Nuevo Arenal house rental - Front view of home, with surrounding rainforest and lake view!
Front view of home, with surrounding rainforest and lake view!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Nuevo Arenal House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Arenal (also called 'Nuevo Arenal') is in a less visited area of Costa Rica, between the towns of Tilaran and La Fortuna. Within easy reach are the Hanging Bridges of Arenal, Lake Arenal (windsurfing, sailing, jet-skiing, fishing), an Eco-Lodge (bird-watching, rainforest trails, hiking, horseback riding), boat trips to Monteverde, white-water rafting, canopy tours and rappelling. The amenities of both towns as well as the world-famous Tabacon Resort and Arenal Volcano lie within less than 45 minutes easy drive.

You have the best of both worlds - a secluded, beautiful and quiet paradise with all the amenities within easy reach. What is more, in Nuevo Arenal, we enjoy the perfect climate of 80ºF during the day and 65ºF in the evening, with a soft, refreshing breeze all day long.

This beautiful detached bungalow sits in its own gated grounds, complete with gardened terraces, private pool, and sweeping views of tropical rainforest jungle, Lake Arenal, and the hills of Monteverde beyond. You literally wake up to the sound of Howler Monkeys and Toucans every morning! You can linger in our pool, take a pleasant walk on our garden terraces or in the jungle beyond, or be more adventurous with the dozens of activities offered in La Fortuna, a short drive away.

In the evening, you might try one of our many restaurants nearby (the world-class 'Gingerbread' restaurant is within easy reach, and also nearby is the famous 'Caballo Negro'), or enjoy a romantic dinner at home in the seclusion of your own private mahogany-furnished dining room, as you watch the sun setting over the lake.

Our private property is perfect for couples, each of our three bedrooms having its own self-contained bathroom. You have access to the world with free WiFi Internet, telephone, fax and photocopier, computer with printer, and SKY satellite TV. There is also an impressive collection of DVD movies and an extensive library with books on local travel, cuisine, nature and history.

While many of our guests do enjoy all that the area has to offer, many choose to spend an entire week languishing by the pool, enjoying our beautiful gardens, lake/jungle view, local wildlife, birdwatching, hiking, horseback riding, or just sleeping-in!

Please see our website for more details and bigger photographs! Click on the VRBO link or see our website, displayed in the link below.

Keywords: Luxurious private detached vacation home with pool on the banks of Lake Arenal, surrounded by rainforest filled with wildlife. Near Arenal Volcano, local hot springs, zip lines/canopy and horse riding! 3 bedrooms - 2 KING SIZED. FREE WiFi!

More Details
Hide Details

We offer a unique vacation rental experience, from the moment we meet you with keys and a welcome basket, a tour of the property and generous information about our beautiful area. We have been managing this property for ten years now, and our guests return year after year.

The Owner purchased this house in 1995

The location is simply stunning; we are on the bank of Lake Arenal facing south, with towering trees to the sides and back of the property to give total privacy, yet the house is located in a gated community with good neighbors only a few moments away. Shopping and excellent restaurants are only a few short minutes' drive from Neuvo Arenal, and the area is rich in activities including zip-lining, horseback riding, white water rafting, hiking and fishing. Sometimes the nicest day of our stay is when we choose to relax at the house and watch the myriad of beautiful birds that come to our feeders, listen to the wild parrots as they fly overhead, try to spot the howler monkeys and just let the day flow by as we relax on the covered deck and enjoy the freshest air we have ever found anywhere.

91 Reviews of Property 129631 in Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica

Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
average rating of 4.986111 based on 91 reviews
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
5

Casa Gavilan

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
It was a wonderful experience, earthquake and all. Thanks to Ian and Lynn for having such a wonderful home and sharing it with us. Casa Gavilan is exactly as advertised. A beautiful house on a beautiful property overlooking Lago de Arenal. The house was clean and is fully furnished with furnishing that are as nice in appearance as they are in comfort. The decorations make the house actually feel like a home. The movie collection is more than impressive and TV is satellite fed and we watched American and British stations sub-titled in Spanish. The kitchen is well equipped. We wanted for nothing. Everything you need to cook, if you’re so inclined, is there, right down to the cheese grater. The pool is kept spotless by the pool man who comes every morning (M-F) and the grounds are immaculate. Ed Woods, the property manager, was there to meet us with some basics like coffee, and eggs for the next day’s breakfast. He is a very patient and provided invaluable information about shopping and answered all our questions.
Do checkout the folks at Gingerbread. Great cuisine. It’s not cheap but the food is superb and if you leave from there hungry, you’re a monster.
We hope you have as wonderful an experience as we did and as one of the local restaurant’s road ads states, “eat, relax and just be.”

