Laie house rental - View from the front porch and living room, clear blue water, mountains!
View from the front porch and living room, clear blue water, mountains!
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Laie House Rental Photos and Description
House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Cute, small 2 bedroom with 1 queen and 2 twin beds. Remodeled with new furniture. See photos for bedroom arrangement. Hawaiian flare with amenities of the main land. Your own secluded beach home. Watch the waves and enjoy the views from the surrounding covered porch.

Laie is the home to BYU and the world famous Polynesian Culture Center. The Polynesian Culture Center is within walking distance.

Great small town with restaurants, grocery stores all near by. Great patio for watching the waves. Sliding door allows open views and cool breezes. Enjoy the cool breezes, be aware there is no air conditioning.

Experience truly spectacular mountain and ocean views as well as incredible sunsets. In only a few minutes you can be hiking in the beautiful Ko’o’lau Mountains or horseback riding along a pristine shoreline.

Entertainment is limitless with an ongoing concert series at Brigham Young University’s Hawaii campus to local bands at Turtle Bay. NO NOISE from concerts. The #1 tourist attraction in Hawaii, the Polynesian Cultural Center, which features spectacular entertaining shows, luaus, historical & cultural demonstrations & 'plenty shopping,' is only a short stroll down Kamehameha Hwy.

Across the street is the local shopping center which boasts a full scale supermarket, a variety of fast food options, twin cinema’s, video rentals, post office and even a hardware store! The Mormon Temple is a wonderful five minute walk up Hale La’a Boulevard and offers a free historical tour as well.

The Kahuku Public Course is only 5 minutes up Kamehameha Hwy. & for those more seasoned & serious in the game Turtle Bay Resort, home of the Senior PGA Tour, is just 10 minutes away. Famous Sunset Beach & Waimea Bay are only a few short minutes up the North Shore.

Beautiful Laie, located a gorgeous 40 minute to one hour scenic drive from Honolulu. Come live island style.

Enjoy the windy side of the island! There's near by golfing, resorts and many amenities. It's a small town feel without the many tourists. You'll love the area and the spotless immaculate property.

Keywords: Single Family Home, beachfront, beach front, on the water, house

More Details
Hide Details

Much to my surprise, I suffered a stroke 2 years ago. My son is now college age and I will be an empty nester. As a family, my son and I loved to come to Hawaii. Quality family time.

I am now retired and devote full time to helping others enjoy the many pleasures of Hawaii. We hope you can be our guest soon.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

I love the ocean. The minute I walked through the patio doors and saw the views, I knew I had to have the property....

The views are awesome and the water is crystal blue. The house is located on the sand and not on the street!! Laie is a great town and home to BYU and the PCC!

The beach is OUTFRONT....you can fall asleep to the ocean sounds. We are set back from the main highway and you do not get the traffic noise.

Walking across to the street to PCC and the best luau and show on the ENTIRE island...I know as I have been there several times.

You can walk to the university - BYU. Stroll to McDonalds for an ice cream cone of just sit and enjoy the beach.

Martha and Keld are the most wonderful hosts on the entire island. They have been in Hawaii for 26 years. If you are from Europe Keld would like to practice his Danish!

56 Reviews of Property 138931 in Laie, Hawaii

Beach -Breathtaking Views,free wi-fi, cable, April Special 20% off
average rating of 4.7818184 based on 56 reviews
business
Beach -Breathtaking Views,free wi-fi, cable, April Special 20% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138931vb
(619) 757-9002 (California)
Laie North Shore Oahu
British Columbia
1

Not what I expected.....

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This is the first time we have rented a home for a holiday.....

Martha welcomed us with open arms and was very friendly and accomodating.....

Although the house was cute and the setting/views were spectacular, easy to find and located in a great spot, the home was not up to par cleanliness wise - I understand that everyone has different levels of cleanliness and unfortunately we ended our stay a few days earlier and located elsewhere.

