Waterbury Center villa rental - Welcome to VILLA AUSBLICK – your Home-away-from-Home!
Welcome to VILLA AUSBLICK – your Home-away-from-Home!
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Waterbury Center Villa Rental Photos and Description
5 BR (sleeps 12), 4 Baths, Hot tub, Pool table, Mountain views, Pond & More

Visit WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/VILLAAUSBLICK for more –– Villa Ausblick ('Villa with Views' in German) is the perfect choice for family reunions and group retreats seeking an idyllic Vermont getaway. This luxurious 4,000 sq.ft., mountain-top 5 bedroom/4 bath house in Waterbury Center, VT embodies comfort and relaxation with sweeping panoramic views and easy access to nearby ski resorts (Stowe, Bolton, Sugarbush). It has 5 large bedrooms (1 King, 2 Queen, 2 bunk) sleeping up to 12, a fully-equipped kitchen, eat-in nook and formal dining room, and a cozy living room with fire place. Other indoor amenities are a stocked playroom for kids and one for adults with bar, large-screen TV, foosball & pool table. Outdoor features are a swimming pool, hot tub, trout filled pond with waterfall, fire pit, sandbox, and tree house. Available year-round you can enjoy many summer and winter recreational sports within a short drive. Let reviews of former guests be your guide. No pets or smokers, rental age 25+

Villa Ausblick's Facebook Page: At WWW.FACEBOOK.COM/VILLAAUSBLICK you can find many additional photos and information to local attractions.

Wake up to incredible views of Camel’s Hump mountain from the master bedroom suite, outfitted with a king-size bed and private master bathroom housing a large Jacuzzi tub. Four other bedrooms share the magnificent, unrestricted views of the Green Mountains. The basement bedroom has its own private bath as well.

The living room adjoins the kitchen and eating nook, in an open layout that connects to the deck with the stunning views, seen below. The basement is complete with a bar and full entertainment area including a projection television with full theater sound. It provides access to a large hot tub, where after a hard day of play, you can retire to relax and enjoy the views. A wraparound porch and veranda make great spaces for outdoor meals (in summer) and a central place to watch all the action at the pool and in the front yard.

Villa Ausblick is Ideal for (young) Families: The house is fully outfitted for young children, including a crib, a pack-n-play, a highchair, and plenty of toys, books and board games. Outdoor attractions are the tree house, a stacked sandbox, and anything moving in the pond.

We’d love to have people who respect that this is our home and will treat it and our possessions as if they were their own.

More Details
Hide Details

We are East Coast city folks who love VT and the Green mountains. When our children were born, we decided to buy that dream vacation home allowing our family to have a wonderful, well-balanced 'double life'. We chose the Waterbury, Vt location for its proximity to various ski resorts (Stowe, Sugarbush, Bolden Valley), great value and easy access to I-89.

33 Reviews of Property 146228 in Waterbury Center, Vermont

GREAT for FAMILIES: Fancy 5-BR Villa, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Views, WiFi near STOWE
average rating of 4.939394 based on 33 reviews
business
GREAT for FAMILIES: Fancy 5-BR Villa, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Views, WiFi near STOWE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146228
+1 802-505-9037
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
5

Perfect Family Retreat!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Our family spent one week in July at this beautiful home for our family reunion, 6 adults and 7 children (ages 3-10 years). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, everything was perfect! The house is beautiful and easily accommodated our family, we only left the house once! The onsite amenities kept all adults and children happy and occupied for 7 days! Truly amazing! Words can not describe the beauty of this home and it's location. We felt like we were staying in a friend's home, not a rental property. You will not be disappointed!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Lovely! We own Villa Ausblick since 2005 when our kids were an infant and toddler. Believe it or not, six years later we only now are beginning to explore the many great activities we can do as a family offsite. There is just too much entertainment and things to do on the premise itself ... at least from a child's perspective. Villa Ausblick truly is a fantastic family destination, thank you for sharing your experience!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
GREAT for FAMILIES: Fancy 5-BR Villa, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Views, WiFi near STOWE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146228
+1 802-505-9037
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
Clifton Park NY
5

