES AND CLICK ON VIRTUAL TOUR! NO PARTIES/LOUD MUSIC. Our home is truly meant for 'SMALL' quiet family and friendly retreats. A maximum of 10 people on property at 'all' times unless approved by owners - Strictly enforced. You will be surprised how close you are to all there is in San Diego, yet once behind closed doors, you can enjoy San Diego's sunny weather in luxury. Get tickets to Pet Co Park, the Old Globe Theatre in Balboa Park or have your own private dinner at home alfresco under the falls.

Hello, My name is Bob & I have been living in my native hometown of San Diego for 48 years. I have been many places in the world and San Diego has simply stayed in my comfort zone because of it's sunny weather, eclectic lifestyle as well as the beautiful coastline. I am an Ice Skating Instructor, interior designer, Real Estate Agent & dog lover. I am very much a people person and the vacation rental industry has given me such pleasure, affording the opportunity to meet such awesome guests from all over the world that we have welcomed to our homes here in San Diego. I can only say; 'I hope that I have the pleasure of meeting you someday & if so, look forward to the many return visits that most of our guests take pleasure in!

Bob Pellaton purchased this house in 2001

Originally this home was bought to remodel and sell, because of the business I am in. The location is just so convenient and freeway accessable that it became obvious that living here would be quite comfortable. So after the first 2 years the (then) 2100 sq.ft., 2 bedroom, 2 bath was remodeled. Within the next year the downstairs spa retreat was added and finally within 5 years, the second floor, family room & pool were complete. A lot of thinking was enabled, because we remodeled and added in stages. We have had the home for 13 years now and truly love the tropical, resort style feel this home exudes.

When you enter the home, you will feel a sense of calmness & relaxation. The sound of the cascading waterfall will sooth your senses. Although the home is 3300 sq.ft., there are so many intimate spaces and + over 1000 sq. ft. lanai and outdoor living space that it doesn't feel overwhelming. The best part about the home is that you find yourself wanting to simply settle at the home and won't feel the need to leave in order to believe that you are on vacation!

87 Reviews of Property 194916 in San Diego, California

PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
average rating of 5.0 based on 87 reviews
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
La Grange, Illinois, USA
5

A Dream Come True

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We are only home one day and I could not wait to write a review of this most AMAZING property and Bob, the owner. My husband and I wanted to make a dream come true and that was to have our 2 adult children, their spouses and our grandchildren together. The space and design of this home exceeded any expectations I had. It is BEAUTIFULLY designed....we felt like we were in a 5 Star resort. Each little family had their own "wing" and there was a very private space for our 1 year old. The bathrooms are like being at a spa...the bedrooms comfortable and beautiful. Bob was wonderfully accommodating to our needs. Did I mention how clean everything was (is)? The pool, waterfall and hot tub are, as expected, beautifully designed and fantastic space to hang out in the day and after the children were in bed. Some of my best memories are in the evening with the fire feature going, waterfall on and endless conversation and laughter. There is no reason to leave the property, except to buy groceries! We found that we had over planned, not knowing in advance how the space was. We canceled daytrips we had planned in favor of staying in the house and just being together. We also had family photos taken at the property by a local photographer and the outdoor space gave us many beautiful backdrops. And the kitchen.......we cooked in pairs and everything we needed with respect to utensils , pots and pans were there. Even the knives are good and sharp (attention to detail)!! There is a fantastic WOK stove that got used a number of times....and double ovens! Absolutely fantastic. Lastly, although I could go on and on, the outdoor dining space was beautiful and big enough for all 9 of us. We dined every meal with the waterfall backdrop. Bob had a portable crib for our 1 year old, but he works closely with a business called San Diego Baby that rented all of the other things we needed. So, not only does he have an amazing house, he is a fabulous decorator, a resource broker and just a really good guy. I know that our little family will be back. There is no need to look any further if you want a truly lovely experience in San Diego. I have to keep repeating one of Dr. Seuss' quotes...
"Don't cry because it's over....smile because it happened". Thanks Bob.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was really great to meet you ~ especially when I was greeted with the biggest hug ever!!!
We certainly hope to have you all back again!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Phoenix, AZ
5

BETTER THAN WE EVEN IMAGINED IT WOULD BE!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
WOW!!! We were immediately AMAZED at the beauty of the house and the interior design! It was spacious, and comfortable...with the location being close to everything you wanted to do (but WITHOUT the crowds!!). The best part was the Jacuzzi, which comes on automatically in the afternoon, so is ready and waiting when you get home from your day in town or at the beach!!! We ALL enjoyed that each day!
The design of the place was really BEAUTIFUL as well, so we felt like we were pampered just being there!
We absolutely will plan to stay there again! Bob is a wonderful host!!! He IMMEDIATELY responds to any questions, and was always as nice as can be!!!
I HIGHLY recommend this property!!!
Owner's Response: Hi Guys!
Thanks so much for installing, once again how guests have and can enjoy our home. We really do our best to make each and every guest feel like they've taken a little bit of our hospitality home with them and hopefully enough to entice a return visit.
You all take care and hope to see you again real soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Midland, Texas
5