Renting is obviously not for us..... :(

I'm writing this review as an opinion/my view and not to deter anyone from staying. Again, everyone has different expectations........
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: I am most sorry to hear this. Quite surprised as Martha, property manager, said you told her you had other family coming in and were concerned about the beach. You should have told her the truth. She takes great pride in their cleaning. The cleaning is done the old fashioned way, on hands and knees. This way we are certain that everything is spotless. In fact, most guest are surprised at how clean it is. Since they are from Denmark and in their 70's they do super cleaning, even the windows, screens, doors, everything after each guest. I constantly stay in the home and love it, it is spotless. Why wouldn't you just tell her? Martha was concerned that you wanted more of a HOTEL feel rather than a home, which we are not. You are right stick to renting hotels. Myself and Martha were very upset that you would find it necessary to post such a review when you told her otherwise. Honesty would have been the best policy here as there would have been ANY corrections necessary done immediately, but you choose not to tell us. Why? We strive very hard to give everyone a 5 star stay and yours is the ONLY negative review. I don't understand, your deposit money was refunded and I was lead to believe that all was well with your stay. We have had many guests from Canada, and not one complaint. I am utterly shocked that you posted such a review. Why didn't you give us a chance to make any corrections you would have wanted? Instead you decided it was necessary for a negative review. I'll be sure that other guests don't allow such a FACUDE to be played upon us again. I do ask with the reservations that you notifiy us immediately upon arrival of any concerns you might have and you did otherwise. Your experience here was a mistake. We pride ourselves on clean and immaculate. This is an email I received:

This is an email I received, a guest that stayed in the very same home:

Hi Victoria!

The house was wonderful and Martha was an amazing hostess! Our girls loved playing in the low tides and everyone surrounding the home was very friendly and courteous. Thank you so much for opening your home to us, it made the perfect vacation for our family and we can’t wait to come back!

My only advice is to maybe upgrade the living room couches, only because we are a family of cuddler’s and it was difficult to do that lol. Other than that, I loved everything about it!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Beach -Breathtaking Views,free wi-fi, cable, April Special 20% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138931vb
(619) 757-9002 (California)
Laie North Shore Oahu
4

Comfortable Cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The listing was as described on the Home Away site. It is an older cottage, but was well kept/maintained. We were very comfortable there. Martha was a wonderful hostess and wnen, after a very heavy rain, we experienced electrical problems, Victoria was on it right away. A repair person was called the night it happened.
We were however a little surprised by how small the beach was. The picture make it appear larger than it is. It was very quiet and private though, with only about 4 places having direct access to it. Only a couple of other people ventured through the water to get to it. But then, we too had to wade/swim through the water to get off it. All things considered, we would definitely recommend it to friends/family.
It could be a problem with large families though. You are only allowed one load of laundry per day, and only between 8 AM and 6 PM,but there was no charge for use.
You are right across from the Polynesian Cultural Center, so can walk across the road to spend a wonderfully, fun day with the staff there. The evening show was amazing. We also loved snorkling at Shark's cove.
Good luck visiting the island when it isn't raining though. I was there for 2 weeks last year and it rained every day, and this year we were there for one week and it rained every day, but we did have a few more sunny periods.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach -Breathtaking Views,free wi-fi, cable, April Special 20% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138931vb
(619) 757-9002 (California)
Laie North Shore Oahu
5

beautiful home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The home itself is beautiful and as described on the site. The managers are very friendly and accommodating (and life next door if you have any questions). We would def stay here again. Maybe in a different mouth, as the ocean was pretty rough so we didn't get to spend as much time as we would have liked on the beach at the house.
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Beach -Breathtaking Views,free wi-fi, cable, April Special 20% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138931vb
(619) 757-9002 (California)
Laie North Shore Oahu
5