Perfect vacation rental for any family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
An absolutely beautiful home with wonderful floor plan at the end of a quiet dead end street. The owners have gone to great length to make available amenities that would appeal to any and all age groups. It was a weekend getaway, for my wife's family members. Will definitely try and return with my own kids and their spouses.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! The funny thing about this vacation home is – it has more and better amenities than our primary residence! For example, who owns an electric griddle large enough to simultaneously produce 10 pancakes? It comes in very handy when you have to feed breakfast to an army of hungry kids!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
GREAT for FAMILIES: Fancy 5-BR Villa, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Views, WiFi near STOWE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146228
+1 802-505-9037
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
Boston, MA
5

Perfect group getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
This house was huge, secluded, and the landlords were extremely friendly and welcoming! It was clear that they wanted nothing more than to treat us with respect, assuming that we did the same to them and their house. We had some issues as the hot tub broke a week before our arrival, but Sibylle was extremely communicative about it, and they did everything they could to get a new hot tub installed and ready before our stay. Things go wrong...all I can ask is that they do what they can to minimize the impact that the inevitable snafu has on our vacation. They did that.

The house itself was incredible, with tremendous views. The owners also were very helpful in leaving ample instructions on how to operate everything. The different stereo systems on separate floors was nice. Do be sure to bring your own movies, as their selection is limited...but their tv is nice!! And really, can't beat having a fooseball and pool table. This place is well equipped for any kind of group, from families to groups of adults. We went as a group of colleagues, aimed at skiing every day. The proximity to multiple mountains was very nice. A shout out to Bolton Valley, which is a small mountain, but through liftopia, you can get some stellar lift ticket deals.

All in all, we had a great visit, and am certainly considering going back next year. Perhaps for a full week, as four nights was just not enough!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Offering our guests a wonderful vacation experience and the best value for their money is our guiding motto. Even if it means finding a last-minute, alternative accommodation for our tenants, as we did when our hot tub broke down unexpectedly on a peak January weekend. Striving that the next party's – this reviewer's – stay would not be effected we set all wheels in motion to ensure that a new hot tub was delivered and operational before their arrival, which was no small problem to resolve given the blistering weather conditions.

Future guests (and we owners) can now enjoy a brand-new HotSprings Sovereign Spa – the #1 retailing hot tub worldwide – which uses an ozone and ACE salt water sanitizing system leaving the spa water sparkling clean and silky soft.... no more dry itchy skin, irritated red eyes, or harsh odor of traditional chlorine water care!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
GREAT for FAMILIES: Fancy 5-BR Villa, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Views, WiFi near STOWE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146228
+1 802-505-9037
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
New York, NY
3

Didn't feel welcome; felt we overpaid

Didn't feel welcome; felt we overpaid
  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Mostly because of small unpleasant things - objective & subjective - rather than due to major flaws – we’ll never return here and wouldn’t recommend it to our friends.
Stayed in 08.10 for 7 days. 3 couples - professionals from NYC w. children. Our issues were:
- one of 2 large burners didn’t work; one other burner worked only on "high". We had to cook a lot, found it a MAJOR inconvenience. We weren’t warned about it in advance when we were writing the check.
- one important drawer in the kitchen was broken - inconvenient & incongruent with the high price.
- bedrooms had either very light curtains (let through a lot of light in the morning) or no curtains at all: especially inconvenient in children bedrooms - there was no way to keep the light away in the morning and children would wake up earlier than usual.
- the central audio system (with speakers everywhere) doesn’t take CDs: could listen only to the radio
- children playroom had a small boom-box, but it was broken - so we could not listen to any of the CDs we brought in for adults & kids.
- DVD player in the basement refused to play all DVDs we brought with us; weird because they came from 3 different homes & they play on our regular DVD players there; so, we could only watch the DVDs that were in the house.
- many cabinets/drawers were marked with "Do not use - private!". We understand it's the owner's right but it created a very unwelcoming, inhospitable impression.
- each and every cabinet/drawer/shelf has a label that indicates what should be there. On one hand it's cool and systematic. On the other hand we constantly felt under surveillance. Seemed like owners expect guests to do something wrong - so they actively try to prevent you from doing it. We didn’t enjoy it.
- one of us forgot a set of keys in the house and we asked the owners to mail it to us. They charged us $25 (the mailing fee proper was ~$2), - for their time. How much could we have charged for the time we lost cooking on 2.5 burners if we applied OUR professional hourly rates. It left an unpleasant aftertaste.
- seems like guests are expected to incur damage & try to avoid paying for it. Upon arrival you spend the first few hours trying to find what is broken to avoid being held accountable for it (it’s in the lengthy manual): Not very welcoming at all. Upon leaving, we received an e-mail suggesting we might have broken some few things (although we did not even know of their existence).
Owner's Response: We’re terribly sorry to hear that this guest’s experience was not ideal. We do try our best to make everyone’s stay as pleasant as possible.