Live the High Life in San Diego !!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
WHAT A BEAUTIFUL HOME!! we have been using homeaway to rent vacation homes for the past 5 years. We have stayed at some very nice places. This house has to be the most outstanding vacation home in San Diego. Bob made the booking, check in and departure so easy. He was there to meet us and gave us a tour of the house when we arrived. the pictures do not lie. This house is so impressive. My wife and two boys age 16 and 11 enjoyed it for 4 nights in early June. The infinity pool and hot tub were the highlight for my 11 year old. We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub every night in the perfect San Diego weather. The outdoor amenities like the tiki torches and gas fire bowl make it feel like you are at a Hawaiian Luau. The gas patio heater above the outdoor dinner table makes dining at night so comfortable. We grilled steaks on the large gas grill and enjoyed all the comforts of the designer kitchen. The interior details of the house are so beautiful. Natural Stone and tile surround you in every room. 4 bedrooms allow for plenty of space to spread out. The furnishing are comfortable and beautiful. We enjoyed the San Diego area very much. We rented speed boats from San Diego speedboat adventures and had a blast on a guided tour of mission bay. My wife and I had a ball shopping at Mission Valley Mall. this outdoor Mall offers many different shops for everyone. The boys and I adventured out with San Diego Bike and Kayak on the last day. We went on the kayak snorkel tour. The guides brought us on a 3/4 to 1 mile kayak out to the 7 caves of La Jolla. then we got to snorkel for 45 minutes. We saw a lot of fish and could swim right up to sea lions resting on the rocks. It was amazing. Then we got to come back to this REMARKABLE HOME in the evening. It was a fantastic vacation overall. If you are looking for the best vacation home in San Diego look no further. THIS IS IT! we look forward to returning to this oasis again in the future. Thank you Bob for creating such a wonderful place for us to enjoy. See you again.
Owner's Response: Wow!
You guys certainly took it all in!!
Thanks soooo much for your kind words and it was so good to meet you!
Take care and hope to see you again in the near future.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Lenoir City, TN
5

Best Ever!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We are a family of 7, ranging in age from 7 to 70, and this was our best family vacation ever! The city of San Diego and all of its wonderful sights took a back seat to Bob's magnificent house. The photos don't begin to do justice to the beauty, decor, lighting, and landscaping of this beautiful home. The kitchen lacks nothing, and we cooked and grilled each night. Each bedroom was gorgeously furnished and supplied with plenty of luxurious linens and towels. The jewel of the home is the infinity pool and hot tub. This made for a perfect family gathering place each morning and afternoon. After visiting the zoo, the Midway, Seaworld, and PetCo Park, our family requested to just stay "home" and spend time in the backyard!
The best feature of the house is the hospitality displayed by Bob, beginning several months ago with the rental procedure, and ending with a "thank you" after we returned home. He met us upon arrival at the property, gave us a tour, showed us a book complete with local listing and directions for grocery stores and restaurants- even suggested a wonderful Italian restaurant that delivered. We did that the first night, and the food was great! Bob was responsive to our every need and a gracious host. We thank him for inviting us into his beautiful home and hope to return whenever we can. Thank you, Bob!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was very nice to meet you and so glad that you all had such a great time in our home! Such a pleasure to have kind and thoughtful guests as yourselves stay in our home.
Take care for now and hope to have you all back again in the future!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Birmingham, MIchigan
5

Awesome Family Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Long overdue review.

My family trip to San Diego was absolutely perfect due in part to the accommodations of this well decorated yet comfortable rental. All prior reviews are accurate and I’ll try not to dwell on what’s already been written (comfy, photo's can do it justice, etc.).

We stayed with our two girls (7 and 8) who loved everything the home had to offer from the outdoor seating / patio areas upstairs and downstairs to the "most awesome-ist pool ever!". The bedrooms all have plenty of room for all our belongings. The laundry came in handy a few times during our stay and the kitchen area is absolutely user friendly along with the outdoor dining area. A big plus is having the use of a garage to get in and out of the house.

We have stayed in many rentals throughout our travels and one of the very nicest features here is Bob will meet you at the house for your own personal tour….very convenient.

Every morning the kids would immediately jump into the pool and we'd have to drag them out to do the day's scheduled tourist event. Once back in the house in the late afternoon it was back into the pool until bedtime. Thanks, Bob for ruining our plans to take in the local restaurants and dine out:-)

Enough can't be said about how comfortable the house is especially for those people reading this with young children who make think otherwise. There are many areas for kids to rest and relax away for the other detraction in the house. My kid's personal favorite places where in "Zen Room" in the front of the house with the door walls opened and the upstairs front "Shady Patio"). Also, their favorite game to play was "count the number of door walls in Bob's house" (you'll have to go and count for yourself).

