Gallipoli and Troy apartment rental - sunrise view of Bosphorus Bridge from salon and master bedroom
sunrise view of Bosphorus Bridge from salon and master bedroom
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps5
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Gallipoli and Troy Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 5)

I love my 'Cihangir 1 Flat' and I think you will too.

The 3 bedroom flat is comfortable and cozy and very sunny with a breathtaking views enjoyed from almost every room in the house, especially the large balcony. The balcony is large enough to entertain on. Watch the fireworks over the Bosphorus bridge every night. Watch ships from around the world glide by on the Bosphorus. Wood floors and tile throughout. Enjoy Turkish art on the walls and Turkish rugs, nice linens and towels, books on the shelves...in other words, move in, unpack, and enjoy!

Three enclosed bedrooms. The main bedroom is quite large and surrounded with windows overlooking the Bosphorus. Bedroom #2 is very comfortable w king size bed and many closets for your clothing and luggage. Bedroom #3 is a cozy quiet bedroom with double bed. Newly renovated bathroom. Kitchen is large and roomy, and the dining room has a lovely round wood table w matching chairs and buffet with fabulous views.

Note: This flat is very quiet and I have promised the residents of this building that you will be too. The management is watchful and rules about not disturbing the neighbors is strictly enforced. A maximum of 5 guests are allowed in this flat. My other flats are more suitable for parties, and even though this flat is large, we are limited to allowing only 5 guests per stay.

The neighborhood of Cihangir is one of Istanbul's most popular. It is Bohemian in nature with most of its residents writers, artists or in the film industry. This is the place to come if you prefer to avoid heavily touristed areas where you will be hounded by vendors. The streets are cobblestone and the architecture turn of the century. Oft compared to Montmarte in Paris. Sidewalk cafes and boutiques abound. You are a short walk to public transportation and 10 minutes walking to the center of Istanbul's entertainment area (Taksim Square and Istiklal Avenue).And just moments by tram to the old city of Sultanahmet.

A recent Guardian article says:'Istanbul's small district of Cihangir ranked among the best places to live...'This is an Orhan Pamuk kind of neighborhood. You'll still pass woodturning workshops, button warehouses and old ice-cream parlors en route for that dark urbane bookshop. It still feels old and ancient and unretired and a bit shaby,' said the article. 'There are still whiskery grocers who'll deliver figs to the door. The dervishes still whirl up the hill at the Galata Lodge. Only now there's a great rooftop bar or 6 with views over the Bosphorus (I'd consider moving here for the vviews alone) and a good modern art gallery at the bottom of the hill. What with culture and economics so sifed to the east, this feels like where the world begins.' The Guardian January 23, 2012

Regular Rates (40% off Nov 1- Aprl 1)

2+ Nights $235.00 per night

7+ nights $225.00 per night

14+ nights $180.00 per night

30+ nights/monthly rate $4700 per month

40% off regular rates Nov 1-Apr 1, 2014.

50% off for month+ stays Nov 1 - Apr 1, 2014.

Rates are for 1-4 guests. Each additional guest is $15 more per night. Taxes are included. There is a one-time $70 cleaning/prep fee.

More Details
Hide Details

I am a travel writer who has lived in and traveled to over 2 dozen countries. I always stay in flats and have chosen some of my favorite places on the planet in which to provide apartments to rent to other global travelers. It's the only way to travel, as it takes you out of the tourist observer mode and puts you squarely into the 'real' spirit of the Place in which you are traveling. All my flats have the following things in common:

1. located just outside the tourist zone so that you might experience the authentic spirit of Place while being close enough to the sites and transportation to get to the 'tourist zone' easily,

2. beautiful views that leave no doubt where you are,

3. At least 2 bedrooms (except for my Terrace 1 flat which has one bedroom and a living/bedroom suite.

Robin Sparks purchased this apartment in 2006

Istanbul is my favorite city in the world. It is colorful, vibrant, full of history and the melodious sound of Middle Eastern music and the call to prayer, delicious food, and best of all, the Turks themselves. Turks are the most hospitable people on the planet. If you stay in a hotel in this city, you might not ever learn this fact, which is the biggest reason I rent flats. Once you've 'lived' in Istanbul, however briefly, you will never regard Turks in the same way again. This is a country and a city, in the 'middle', which is where I like to be philosophically and geographically. What happens in Turkey will determine the future of Middle Eastern relations with the Western world. A very exciting place to be! As for the neighborhood...Cihangir is the 'home' of Istanbul's writers (including Irhan Pamuk!) and artists and foreigners from around the world. Sidewalk cafes and boutiques give it a refreshing ambience all its own. I love how removed I feel from the hectic city, while simultaneously near all its amenities and sites.