Being a large home, Villa Ausblick sees a lot of traffic from large parties, which results in real wear & tear. Between parties, the cleaners and property managers can only recognize some of the damage while doing their work, so the reality is that some items will slip. We owners are always grateful when guests provide us feedback on necessary repairs and do encourage visitors to contact us or our property manager immediately if needed.

All the repair and improvement issues mentioned above have already been addressed.... Future visitors can now enjoy a brand new Dacor professional cooktop. Darkening roller shades were added in two (out of five) bedrooms them. The central audio system does take CD’s and DVD’s and was fully functional. It is, however, a complicated home theater system which can pose a challenge for less-savvy A/V-system consumers, even ourselves! An improved version of our user manual is underway.

Villa Ausblick is very well stocked with all the conveniences you look for. We leave labels to make it easier for our guests to find what they need and help our property managers quickly identify missing/broken items that need replacement.

In conclusion, choosing to rent a private home is different than a bed & breakfast, hotel, or motel in many ways. Some of the reasons you may choose a home – many more amenities, less intrusive staff presence, conveniences of home – require you, the renter, to take on some of the responsibilities that are not required in more “full-service” hospitality establishments. We think renting a home is a better choice.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
GREAT for FAMILIES: Fancy 5-BR Villa, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Views, WiFi near STOWE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146228
+1 802-505-9037
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
Northampton, MA
5

A special place in Vermont

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2010
Our family has spent a week in the White Mountains for many years. We are all (pretty) serious hikers. This year we thought we would see what the Green Mountains had to offer. Waterbury is within range of some of Vermont's best hiking and we took advantage of it. I have to say, we had every bit as good a time when we returned to Villa Ausblick in the afternoon. The young people in our group range in age from 5 to 13. Between swimming, spotting frogs in the pond, using the treehouse for secret meetings, and sitting around a campfire - no one was at a loss for things to do. I think we ate dinner at the outside table every night. (Did I mention the fantastic weather?) From eating - to sleeping - to finding a quiet place to read - to enjoying the fine view of Camels Hump - to stargazing (sometimes from the hot tub) - Villa Ausblick proved an ideal place for a family vacation. We all have lots of fond memories and everyone, without exception would love to visit again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We can't wait to explore the hiking opportunities in the area, now that our kids are finally getting old enough. BTW, the tree house not only serves for secret meetings, it is part of every treasure hunt we organize.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
GREAT for FAMILIES: Fancy 5-BR Villa, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Views, WiFi near STOWE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146228
+1 802-505-9037
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
Ormond Beach, FL and Hadley, NY
5

A Perfect Family Reunion Spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Our family gathered to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary at Villa Ausblick. It was a perfect choice for our family to spend time together. The home was clean and well maintained. The property provided something for every age group. This was especially important to us as our grandchildren ranged in age from 10 months to 18 years. The privacy of the home and the magnificient, peaceful view were the best. There is much to do in the area-- biking, hiking, touring Ben and Jerry's, visiting Stowe and the Von Trapp Family Lodge, or simply sitting and relaxing by the poolside while enjoying the view. Our family even enjoyed an evening campfire with smores at the spot allocated for that, and we loved the waterfall that came down the mountain each morning. We would not hesitate to recommend this vacation property to anyone.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Reviews like these make us very happy :-) But what really matters most to us is that we are able to provide our guests a venue where such happy family moments and lasting memories are made.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
GREAT for FAMILIES: Fancy 5-BR Villa, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Views, WiFi near STOWE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146228
+1 802-505-9037
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
New York, NY
5

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2010
  • Stayed: Feb 2010
I just wanted to let you know what a wonderful weekend I (and my friends) had at your home in Vermont this past weekend! I've rented many homes before and your home was by far one of the best I've stayed at. Everything was well stocked and your home was very clean! We can't wait to return next year!!