This house is the perfect location to use as a base to explore or to stay-in and relax. Bob was also incredibly helpful before and during our stay.

In addition, I've never had such an easy time getting the kids to take a shower!

We will be back...my girls still keep talking about "Bob's house."
Owner's Response: Wow!
All we can say is thank you!! What a fun review. I hope everyone takes the time to read your review as it gives the true meaning of how guests really feel when they have visited our homes.
Take care and hope to see you soon!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Florida
5

Such a beautiful place for a vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This house is even better than the photos! It's clean, spacious, and a fun house to vacation in. We grilled out, swam in the hot-tub every night, and just hung out. There were 3 small kids who had room to play plus 6 adults. It perfectly accommodated us. Bob was so helpful and the place was stocked with hair dryers, laundry soap and on and on. They recommended places to eat in the cute nearby Kensington community and we loved all 3 restaurants -- Kensington Grill, Ponce's Mexican, and Bleu Boheme. A super vacation. We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: So glad to hear it!!
It was truly great to meet you and thank you so much for taking such great care of our home you are amazing!!
Hope to see you again real soon!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Rocklin, CA
5

Awesome San Diego get away!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We have just returned from San Diego and are ready to go right back! Not only was the property tropically terrific in every way, Bob was the phenomenal to work with. From the beginning, we felt like we were staying at a friend’s house, not the typical landlord/tenant relationship. He was awesome! He met us the first day and took the time to show everything about the fantastic house. Then he left his contact info and let us enjoy our week.

The house is gorgeous, inside and out! Inside is decorated wonderfully and outside is spectacular. The pictures don’t do it justice. Awesome views both front and back in a quiet secluded neighborhood. The pool, spa, and second story fountain into the pool were perfect for the tropical setting.

Bob has thought of everything to make your stay here exquisite. This tropical retreat is perfect for a larger family or group (10 people max) that is looking for a more private setting than the traditional hustle and bustle of a hotel, at a fraction of the comparable cost.

We can’t thank Bob enough for the great week we had at the house. And, Bob even ordered the sunshine we had asked for! :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It is always great to meet new guests and you all seemed very nice and so glad that you were able to enjoy yourselves as much as you did and hopefully leaving enough to enjoy it for a second time around.
Thanks a bunch!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Toronto
5

Great family vacation home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
What a great place for our annual family holiday! Our ages ranged from a 3 year old to grandparents in their late 60's and we were all very comfortable. The house itself was very spacious and the outdoor area was great. The photos of the house are an accurate depiction. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub and pool area from early in the morning to late in the evening.
The location is in a quiet residential area but it had easy access to highsways . It was a quick ride to the beaches, downtown, shopping, Seaworld and the airport.
Bob was there to meet us and show us around and was available when we needed him.
We would stongly recommend this great property!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: What a great family you are!! So glad you enjoyed yourselves. Hope to have you back again real soon!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
Illinois
5

LOVED LOVED LOVED IT!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
House was beautiful and EXTREMELY clean! Bob was waiting for us when we arrived and gave us a complete tour. We will for sure return and stay again. I can only say positive things about the house and the management it is under. I could have stayed there all five nights without leaving the house and been perfectly happy. The San Diego area is beautiful and this house is a perfect touch to a wonderful vacation. See you again Bob!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review!
We would love, love, love to have you back again real soon!!
Take care for now!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
PRIVATE, TROPICAL RESORT STYLE RETREAT
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194916
+1 6192181348
San Diego San Diego County
5

Amazing property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We just returned from a big family vacation in San Diego. The house exceeded our expectations. The location was perfect. We went downtown to a Padres game, the San Diego zoo and to Sea Port Village. We also went to Sea World, La Jolla to see the seals and Mission Bay. The drive to all these locations was short and easy. We had adults, young children, teenagers and a newborn staying at the house. The house easily accommodated us all. The layout is such that the noise from those awake didn't bother those who were sleeping. The backyard was my favorite. There are fire bowls and torches which provided a wonderful atmosphere. The pool and hot tub are wonderful. The pool gives the illusion that it goes straight off the back off the house. The temperature was set so no matter what the weather we were able to swim. The entire back of the house is windows and the view is spectacular. You can even see the lights at Qualcomm stadium from the backyard! The kitchen came well stocked with utensils and we made very good use of the grill out back. Bob was extremely pleasant. He met us at the property and provided instructions, keys, etc and then checked with us later in the week to see if we needed anything. He made things very easy. I would definitely recommend this property and would most definitely choose it again!
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review. It's always a pleasure meeting new guests like yourselves.
Take care and hope to have you back again someday.
Helpful votes: 1/1