Harlem townhome rental - Living Room
Living Room
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights
 

Harlem Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Apartment - 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s) - 1 Bath - (Sleeps 3)

Sankofa Guest Apartment is an ideal location whether visiting NY for business or pleasure. This beautiful self contained apartment with a private entrance, is on the top floor our privately owned brownstone located in Central Harlem. There is no elevator.

The neighborhood is quiet, safe, residential, historic, eclectic, and right in the heart of Harlem. Take advantage of all Harlem has to offer-- delicious dining, Central Park, neighborhood tours, gospel brunches, church, jazz clubs, museums,and friendly folks. There is something for everyone.

After a day of fun in Harlem, lower Manhattan or the other boroughs, unwind in an oasis of tranquility at Sankofa Guest Apartment. The accommodations are immaculate, quiet and safe, with plenty of light and sunshine.

The bedroom which overlooks the garden has three windows, a comfortable queen size bed with a pillow top mattress, 600 count sheets, ample closet space, a comfortable lounge chair, Bose Wave Music system with an alarm clock. You can also play your iPod through the Wave music system.

The bathroom is adjacent to the bedroom. Liquid Soap, plush towels, bathrobes and 'complimentary slippers' are provided during your stay.

One of the hall closets houses a washer/dryer and laundry detergent.

The all stainless steel kitchenette is complete with everything you need to prepare a meal.

The living room has a small library, 27 inch flat screen cable HDTV with premium channels, two sofas--a twin sleep sofa with air dream mattress, and regular sofa plus other seating. There is a dining area with seating for four adjacent to the kitchen pass through.

If you value peace, beauty, quality, convenience and value for your money, why not make an inquiry?

Please check calendar for availability before making and inquiry.

More Details
Hide Details

81 Reviews of Property 173458 in Harlem, New York

Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
average rating of 4.975 based on 81 reviews
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Melbourne, Australia
5

Two Senior Australians

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We stayed at Sankofa for 6 weeks and enjoyed the apartment every day. We have had 4 stays with Edith & Norma in successive years. We find the equipment level and comfort of the apartment suits our desire for a secure bolt-hole close to public transport (buses and subway). All mod cons are available and Edith & Norma are ever ready to help with any queries about NY and Manhattan per se. Friendly and helpful on-site hosts are a special factor behind our repeated visits. The engaging people of Harlem are the hidden magnet for us to return time and time again. While we spend many hours away from Harlem (museums, galleries, flea markets, food markets (Chelsea, Fairway etc) we always feel completely comfortable walking the streets to and from public transport. Buses are a sociological experience as is the A train (the latter rocketing from 125th to 59th in 6 minutes). Food selections - fresh and packaged - are legion in nearby markets - one of the big attractions in NY for us. We look forward to our next visit to Sankofa - already booked for 2014 - and those welcoming smiles at the doorstep.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
San Anselmo, CA
5

Beautiful, charming, clean and sunny apmt, easy safe location, gracious hosts, highly recommended

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We’ll stay there again next time. Beautifully decorated with helpful, and generous hosts. We weren’t sure about staying in Harlem but the neighborhood felt safe, even at night, was much quieter than staying in Midtown, and the location was 4 short blocks to the Metro subway station and ½ block from the bus that goes right to Museum Row. It’s a 6 minute walk to the Apollo Theatre, ½ block to Paris Blues (which claims to have the “real” Harlem jazz) and lots of restaurants 1 to 6 blocks away, plus they all deliver—Edith keeps menus in the apartment. She set up a guest bed in the living room for my son, and we had everything we could want, plus space, beauty, full kitchen, very comfortable bed, free wi-fi, for less cost than a tiny hotel room. And if you’re interested in African-American history, ask Edith about her genealogy project—she’s amazing and has some fascinating stories. For getting around, it’s extremely convenient to any location in New York, especially within Manhattan or Bronx, and we easily visited Queens and Brooklyn. Buy a weekly or prepaid Metro card at the station, download subway and bus maps to your smart phone (or print a map), and you can get anywhere fast—Midtown is 10 mins away. We even got to JFK by train in just over an hour on our way home. You need to be able to walk comfortably, including the two and a half flights of stairs to the apartment—not recommended if you’re disabled or planning to rely entirely on taxis. I don’t know who would rent a car in Manhattan, but if you did, you’d find free street parking on the block.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
5