Peaceful getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
House was exactly as described. Perfect beach house. wonderful to look out to the ocean from the bedroom and living room. Not much of a swimming beach that time of year. Kitchen great and lacked for nothing. Really nice to have access to washer and especiially dryer. Owner was great in sending all the "secret" tips" of outings, stores etc. We loved the Kualoa Ranch terrific - will give you local price. Shrimp shack. Polynesian Center worth the money especially if you book by phone, cheaper than internet.and just a walk across the street. Best grocery was by the Valley of the Temples before arriving. Foodland convenient literally 2 blocks away. Lots of access to fun public beaches. Beds very comfy. Very quiet.
I would recommend this for a couple or small family with 2 kids. Martha, the property manager very friendly and helpful. An easy drive to everything. Airport only 1 hour away and a nice drive.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beach -Breathtaking Views,free wi-fi, cable, April Special 20% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138931vb
(619) 757-9002 (California)
Laie North Shore Oahu
4

Lovely comfortable cottage right on the beach!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My husband, soon to be 4 year old daughter and I lived in the blue cottage from Nov 20 to Nov 26. The cottage was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed, including free wireless which my husband appreciated because he had to connect to work ( poor guy). This property is right above a small very easy to access beach ( just a few steps down). The water is shallow and warm and perfect for adventurous little ones like my daughter. We spent many hours on this beach enjoying the water and chasing the little sea creatures. This property is not completely private, you will most likely be sharing the beach and the yard with other renters, however we had no problem, we still felt we had enough privacy. Now a few things to be aware of concerning the town of Laie. No liquor is sold in the town, so you will have to purchase alcohol out of town. Also, the local Foodland supermarket is ridiculously expensive. Talk to Martha or other locals about where to shop. This is what we discovered: you can buy fresh eggs and a few fresh greens and fruit at the Cackle egg store, it is just a minute away from Foodland, the eggs are very affordable, 3 to 4 dollars a doz. Buy the best fresh baked bread and grilled shrimp at Titas in Kahuku, just a few minutes north of Laie. Buy the bread early in the morning, it gets sold out very quickly. Its $5 for a huge loaf and absolutely delicious. For alcohol and other groceries, it is better to drive 30 min to Haleiwa, its a lovely drive, gorgeous beaches on the way and fresh fruit stands to buy coconut, gauvas, papaya etc. The store called "Longs" has much more affordable groceries and wine etc, and there are restaurants and gift stores. The best beaches for us was Waimea Bay and Kamae...... OMgosh its a long name, its a state park just a few minutes north of Laie, both beaches are gorgeous and very wild at times so becareful.
Now back to the blue cottage property, we were quite happy with our stay, Martha was helpful and checked up on us a few times, she also can give you needed info about the area. Oh, Laie is a Mormon town, so everything is closed on Sundays. This property is not luxurious in any way, so if thats what you are looking for, you will be dissapointed. We did not care about luxury, we just wanted a clean dry comfortable place to come back to after spending all day on the beach. The Polynesian cultural center is across the road. We suggest you see the "Ha" show, thats the best. We loved our stay!
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Beach -Breathtaking Views,free wi-fi, cable, April Special 20% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138931vb
(619) 757-9002 (California)
Laie North Shore Oahu
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
Everything was even better than we expected. The location is ideal for anything you want to do on Oahu. The house was perfect in everyway with everything you could ever need. The entire property was spotless. The manager lives next door and was a great source of help for activities and sharing of stories about the island. We went to Pearl Harbour in a half day with plenty of time to get back and enjoy the beach for the afternoon. Very close to all the shrimp trucks and other local food that was so emjoyable. It was quite and we never felt the need for the annoyance of an airconditioner. I wish we could of stayed for the rest of our lives!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beach -Breathtaking Views,free wi-fi, cable, April Special 20% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138931vb
(619) 757-9002 (California)
Laie North Shore Oahu
Omaha, Nebraska
5

Frequent visitor, every 2 years - family of 3 adults

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
In all the times we have come to Oahu, this is only the 4th house, we have rented. The other 3 were already booked, so that is why we had to look for a new place.

