Poipu condo rental - From the VIsta Point Only Available to Makahuena Guests
From the VIsta Point Only Available to Makahuena Guests
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Poipu Condo Rental Photos and Description
Three full bedrooms and Two and one half baths. Two master suites

One of our favorite things to do at our home away from home is to walk down to the vista point at the Makahuena in the morning and watch the whales or in the evening with a glass of wine. This spot is only available to Makahuena owners and guests and is truly remarkable, as you are at the southern most point of Kauai. The ocean and sea life are stunning.

The most important vacation decision you will make is the condo.

******This is a Great unit for two couples as it has two Master Bedrooms with private Baths.****

Beautiful Murals by Artist throughout unit.

Listen to the Waves as you drift off to sleep in our Home Away from Home. Welcome to Makahuena Resort on the Southern tip of Kauai. One of the few developments in the world were you can see sunrises and sunsets over the Pacific.

Tennis available and on site. Pool and restful Hot Tub.

FUN CLOSET: WE OFFER THE FAMOUS FUN CLOSET

What is a 'fun closet'? It is where we keep all sorts of fun beach items for your vacation enjoyment.

Items do change due to guests.

We also have a Play and Pak

PACIFIC VIEWS: You will be staying right on the pacific. Perched upon a black lava rock, the Pacific and all its beauty will be right at your feet. World famous snorkeling Poipu beach is a short walk away. Shipwreck beach next to the Hyatt is 1/2 mile walk along bluffs over looking the Pacific.

Poipu Beach was recently named the fourth best beach in the world by Travel and Leisure magazine

I am a licensed sales person with Century 21 All Islands. If your dream is to own a piece of heaven, please let me know.

Transient Accommodation Tax # W51928484-01

More Details
Hide Details

35 Reviews of Property 190085 in Poipu, Hawaii

$99/NT Stunning Ocean View Condo PACIFIC Views Pool Hot Tub WIFI Tennis Cable
average rating of 4.7714286 based on 35 reviews
business
$99/NT Stunning Ocean View Condo PACIFIC Views Pool Hot Tub WIFI Tennis Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190085
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Coleville, Sk, Canada
5

Comments from the Canadians

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
This condo was perfect for us. Everything we needed was there. There are 2 very nice barbeques in the bbq area which is very close to the condo and we used it most nights. We saw whales out in the ocean quite regularly from our balcony, also took our morning coffee down to the point and watched the whales. Great place to watch the sunrise, and always met interesting people there. For anyone who has a problem with stairs, the condo would not be suitable, but other than that I would definitely recommend it. There are lots of great restaurants in the area if you want to eat out. You have to try a Puka Dog in the Poipu shopping centre!! They're great. For breakfast we liked Joe's on the Green at the golf course, and golfing was also great there. All in all, this a great place for a holiday. We were here for 2 weeks, and would have loved to stay longer. Lots to see and do. Hope to come back some day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
$99/NT Stunning Ocean View Condo PACIFIC Views Pool Hot Tub WIFI Tennis Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190085
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Brooklyn, Michigan
5

Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We were overwhelmed with the beauty of the island paradise. Of course, the weather was wonderful. Warm, but not hot, due to the wonderful breezes.

Our group enjoyed the whalewatching trip and the helicopter trip. We used the snorkeling equipment from the wonderful condo "Fun Closet". A man at the beach had bread crumbs he was throwing in the water and the beautiful tropical fish came all around us. I had no idea such amazing fish even existed.

The condo is fully equipped for cooking and enjoying. Upon arrival we felt like it was our home. We loved to walk down the beach each morning, spotting sea turtles, and we even discovered a monk seal, which was being protected by a volunteer.

The Lathams have printed a guide book, which is invaluable. We found all the suggestions extremely helpful. Lots of great restaurants, including the best burger we had ever had at the Poipu Mall. We liked Dukes Restaurant and Bennekes.

