Mendocino house rental - View of cove from deck
View of cove from deck
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mendocino House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedrooms - 2 Baths - (Sleeps 8)

SEA & RIVER HOUSE is perched on the cliffs south of Mendocino where the Navarro River meets the ocean, about 150 miles north of San Francisco and 10 miles south of Mendocino.

Situated high on the bluffs, the oceanfront home overlooks magical Brokeback Cove and has a view south to Point Arena lighthouse which flashes at night. To the north a mile, where the Navarro River meets the ocean, there is an expansive sand beach park.. With the ocean on one side and the river, famous for its steelhead fish, on the other, you can play in the sand, swim, canoe or fish. From the deck watch pods of grey whales migrate Jan. -March.

The house has four bedrooms, a game room , fireplace, and two bathrooms. it accommodates up to eight people. Three bedrooms are on the main level, and the fourth, entered from its own entry for privacy, is on the lower level. A deck surrounds on 3 sides upstairs. On the lower deck is a hot tub in which to soak away all of the tensions

Living Areas: The interior of the house is old growth redwood on two levels. The lower level, reached by a stunning spiral staircase, has a game room with a multi-game table (fooze ball, airhockey, small pool) and wall mounted large screen cable TV. Wifi is available at an extra charge. Most people receive cell phone service.

The kitchen is fully equipped with a new gas stove, new set of pots and pans, and a weber for outside grilling. A french press coffee pot is perfect for small batches of morning coffee. New contemporary Crate and Barrel dishes are fun for serving meals. The sink back splash area is tiled in multi colored glass.

The living room has two comfortable couches with reading lamps. Music is provided by a small sound system The area is centered around the woodburning fireplace. A ceiling fan keeps the room cool at the end of warm days

A dining area table looks out over the cove and seats eight. Colorful acrylic coated tablecloths make clean up easy.

Bedrooms: Each major bedroom has a queen or double bed covered with a featherbed or foam topper and finished with a patchwork quilt.. Old fashioned looking iron or metal bedframes create a cozy feeling in the redwood paneled rooms. Two bedrooms have cable television. A kids room contains a set of bunkbeds plus one twin bed. Games and books are provided in the bookcase.

More Details
Hide Details

Peter and Jed dueling on the beach

Peter Anderson purchased this house in 2007

We have long been in love with the indescribable Mendocino coast, and bought the house for our retirement. But, that's 10 years off, and we're renting it out for vacations until then.

17 Reviews of Property 189661 in Mendocino, California

Spectacular Oceanfront on Mendocino Coast
average rating of 4.875 based on 17 reviews
business
Spectacular Oceanfront on Mendocino Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189661
+01 608 444-2817
Mendocino North Coast California
5

A Dream Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My family is the center of my universe. My children and I are separated today by miles of ocean and land, for my husband and I live in India and the two elder boys, with their families, live in Fremont, CA and the youngest boy lives in the UK. Your house was an ideal retreat for us - we lived together, cooked together, ate together, played together, went out sight-seeing together - for three fun-filled days (13th, 14th & 15th of May 2011). If only the youngest (in UK) had been with us, our family would have been complete. We thought of him constantly as there was a room in your house vacant and waiting for him.
Your house was perfect for us. Everything one could need was so thoughtfully provided. We drank in the beauty of the surroundings, the ocean sang a lullaby to us every night and the river sent up a spray of mist early in the mornings. We never tired of looking at Brokeback Cove. You had provided books, brochures on local sights, playing cards, crayons, music - oh, we loved to get back home and warm up in front of the fireplace! What I liked in particular was the feel it gave one of being one's own home. My grandson who is one and a half years old enjoyed himself thoroughly! Thank you for sharing your lovely abode with us. I hope it goes on to give many more visitors the joy it gave all of us!
Nafeesa Moinuddin (mother of Mubeen Atha)
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Oceanfront on Mendocino Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189661
+01 608 444-2817
Mendocino North Coast California
san jose
4

Great view, Awesome location

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
We truly enjoyed our time at the sea and river house. It is in a really nice spot overlooking the ocean. The house is well stocked and clean.

I also had a great experience with Peter. He is extremely nice and helpful!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Oceanfront on Mendocino Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189661
+01 608 444-2817
Mendocino North Coast California
san francisco
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Dec 2010
Perfect place to relax over a wild stretch of ocean. Nothing fancy, just a comfortable beach home with a fireplace, hot tub and amazing views. Huge plus we could bring a dog
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Oceanfront on Mendocino Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189661
+01 608 444-2817
Mendocino North Coast California
Chico, CA
5

Magical

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We spent a long weekend in this beautiful home overlooking the crashing waves with our sons and their families. The home is cozy and comfy, great beds, well-stocked kitchen and overlooks the beautiful Mendocino coast. We took a walk on the beach nearby, drove into Mendocino and Ft. Bragg for shopping, wine-tasting and breakfast at the famous Little River Inn. We have penciled this in as a yearly event with our kids and feel so blessed to have found it!
business
Spectacular Oceanfront on Mendocino Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189661
+01 608 444-2817
Mendocino North Coast California
San Francisco, CA
5

Great location, comfortable house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We went to Sea and River house with three small families (3 couples and our babies/toddlers). The house was comfortable and the view is amazing of the ocean from the deck. The location is wonderful, with easy access to Mendocino beaches, hikes and the town of Mendocino (15-20 min. drive). The downstairs game/TV room and private master bedroom were a plus for us, too (so we could separate the crying baby on a different floor).
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Oceanfront on Mendocino Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189661
+01 608 444-2817
Mendocino North Coast California
Yuba City/Ca
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2009
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
What a wonderful home! Me and my husband went to the Sea and River house for our honeymoon and loved it. The ocean view was magnificent! It was very relaxing. The hot tub located on the back deck was such a pleasure. We were able to sit in it and enjoy not only the view but we could hear the waves and smell the ocean breeze. It was also great to take a hot cup of tea out on the deck and sit and watch the sun dance on the water. There was plenty of space inside and out! The new game room was a blast. I haven’t played foosball in years! I can’t wait to go back!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Oceanfront on Mendocino Coast
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189661
+01 608 444-2817
Mendocino North Coast California
Portage, Pa
5

What a wonderful House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2008
  • Stayed: Aug 2008
The Sea and River House was great. We were able to prepare our meals (breakfast and dinner). The Kitchen was stocked well with all the pots/pans and utensils that we needed. The view from the deck is incredible. We went to the beach area that was about a mile away. The whole area was quiet and relaxing. My daughter celebrated her 16th birthday while we were there. There were games available that we enjoyed playing. We would difinitely stay here again if we are in the area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/5