Of the 4 houses that we have had over the last dozen years or so, this is how we rate this unit ------LOCATION & ACCESS - tied for 1st /// SIZE - it was the smallest /// MAINTENANCE/WORKING ORDER - by far #1 /// BEACH & OCEAN SCENERY - #1 /// BEACH & OCEAN ACCESS - Very close #2 /// PARKING & VEHICLE SECURITY - #2 /// WILLINGNESS TO RENT AGAIN - #1

This was an excellent location - about an hour's drive from Honolulu - beautiful beachfront location/scenery - A little smaller than we expected, but still maintained and upkeep was 2nd to none - you can tell that alot of care and pride are put into this unit by both the owners and property managers. The property managers were nearby, and helpful when needed, but not intrusive.

The only suggestion that I have for improvement, is that living room seating is 2 love seats. If you could change one of those to a couch, it would have been perfect. We adapted by moving an end table and bringing in one of the outside chaise lounge's.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach -Breathtaking Views,free wi-fi, cable, April Special 20% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138931vb
(619) 757-9002 (California)
Laie North Shore Oahu
5

Perfect place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
We just left this beautiful and charming home in North Shore. I can't say enough of how great the home and location is. Everything is exactly how it is advertised. The home is on the beach with private access, interior is very clean and well maintained, & the Managers Martha & Keld are very welcoming and helpful. It is away from the road so it is quiet from all of the cars, unlike a lot of the rentals. They made us feel at home immediately. We would recommend this home to anyone. The house is a short drive from a nice Foodland, pizza, subway,and several other shops and the Polynesian Culture Center along with some beautiful beaches. Looking forward to going back soon.

Cyndi.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beach -Breathtaking Views,free wi-fi, cable, April Special 20% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138931vb
(619) 757-9002 (California)
Laie North Shore Oahu
4

Wonderful View and Beach Access!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
While it wasn't as private as I originally thought (there is an attached studio and yellow three bedroom that share the same yard, parking, laundry and beach access), the view and access to the beach were well worth it! It was still more private than any beach we'd ever been to, everyone was very friendly and most of the time we had it all to ourselves anyway. The house was clean, well-equipped and the lagoon was perfect for our kids (7 and 11) to swim and explore safely -- great snorkeling, lots of sealife! It was also super convenient, one hour to Pearl Harbor in Honolulu and maybe 30 minutes to historic Haleiwa for some North Shore surf lessons, shopping and restaurants. We also spent one whole day and night at the Polynesian Cultural Center, which was just across the street (great family fun and educational!). We also enjoyed the July 4th fireworks, beaches, sunsets and restaurants at nearby Turtle Bay Resort! I would recommend a small A/C unit and blackout shades for the twin room. There were no blinds and though the transparent white curtains were pretty, they don't do much to keep out the light or the heat. The kids couldn't keep the windows open at night because of noise from the road and the neighbor's rooster in the morning. My husband and I just had ocean sounds and breezes (but we did feel kinda bad for the kids who of course in turn woke us up a little earlier than we would have liked)! Overall, highly recommend, would be especially great to use the other units for a multi-family vacation or reunion -- great for grandparents, au pairs, family friends! Thank you so much to Martha and Keld for their welcome attention and care!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beach -Breathtaking Views,free wi-fi, cable, April Special 20% off
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p138931vb
(619) 757-9002 (California)
Laie North Shore Oahu
Canada
5

Charming and then some

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
Would stay here again in a minute. We have two young children (2 and 4) and it was the perfect location for us- lots of gorgeous beaches to visit up north and many great places to eat (do a little research before you come). We felt very safe letting the kids play on this beach without life jackets- very little wave action, not too deep & nice sand to dig in. When the tide was in, it offered the adults a chance to do a little light snorkeling too. We had the entire beach to ourselves except for the huge monk seal sunning itself on the rock reef one day! The house itself is everything that you need- had lots of extra things, beach towels, boogie boards, coolers, chairs etc. It was quite windy on this side of the island but it only made it a little cooler (which was appreciated). The mangers were also very helpful and immediately were there when we had questions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 5/5