Woodstock house rental - Relax by our onsite waterfalls.
Relax by our onsite waterfalls.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Woodstock House Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sitting room, sleeps 2-6

Situated on the legendary Niobe Falls, The Waterfall House is a charming Victorian house at the end of a quiet country lane. Private steps down to these “pride of the Catskills” natural waterfalls make this home unique. Unspoiled Palenville, home of Washington Irving's 'Rip Van Winkle,' is ideally located between Woodstock, Saugerties, Catskill and Hunter. Furnished with country antiques and original art, this vacation rental home has two bedrooms, each with its own full bath plus a den with twin bed convertible chairs. The queen size sofa bed in the living room affords a glorious waterfall view framed by spectacular spring, summer and autumn foliage. The separate dining room seats six. French doors open to a romantic wraparound porch with majestic mountain, river and waterfall views! Enjoy breakfast on our romantic, wraparound porch, or lunch at the Circle W General Store. Stroll over to The Fernwood Restaurant for dinner or drinks.

Especially for Nature Enthusiasts: Discover nearby hiking trails. We provide trail maps and hiking guides. Wildlife is abundant, so bring your camera.

We'll help you plan just the right outdoor adventure hike. In season, tour the neighborhood with bicycles we provide.

Convenient to H.I.T.S.: Our proximity to this major equestrian center makes this home ideal for those participating in, or simply attending the wealth of seasonal events.

Skiers, Take Note!: We are located a mere ten miles from Hunter Mountain!

More Details
Hide Details

'ThinkBig!' creator Bob Malkin and former Emmy award winning film editor, author and former professor Barbara Pokras met and married in 1992. After relocating to New York City in 1997, we discovered the Catskills and in a single weekend, bought our first house. We love the proximity to Manhattan, the beauty of the area and the access to nature. Bob loves to hike the mountain with our dog Lucy, and Barbara

spends time gardening, writing for the Woodstock Film Festival, and finding little 'treasures' for The Waterfall House.

Bob Malkin and Barbara Pokras purchased this house in 2006

We never dreamed we'd be in the Vacation Rental business, but when we first saw The Waterfall House with its magnificent setting and old perennial gardens, we simply couldn't resist.

Fantastic waterfall and mountain views. Sleep to the sounds of falling water. Most guests tell us our photographs don't do justice to the spectacular setting.

49 Reviews of Property 166339 in Woodstock, New York

Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
average rating of 5.0 based on 49 reviews
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Los Angeles, CA
5

Waterfall House is a gem!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We have just returned from a wonderful week in the Hudson Valley and Woodstock areas where we stayed at the beautiful Waterfall House. Staying here was an inspired idea.
We wanted to explore the beauty and history of the Hudson region and having this house as our home base enhanced our experience. We felt like we were in the Loire Valley in France.

The house is very gracious -- a delight both inside and out. Everywhere one looks from the house - the waterfalls, streams, swimming holes, wildflowers, trees, sky, hiking paths-- is picturesque and spiritually nourishing. The water is sparkling clean and refreshing. The beautiful views keep changing according to the time of day and light. I loved just sitting and reading on the porch and looking at the views.
The house is completely comfortable. It's clear that every amenity was thought of. Great bed, great natural cotton sheets, light but warm down comforters. Robes, creams, shampoos etc. It's like being in a first class hotel but it's private and it was all ours.

The kitchen was fun to use and had every appliance needed to make gourmet meals. Besides the great breakfast that was left for us in the refrigerator -- fresh milk, farm eggs, butter, bread, coffees, granola, juice, the house contains everything we needed to cook our own gourmet dinner. I appreciated all the spices, kinds of olive oils, vinegars, wine etc. It was great not having to go buy those things. We loved lounging around, making our own breakfast and packing picnics. We even bar b que'd.

The house feels really cozy and is tastefully done. It is filled with lots of very good art, nice furniture and vintage relics of the area. The quality media equipment was easy to use and the library of books, dvd's, cd's that they've got were ones that I've actually wanted to read, see, hear and, in this cozy nest, we actually did that sitting in front of the fire place.
Being in this house was a pleasure and makes me want to return to the area and to the house very soon. It was the perfect backdrop for us to enjoy being together. So much better than being in a hotel. We had a great time.