Thanks again for everything!!
Owner's Response: What better credits than guests who want to come back. Thank you for the kudos!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
GREAT for FAMILIES: Fancy 5-BR Villa, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Views, WiFi near STOWE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146228
+1 802-505-9037
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
Clinton, MA
5

Our expectations were exceeded!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2010
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
I surprised my wife for her 40th birthday with a long weekend at Villa Ausblick in January with our best friends, and it was truly a winter paradise. We arrived sight unseen, and the home was beautiful and completely exceeded our expectations. It is located in a secluded setting with no other homes in sight and has breathtaking views. The house was so warm and is set-up to accomodate kids and adults of all ages. The home is also in very close proximity to several attractions we enjoyed. The girls enjoyed a spa day in Stowe while some of us took part in some awesome local skiing. The kids especially enjoyed the Ben and Jerry's factory which is literally minutes down the road. And at the end of the day when we returned to Villa Ausblick, there was plenty more for us to enjoy; from the hot tub that overlooked the breathtaking mountain range, to the cozy living room with it's magnificent fireplace, to the modern open and very well equipped kitchen where we enjoyed cooking our meals, to the toy room that our little ones never stepped foot out of while we were at the house. This was a perfect winter getaway for us and we literllay could not have asked for anything more. I'm certain it's just as desirable in the summertime and we plan to return to find out first hand.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are always happy to help our guests with recommendations for outdoor activities, restaurants, spas, kid's favorites etc. depending on our visitor's needs.
Helpful votes: 3/6
business
GREAT for FAMILIES: Fancy 5-BR Villa, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Views, WiFi near STOWE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146228
+1 802-505-9037
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
Alexandria, VA
5

Great escape in the North!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Mar 2007
Our family chose Villa Ausblick for a family reunion; a getaway for everyone. My in-laws flew in from Montana, my sister and her family drove from Rochester, NY, and my brother-in-law and his wife came up from southern Connecticut.

After my family's LONG day of driving up from Washington, DC the basement was a great place for the kids to blow off some steam before they went to bed - and the adults took advantage of the hot tub throughout our stay.

We immediately felt at home at this wonderful treasure in Vermont. S&K have appointed Villa Ausblick with everything - including "baby gear". (Not packing the car with a pack n' play, etc was a relief!) The home decor is stunning - and even provided me with a few interior ideas for our own house.

We not only enjoyed the great slopes at Stowe, but our kids LOVED the fact the Ben & Jerry's factory is less than 5-10 minutes away. The views are as breathtaking (if not more so) than the photos posted. The great thing is that even though you feel remote because you can't see/hear any other homes, you are not far from shops & things to do. (We can see why S&K wanted to share this place with other people...it's simply AMAZING.)

As others have noted in their reviews, S&K went out of their way to make themselves accessible and to make sure we felt right at home.

We plan to return this summer with friends, and to we look forward to jumping in the pool & getting in some local hiking.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
GREAT for FAMILIES: Fancy 5-BR Villa, Hot Tub, Fireplace, Views, WiFi near STOWE
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p146228
+1 802-505-9037
Waterbury Center Stowe Area
Palo Alto, CA
5

Mountains, water, woods and forts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2010
  • Stayed: Aug 2009
We were invited to Villa Ausblik this past year with a group of friends and all of our kids and we definitely plan on going back again! We ALL had a great time, there's something for everyone. From the kitchen and back deck there are beautiful mountain views; for al fresco dinning on the porch, there's a tranquil trout pond complete with waterfall; for aquatic fans, a fabulous pool complete with mood lighting AND a hot tub to melt all your cares away.

Whether you're there just for the weekend and focus your activities at the house or a longer stay and venture into the nearby towns, there are endless activities, including a tree house and scavenger hunt designed by the owners.

So if it's an adults-only escape your looking for, a spot for a family reunion, or you're just hoping to gather you friends and kids together for a get away like we did, Villa Ausblik is DEFINITELY the house for you!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Full disclosure... these are friends of ours. But their comment reflects experiences and impressions many Villa Ausblick guests have shared with us. Come to find out yourself!
Helpful votes: 0/1