Lancaster cottage rental - Little Stone Cottage
Little Stone Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Lancaster Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 2)

Our vision is that this would be place of blessing for truly married couples only. Our desire is to honor God's definition of marriage 'One man and one women for life.' Therefore we ask that unmarried and divorced and remarried couples with a living spouse do not apply please!

Located just off the beaten path near the village of Gap, you'll find this cute getaway nestled in the quiet, among mostly Amish farms and businesses. This is a fully remodeled and tastefully decorated escape. It whispers romance, relaxation, and renewal.

You can eat on the back deck, relax in the hot tub and count the stars, or sit on the patio and enjoy the view of the tastefully landscaped backyard with a small pond and or watch the neighoring Amish children play.

In the stone basement an old original fireplace and comfy sofa beckons you to sit by the fire. The romantic bedroom suite features a comfortable king-size bed with a partial canopy. The fully equipped kitchen makes in house meal preparation easy. This is an ideal place for honeymoons and anniversaries, and truly a place you'll want to come back to. The vaulted bedroom ceiling with exposed beams and skylight is very distinctive.

This historic cottage is part of Spring Wood Organic Farm which is a 220 acre third generation Mennonite family farm operated by Roman and Lucy Stoltzfoos with the help of their eleven children. Most days you will see cattle and other animals peacefully grazing on well kept pastures nearby. All this is within 20 minutes of Lancaster's main tourist area, many good shopping malls, and excellent restaurants.

Keywords: Honeymoon Cottage Romantic Getaway

Married Couples Cabin Retreat

More Details
Hide Details

Roman and Lucy Stoltzfoos are operating Spring Wood farm for over 32 years which is a 3rd generation Mennonite family farm where Roman was born and raised. They were married on a bright sunny day in July 1978, near Iowa city, Iowa where most of Lucy's family still lives. After more than three years on a church mission near Charlottesville Va we were needed on the Home farm in Lancaster County Pa. So after working for dad one year we took over the dairy and were kept busy since raising our family in the Garden Spot. Eleven children and eight grandchildren later we are still kept busy on this 220 acre organic dairy and turkey farm. We also run 2500 layers that are free range grass fed happy hens. We enjoy sharing our slice of the country and some choice farm raised foods with cottage guests. Healthy children, Healthy food and Healthy marriages are the missions of Spring Wood Organic Farm. We want married couples to be renewed as they pullback from busy schedules and take time to love up on each other and bask in the blessing and fulfillment of the true marriage covenant. It is a gift from God and one of His choice creations.

Roman or Lucy purchased this cottage in 2002

We enjoyed over the years of our marriage getting away as a couple to romantic little retreats and when we acquired this property with a small run down little house on it we thought of perhaps turning into a romantic getaway which would be a retreat for married couples. It is refreshing to see the many that could benefit from their time here. We have enjoyed making romantic dreams come true for married couples and love to host those interested in the blessing of romance inside of marriage.

You will be able to relax and really spend quality time together. There are marriage books, tapes, romantic games, CDs, and DVDs here for your learning and enjoyment. There is something for everyone and you could spend several days or more here without becoming bored. Our desire is to honor the purpose for which God created marriage! Our goal is that you would be bonded in a new and refreshing way as you rest and relax at the cottage. Our great God broods over and protects the marriage covenant and so very much desires and wants us to experience it fully! The definition for marriage according to His eternal word is one man and one women for life. As such we cannot endorse couples using the cottage that are not married. May all the married couples that come here be blessed and encouraged to honor the designer of marriage and the creator of love and romance.

64 Reviews of Property 73588 in Lancaster, Pennsylvania

Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 64 reviews
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
United States
5

Lancaster Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
My husband and I spent two nights up here. It is truly a romantic getaway! The owners have put all the special details in place to make this a memorable time. The location is awesome! Surrounded by farms, amish neighbors, a pond with swans, swing on the tree, hot tub, deck romantic music plays downstairs and upstairs. Also a nice selection of reading material to build a stronger marriage. This opened conversations with my husband and I that were very beneficial. Restful and romantic - I think that sums it up. Not too far from any of the Lancaster activities either. This is a great place for newly married couples looking for a reasonably priced honeymoon or even a great gift to give to that married couple who needs to "get away"! Would be a nice anniversary present for anyone!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
New Holland, Pennsylvania
5

Wonderful, peaceful getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 15, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
We celebrated our first anniversary at the Little Stone Cottage and enjoyed the time so very much!!! Everything was clean and comfortable and there was just about every convenience you could want. We stayed a weekend and definitely didn't run out of things to do! The little surprises make it extra special. We would certainly recommend it to anyone. I've never heard of anyone who got to the end of their life and regretted investing too much in their marriage... It's precious and worth it!!!
Owner's Response: It is our privilege to honor marriage and the creator of it. Celebrating this choice creation brings delight to God who made the woman for the man. A lifetime marriage between one man and one woman is "a truly sacred union." We love seeing couples savor the quiet romantic ambiance and "little surprises" that make this place one of a kind. Thanks Dave and Julie for trusting us to provide a rendezvous for this special first anniversary and investing in your marriage here. Thanks also for recommending it to others. We are blessed when marriages are strengthened and love storage batteries, run down by the drain and strain of the daily cares, are recharged.
Roman and Lucy
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
South Williamsport Pa
5