The owners are wonderful with help and advice. Our group would rate the whole experience as "Absolutely Perfect".

(Do not use Mesa Go Airlines for inter-island travel. Several flights were delayed or cancelled, leaving travelers missing connecting flights")
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank for your nice comments.

Warm Aloha

Steve
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
$99/NT Stunning Ocean View Condo PACIFIC Views Pool Hot Tub WIFI Tennis Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190085
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Castle Rock, CO
5

Excellent Condo. Excellent Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We had a great time at this condo. It was nice and large - great for all six of us. Very quiet area and excellent location. I highly recommend this condo.

Jim from Castle Rock
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
$99/NT Stunning Ocean View Condo PACIFIC Views Pool Hot Tub WIFI Tennis Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190085
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Lakewood, Washington
5

Whale watching and other fun for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
The condo was just right for our family to use. We brought grandchildren who loved the painting of whales on the walls and beach toys in the closet. We brought my parents who loved the pool, hot tub and walking to the point. My husband and I appreciated that the condo was just a short drive from so much to see and do!
The humpback whales happened to be early coming to Kaua'i this year, and I was able to get some excellent photos of whales breaching right from the point.
Although there are many units at the complex, neighbors were quiet enough to leave windows open all night and enjoy the cool ocean breeze.
The kitchen had enough spices to help make cooking much easier. The outdoor grill gave my husband a chance to cook too.
Even the drive from the airport to Poipu was beautiful, passing through Kaua'i's beautiful tree tunnel.
Steve, the owner, was very helpful too. The fun things to do in Kaua'i booklet left by him and his wife was a wonderful resource for planning activities.
I would recommend this rental for families! Enjoy!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Mahalo Nui Loa
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
$99/NT Stunning Ocean View Condo PACIFIC Views Pool Hot Tub WIFI Tennis Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190085
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Portland, OR
5

Home away from Home in Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We recently spend 8 nights at 1302 Makahuena, and we could not have been happier. First off, you would be hard pressed to find a more beautiful location...at any price. While our unit was not oceanfront, it was only steps away from gorgeous waterfront views with the surf crashing agains the rocks. You can see down the coastline both east and west, making for beautiful view of the sunrise, sunset and of course the turtles right below you in the coves. You can easily walk to both the Grand Hyatt Resort as well as Brennacke and Poipu Beach. We had friends that stayed at the Grand Hyatt, but each night they ended up visiting us at the condo. The condo is very nicely arranged with full kitchen, washer & dryer and family room on the first floor. The second floor has two full bedrooms with bathrooms, with one final room on the third floor. This allows plenty of room for everyone without getting into each others way. Another plus if the very clean and well kept undercover gas BBQ's just a few steps from this condo. If you love Kauai, but want to stick to a family budget, this is an ideal accomodation. Stop at Costco to get your meal basics and then entertain family and friends at Makahuena. We have stayed at other condos in Poipu as well as the Grand Hyatt, but the location and the set up at the Makahuena really make this place stand out. By the way, the pool may not be 'resort sized', but it is very nice and always clean.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
$99/NT Stunning Ocean View Condo PACIFIC Views Pool Hot Tub WIFI Tennis Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190085
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
4

Makahuena Review

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
From the start of the booking process of this place, Steve was nothing but great and very helpful. We found the place with no problems and all of the amenities that came with the condo (inside and out) were great and we made sure to use the pool and bbq as often as we could. The location of the condo was perfect and very close to the beach and the local shops. The booklet that Steve and his wife put together was so useful. We could tell that they put a lot of effort into it to help out all their guests to have the most wonderful stay possible. The description online was exactly how the place was and the paintings on the walls were beautiful, so it was nice! The property itself was good and only suggestion I have is to add an AC unit. The ceiling fans and standing fans that were provided were great, but there were nights it was a little too hot. We absolutely loved the beach equipment room and we definitely put all of the supplies to good use! With the excellent customer service and a well-maintained property, we would definitely recommend this property to a friend. Thank you for letting us stay at your place! :)
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We hope you come back and visit us soon. None of the units at the Makahuena have A/C due to the wonderful trade winds we experience that cool things off.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
$99/NT Stunning Ocean View Condo PACIFIC Views Pool Hot Tub WIFI Tennis Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190085
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
culver city
5