You almost feel as if you are on the Bosphorus along with the other boats from the living room, dining room, master bedroom and large balcony. Peaceful, quiet and flooded with northeastern light. Our Cihangir 1 flat is cool in the summer and warm in the winter. Your views include not only a broad view of the Bosphorus, but a view of the colorful Bosphorus Bridge (check out how the colors constantly change at night), a nightly fireworks show, Dolmace Palace, picture postcard Ortakoy and of course the continent of Asia across the Bosphorus. There is a wonderful mosque about one city block from the house called Cihangir Camii with a beautiful small park containing benches which overlook the Bosphorus and Sultanahmet.

20 Reviews of Property 126285 in Gallipoli and Troy, Turkey

Big winter discount! Expansive Bosphorus.Vu, 3 BR, Lg. Balc, Best Cntrl Nbrhood
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 20 reviews
business
Big winter discount! Expansive Bosphorus.Vu, 3 BR, Lg. Balc, Best Cntrl Nbrhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126285vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Cincinnati
5

Wonderful stay in Istanbul

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
The apartment is bright and cheerful and has a marvellous view of the Bosphrous. The bed is comfortable and there are plenty of closets. There is a nice sitting and dining areas and a balcony with excellent views. Robin was professional and booking the apartment was easy and she answered all our questions. A driver was waiting for us at the airport and took us to the apartment where Davide was waiting and explained everything. Aleef the manager also came and was very helpful and arranged for a driver to take us at 3 30 Am for our flight back to the states. The area is a quiet residential and there are groceries and fruit merchants close by as well as cafes and resturants.
I would defintely rent again from Robin when I come back to Istanbul. To go down to the main street you need to manage many steps but it was no problem though myself and my wife are in our seveties.
There are many sites to visit in this beautiful city, you can reach the Domachbache palace on foot in 15 minutes. Taking the tram is easy and cheap and let you see people. The Bosphrous boat tour is a must.
BS Foad, M.D
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Big winter discount! Expansive Bosphorus.Vu, 3 BR, Lg. Balc, Best Cntrl Nbrhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126285vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Vancouver, BC, Canada
5

Best that Istanbul could offer.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
My wife and I are from Vancouver, Canada.
We stayed in one of Robin's apartments near Galata Tower and had my family from Iran to have a reunion in Istanbul in May of 2008. We were very happy with the look and feel of the apartment, location and her professionalism. We came back to Istanbul again at the end of May 2011 for another family reunion and stayed in another one of Robin's apartments, this time in Cihangir. The experience was even better this time - fantastic apartment, gorgeous view and another amazing location. We really felt part of the neighborhood during our 2-week stay. We would highly recommend her places. If we go back to Istanbul we will absolutely stay in one of Robin's places again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Big winter discount! Expansive Bosphorus.Vu, 3 BR, Lg. Balc, Best Cntrl Nbrhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126285vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Moscow, Russia
4

Fantastic View, easy to access by public transport but steep hill

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2011
  • Stayed: Feb 2011
We have really enjoyed our time in this beautiful flat. The view is unbeatable and the flat is very spacious. The tram stop is very close by and is a straight shot into city center. The only downside is there's a steep and long staircase between the tram stop and the flat, which was difficult for us with a small child (and would be very hard for older people or for someone with disabilities). We would definitely recommend this apartment though and would stay here again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Alyssa! We enjoyed having you as our guest. I just wanted to take this opportunity to point out that if one does not wish to take the steps, they can walk 10 minutes to Taksim Square where there is a funicular that connects directly to the tram.

Robin
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Big winter discount! Expansive Bosphorus.Vu, 3 BR, Lg. Balc, Best Cntrl Nbrhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126285vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
atlanta
5