Wonderful romantic getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2009
My Husband and I came to the cottage 2 years ago and it is one of the most beautiful memories we have. The cabin is spotless. The little surprises were wonderful and the entire time was relaxing. It was an opportunity to enjoy each other, the Lord, and the beautiful surroundings. We recommend this to every married couple we know.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Webster, NY
5

Very pleasant place to stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
My wife and I were very pleased and thoroughly enjoyed our four day stay at this cottage for the first time. We would not hesitate to stay again if we visit this area of Pennsylvania in the future. The accommodations are accurately depicted and described. The cottage is spotless, everything was in good working order, plenty of amenities, nicely decorated and has good lighting. And the value for all that is provided is very good. We were given enough breakfast food for our entire stay and more is available upon asking. All of it was very good. We highly recommend this cottage to those who think they would like to stay here after reading the writeup from Roman and Lucy.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Warsaw, Virginia
5

Even More Than We Expected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Being the parents of four now grown children we had not had a chance to get away just the two of us for almost the entire 25 years we've been married. After reading the reviews of previous guests at the Little Stone Cottage we came with great expectations. We found the place to be everything advertised and more. I will always remember the sound of horse shoes hitting the road outside the living room on Sunday morning as Amish Families headed to church. The entire area is beautiful. We recommend taking the back way to the cottage. You will see farms and fields that will take your breath away. The cottage is only 8 miles from Intercourse and Bird in Hand. We thouroughly enjoyed learning about the people who have made this area such a wonderful place to visit. We highly recommend this listing for any couple who is trying to focus or in our case refocus on each other. Our hosts made this so easy to do. We look forward to returning to this cottage sometime in the Fall or Winter of the year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We thank you for enjoying this secret spot in Lancaster County and reviewing it for other guests. It is truly off the beaten path but close to real country action and still very quiet. When we were thinking about doing this it was a question about it being too close to the road but one of the favorite places of summer guests is the front porch. With buggies passing by and surrounded by real working Amish farms this is a treat for weary couples who need to be refreshed! With computers and TV who has front porch time nowadays? We spare you from both here and you can really connect!
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Philadelphia
5

A Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Celebrating our first wedding anniversary at the cottage, my husband and I were truly blessed to spend a weekend here. We both work in the city and this was a time for us to unwind, reflect on the past year and set future goals without all the distractions. The cottage was exactly as described in the online brochure - welcoming and relaxing – the rose petals, music playing upon entering the home, the organic prepared food. Who knew that there was such a peaceful place so close to home. We look forward to celebrating future anniversaries at the Little Cottage. Thank you Mr. Roman and family for your hospitality at the cottage. May God continue to bless you and your family. ~Steve and SaConda
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Melcher-Dallas, IA
5

Perfect Couples Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
This is a terrific place to go with your spouse to spend some time with just the two of you. Great setting for getting to know each other again annd learning new things about each other even after many years of marriage. The pictures as beautiful as they are do not do the cottage justice, the area is gorgeous and all around relaxing. We loved and enjoyed our entire stay here.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Dallas, PA
5

Beautiful, Charming and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 9, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
Wow! What a blessing the Little Stone Cottage is to married couples. We were delighted from the moment we pulled into the driveway and made our way through the cottage as well as the grounds. Everything is beautiful inside and out.

The cottage has everything you'll need for your getaway, including breakfast items and snacks....delicious! My husband really enjoyed the yogurt and raw milk.

The special touches were a surprise and added to the cottage's charm and atmosphere, and we so enjoyed saying good morning to the little Amish children as they made their way down to the schoolhouse just beyond the cottage. They were precious.

Roman and Lucy, the owners, are kind and helpful. Be sure to meet them. You'll definitely want to thank them for their ministry and how they've blessed couples in such a unique way.
We're already planning our next stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words. We enjoy sharing our unique slice of Lancaster Co. with people from all over. Except for May 10 through-August 25th school Amish children pass the cottage twice a day on school days. We enjoy wowing our guests with the romance and special touches that this place is known for. Hebrews 13:4 is our mantra at the Little Stone Cottage. Try blessing your marriage by investing in some special time here with your marriage covenant lover!

Roman
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Baltimore,MD
5

What a blessing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
My husband and I both fell in love with the cottage! It was exactly what we needed, the perfect place to spend our anniversary and reconnect as husband and wife. Thank you so much for all the little personal touches and inviting us to worship with you Sunday morning. We loved relaxing in the hot tub and by the fireplace in the evenings. The raw milk and yogurt from the farm was delightful along with the granola and fresh eggs. We'll definately be returning as soon as time allows. God bless, Gina & Ken
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: it was great meeting you and hearing your hearts and testimonies about Gods work in your lives and we thank you for investing your time and resources here at The Little Stone Cottage. Strengthening and blessing God's design for marriage is our goal and we pray God's blessing on your marriage for this investment in each other! Many happy returns!

Roman
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Married Couple's Honeymoon and Romantic Getaway Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p73588vb
+1 6105932415
Lancaster Pennsylvania Dutch Country
Massachusetts
5

An experience we will cherish forever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2011
  • Stayed: Mar 2011
We praise the Lord for the privilege we had to celebrate our 12th anniversary at The Little Stone Cottage. Everything was perfect, and we had a wonderful time. We would definitely recommned this for any Christian couple who is looking for a place to relax, refresh, and renew. From the moment we entered to the time we left, we were surrounded with a sense of God's presence and a peace that words can not describe. Our heartfelt thanks to Roman and Lucy for an experience we will cherish forever.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3