Great place to stay in Kauai!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
The Makahuena is very comfortable and spacious with a really nice feel to it. My family of five enjoyed our week there. I have been to Kauai a few times and found the location of the m ideal. It's not easy to find any deals on Kauai but this condo is one for sure. The communal gas grill was great (try Costco for fresh fish, coffee and mac nuts and the Koloa fish market for fresh fish and plate lunch). We loved JoJo's in Waimea for shave ice, Garden Island BBQ in LIhue,
We really appreciated the fun closet. Having beach chairs and an ice chest (too big to pack) was ideal for beach days.
The owner, Steve, went out of his way to accommodate all of our needs and provide pertinent information about the island and local sights and activities. I would definitely recommend staying at the Makahuena.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us and providing those tips about what to do.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
$99/NT Stunning Ocean View Condo PACIFIC Views Pool Hot Tub WIFI Tennis Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190085
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
San Diego
5

Great spot for a home from home vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Property location and amenities were as described. The property was presented in a clean and well maintained manner. Some "home from home" vacation properties translate to mean lots of other people's useless clutter. In this case it is evidently managed and presented to ensure the boogie boards, snorkeling equipment, inflatables, bags, DVDs, books and kitchen condiments etc remain useful. While not all necessary / suitable to each guest they could be used or ignored as appropriate. We were lucky in that the two useable sets of fins fitted two of us and with the two boogie boards this gave us low cost flexibility as we toured the various and excellent Island beaches. The owners personal guide notes were useful as were the local guide books in the condo. We would recommend the property to "self catering" friends, partly because we gained confidence that if they had issues the owner, or the cleaner, would attempt to address them - albeit we never had such issues! We used the condo as a base. We ate and slept there but spent our days exploring the varied beaches (many local, others on the North of the Island and also went hiking in the Canyon). The Makahuena is not the most exotic resort but very functional and all the staff we met were friendly. We only ate out twice locally and, following recommendation, tried Keoki's, located in the Po'ipu Shopping village (close). It has an extensive and popular restaurant area (steaks / seafood) and a more economical bar area for burgers, sandwiches, fish & fries etc. We were impressed with the food, service and south pacific ambience.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for staying with us.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
$99/NT Stunning Ocean View Condo PACIFIC Views Pool Hot Tub WIFI Tennis Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190085
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Santa Cruz
5

Spacious, fun home in great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Our family enjoyed our stay at the Makahuena very much. We used equipment from the Fun Closet quite a bit on our vacation -- the chairs and boogie boards were especially appreciated. My daughter loved her room at the top of the house with a view of the ocean, and we were very happy with ours as well. We enjoyed the sparkling pool and ate meals cooked in our well-stocked kitchen. We also took the advice of Steve and his wife and tried The Fish Market for a picnic lunch. We really enjoyed the traditional Hawaiian foods, and the price was great. Thanks, Steve!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Mahalo Nui
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
$99/NT Stunning Ocean View Condo PACIFIC Views Pool Hot Tub WIFI Tennis Cable
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p190085
+1 8083468775
Poipu Kauai
Honolulu, HI
4

Makahuena Condo

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
The condo is very spacious, wonderfully quiet, and relaxing. While it was built some years ago, the condo is very clean and comfortable. There is a computer there for internet access, a flat screen TV in the living room, and TV's in the bedrooms. The property has a very nice pool, hot tub, and bar-b-que area. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The price (especially on gap days that were not booked) is excellent. We would not hesitate to stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Don and Lani
Helpful votes: 3/4