Lake Algonquin - Wells property rental - View from the Dining Table
View from the Dining Table
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Lake Algonquin - Wells Rental Photos and Description
one bedroom, sleeps 2

This home overlooks beautiful Lake Algonquin and the scenic Adirondack Mountains beyond. Sleeps 2.

This is a great area for exploring and outdoor activities. Small town atmosphere with big time Adirondack adventures nearby. We supply specific directions to remote waterfalls, hikes, snowshoes spots, river walks, skiing and other stuff to do.

This cute little house has an open, modern, loft - like interior with beautiful views from an abundance of over sized windows, cozy fireplace.

Comes with 2 kayaks, 2 bikes in summer, 2 sets snowshoes in winter.

Great year round spot to enjoy hikes to our local waterfalls, kayak, swim or x country ski out front, bike around the lake, or take drives to the many other lakes nearby. Lots of books, DVD's and games provided. No cable though, we come here to get away from the news!

We call her 'Trailer-Licious'. She's a 1960's mobile home that has been renovated with loving care and attention. Sleeps two in comfortable double bed with nice linens. Flat screen TV, full kitchen, Weber grill, outdoor fire pit, tons windows to drink in the great lake and mountain views!

We supply all the local scoop for hikes, waterfalls, antiquing, restaurants and other activities.

There is a small road between us and the lake, easy swimming or kayaking access. No smoking or pets please.

Anderson picture windows now line the lakeside of the home, thoughtfully designed to help bring the outside in - so while sitting in either of the two sitting areas or at the dining table, you are one with the outdoors. The lake and mountain views from inside (and out!) are unobstructed and lined by pine trees, creating a feeling of privacy rarely found on property so close to the lake.

Rachel Ray Endorsement!: Trailer Liscious was featured in Rachel Rays Magazine as one of her recommended romantic, cheap getaways in her Valentines Day edition! She featured one in CA, one in VA, and our little piece of heaven here in Wells, NY!

Local Activities: The southern Adirondacks is stunningly beautiful, mountain hikes, waterfalls and lakes abound. We will share all the local remote spots that we so enjoy visiting, most of which you would never find without local assistance! Good chance you will be the only ones even at the prettiest waterfalls, this is not a busy part of the country.

We supply kayaks for exploring the lake and bikes for exploring the town. Great fishing on Lake Algonquin. We supply a list of antique shops in surrounding towns, recommended local restaurants and hikes. Nearby there is golf, horseback riding and whitewater rafting. Skiing in winter is terrific - both x country and downhill.

Couch potatoes will also be very happy here - you can sit inside and experience the outside without ever leaving your chair.

More Details
Hide Details

Maura has been coming to Lake Algonquin her entire life, and knew as a small child she would have her own home here. Now she and her husband David own two houses in addition to the family camp. We enjoy all the year round outdoor fun - we ski, swim, kayak, paddle board, snowmobile, hike, antique, bbq and sometimes do absolutely nothing.

We use both, we rent both. It's been a great experience sharing what we love so much with others.

Maura purchased this in 2006

The Trailer Liscious Experience: This trailer was purchased for the location - one of the best views on this very picturesque and quaint lake.

The original plan was to use it for a few years for extra sleeping room, then tear it down and build a house. However, after staying here a couple of seasons and putting a little (OK a Lot!) of elbow grease into brightening her up, we recognized the efficiency and practicality of keeping the trailer. It is solid as a rock, local craftsmen have enhanced her with an abundance of picture windows to capture the view, we now have a fireplace, efficient heat and winter plumbing. She's clean, modern, warm and here to stay! We love her and so do our guests!

It is unique to find a cozy, clean, comfy and yet affordable get away home for just two people.

The views are fabulous. This is a small town on a beautiful lake that never gets very crowded, that is hard to find these days.

In winter deer and wild turkeys surround the house (our neighbors feed them).

23 Reviews of Property 189448 in Lake Algonquin - Wells, New York

Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 23 reviews
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Wish vacation was longer!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
We absolutely LOVED our stay in Trailer-liscious!!! The "trailer" (you wouldn't know just by looking at it) had clearly been lovingly redone with an extension and it was perfect for a couple looking to get out of the noisy city. and the view was simply breathtaking...esp. with the fog setting over the lake. the bikes (my fave) and kayaks (husband's fave) were the best perk - biking around the lake was sublime. everything was perfectly clean and completely welcoming - maura was great and v informative - would have loved to stay longer and would stay again in a heartbeat if we have time! thank you, maura and david!

i would recommend this property for age 55+ (even though we're not) - BUT it's equally awesome for young couples - it's just an option to click on below (which confused us a little bit when we were looking since we thought the place was only suited for age 55+).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/4
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Lovely Spot For Getting Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
As a single person, I was looking for a retreat place from my visible and high stressed job and found the solitude and silence I desired at Trailer-Liscious.

I did my research carefully and wanted a very small town situated about an hour from a place where there was good shopping on the one hand (Amsterdam), with easy access to towns further into the Adirondack Park on the other hand. Wells was perfect -- a sleepy, tiny town, and Lake Algonquin was a jewel -- no party atmosphere. Tranquility!

The trailer was the perfect size and the photos were accurate: Crate and Barrel plates, some antique lamps, a flat screen tv, a very comfortable bed, etc. It was very clean and welcoming.

I had a stack of books, a spacious kitchen and numerous day trips of exploration -- the time flew. I returned home refreshed and relaxed and look forward to experiencing such renewal again in the future.
My body, mind and soul were truly rejuvenated!

