Tenants Harbor cottage rental - The Weathered Gray Cottage
The Weathered Gray Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Tenants Harbor Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Located near the tip of Barter's Point, this charming cottage has filtered views of the harbor and offshore islands. It is only a 2 minute stroll to our shorefront access where kayaks or other watercraft can be launched. The cottage has three bedrooms:one with a queen-sized bed, and two with double beds. There is an eat-in kitchen,a full bath and a fire-placed living room. Enjoy beautiful Maine summer days from the sunny deck which is outfitted with comfortable adirondak chairs, or dine outside at the picnic table.

The cottage is equipped with broadband internet, Cable TV, a DVD player with a collection of DVDs, and a telephone. For those early spring and late autumn days, there is also central heat. The weathered gray cottage is a great place to enjoy the simple pleasures of Mid-Coast Maine.

Things to do:

Kayak out of the cove and 'hug' the coastline or explore the waters around the offshore islands before heading into the harbor that is dotted with lobster boats and yachts during the summer months. Stop at the public landing and walk over to Cod's End. Enjoy a bite to eat dockside and explore the village before continuing on your way.

Would you rather take a scenic stroll or go for a short drive? Head toward the village and enjoy the water view along the way. Smell the salt air. Drop by the bakery for a breakfast croissant. Pick up a book to read at Jackson Memorial Library which also has WiFi. Continue on to Granite Gardens for a cup of coffee in a peaceful setting. A rustic or refined lunch or dinner can be had in either local restaurants or in those a short drive away.

Do you want to go to the beach?

Drift-In Beach is a beautiful sandy beach at low tide. It is located on the road to Port Clyde ~ 4 miles away. Bring the kids. Take a picnic lunch. Have a great day!

Are you interested in other other activities?

Tour Marshall Point Lighthouse a few miles down the road in Port Clyde. Or, go up to Rockland. There, you can walk up to the lighthouse at Owl's Head. Then walk out to the lighthouse at the end of the breakwater in Rockland Harbor. There are photo opportunities everywhere. Go on to Rockport, and Camden. Drive, climb or mountain bike to the top of Mt. Battie. Delight in the view of Camden and the offshore islands. Picnic areas are located at the base of the mountain. Browse the shops as you walk around Camden Village or purchase a 2-4 hour cruise of Penobscot Bay on one of the schooners located in Camden Harbor.

Another great daytrip is to book passage on the ferry from Port Clyde for a trip to Monhegan Island. Bring a picnic lunch,and enjoy the scenic views as you hike around the island before returning the same day.

A multiplex movie theater is located in Thomaston. A public golf course is located in Rockland. Enjoy shopping, antiquing and visiting the art galleries and museums in the surrounding areas.

You can either dine in or dine out on fresh Maine seafood. After dinner, relax on the cottage deck and enjoy the onshore breeze as you watch the sun set, or sit in front of a crackling fire and read a good book, play a board game,or plan your activities for the next day.

Keywords:

More Details
Hide Details

Born and bred on the East Coast,I never tire of returning to my 'roots'. I now live in Houston; however,my summer and fall destination is ALWAYS Maine.

16 Reviews of Property 194728 in Tenants Harbor, Maine

Charming Cottage with Ocean View, Shorefront Access,& Wi-Fi
average rating of 4.7 based on 16 reviews
business
Charming Cottage with Ocean View, Shorefront Access,& Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194728vb
(303) 887-8914 Linda (Colorado, USA )
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Cohasset, Massachusetts
5

A Lovely Place for a Summer Stay in Maine

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
I loved the cottage – the fireplace, the rocking chair on the porch, the view of the cove through the beautiful trees, the comfortable bedroom, and the easy the floor plan. I quite enjoyed Tenant’s Harbor as well and didn’t realize how close the cottage is to Rockland – a favorite Maine town.

A delightful experience all around.
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Weathered Gray Cottage. The Lighthouse Museum and the Farnsworth Museum in Rockland as well as the diverse restaurants and boutiques make this city a lovely place to visit since it is only about ten miles away from the quiet comfort of the cottage. The rocking chair on the porch is a new addition this year--so happy that you enjoyed the view. Deb
business
Charming Cottage with Ocean View, Shorefront Access,& Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194728vb
(303) 887-8914 Linda (Colorado, USA )
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
new Jersey
5

very nice place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
the cottage is exactly as it is pictured. Cozy, well kept and clean. We found everything we needed in the kitchen and the beds were fine. The only complaint was that it is very close to a small harbor where the lobster men go out between 5:30 and 6am. I get up early in the morning so it didn't bother me but it did disturb a few of my guests.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming Cottage with Ocean View, Shorefront Access,& Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194728vb
(303) 887-8914 Linda (Colorado, USA )
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Well Apointed and Cozy Cottage