A remarkable home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I have been home for nearly a week, and I'm still looking at on-line pictures of Sankofa to remind me of my stay there. It is truly what is represented on-line and much more. Edith and Norma are wonderful hostesses who have thought of everything. The entryway is warm and inviting and pleasantly fragrant. The steps leading up to the apartment are thoughtfully lit by motion detectors. But that's nothing compared to the apartment itself. They have thought of everything. The apartment is beautifully and subtly decorated with original pieces of African and African American art. It was spotless upon arrival. The bed is by far the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and I even ordered the same pillows upon my return home. The kitchen is well-stocked, and includes food and coffee provided by Edith and Norma so that guests can relax upon arrival without having to run out for provisions. I enjoyed the library, and the living room is sunny, beautiful and comfortable. The location is very convenient to the rest of Harlem, Central Park, and the rest of New York City. You can be downtown in 15 minutes. Edith and Norma are extremely helpful and managed receiving and returning our rental phone for us. The only "problem" with Sankofa is that it's so comfortable and relaxing that you might not want to leave to explore the rest of the city! We will certainly return. I have already recommended it to many others. Thank you again, Edith and Norma, for a very special time.
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
5

A Retreat Within the City

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We have traveled extensively and we love NYC. We never imagined that we would have a space like Sankofa while visiting the city that we adore. From the moment we were met at the door we knew this was going to be a special vacation. Everything in the apartment retreat was like the pictures, that I felt right at home. Edith and Norma are outstanding hosts. The little things that were provided more than met our expectations. The gift certificate to a local cafe provided an excellent lunch and gave us an opportunity to visit a coffee shop that we may have overlooked. Needless to say, this became a favorite morning visit. Normally, we overplan and we just run all day and night. However, Sankofa was so warm and inviting, the threat of inclimate weather was a godsend, since it gave me an opportunity to sit back and kick back. I can't do justice to the vibe that is Sankofa. The art work, the decor and the "Library". I met old friends on the book shelf and became acquainted with new friends. The coffee table books on Harlem, NYC and Africa are not to be missed. We explored Harlem and Manhattan on foot, no car or taxi needed. We purchased a weekly bus/train pass and were on our way. Each day returning home was also a treat, knowing we would be able to kick back in the beautifully appointed living area (the leather sofa is dreamy) and untimately go to sleep on the comfortable bed with the sounds of jazz softly flowing from the bedside Bose system. We didn't want to leave but leave we must. However, we left a part of our spirit at Sankofa and hope to return---Soon!
Karim and Hafeeza Marvin NC
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
The decision to stay at the Sankofa apartment was a last minute one. I had booked the Aloft hotel but, decided at the last minute that it would be more economical to stay in an apartment for a week instead. Of all of the apartments that were available this appeared the most appealing because of the decor and the glowing reviews. The beginning and end of my trip was pure vacation with 2 days of business in between. It ended up being the best decision that I could have made.

Norma and Edith were gems. I arrived early in the day and because there was no one checking out, I was able to check directly into the apartment. They provided me with a lovely bottle of wine, banana bread and other little thiings to enjoy, like a complimentary coupon to a coffee shop around the corner. The apartment is so thoroughly stocked that I really did not have to purchase very much. The apartment looked exactly like the photos posted. It was immaculate and I felt completely at home. The space is clean, beautifully decorated, airey and with lots of natural light.....and the bed and linens were divine. There is tons of storage space and the bathroom has every amenity that you could want from shower and bath gel to lotions, blow dryer, a curling iron even a washer dryer.

The apartment is surrounded by what is "happening" in Harlem. It is within walking distance to many restaurants including Native, Setapani, Corner Social, Astor Row Cafe and Red Rooster. There is also a chinese restaurant around the corner and a convienience store at the beginning of the block for those last minute munchie items. Also convenient are Marshalls, Mac and several other stores for shopping in the area. I felt completely safe moving in and out of the apartment. The street that it is situated on is completely safe and quiet; just steps away from the bus stop and a few blocks from the train stations so one can be in midtown or downtown in just a few minutes.