PS. I'll bet it's gorgeous in the fall and spring!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
1

Trailer Licious

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Sorry for being the party pooper but I simply do not share the enthusiasm of other reviewers about this place. I find it very strange that all reviews about this place are 100% positive, nobody has complained about a single thing, not even the extremely low shower head and the lousy bathtub? which gets clogged up quickly unless you try to shower with a very weak stream of water and get out in less than 5 minutes?

I certainly wouldn't call this place spotless unlike what two other reviews have suggested. The one thing that actually one cares the most about was indeed stained and spotty: the bed linens. If you want to get a feel for this place I'd say the inside is comparable with an old motel...

The location too leaves much too be desired. Lake Algonquin is very small, smaller than some ponds. The water is murky and uninviting, although I saw people fish and swim in the public beach nearby, it is not a lake that I'd enjoy swimming or kayaking in. If you are the type that looks for privacy, serenity, secludedness, and loon sounds from vacationing by a lake, you will be disappointed by Trailer Licious (or any other property by Lake Algonquin).

The view from outside is spectacular if you hold your head up and look to the left. To the right, the view is contaminated by an old dam and a public bathroom which attracts some road traffic!

No, I will not stay in this place again and will not recommend it to a friend. Read the other reviews very carefully and judge for yourself.

In fairness, the owner was very accommodating and easy to work with.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Great Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
Trailerlicious was a great way to spend a week. No cell phone service was bliss! Great communication from owner. House was extremely clean and had everything we need to cook each night. The lake was quiet, great access with Kayaks and bike rides were fun. She suggested some really wonderful adventures with great, accurate directions, we certainly were happy to have that not knowing the area. The movie selection was great as well. The place was perfect for the two of us to get away from it all! I highly recommend a stay at trailerlicious!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
5

Clean, relaxing, and perfect size!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Trailer-licious is a perfect size for two (most rentals in the area are really for larger groups), it is clean and comfortable, it has everything you need in terms of household (a complete kitchen, comfortable furniture, radio, DVD player) and activities (two small kayaks, which can be dragged or carried to the lake; two sturdy bicycles), and it's in a lovely location: right by the lake, where you can fish or hop into the water for a quick swim at any time. It's also close driving distance to many great hiking trails of the southern and central Adirondacks. There's a nice fire pit a few yards from the house, nestled in a stand of white pines, which is great for evening cookouts or fires. You could also do the short drive up West Hill Rd. towards the end if you want to hang out at more remote camp sites (there's a beautiful one along the West Branch of the Sacandaga River). The town of Wells is small and charming, and the people are fabulous. During the summer, the Lakeside Grill has live music on Saturday nights, and one Friday evening we saw a surprise Celtic trio. The public beach has nice, deep water and a diving board. We loved our stay very much.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/3
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Montreal
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This place is exactly as it looks in the photos. Nice, clean, well taken care of, all the amenities you could ask for - nice tv, dvds, linens, stocked kitchen, trail maps, kayaks, mountain bikes, etc.

Super relaxing place, amazing area with tons of things to do.

Couldn't ask for more, loved it, very nice and helpful owner as well.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Buffalo
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
We came from Buffalo to get away for a couple days, and it was perfect! We hiked the Jimmy Creek falls just a short drive away (dont bike there! haha) and we also hiked to the very top of Hadley mountain, if you want some of the most gorgeous views in the northeast, hike up bradley mountain!
Trailor-liscious itself was wonderful, all the amenities of home, but in such a great setting it doesn't feel like your usual home. THe bed was extra comfy, the fireplace was perfect in late september, and the views were pretty great.
Overall, i definitley recommend, the only reservation i have is that the more everyone else book, the less chance i do!
-Bob and Liz in Buffalo, NY
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/3
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
New Jersey
5

PEACE AND QUIET ON LAKE ALGONQUIN

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Trailer-liscious was everything we hoped for. From the moment we walked in we felt right at home. Trailer-liscious was spotless and very comfortable. We made use of the 2 bikes which are provided to take daily bike rides around the lake. There is an extensive library of books and DVD's which could keep anyone busy for days. The kitchen is well equipped with anything you would need to stay in and cook a meal. There are several hiking trails all nearby. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, romantic place to unwind, you will find it at Trailer-liscious. We definitely plan to return again and again and again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
New York, NY
5

home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Dec 2009
Maura and her husband have created such a lovely retreat and clearly a home away from home. We walked across the frozen lake Christmas Day were greeted by the local neighbors consisting of a herd of white-tail deer and wild turkey every morning, relaxed, and generally had the time of our lives. I felt cared for with the comfortable living spaces, beautiful light and windows and never-ending crackle of the fireplace. I'd happily recommend this as a special place to friends throughout the four seasons.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Romantic Lakeside For Two - Kayaks, Bikes, Fireplace
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p189448
Lake Algonquin - Wells Adirondacks
Binghamton, NY
5

Perfect romantic getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Oct 2009
We just returned from our weekend away and had the MOST fabulous time. Trailerlicious was even nicer than it appears in the pictures, the house was spotless and you can really tell a lot of effort was put into modernizing this cozy little home.
We spent most of our time lounging by the fireplace, watching movies from the extensive movie library, taking walks around the scenic lake and fishing from the little public dock across the street. GORGEOUS views of the lake and mountains.
At night, we roasted marshmallows in front of the charming fire pit and watched the sun set.
What pleasantly surprised us is how close by everything was — from restaurants and pubs (we spend a fantastic afternoon at The Lake House bar and grill), to scenic hikes and state parks — everything was right around the corner! And yet we STILL felt like we were in our own, private little world at Trailerlicious.
Thank you, Maura, for making your special little home available to others to share. We can't wait to come back!

- Lindsey & Jason
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4