Pura Vida,

Gary and Laura
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
5

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
My husband, myself, our 9 month old daughter, sister-in-law, and niece all stayed here for 9 days. We had a wonderful time! Casa Gavilan is beautiful! The fact that it is in the location that it is in simply makes it breath taking. We have stayed in a number of homes from homeaway.com and this one certainly stood out above the rest. Not one detail has been overlooked in this home from the decor to what is stocked in the fridge. We did not even have to go out and buy spices to cook with. Ed, the manager was wonderful as well. He was very prompt in answering any question that we had both about the property and activities in the area. He also provided us with fridge full of eggs, bread, orange juice and a few other things so the first thing we did when we got there was relax! So nice! We realized that we were coming in the rainy season and so did not expect to see much wildlife...we were also pleasantly surprised by this. We saw toucans, monkeys, a number of birds, and a hooded praying mantis all in the back yard (the birds liked papaya and bananas the best)! Casa Gavilan is truly beautiful. My family and I not only had a great vacation but we also have wonderful memories of our time here!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Vancouver, WA.
5

Beautiful home; great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful home. We were visited daily at the feeder by many species of birds and a faithful coatimungi who came by each day to clean up what the birds didn't finish. The covered front patio is wonderful for morning coffee in a peaceful setting. The house is chock-full of interesting Tico art objects and fully furnished for your convenience. The owners and caregivers are extremely helpful and responsive to questions and requests. The house and pool are well maintained.

Arenal is about a 45-minute drive to La Fortuna for adventure sports and the same distance to Tilaran for groceries and shopping. Even closer is the town of Nuevo Arenal where you can pick up the basics. Two outstanding restaurants are within a ten-minute drive.

Although Arenal volcano is currently dormant, we had two days of perfectly clear weather while hiking the hanging bridges and enjoyed a rare sight of the volcano in its glory.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Vancouver, WA.
5

Everything we hoped for. . .and more

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Lake Arenal is a perfect spot for a restful vacation and watching the coatimungi, squirrels and many species of birds from the covered front patio. Howler monkeys will wake you in the early morning. . .a time you won't want to miss as that's when the greatest wildlife activity takes place. The house is well equipped and maintained and decorated with interesting Tico art pieces. Both the owners and caretakers are extremely helpful and responsive. The pool feels great after a busy day exploring the area. Arenal is nicely located about a 45-minute drive from sizeable towns in both directions. Go East to enjoy adventure activities and West to a more dry climate. Shopping is in both directions and the nearby town of Nuevo Arenal, about a ten-minute drive will provide for most of your basic needs. Great restaurants are nearby too. Try The Lucky Bug and the Gingerbread. . .you won't be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
5

Another wonderful stay at Casa Gavilan

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We stayed at this lovely home for a week in February. It was our 5th visit to Costa Rica and our 5th time staying at this house. We wouldn't dream of staying any place else! This home has everything you need for a very comfortable stay. The gardens are beautiful - you feel like you are alone with the birds and the monkeys in the jungle. Neighbours are close by by you can't see or hear them. It is wonderful - you can't to wrong choosing this house!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Crete, IL
5

A Jungle Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
For a long time I've wanted to visit Costa Rica. After searching through a multitude of VRBO accommodations I came across Casa Gavilan de Arenal and felt good about the place. There was enough room for a party of four with everyone having their own bathroom.

The caretakers of the house, Ed and Leslie, are congenial and helpful far beyond expectation. There are plenty of supplies, so there's no need to pick up spices or paper towels or TP at the store. There's plenty of food available nearby in Nuevo Arenal. The people are friendly and helpful even though few speak any English. You can also pick up food supplies, snacks, drinks etc. in Liberia.

We landed at Liberia airport, about 90 minutes drive from Casa Gavilan. If you arrive in the evening I strongly suggest you stay your first night at the Hilton near the airport. The first part of the trip is straight road, but the drivers are reckless and if you drive on a weekend night you will encounter drivers who are extremely reckless. The last half of the drive is on hilly, twisty roads and the locals consider the yellow line as optional. Expect to see vehicles straddling it while speeding around a curve. If your return flight is in the early morning I suggest staying at the Hilton the night before your departure as well. If you book ahead of time the hotel is a little cheaper and it is very reasonable in cost. The food there is good and the hosts are very cordial.