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
I have vacationed in Tenants Harbor, Maine on two separate occasions. The weathered gray cottage is well appointed and cozy. It has a view of the ocean from the front window. I loved drinking my morning coffee and watching the sun dance on the water. This cottage also has a deck on the front with the same great view. During the summer months, there are plenty of places to stop and buy fresh produce from the garden and lots and lots of blueberries and pies. Yum!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming Cottage with Ocean View, Shorefront Access,& Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194728vb
(303) 887-8914 Linda (Colorado, USA )
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
I have vacationed in Tenants Harbor, Maine on two separate occasions. The weathered gray cottage is well appointed and cozy. It has a view of the ocean from the front window. I loved drinking my morning coffee and watching the sun dance on the water. This cottage also has a deck on the front with the same great view.

During the summer months, there are plenty of places to stop and buy fresh produce from the garden and lots and lots of blueberries and pies. Yum!

Reply:
Dear Carol,
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Weathered Gray Cottage. Maine blueberry pie is a favorite of mine!
Deb
business
Charming Cottage with Ocean View, Shorefront Access,& Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194728vb
(303) 887-8914 Linda (Colorado, USA )
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Weathered Gray Cottage Review: Family Friendly

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
An idyllic summer retreat from the hustle and bustle of city life. We've been coming almost every year for the past 5 years from the Washington, D.C. area, and it is well worth the trip! The cottage has everything you need, including new kitchen appliances. It is clean and comfortable with a family friendly budget. The ocean view of the off-shore islands is phenomenal. It is no surprise that artist Jamie Wyeth owns one of the islands. Sunrises and sunsets from the deck are a specialty, as are quiet evenings by the fireside.
You can cook your own lobster caught that day or eat it dockside in the harbor. Casual and fine dining opportunities are just a 5 min. walk to the village. There's also a small country store offering essentials and some prepared food items. Bring your own kayak or canoe so you can launch just steps from the cottage.
The cottage is centrally located to a variety of destinations. Rockland is only a 20 min. scenic drive away offering all the amenities of a town, i.e., movie theater, supermarkets, restaurants, shops and the Farnsworth Museum. The beautiful Camden hills are only a few minutes more to the north. A 10 min. drive south of the cottage takes you to Drift In beach and the charming village of Port Clyde. The lighthouse there was featured in the "Forrest Gump" movie. The village also has an awesome ice cream shop -- not to be missed -- restaurants and a nice playground for kids. It is also the gateway to gorgeous Monhegan Island. You can take sightseeing cruises to see the area's lighthouses or a nature cruise to view the puffins and seals. If kayaking is your thing, you can take a guided kayak tour to a porpoise feeding ground. One actually swam under our kayak and played with us for awhile.
The owners of the cottage are great to work with and have a good rapport with the locals. All have been friendly and very good to us. It isn't a good summer without a trip to the gray cottage!
Mary Ellen Curran, Dunkirk, MD
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Charming Cottage with Ocean View, Shorefront Access,& Wi-Fi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p194728vb
(303) 887-8914 Linda (Colorado, USA )
Tenants Harbor MidCoast and Penobscot Bay
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2009
An idyllic summer retreat from the hustle and bustle of city life. We've been coming almost every year for the past 5 years from the Washington, D.C. area, and it is well worth the trip! The cottage has everything you need, including new kitchen appliances. It is clean and comfortable with a family friendly budget. The ocean view of the off-shore islands is phenomenal. It is no surprise that artist Jamie Wyeth owns one of the islands. Sunrises and sunsets from the deck are a specialty, as are quiet evenings by the fireside.
You can cook your own lobster caught that day or eat it dockside in the harbor. Casual and fine dining opportunities are just a 5 min. walk to the village. There's also a small country store offering essentials and some prepared food items. Bring your own kayak or canoe so you can launch just steps from the cottage.
The cottage is centrally located to a variety of destinations. Rockland is only a 20 min. scenic drive away offering all the amenities of a town, i.e., movie theater, supermarkets, restaurants, shops and the Farnsworth Museum. The beautiful Camden hills are only a few minutes more to the north. A 10 min. drive south of the cottage takes you to Drift In beach and the charming village of Port Clyde. The lighthouse there was featured in the "Forrest Gump" movie. The village also has an awesome ice cream shop -- not to be missed -- restaurants and a nice playground for kids. It is also the gateway to gorgeous Monhegan Island. You can take sightseeing cruises to see the area's lighthouses or a nature cruise to view the puffins and seals. If kayaking is your thing, you can take a guided kayak tour to a porpoise feeding ground. One actually swam under our kayak and played with us for awhile.
The owners of the cottage are great to work with and have a good rapport with the locals. All have been friendly and very good to us. It isn't a good summer without a trip to the gray cottage!
Mary Ellen C., Dunkirk, MD