Sankofa is beautiful! it is the perfect place for those who want a step up from the regular hotel experience, or want to have the luxury of experiencing "living" in New York without having to stay with friends. Thank you Edith and Norma for a fabulous stay. Hopefully, it will be available on my next trip to New York.

WD
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
5

Just wonderful!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
It was an absolute delight to stay at Sankofa. From the moment Edith met me at the door I felt welcome. As with other reviewers, I cannot speak highly enough of the apartment. No detail has been overlooked, from the high quality linens to the beautifully appointed lounge room, the apartment is a pleasure to come home to.

Harlem was a wonderful surprise, having never spent time there before. As a single female, I never felt uncomfortable, even when coming back to the apartment very late at night. Everyone I met proved to be both friendly and helpful.

I look forward to staying at Sankofa again on my next trip to New York.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Oakland, CA
5

5 STAR HARLEM HOME AWAY FROM HOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed at Sankofa for 5 days in early December, and it was like a home away from home. The place is special and has that cared for feeling, probably because the owners live downstairs and are so very warm and welcoming. Harlem is a great neighborhood to explore, and if you've never visited it, you will be shocked at the grandeur of the architecture and the friendliness of the neighborhood folks. We feel like we will always want to stay at Sankofa when we come to NYC. We highly recommend it!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
Gothenburg SWEDEN
5

Back in my home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Miriam and Lena from Gothenburg, SWEDEN

I think this was my sixth stay at the Sankofa apartment and the fact that I keep on coming back here says it all, doesnt it ? You cant be better accommodated in New York City. Not only has this apartment all you can possibly need, no matter if you stay for a few days or several weeks. It is clean, calm, cosy and very well equipped.And more importantly; you instantly feel the friendly atmosphere and the genuine interest from the hostesses Edith and Norma.
Harlem. I find the neighbourhood more relaxed and "laydback" than the rest of this hectic wonderful interesting city.You probably dont go to New York to relax but after long days of "touristing" you really enjoy the calm and comfort this apartment offers.I can recommend Sankofa to all people !
Thanks again Edith and Norma, see you next year !
Lena, this time with friend Miriam.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
5

Excellent accommodation in the heart of Harlem

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
Excellent accommodation close to subway connections (1 and 2 subway) and local bus. A 10 mins walk to central park and 5 mins to subway and local Harlem shops.

The host sent all the information including maps and directions to the apartment (which you will need as the airport taxis don't know their way around NY). On arrival we were greeted by a friendly host and shown the apartment which was lovely and clean. The decor is of afro american pieces which are from all over the world.

The Kitchen was equip with breakfast, drink and tea/coffee. There was an oven, microwave and coffee if you need. There is also a laundry area to wash clothes. Now when place say they have extras like bathroom stuff, slippers etc you don't alway get them but here you do. They supplied of shower gel, body lotion and pair of slippers.. it was great!!

The apartment was full of magazines and booklets on thing to do in NY.

This apartment is great for families ad friends, weekend and longer holidays. I would highly recommended it.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p173458
(212) 678-0116 (New York, USA)
Harlem Manhattan
5

Speechless.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We were completely blown away by this amazing apartment. Not only is it spotlessly clean, equip with all you need, in a fantastic location, but it is so beautifully furnished - you almost don't want to leave it!
This is a great location for a home base, so many things to see and do, we wish we had more time than 1 week.
Do yourself a favour and book this gem of an apartment, you will not be let down.
Every night coming home from a big day of shopping and adventuring around New York, it was heaven to kick our feet up in such a spacious home.
It cannot be faulted.
Everyone we've spoken to who are thinking about visiting have been told to look up Sankofa Guest Apartment.
Edith and Norma - we want to come back! Please do let us know if you're ever thinking of coming down our way to Noosa, we would love to return the favour, your warmth and hospitality will never be forgotten!
Helpful votes: 1/1