Sidney house rental - Deep Cove vacation accommodation quiet rural area, beaches a short stroll away.
Deep Cove vacation accommodation quiet rural area, beaches a short stroll away.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
Minimum Stay 7 nights
 

Sidney House Rental Photos and Description
House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

4 Bedrooms (3 with king beds), a large kitchen with island eating bar, open floor plan with entertainment size dining table & sink-in comfortable living room furnishings, entertainment center, private outdoor hot tub and outdoor propane fireplace with comfortable patio seating, all make this a home that consistently gets great reviews from guests.

Room for several cars on the driveway & additional parking in a garage. Convenient for loading & unloading suitcases, sporting gear or groceries, rain or shine.

Large kitchen with richly finished cabinets, well equipped with enough dishes for entertaining. Island eating bar with granite counter & bar height stools keeps the conversation lively. Large propane barbecue stored in the garage, ready to be rolled out, hear the kitchen for friendly, easy barbecue meals.

Just beyond the kitchen is a large dining table & chairs, extra chairs in the closet if necessary. This flows to the living area which includes an oversize sofa & 2 comfy upholstered chairs. Coffee table for casual snacks while watching HD TV. French doors from this room open to the tiered patio/yard with a propane fireplace and private hot tub. We get so many comments telling us that guests really enjoy the way the propane fireplace extends the evening & that it contributed to much shared laughter.

Spacious main floor master bedroom has a king canopy bed, desk, ensuite bathroom & walk-in closet. For those of you planning a longer stay, you'll be happy to note that the closet has an amazing set of built in organizers for plenty of storage.

Completing the main floor is a 1/2 bathroom & separate laundry room with high-end front load Bosch washer/dryer.

Upstairs, opening off of a landing are 3 other bedrooms, 2 of them with king size beds and the last with bunk beds (twin over double). These bedrooms share a large bathroom with shower/tub combo.

So who is this home most suitable for?

During High Season

With 4 bedrooms and a very open plan, this is an ideal home for a family vacation, for extended family coming from various locations to meet and reconnect or for a small group of friends who would like to travel to Vancouver Island together.

During Low Season

Well suited to 'snowbirds' who would like longer term, low season accommodation, either to escape the snow and cold or to 'try out' island life before moving here. This home has been a temporary home to families moving from Bragg Creek, Hong Kong, Las Vegas & Calgary. It has also accommodated a local family while they built their new home. So whether building, renovating, or just searching for that right piece of real estate to purchase, consider this home your 'first step' to a successful island relocation.

The location has very easy access from all the major travel routes being only 5 minutes from the Victoria International Airport and 5 minutes from the Swartz Bay BC Ferry Terminal. Also, just 20 scant minutes from Victoria.

Once here, the home is a great home away from home for exploring further up Vancouver Island, Victoria and the Inner Harbour, the Gulf Islands, and of course the many delights right here on the Saanich Peninsula and in quaint little Sidney by the Sea.

Please email today. We'd love to greet you as guests in Deep Cove Retreat.

Keywords: House, cottage, self-contained, short term accommodation, long term accommodation, furnished rental, luxury rental, for rent by owner, home

More Details
Hide Details

We’re Susan and Don Wakal. We relocated to Victoria from Edmonton, Alberta in February of 2005, after having lived in Edmonton for our whole lives. The timing seemed right. Our son was completing his last year university in Edmonton and our daughter was just leaving to attend university in South Dakota. Don left his job and I closed my business. We called it our great adventure and all of our friends and family thought we were having a midlife crisis! The first year in Victoria we lost count after 55 people had visited us. It seemed everyone wanted a little bit of island time. It became apparent that we couldn’t continue to host as many out of town guests as we had been and still find time to carve out a life for ourselves here. Thus we decided to invest in a second property, to accommodate our visitors. Deep Cove Retreat is that property.

We'd be happy if you decided to take advantage of Deep Cove Retreat to visit Vancouver Island. Everyone deserves some island time!

Look forward to greeting you.

Susan & Don

Susan Wakal purchased this house in 2006

Once in a blue moon, we actually get to spend a night or two here ourselves. We find the quiet, heavenly. Between stays we crave the gab sessions in the hot tub and wish for movie nights curled up amongst all the sofa pillows. We always have a really good sleep and love to walk to the beach in the morning. Ahhhhh! Isn’t life good? We love the island life and have not looked back for a second. We still often feel almost intoxicated by the lush and fragrant surroundings we live in. So whether you want to visit world famous Butchart Gardens or the Ocean Discovery Centre or explore a different beach everyday or just kick back and read a good book ... you'll love your stay.

We truly hope you experience some of the same joy we’ve found living in Canada’s paradise.

Susan and Don

We've tried to put ourselves in your place and think of everything. Fresh flowers, award winning wine and a basket with local goodies welcome you. Cozy housecoats embrace you. Toys for the kids. A variety of reading material and music, maps and brochures to plan your adventures.

We're just a phone call away should you need help with anything.

Looking forward to helping with your plans.