Wonderful!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
This apartment was exactly as advertised and better. The pictures don't do this place justice. My family was able to comfortably fit 5 adults in this apartment.We go to Istanbul every year and rent apartments every single time. The view from this apartment is simply amazing. Not only will be be renting in the future, we are letting our friends(who will be travelling to Istanbul) know we found the perfect place.
The location is wonderful as you have perfect views, the convenience of Taksim, yet you are far enough away to avoid the noise. You are also very close to the Tram and ferries. Additionally, there are grocery stores, the Cihangir Cami( great reference for cab drivers) and the Cihangir cab stop in close proximity to the apartment.
Upon entering the building the apartment is actually located about 5 steps down from the entrance so you don't have to climb flights of steps to enter. The apartments balcony is large and spans the length of about 3/4's of the apartment. 5 of us were able to fit on the balcony. The landmarks seen from the balcony include the First bridge, Domabache Palace, and the Princes' Islands.
Finally the place was extremely clean and the area was wonderful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Big winter discount! Expansive Bosphorus.Vu, 3 BR, Lg. Balc, Best Cntrl Nbrhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126285vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
dresden
5

Nice 6-8 guests Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
The flat is situated nearby Taksim quarter where you can find a lot of bars to go out and most of the shopping possibilities. You can also walk down to Galata bridge in about 10 minutes.

The flat itself has 3 bedrooms and a lof space in the corridor and q quite nice living room. The bedrooms looking like IKEA but this doesn´t matter ;-) Furthermore there is a kitchen with all things you may need (big fridge, dishwasher).

The flat contains of 2 bathrooms which is useful when you travel in a group.

The landlord gave us some good advices how to use tram/metro as well as some further information about Istanbul.

All of us were happy with the flat and will hopefully come back again.

Greetings, Marcus
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Big winter discount! Expansive Bosphorus.Vu, 3 BR, Lg. Balc, Best Cntrl Nbrhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126285vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Essex, MA
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Dear Robin,
We absolutely loved Istanbul! Your flat was perfect in all
respects--it was so convenient to everything and such a peaceful place to
return to at the end of the day. We were a group of 5, and there was more than enough room for us all. Loved the balcony and the 'sultan sofa!'
I know we'll be back, and we wouldn't hesitate to rent your flat again.
Thanks for helping to make this trip so wonderful. Elif was so
helpful, everything worked out perfectly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Big winter discount! Expansive Bosphorus.Vu, 3 BR, Lg. Balc, Best Cntrl Nbrhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126285vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Essex, MA
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
Dear Robin,
We absolutely loved Istanbul! Your flat was perfect in all
respects--it was so convenient to everything and such a peaceful place to
return to at the end of the day. Loved the balcony and the 'sultan sofa!' We were a group of 5, and there was way more than enough room for us all.
I know we'll be back--and I wouldn't hesitate to rent your flat again.
Thanks for helping to make this trip so wonderful. Elif was so
helpful, everything worked out perfectly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Big winter discount! Expansive Bosphorus.Vu, 3 BR, Lg. Balc, Best Cntrl Nbrhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126285vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Parksville, BC, Canada
4

Perfect location for a week stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2010
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
Four of us stayed here for a week in April and spent most of our time on the deck watching boats run about on our amazing view of the Bosphorus. The apartment was beautifully decorated with antiques and little touches that made us feel at home. Unfortunately two of the beds seemed to also be antiques and were a bit painful to sleep on, but ok once we added an extra layer of blankets and slept on top. The location was our favorite part; away from tourists but still very central. Within twenty minutes walk to the tram to the old city, to Taksim shopping district and metro, and some of my favorite cafes and restaurants in the city. If we moved to Istanbul, Chihangir is the area we would live in. Our correspondance with the owner was flaky at best, but we were greeted by the very friendly and helpful Elif who brightened up our stay.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Big winter discount! Expansive Bosphorus.Vu, 3 BR, Lg. Balc, Best Cntrl Nbrhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126285vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Freising, Germany
5

exciting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2009
  • Stayed: Apr 2009
We stayed with six persons for a wonderful week in the apartment between April 5 and 12, 2009. We found all as described on the homepage. The flat was very clean and the hints in the house-book were very precise and useful. We loved to explore the surrounding streets (Cihangir) and to use the tram to reach all attractions in between 10 minutes. The view to the Bosphorus will follow us for a long time in our dreams. We could have spent the whole day, only sitting at the window and counting the passing ships as Orhan Pamuk recommends.
Karl
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Big winter discount! Expansive Bosphorus.Vu, 3 BR, Lg. Balc, Best Cntrl Nbrhood
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p126285vb
Gallipoli and Troy Istanbul and The Marmara
Russellville, AR USA
5

Amazing Apartment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2007
  • Stayed: Jul 2007
My husband and I absolutely loved this apartment! The view was so beautiful. We loved watching the boats traveling in the day and the lights at night. The apartment was very comfortable and safe and had all the conveniences of home. I would highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/11