There are many activities near Casa Gavilan...horseback riding, hot springs, zip lining, hiking trails, tours, etc. You may have a difficult time tearing yourself away from the property, though. If you enjoy photography you will find plenty to photograph. My fiance and I love photography, especially wildlife. This location does not disappoint as we took many more keeper photos here than anywhere else we visited in Costa Rica. Our close encounter with a howler monkey family was the highlight of the trip, never to be forgotten.

If you don't feel like cooking in the morning head over to The Lucky Bug for breakfast. You will enjoy beautiful scenery, friendly service, and wonderful food. People have recommended Gingerbread but our party of four cannot. The entire experience there was unpleasant.

As for Casa Gavilan I cannot say enough good things. The owners, the caretakers, the house itself are all top notch and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I should bite my tongue and keep it a secret but some things are just too good to not be
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Austin, Texas, USA
5

Perfection!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
It's hard to find anything to add to all the other glowing reviews of Casa Gavilan. We just spent 9 nights here and everything about the place exceeded our expectations. We were originally set to stay at a different place that cancelled due to a booking error, and for that mistake we'll be eternally grateful. Casa Gavilan's location is stunning and the house is beautiful and comfortable, and extremely well-equipped. The multi-level yard is gorgeous and the house, pool, and grounds were immaculate. The Las Flores neighborhood where the house is located is lovely and the paved neighborhood rainforest trail was really nice to hike. It's conveniently close to Nuevo Arenal, a town that we found really appealing. (Hint: It's cheaper to buy fruit at the Frutas y Verduras shop next to the bank than at the larger grocery stores, and you'll want a lot for yourself and the birdfeeders.) I brought 5 books to read and spent so much time watching birds and other wildlife that it was pretty much wasted luggage space. We saw howler monkeys in the trees at the house across the street and a coati walked right by my husband as he was sleeping by the pool. A large flock of Montezuma oropendolas occupied one of the big trees on the property, and I saw dozens of beautiful tropical birds; at one point, there were five redlegged honeycreepers on the hummingbird feeder. We loved Casa Gavilan and will go back as soon as we can. In fact, the three days after our stay were open and we seriously considered extending our stay, but felt a little uncomfortable about cancelling our next reservation. The only downside to the house is its distance from La Fortuna, where most of the big tourist activities are centered, but it's a beautiful drive and it was nice to be a little removed from the hustle and bustle of that town. Ian and the property manager, Ed, were both very helpful with advice. I second everyone who recommended eating at Gingerbread, which really was fantastic by any standard, and the Lucky Bug was a beautiful place for breakfast. After some of the drives back from La Fortuna, we didn't feel like cooking so we picked up pizzas in town. The one from the little bar/soda on the same side of the street as the bank was the better of the two. We enjoyed ziplining at Sky Trek and rafting the Rio Pacuare with Exploradores, but I think the excursion that we wouldn't have missed is the Cano Negro outing with Desafio. We can't wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

more beautiful than the photos and descriptions

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
The home and site are more beautiful than the photos and descriptions show. It was the perfect stay in paradise with the natural rainforest fiews and gardens. Waking up to the sounds of monkeys, exotic birds and the sighs of humming birds and tucans was amazing. The location was ideal and near any adventure activity that could be desired. The property managers were extremely pleasant and accommodating. Just spending the day on the property was a joy as well as a satisfying experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Costa Rica. I will definately go back on my next visit.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

wonderful experience

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Thank you Ian and Lynn for sharing this wonderful experience. The lake is beautiful and very inviting. Thank you Monica, you helped us a lot on scheduling activities. Ed greeted us with warmth and genuine kindness, and was always there to help-Thank you. Whether you are an avid birdwatcher or not, you will be by the time you leave. The monkeys will alert you of the weather more accurately than the local weather man. The pool was refreshing after a hard day of playing and eating. The house and grounds are beautifully maintained and make you feel at home. Again, thank you all.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Lake Arenal: Lake View,Location,Wildlife,Pool,Wifi, King Beds!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p129631vb
Toll Free (888) 663-6210 (In USA)
Nuevo Arenal Arenal Volcano - Lake Arenal
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

wonderful experience

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
Thank you Ian and Lynn for sharing this wonderful experience. The lake is beautiful and very inviting. Thank you Monica, you helped us a lot on scheduling activities. Ed greeted us with warmth and genuine kindness, and was always there to help-Thank you. Whether you are an avid birdwatcher or not, you will be by the time you leave. The monkeys will alert you of the weather more accurately than the local weather man. The pool was refreshing after a hard day of playing and eating. The house and grounds are beautifully maintained and make you feel at home. Again, thank you all.
Helpful votes: 1/2