p.s. The Saugerties Light House is A+ extraordinary.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 10, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We enjoyed a wonderful few days here at your beautiful Waterfall House. The waterfall alone is peaceful and inspiring and so is the entire house with comfortable beds, great music, views and every need for living…taken care of. Having the breakfast supplies really made a nice comforting feeling. It must be beautiful in all seasons. We grew up in Woodstock in the sixties and got to re-connect with all the towns and experiences. We had a wonderful and rejuvenating experience.Also note: Your home is full of Peace and love and we shared it-thank you. The “Guest” Grandmother Jane xo
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: May 10, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
We came frazzled and fraught…sorely in need of a little soul-care.We more than found it here. We basked in the peace, tranquility and incredible surroundings. We leave (regretfully), refreshed, replenished and full of life.Thank you, thank you, and thank you!
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
What a fabulous respite and a paradise for photographers! We loved all your amazing “creations” decorating the house – whimsical, charming…lovely!!...and a well stocked refrigerator and kitchen complete with Bagels & Merlot! We could not have asked for more! Many, many thanks for your thoughtfulness and sharing this very special place with us!
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
What a fabulous respite and a paradise for photographers! We loved all your amazing “creations” decorating the house – whimsical, charming…lovely!!...and a well stocked refrigerator and kitchen complete with Bagels & Merlot! We could not have asked for more! Many, many thanks for your thoughtfulness and sharing this very special place with us!
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
commack ny
5

A Piece of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
I just spent a "girl's weekend "at the waterfall house and all I can think of is that I died and had gone to heaven. Even though it was in the dead of winter after a spectacular snowfall the house was as warm and comfortable as a spring or summer day. The sun was streaming in through all the beautiful windows that overlook the spectacular waterfall. I can't wait to stay there in the summer.

The amenities were first class. Just those little touches that really make you feel at home. Fluffy towels, bathrobes, little quaint books and artsand craft touches everywhere. The house is cozy and comfortable. We were compelled to use the beautiful kitchen and cook our own meal one night that we ate around a beautiful candlelit farmhouse table. It is an experience my girlfriends and i won't soon forget. Great friends, great wine and the best ambience. The towns of Woodstock and nearby Saugerties are so quaint with wonderful shops and galleries as well as some world class cuisine. I cna;t say enough about this wonderful vacation rental except to plan my return ASAP!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Love guests that appreciate the magic of The Waterfall House. Sometimes it hard for me to believe the Waterfall views from the house. I have been used to hiking miles into the woods to find falling waters. Just 2 hours from NYC. Waterfall lovers are welcome.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Dix Hills, New York
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
What a beautiful place to unwind and reconnect with your peaceful self. The house is beyond comfortable with amenities galore. A stocked fridge, cozy fireplace - there's no need to go out! But of course we did because there are so many places to pick up local flavor. Had a fabulous girls weekend sharing wine, good food and conversation - can't wait to go back!
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
New York; New York USA
5

Great Year-Round Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
This was my second time staying at Waterfall House. While the fall foliage and roaring waterfall were amazing, I have to say, the tranquility of a winter visit with the brilliant stars above and the cozy fireplace waiting for us was equally appealling. I took a long walk along the mostly frozen river, with the brilliant clear blue sky, white snow and blue-gray trees broken only by the fleeting brilliance of a cadmium light red cardinal alighting on a tree. After a weekend at the house, including visits to Woodstock, New Paltz and Hunter, I returned to the city feeling refreshed and invigorated. There was plenty of room for all 6 of us, and the kitchen was perfect for preparing meals. This is a wonderful, clean getaway in an amazing location for those in need of relaxation and peace.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Winter is magical at The Waterfall House. Just imagine sitting around the fireplace and watching and listing to the waterfalls.
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Queens, NY
5

Perfect Ladies' Getaway

Perfect Ladies' Getaway
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Both spacious and cozy, with picturesque views from every window, this is the perfect place for a “Ladies’ Getaway.” Recalling the hours spent by the fireplace with friends, laughing and sharing the stories of our lives, will bring a smile to my face for some time to come. Proximity to Woodstock afforded us very satisfying shopping and dining options, yet each of us always very much looked forward to coming back “home” to relax and share wine and conversation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Swimming Holes, Waterfalls & Catskill Mountain Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p166339
+1 845 2466666
Woodstock Catskills
Queens, NY
5

Perfect Ladies' Getaway

Perfect Ladies' Getaway
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
Both spacious and cozy, with picturesque views from every window, this is the perfect place for a “Ladies’ Getaway.” Recalling the hours spent by the fireplace with friends, laughing and sharing the stories of our lives, will bring a smile to my face for some time to come. Proximity to Woodstock afforded us very satisfying shopping and dining options, yet each of us always very much looked forward to coming back “home” to relax and share wine and conversation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: This is only one of at least 100 very positive reviews in our guest book. If I was more internet savvy I would put them into our web site on HomeAway.