Susan and Don

25 Reviews of Property 118454 in Sidney, British Columbia

Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
average rating of 4.96 based on 25 reviews
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Mackenzie BC
5

Guestbook Comment

Dec 23-30/08 we enjoyed your Deep Cove Retreat home for our Christmas holiday. You attention to detail,lovely decorations and welcome gifts made our C...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2009
  • Stayed: Jan 2009
Dec 23-30/08 we enjoyed your Deep Cove Retreat home for our Christmas holiday. You attention to detail,lovely decorations and welcome gifts made our Christmas on the coast awesome.The area and your neighbours were great.Your home is lovely and you have thought of everything for your guests.Thanks again,your home became ours for the week. Lynda & John
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Yachats, OR, USA
5

Guestbook Comment

This was by far the nicest place our foursome has stayed in the 20 years we have traveled together. No attention to detail and comfort were spared; t...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2008
  • Stayed: Nov 2008
This was by far the nicest place our foursome has stayed in the 20 years we have traveled together. No attention to detail and comfort were spared; the welcome basket and visitor information were superior. Thank you!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Ontario
5

Guestbook Comment

We rented Deep Cove for our daughters wedding in Victoria. It proved so helpful both before and after our arrival. Emailing to ask ahead was great i...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2008
  • Stayed: Jun 2008
We rented Deep Cove for our daughters wedding in Victoria. It proved so helpful both before and after our arrival. Emailing to ask ahead was great in terms of planning and meeting needs for when we were there. No surprises, just lovely. Very clean, and spacious.
We had a variety of family and friends with us and hte house set up was perfect, even for entertasining the following day after the wedding.
So glad we found it...hope to visit again sometime

The Butler Family
Ontario
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Winnipeg, MB
5

Guestbook Comment

Our week's stay in your home was wonderful. It was like a home away from home. We were kept very busy with activities surrounding our son'...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2008
  • Stayed: May 2008
Our week's stay in your home was wonderful. It was like a home away from home. We were kept very busy with activities surrounding our son's wedding on the Island so it was great to have a home to relax in. The house is beautifully decorated and very well equipped so it was a delight to entertain there. We hosted a large rehearsal party/family barbecue and everyone loved the house. Our staying guests were also very comfortable.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Not Specified
5

Guestbook Comment

Hello Susan & Don, Your home, became our home! For the 4 months we stayed there (yes we were longer than most!), your Deep Cove Retreat allowed ...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2008
  • Stayed: Jan 2008
Hello Susan & Don,
Your home, became our home! For the 4 months we stayed there (yes we were longer than most!), your Deep Cove Retreat allowed us to smoothly transition from our old lives in Bragg Creek, AB (Calgary) to our now, dream home in Victoria.

It was the perfect spot for all of us. From the great walking trails (everywhere), super running, Deep Cove Market (just a short walk), the airport (5 mins!, and Sydney - well you can even bike there too!

The lcoation was perfect, and the home more than comfortable. You both put a lot of care and attention into all the extra details, and it was so much appreciated. You were also delightful to deal with!

We can`t imagine anyone not enjoying their stay at your vacation spot in Deep Cove. We certainly did ours!

Thanks again, for EVERYTHING!

the Harle family
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Not Specified
5

Guestbook Comment

Our stay there was great - the house was amazing and interior decoration made us feel like we were at our own home! We really liked the location - so...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
Our stay there was great - the house was amazing and interior decoration made us feel like we were at our own home! We really liked the location - so peaceful and relaxed. We did golf at Cordova Bay and at Bear Mountain - both were great courses (but Bear Mountain reminded me of Calgary - too much development) !! Alas - the trip was a really nice break.


thanks again,


Chris
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
RR 4 Edmonton
5

Guestbook Comment

Thank-you Don & Susan for providing all the amenities at the lovely Deep Cove vacation home. Following our hikes and daily activities, it was such...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
Thank-you Don & Susan for providing all the amenities at the lovely Deep Cove vacation home. Following our hikes and daily activities, it was such a pleasure to 'come home', relax in the hot tub, and view the garden. Best wishes to you!
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Pickens, South Carolina
5

Guestbook Comment

Wonderful house, very nicely furnished. We were there with 3 teenagers and there was room for everyone. Great vacation in a very nice home. Linda McKe...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2007
  • Stayed: Aug 2007
Wonderful house, very nicely furnished. We were there with 3 teenagers and there was room for everyone. Great vacation in a very nice home. Linda McKenzie
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
5

Guestbook Comment

We loved our stay in the Deep Cove Retreat. The house itself would have to be 5 Star plus in quality of fittings, cleanliness and attention to detail...
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
We loved our stay in the Deep Cove Retreat. The house itself would have to be 5 Star plus in quality of fittings, cleanliness and attention to detail. The owners had thought of everything. It was a true home away from home. We would have no hesitation in recommending this stay to anybody who wants an extremely nice stay!!
business
Walk to Beach! Soak in Hot Tub! Sleeps 8 Now taking summer bookings!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p118454vb
+1 250 857 3300
Sidney Vancouver Island
Alberta
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2007
  • Stayed: Jun 2007
Our holiday spent at the Deep Cove vacation property was wonderful!We found it to be not just a place to stay, but a “home away from home”. This property is a very attractive home located in the beautiful setting of Deep Cove. We were a close walk to the water, near a couple of wineries and restaurants and a short drive from Sydney where the restaurants and shopping are abundant.We found the home itself to be immaculate and beautifully decorated. It has a spacious, well-equipped kitchen that contained everything that we needed to prepare snacks or meals during our stay. The bedrooms were all gorgeous and we especially enjoyed the spacious master bedroom with its king-sized bed, desk, and attached ensuite. The spacious great-room provided an eating area for quite a large group as well as a place to sit and relax, visit, read, listen to music or watch a movie. The property is filled with thoughtful extras like music, movies, quality books and magazines, games, toys (in a childrens’ room), hot-tub, cozy housecoats, art-work and attractive surroundings to enjoy.The owners are attentive and happy to answer questions or gather information, when needed, to help plan a holiday.We found this to be a terrific vacation spot that we will definitely return to and we will not hesitate to pass the information about this discovery on to family and friends