BEAUTIFUL BUT NOT QUITE AS DESCRIBED!
Submitted: July 6, 2011
Stayed: June 2011
My husband & I rented this villa for a week as an anniversary present for his parents, & were overall shocked & extremely disapointed. The house, the pool & the beaches are just as beautiful as the pictures on this site. The house attendants both, Odalys & Diogenes are very nice & welcoming. Odalys does an exceptional job!
However, The ad was decieving. we were not told that this house is located at the bottom of a precipice. We rented an SUV & every time we had to travel the 30 minute trip just to get out of the ugly dirt road & into the main road, we worried that the suv might not make it. There are huge pot holes & protruding rocks on the roads. I was embarrased to bring my in-laws to this part of the country, they had never been to D.R. & were looking forward to a week in paradise.
If you are considering renting this Villa, you should be aware of a few things:
Yes, it is lovely, the beaches are Gorgeous, the service is wonderful.
-There is no air conditioning, you can pay an extra daily fee per room to have air conditioners on two bedrooms only.
-The house doesn't have screens on the windows, so bugs fly in all day & night (we have the mosquito welts to prove it)
-The refrigerator doesn't really work, everything melts in the freezer & nothing stays cool in the fridge.
-The water cooler doesn't keep the water cold, & you are only provided with 2 (5 gal) bottles of water & you have to buy more if you need it.
-You are only provided with 1 roll of toilet paper per bathroom, you have to buy more if you need it.
-There aren't any alarm clocks in the place & cell phones don't really work because of lack of signals, so their alarms aren't relible.
-No paper towels were provided
-The house phone is not reliable & the house cell phone comes at an extra cost + extra calling cards as needed.
-No sofabed, our first night there my husband & I found a nasty wasp nest on one of the pillows on our bed (these wasps build nests in less thn 24 hours every where in the house) we tried to find the sofabed because I didn't want to sleep in the room, but there wasn't one to be found, what we did find was a ton of bugs that flew in through the unscreened window shutters.
-Internet access is spotty, you have to bring your own laptop and pay a weekly fee to get a usb key that barely works.
-No beach chairs (even though the ad says 8)
We are not High Maintance people, but a little comfort would have been nice. I'm truly disappointed!
Owner's Response: Distinguished guests.
You had the chance to experiment one of the last place of paradise in Dominican Republic. You say yourself: "Yes, it is lovely, the beaches are Gorgeous and the service is wonderful!"
Do you know that we must win paradise and that it is not easy!
Yes the last part of road is a little hard (4 kms). that's why I advised you to rent an SUV. But you did not follow my advice and you had to change your car during your stay.
Your Other comments are false or extremely exaggerated:
Yes we have some bugs but not a ton as you write it and every room has a mosquito net,
No, fridges and freezer work fine,
Yes, there are 8 chairs for the pool and terraces (and not for the beach),
Yes, there are paid services in extra and that is normal, you have received an information about the extras before your stay.
Why do you reproach us also not the 3 clouds that hid your sun?
Why do think that all the other guests visiting us at Villa Bahia Rincon since 3 years gave us positive reviews, and for the first time we receive a negative one.with you?
I think for your next vacation you should choose an all inclusive hotel in Miami or Cancun or Punta Cana. You will not find paradise, but the comfort you need, sure!
Helpful votes: 1/4
Did you find this review helpful?